We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mahekal Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rosa Mirador Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Real Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koox Hotel Banana(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Riviera del Sol(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Divina by Aldea Thai(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,112)
Filter reviews
3,112 results
Traveler rating
2,043
726
191
85
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,043
726
191
85
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshangri la caribehalf boardfuego restaurantpalapa stylegarden viewlas olasbreakfast and dinnerlas palapaspalapa roofocean frontping ponginfinity poolfifth avenuepalm treesthe wait staffcevichebug spray
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,652 - 1,657 of 3,112 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mahekal for 7 nights. I researched this resort for 2 months before we booked and crossed my fingers it was true to the reviews I had read. Perfect. Beautiful. unassuming. Quaint. Fun and relaxing......we just cannot say enough about this resort!! We have stayed in large resorts with all the fancy shops etc. and we were just tired of that scene. From the moment we arrived until we went home all we could say was how fortunate we felt that we found this gem. We are outdoor people so it was a great fit for us. Playa is a short and safe walk in. The drinks are great at about $6.00 to $8.00. Happy hour is 5-6 pm and gets busy but the staff keep up with a smile on their face! I am a picky eater but must say I thought the food was just great-including the dinners. You can order drinks and lunch right on the beach. Breakfast can be right within steps of beach. I have always felt a little under the weather eating in resorts but not this one! We will be back and most likely book one of the ocean front rooms-had concerns about safety with this but now I am assured how safe it is with their awesome and attentive security. However-we had garden view palapa and our room met our expectations we just thought next time we want to experience oceanfront. A shout out to Regalio the young man who always went above and beyond with a smile on his face! Long review but it is the first time I have felt compelled to do so! Mahekal-VERY magical indeed!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jody O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Among so many lodging options in Playa del Carmen, we thank you for choosing us. Mahekal is perfect for outdoor people that like to be in contact with nature. Our gardens, beach and location on the north end of Playa is what people like the most. Because you can walk from town to the hotel in minutes.

About our food, we pay special attention to ingredients and preparation, you can be sure that all will be in good conditions. Will share your comments with Rogelio and the rest of the team.

Thanks for enjoying the magic of Mahekal.

Social Media Team
MAHEKAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I strongly recommend Mahekal especially the casitas on the beach, world class (worth the extra cost)!! The grounds are impeccable and the location is a short 5 minute walk from 5th Avenue. Resort food is not too good although the fresh fruit at breakfast is awesome. Like everyone else says, skip dinner and go to 5th Ave for better choices, if you're on a budget get some groceries and have a picnic on the beach at sunset.

At check-in they gave us an inferior casita which I did not consider "ocean front", rather it was pool front. After some discussion and talking with 2 people we got an excellent ocean front casita. I would have been highly disappointed with the original offering since there was a wedding on the weekend and the "ocean front" would have had front row seats to the wedding at the pool. We walked around the garden and fountain area and those rooms were lovely as well so if ocean front proximity isn't that important to you go ahead and get garden and save some money.

The first 2 days we ordered beer on the beach from the wait staff, on the 3rd day we discovered a convenience store a few steps away from the resort so we walked back and forth to get our own beer at half the cost. We would have kept ordering from the staff but the resort ran out of Corona.

Even with the few negatives this place was pure pleasure set in a tropical beach paradise. Everyone was very friendly and nurturing. Room service/maid was excellent, the toiletries were really nice: coconut & honey, and I recommend spending $5/day for coffee delivery to your front door.

After staying at resorts like Mahekal, it's hard to imagine ever staying in a high rise or condo unit again. Truly awesome, book your stay today!!

I gave hotel a 4-rating due to the bad dinner food, mix up in room at check-in and running out of Corona beer at the beach bar (plus beach service was off-and-on slow).

Room Tip: ocean front, pay the extra cost, you'll be happy you did!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChzHeadTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We love to read complete reports with details to check and be better. Yours was one of those. Thanks for the recommendation, we are glad to read you enjoyed your beachfront stay. We apologize for any inconvenience, good to read all was sorted.

We are working on a new menu that will be released soon. We hope you get to try it on your next visit.

Thanks for explaining the reason of the points given, we will put special attention on all of them.

Hasta pronto amigos,

Social Media Team
MAHEKAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very nice resort :
Nice location away from the crowd but walking distance to the 5fth avenue.
Nice beach
Good service
Clean hotel
Friendly staff
Good wine list
Happy hour
Concierge services
Yoga class on the beach organised by the Spa (great teacher!!!)
Hotel clean and well maintained
Little things like Organic shower products, 2 bottles of water a day in the room, mosquito spray...


What we didn't like:
Dinner food
Breakfast a la carte menu
Lunch was just OK
Mosquitoes
You had to pay 4USD an hour to rent the hotel's bicycles

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betti2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Spring break, three moms, three 18 year old daughters and one beautiful resort. We didn't want to go home. This place may not appeal to everyone. There is no tv, no phone and no internet in the rooms, although there is internet in the lobby. Rooms are clean and sparse. Hammocks are a wonderful addition. The whole property is well maintained, someone is constantly cleaning or pruning something. The atmosphere is casual and friendly and my daughter and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had an indivigual accomodation third row from the beach, it was perfect!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fun2010Atlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Great combination, we are sure Mahekal is a great place to spend some mother - daughter time together at the beach and in contact with nature. Thanks for choosing our beach resort for your vacation. Glad you enjoyed the hammocks, all rooms have private terraces to enjoy.

We will be happy to welcome you again, hasta pronto!

Social Media Team
MAHEKAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We go back here year after year because it is a wonderful place---the food, the staff, the beach and the town of Playa del Carmen are exceptional. We always have booked it through the Turquoise Reef Group and have been totally satisfied with Scott and his staff. i look forward to taking all of my children and grandchildren to this delightful spot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank killer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

That's great! We love to hear from repetitive guests! Thanks for choosing Mahekal, and always happy to welcome you and your family.

Greetings from Playa, and see you next year!

Social Media Team
MAHEKAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews