We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we made it back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently returned from our family vacation at Mahekal Beach Resort and were very happy we chose to return. My husband and I first visited the resort 9 years ago when it was known as Shangri -La Caribe and finally made it back! It took us longer than we thought and were very happy to come back to the simplicity of the resort: the beach, the sunrises, the food, the ambience....simply relaxing.
This time around it was a family vacation with our four year old son. The water is calm and clean and our son truly enjoyed his time when not at the beach in the pool. We were worried we would catch some rain and the first three days was just perfect weather. Wed and Thursday were followed by some rain, but we spent Thursday in Xcaret and it worked out perfectly. The last few days of our stay the sun was out again but the water was not as tranquil due to the rain and wind on Thursday, never the less we enjoyed it. We like this time of year beacuse its not as busy in Playa.
Playa 5th Avenue is walking distance from the resort where you can find many shops,restaurants and bars. Some a bit too pricey. We ate at three restaurants on la 5ta. All great food. Playa del Carmen has grown so much since our visit that we enjoyed the seclusion of the resort even with its close proximity to 5ta Avenida.
I think what contributes to the ambience of this hotel is the staff i.e. Jose, Juan Manuel, Edith, Boli, Alexandra. They were all very cordial and helpful. Staff at Aventura restaurant is great, always a warm welcome at the restaurant or when taking our lunch order under the palapa at the beach. We recommend the Shrimp ceviche with Habanero sauce on the side! The breakfast buffet could be a bit redundantm then again we had breakfast there 8 days. Lunch and dinner were fine. We changed a few of our dinners to lunch on the days we decided to go out to 5ta for dinner. It worked out for us.
I do have to mention we initially stayed at Caribe section beach view palapa room with 2 beds, but the room felt small and personally I think it's in need of some upgrades. The location was good, but we decided to upgrade to an ocean front palapa on our second day. The new room was spacious, it was right in front of the beach and with our four year old it worked out perfectly. Speaking of remodeling there was a section closed off because they are remodeling some palapa rooms. We were not inconvenienced at all by this, but it's good to see they are upgrading the rooms. The rooms don't have phone or TV's and we actually don't mind at all- that's part of the charm of this hotel. We worried a bit that our son would not enjoy the resort and looked into booking all inclusive with kids club type hotels when booking our trip, but were very happy we returned to this particular beach resort. The beach and ambience did not dissapoint and was just like we remembered it. Our son didn't need the TV at all, he enjoyed the great food, beach, pool, and walking to 5ta!
Our stay was from September 28 - October 6th, 2013. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in Palapa #34 Beach front. Great location! Initially we had Caribe section, but the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,352 - 1,358 of 2,843 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed a week and had a lovely time at Mahekal. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The construction was not at all disruptive, which we found quite remarkable. I very rarely write reviews but I do rely on them and a problem I encountered was frustrating enough that I feel compelled to warn others. We traveled with two small children and were desperate to get some clothes laundered. I would have normally gone into town but we decided to spend the exorbitant amount to send it from the hotel for the necessary convenience. I accepted paying the prices for adult sized clothes but at check out, I saw that they changed the fee and charged me for items I did not have washed. 6 blouses instead of 4 tank tops and 2 t-shirts (toddler size). The cost was more-- enough to warrant a complaint. The resort sided with the laundry company. We had 3 rooms for 7 nights and spent a fortune. I promise you that I did not even bring a single blouse to Mexico. PLUS, these were the clothes of a 2 year old. Cotton t's! I am very disappointed with the resort for not giving me the benefit of the doubt. The laundry service lied - plain and simple. On principle, I am still frustrated. Stay at Mahekal, but DO NOT send your clothes out. I'd hate to see what would happen if it was a more serious discrepancy.
PROS: Location, meals, staff, beach, kid friendly pool, easy parking if you rent a car
CONS: Laundry service, AC was terrible in our room, dinner starts late for small children

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank jojod27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I understand your frustration regarding the laundry. We believe, that items listed as ‘blouses’ refer to tops, since ‘blusas’ is a general word to describe top clothes in Mexico, and we understand laundry service has a general fee for each piece, whether they are adult or kids size. We apologize for the inconvenience and will double check costs with laundry service, in order to confirm that it is within the standards. We will take into consideration the CONS listed, and appreciate the good comments given to our resort and service. Looking forward to deliver to you the best service on your next visit.

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
Mahékal Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was perfect. The staff, the accommodations, the food, the weather, the beach, the town... all of it. I mention the beach was perfect because it was something we hadn't thought of, all beaches are not created equal. We visited some friends at the Valentin and it was one of the worst experiences I have had a resort. In addition to a rude staff, fat rude frat-boy patrons, the actual beach was terrible. Tons of debris in it and the beach was short and not inviting. But Mahekal was perfect. We spent our honeymoon there and there is no way I would consider staying anywhere else. If possible, buy the best room you can. The beach front rooms are really wonderful and worth the extra. I can't stress enough what a find this was for us and how I would have regretted spending my money, time and experience anywhere else. This was exceptional, don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hartjared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Greetings to California, we were very pleased to note that your honeymoon visit was such a good experience. We appreciate all the good comments, and will pass your message on. We agree that our beach is one of the most beautiful in the region, and we are lucky to have it for our guests to enjoy. Thanks for choosing to stay at Mahékal. Hasta pronto amigos, we hope to welcome you back to our beach paradise in the near future. Maybe to celebrate your anniversary?

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
Mahékal Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for 10 days end of september 2013. We had a very nice and relaxing stay!
The beach is beautiful and one of the nicest in Playa. The whole staff is great! And the layout of the bungalows are also very nice. The location, just at the end of 5th avenue is perfect! And if you are a diver, we can recommend the Cyan-ha dive center located on the beach of Mahékal.
Unfortunately nowhere is stated on the hotel website that big renovation are taking place.BUT according hotel staff, the Mahékal Beach Resort and Las Palapas Resort (next door) are in process of becoming one single resort. For this reason a lot of changes are going on in the office and in the infrastructure. New staff are hired and other get fired. A big part of the Mahékal Resort has been closed off for renovation, which is ok and needed. Unfortunately the renovation work does not only take place in the closed area but also in bungalows which are adjacent to guest bungalows. When asked, even the front office staff did not know exactly which bungalow is actually being worked at.... As stated in other reviews the breakfast/dining room is a bit out of charm and also need renovation. The breakfast buffet also needs a bit of attention (for a "luxury" hotel).
As also stated in other reviews, the air conditioning of the rooms needs to be changed. It had a hard time getting rid of the humidity and was smelling very bad.

As a recap, we loved the hotel and the staff, but we would wait until the renovation and fusion of Las Palapas and Mahékal is over before returning there. You have to expect some more surprise until everything is completed (around mid-2014).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we are glad to read that you had a relaxing stay and staff was attentive at all times. As you mentioned, the hotel is undergoing extensive renovations, to offer an even better experience to all our guests. At this time we are renovating only 27 of the 121 rooms. The rest of the hotel will be renovated after the winter season, starting on May 2014. We will take into consideration all your comments, and hope you return. We are confident you will be very pleased with the results of our renovation. 

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
Mahékal Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were there Mid September, "the rainy season" and although it was rainy we had a wonderful stay! Every day did have dry times and there was one day with no rain at all. The rain only changed or plans when it came to going to Tulum. Tulum was closed and we got our money back after signing up for the tour and not being able to go.
Mahekal was amazing! Staff were great, everyone! The concierge, the other front desk workers, the waiters, the housekeeping, the spa staff were all helpful and very nice. The food was enjoyably, the atmosphere was calm and laid back and the beach was the cleanest one we saw while walking the strip. Would definitely recommend it to others!

Room Tip: We liked our second floor room, better view and less noise from people walking by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RachelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Greetings to Jerusalem, we love to welcome travelers from all around the world. Glad to read that the rainy season was not an issue for you. Rain can also be refreshing and relaxing, and of course is great to our gardens too. We will share your kind comments to all the team, and hope to welcome you if heading to Playa soon again. Thanks for sharing your ‘mahekal’ experience.

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
Mahékal Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three days at the beginning of October for our honeymoon. The place was under renovations, but it didn't affect us. we had a garden room near a fountain, it was dated but very nice (had a lock box). there is no TV or clock radio, but that didn't bother us. The people there were very nice and helpful. we ate breakfast and dinner there during our stay, and we liked most of the food they served. the beach is a minute walk from the reception area and 5th ave. is a 5 min walk. great location and great people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our beach front paradise. We believe it’s a romantic place to celebrate newlyweds. We are passionate about attention to guest, and work at it daily, to keep improving. We hope we can welcome you once our renovation works are finished, we’ll be glad to deliver a new ‘mahekal’ experience. Greetings from Playa!

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
Mahékal Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This review is a bit late(we stayed in Dec 2012) but I thought I should write it considering we are going to be returning to Mahekal this November.

As mentioned, our family(mom, dad, 2 boys aged 8 and 11, grandma, grandpa) stayed here in December 2012 for the fourth time. Everyone loved it. The relaxing atmosphere, friendly service and exceptional beach are among the best in the Riviera Maya.

The food is good too...although I recommend breakfast and lunch over dinner just so you can take advantage of the fantastic dinner options in Playa.

Again can't say enough about the staff and my boys still talk about their buddy Rogielo who always joked around with them at meal time.

See you in November!

Room Tip: Only ever stayed in the garden view palapa and I would describe them as cute and adequete. The beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camboy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

It’s never too late to write an opinion, thanks for sharing with other travelers. Reading how much you enjoyed your ‘mahekal’ experience is very rewarding for us. We will ensure to pass on your kind words to the entire team.
Glad to read you are coming back soon. Will tell Rogelio his friends are on the way.
Hasta pronto amigos.

Mahékal Beach Resort
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,608 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,207 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,992 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#30 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $230 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing