We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic beach paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights in January. We had a 2nd level garden bungalow. The bed was very comfortable and the hammocks were a nice touch. The only thing we would suggest is some sitting furniture in the room. The staff was great and the meal plan was perfect so we could indulge in a few area restaurants. Would recommend staying in a bungalow a little closer to the beach. Be forewarned, the bungalows are basic and the roofs are palapa roofs, so it sounds like the birds are in your room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sconnieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,469 - 1,475 of 2,809 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

AD Chicago, My husband and I returned from a week stay ay Mahekal Spanish for Magical. The staff is efficient and friendly. They were very accommodating in changing our room when there was an issue. The food was above exceptional in quality. The ecological minded resort is cleaned without use of heavy chemicals and is immaculate. Daily bottled water provided. The internet site should be updated to reflect fee changes for refrigerators (daily charge). No in room coffee makers but readily available at onsite restaurant. We had also looked forward to complimentary yoga but there was also a newly established fee. Small glitches as compared to upside which is tremendous! Loved the no TV no phones! Unwind relax and refuel. While family friendly no TV lends itself to adults atmosphere. 5 minute walk to 5th avenue and night life. Beautiful live music performers at dinner add charm. The organic toiletries are heavenly smelling. Can opt out of dinner and exchange for lunch with no fees. Very helpful in arranging off site excursions. Beachside wait service. Prices are extremely reasonable.Individual Palapa roofed bungalows with hammocks and decks are beautiful!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally attractive you can request those without stairs to climb if stairs are a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Mahekal appreciates when guests value our eco-efforts. This vision matches our green surroundings and natural details.

Will confirm your suggestions to website, in order to offer complete information. We hope to welcome you at the Caribbean soon, for some relaxing mahekal days.

Thanks for listing special amenities, such as half-board lunch/dinner option. These little details help other travelers plan their trip.

Gracias,
Social Media Team
MAHEKAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. Right on the beach, excellent bungalows, and unlike some of the mega resorts in the area, you're within walking distance of 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen with all of the shops and restaurants. Friendly staff, very helpful with booking excursions. The bungalows are a little ''basic'', without televisions and wifi but that just helps you to enjoy your stay and relax even more (free wifi available at bar and lobby area). Definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEJOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just returned from a 6 day stay at Mahekal Beach Resort, and I could not think of any way the stay could have been any better. We stayed in 34P ( on the Playa side ), which was very private and 20 feet from the beach. It was also very close to the pool and breakfast restaurant.

The rooms have no TV, phone , or internet.It takes about 5 minutes to see the beauty of this. You can get internet in the lobby if you need it. Bring your cell phone if you need to make a call. You can watch TV at home.

meals....our room included 2 meals , normally breakfasts and dinners, but dinners can be substituted for linches..... breakfasts are excellent, lunches are very good, and the dinners we had were so-so. The play seems to be to sub lunch for dinner, and walk to nearby 5th avenue for dinner. Although we did not try any, there are several interesting looking restaurants on Calle 38, on the way to 5th avenue. ...no phone in room, therefore no room service, but you won't miss it

The beach.... it is wonderful. very accessible to the resort and well patrolled by resort security guards. The 2 sides of the resort are bisected by a public beach, but it not a big deal even though there seems to be a bit of spillover onto the resort property. The public bathers provided us some good restaurant recommendations.

resort location....as I said before, it is a short walk to the beginning of 5th ave, and a pleasant 20-25 minute walk to the Walmart if you need to stock up on supplies. ( you can cab back to the resort for 50 pesos )

drinks, etc.......drink prices are very reasonable. There is also a 2 for 1 happy hour at the bar from 5-6 pm. The bartenders get a bit overwhelmed during happy hour, so order early.....if you are a wine drinker, you may want to hit 5th ave and buy a few bottles ( and a corkscrew ). The house wines are acceptable, but nothing special.... we rented a mini fridge ( $10 us / day ) . Since we were right on the beach, it worked well for us. Otherwise, the drink service on the beach & near the pools

"rooms" ...simple and great, and our housekeeper did a wonderful job. One day we left a few e-readers out, and we received a note saying that we needed to have valuables locked in the safe before they came in to clean. The folded our clothes, made very nifty little "towel dolls" every day, left a few bottles of water and generally impressed us with how hard they worked.all the rooms had patios with hammocks, chairs and tables.

evenings....pretty sleepy, dinner and the bar/game room ( pool, ping pong , cards). No loud thumping music.....

All the employees were friendly and attentive. With many, english was more of a challenge but the effort was there.

spa...we only had limited experience with the spa, but they were great. The prices seemed reasonable.

I can understand why so many people come year after year...

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong, but if you spring for a beachfront you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Greetings from Playa, as you already thought about, many of our guests come back year by year. Location, layout and specially the service, is what they prefer and like.

As you experienced, valuables security is an important issue, we will always try hard to protect them.

We hope you become one of those repeat guests. Playa is never the same :)

Social Media Team
MAHEKAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

When my sister and her family invited us to join them on their trip to the Riveria Maya, we were reluctant, as they were staying at a ginormous all-inclusive resort outside of Playa del Carmen. We have traveled all around Mexico and have had many authentic experiences both in regard to destination as well as our lodging choices (from a 100 year old rental home in San Miguel de Allende to a re-creation of a Portuguese stone castle in Todos Santos). So when I came across Mahekal on the web, it looked like we could STILL have a unique experience and hook up with sis during the week.

We booked it without hesitation. This was one of the best choices I have made in a long time. The property: colorful beach bungalows with hammocks on the front porch. There are also larger structures in the newer part if you are traveling with family or a group. A meandering path takes you through their lushly landscaped, meticulously cared-for property. Both pools are very nice. Small, unpretentious and transporting.

The staff: Friendly, always greeted our (then) three-year old by name and remembered us as well. After a few days, these folks felt like family and made excellent recommendations in regard to day trips (thanks for the tip on Akumel, Gabriel!).

The beach: Uncrowded, wide and probably one of the best stretches of perfect sand and water in Playa. Unpretentious and devoid of loud disco music found further south closer to the center of town. Also, there's a mix of tourists and local families, so the experience is a bit wider and less confining than a beach club type area.

Room Tip: Ocean Front seemed to offer the best value, to us. One of the rooms right on the beach would be idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AGringoInMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We just returned from a week and it was our second trip.

We had an issue with our first room as we wanted a King size bed and we were given 2 queens. They were very helpful to change so we would be happy so that worked out. We ended up very satisfied and were very happy with our room.

We brought our parents for the week as well and we all ejoyed the food so much, the service by the staff was really exceptional....and we just love the way the property is maintained.

Its a very genuine place...not pretentious, not stuffy...just lovely and mellow and beautiful..
For fools looking for TV....go somewhere else...just r and r...Great location on the beach and just far enough removed from the hustle....really a terrific place.

For returning guests there was a door plaque with our names on it...a very lovely gesture to repeat guests.....Nice touch. I always appreciate when my business is appreciated. I think that's smart business. And I like this property....Alot!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSilvain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

We feel glad to read front desk team solved the situation. And you were happy with your room.

We try hard to keep it easy and quiet, no TVs or phones in rooms, help us achieve that. A nice surprise to guests that come back, a little detail to thank you.

Please let us know if we can help with anything when planning your next trip.

Hasta pronto.
Social Media Team
MAHEKAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We just returned from staying at this resort for a friend's wedding. Overall it was amazing and we will return for another visit. The check in process was easy. We had a little difficulty finding the resort in our rental car, but we called and the front desk was very happy to assist with this. The beach on front of the resort is gorgeous and the views from the pool and rooms were wonderful. The staff were very helpful in getting us setup with our hammocks and luggage.

This may or may not matter, but it caught us off guard: there are no tv's or phones in the rooms. Somewhat awkward to have to walk to the front desk for room service, but the resort is fairly small and comfortable.

One thing that was fantastic was the food. It tasted great and you can eat by the pool at the tables that overlook the ocean...you are literally 10 feet from the lapping waves. We also really enjoyed the happy hour at the bar with 2 for 1 drinks from 5-6PM. At that same bar, there are pool tables and ping pong tables where we gathered with friends from the wedding several times.

The only other thing worth mentioning, is that you have to pay for water during your meals. It is delivered to your room when housekeeping freshens up each day, but paying for it during your meals was a bit odd.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,548 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,134 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,935 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $196 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing