We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mahekal Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rosa Mirador Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Real Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koox Hotel Banana(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Riviera del Sol(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Divina by Aldea Thai(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,214)
Filter reviews
3,214 results
Traveler rating
2,130
736
192
87
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,130
736
192
87
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshangri la caribehalf boardfuego restaurantpalapa stylelas olasgarden viewbreakfast and dinnerlas palapaspalapa roofocean frontping ponginfinity poolthe penthousefifth avenueyogurtpalm treesthe wait staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,785 - 1,790 of 3,214 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We just returned from a week and it was our second trip.

We had an issue with our first room as we wanted a King size bed and we were given 2 queens. They were very helpful to change so we would be happy so that worked out. We ended up very satisfied and were very happy with our room.

We brought our parents for the week as well and we all ejoyed the food so much, the service by the staff was really exceptional....and we just love the way the property is maintained.

Its a very genuine place...not pretentious, not stuffy...just lovely and mellow and beautiful..
For fools looking for TV....go somewhere else...just r and r...Great location on the beach and just far enough removed from the hustle....really a terrific place.

For returning guests there was a door plaque with our names on it...a very lovely gesture to repeat guests.....Nice touch. I always appreciate when my business is appreciated. I think that's smart business. And I like this property....Alot!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSilvain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

We feel glad to read front desk team solved the situation. And you were happy with your room.

We try hard to keep it easy and quiet, no TVs or phones in rooms, help us achieve that. A nice surprise to guests that come back, a little detail to thank you.

Please let us know if we can help with anything when planning your next trip.

Hasta pronto.
Social Media Team
MAHEKAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We just returned from staying at this resort for a friend's wedding. Overall it was amazing and we will return for another visit. The check in process was easy. We had a little difficulty finding the resort in our rental car, but we called and the front desk was very happy to assist with this. The beach on front of the resort is gorgeous and the views from the pool and rooms were wonderful. The staff were very helpful in getting us setup with our hammocks and luggage.

This may or may not matter, but it caught us off guard: there are no tv's or phones in the rooms. Somewhat awkward to have to walk to the front desk for room service, but the resort is fairly small and comfortable.

One thing that was fantastic was the food. It tasted great and you can eat by the pool at the tables that overlook the ocean...you are literally 10 feet from the lapping waves. We also really enjoyed the happy hour at the bar with 2 for 1 drinks from 5-6PM. At that same bar, there are pool tables and ping pong tables where we gathered with friends from the wedding several times.

The only other thing worth mentioning, is that you have to pay for water during your meals. It is delivered to your room when housekeeping freshens up each day, but paying for it during your meals was a bit odd.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel has a very nice and natural lay-out, with several 2 story chalets/cabanas. Each cabana has its own veranda and 2 hammocks, the rooms are simple with terracotta tiles and 2 windows, the bathroom has good natural light, a shower and a make-up mirror (nice touch). The rooms have a nice and efficient air-con and do not have TV or telephone., the room had 2 double beds, the mattress was firm and comfortable, the pillows were clean (what a relief no moldy smell)we stayed at room 8B-with glorious views of the sea, I counted 20 steps to the beach. The hotel provides lounge chairs and towels, with plenty seating. The swimming (02) pools are on the smaller side but very nice. The hotel offers a half-board system, the breakfast buffet is wonderful, plenty of fruits, pastries, juices, etc, then you can still order pancakes, eggs etc:, dinner is the other meal included, but if you wish the hotel is very flexible and you can exchange for lunch, provided you tell the front desk in advance. I found the quality of food very good. The steak and fish I had been excellent and service friendly and efficient and no waiting on line forever.
The location of this hotel is excellent in my view because you are located very close (10 minutes walk) from Fifth Avenue is lined with hundreds of shops, bars and restaurants, travel companies where you can book many day trips. A 20 minutes walk takes you to the Ferry (we went to Cozumel 25 Us dollars both ways) or walk to the main avenue and get a taxi. I would highly recommend d this Hotel to my friends, if you are travelling with teenagers (I have two) this may not be the place for you ; it could be boring, with no TV in the rooms and, Internet Wi-Fi (free) available only in the lobby You may prefer to stay in one of those resorts that you have to wait 14 minutes for the elevator and ,walk 1 mile to the beach or take a ride on a golf cart and , if you are lucky you will find a free chair to sit on!

Room Tip: Room 8b- best beach view, without paying front roow price.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

We think that descriptive reviews, certainly help travelers read different opinions. Thanks for sharing yours.

Loved the term, "glorious views" the Caribbean can be amazing sometimes. Hope to have you at Mahekal some time soon.

Social Media Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here with my extended family. I have never stayed at a place with better and friendlier service. The food is also excellent. I highly reccomend this place for families. Also the drink prices are very reasonable and they dont gouge you on the services or food prices.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RogerB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was year 17, and it was as good or better than any prior, The ocean, the pools, the people, food, and staff make this a fabulous place to forget the rest of the world, yet a walk down fifth avenue and you hear all languages see all types of people and the world. This year the City of Playa del Carmen allowed a concert to blast loud music late into the night, ear plugs and a pretty good nights sleep, too bad for the people who got steamed and left, the next day and night were beautiful, sun, breezes, moon shining on the waters and the quite we all love. For us its just part of the lore, besides a bad night in paradise is better than an good night most other places. Reservations for year 18 have been made. Hope to you and our old friends in December 2013.

Room Tip: If you want the room for changing and sleeping, most all the rooms are great, the ocean fronts of course give more breeze and sound of the ocean.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thanks for your review, we love to hear from guests that have visited Mahékal for many times. We are happy to know you are coming back for the 18th. time.

Thanks for your understanding that Playa is a vacation town, and special thanks for your nice attitude towards the loud music. Holiday season is a busy town with parties all around.

Looking forward to see you soon, please let us know if there's anything else we could help with.

Hasta pronto amigos,

Social Media Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews