We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Adventure Experience Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Alux Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Mayan Paradise(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Thompson Playa Del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Playa del Karma(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Elefante(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
In Fashion Hotel Boutique(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Magic Blue Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,472)
Filter reviews
2,472 results
Traveler rating
1,577
653
154
57
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,577
653
154
57
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up roomrooftop jacuzzicomo comobeach clubincluded breakfast isattached restaurantboutique hotelcoco bongostandard roomsun deckpool areajunior suitehot tubevery morningshort walk to the beachour honeymoonfifth avenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
665 - 670 of 2,472 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great stay ! I originally chose the playa del carmen arear of mexico for it's proximity to the mayan ruins of Tulum (as I'm an avid fan of ancient architecture) as they're just an hour away, and didn't regret my choice. Although extremely calm, La Tortuga Hotel is just two steps aways from the liveliest road in the area (5th avenue), with it's numerous bars and restaurants, and right next to the beach (and Hertz car rental, which was handy for us as we wanted to see as much of the country as we could, independantly from tour groups or other organised trips).
The hotel itself is serene, tastefully decorated, and has a great atmosphere. The pool is great, although it's not really the right shape to swim lengths in!
The staff is English and French spoken, which is helpful for non Spanish speakers like myself!
I would definitely go back in the future, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Johanna Reside
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My Husband and I stayed for a week in August and really enjoyed a very relaxing trip. The main purpose of our trip was to get some good scuba diving in so we went less expensive on the room and just stayed in their standard room, which was pretty basic but was comfortable, clean, and had great air conditioning. We did hear some traffic especially sirens at night but that is not an unusual sound for the being in a city. Our only complaint was that the light outside the room was very bright even with our blinds shut, we just asked the staff to turn it off and they took care of it with no problem( I think they may have had to unscrew the light bulb). Other than that very comfortable bed, great staff, and service. The pool was really cute and had a ton of shade for those of us who are fair and some nice spots in the sun for those trying to get a nice tan. If we had planned to spend more time in the room I would have sprung for one of the rooms with a private jacuzzi.

Also, the breakfast is pretty good there are 3 or 4 options for the included continental breakfast which was very good, as well as other options that you can pay for. They have several options of homemade juices, we always got watermelon and it was excellent! All are really reasonably priced and the wait staff is excellent.

The beach is a little bit of a walk and the front desk staff will give you directions and a ticket to some of the beach clubs. I cannot say much about these because we spent almost no time on the beach. I was more than happy to sit at the pool where there is shade especially after a day of diving. Also, the hotel will give you a half price coupon to a local gym if you are looking for a nice place to workout.

The hotel is centrally located which makes it easy to get to 5th ave and also an easy walk to the more exciting local places to eat on 10th and on the side streets a little ways away from 5th Ave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Johanna Reside
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is beautifully set, clean, quiet and calm. We loved its very cute swimming pool, resembling a river and surrounded by palm trees (we could just get into the pool from the back door of our room) and the outdoor jacuzzi. The staff in the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The location is good, one block from the 5th Avenue and two blocks from the beach. Breakfast was also good. Overall, great quality/price rate

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Javier154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Johanna Reside
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

No really! Without any jokes! When the Sun is at the zenith and sun burns up everything - LA Tortuga is the ONLY way to save your skin! Amazing garden with palms, trees, swimming pool river. You just rest and enjoy. Very benevolent staff! Everything is clear and on a very high level! And please do not expect huge dishes for a breakfast! Location - it's not on a seaside but it was not a problem at all to spend 3-5 minutes to get to the beach. Advice - do NOT visit town beach! It's dirty. Just request at reception passes to Mamita's Beach Club. Sea there is clean! And please have at least one day to spend in Tulum! It's a real Paradise! I highly recommend this Hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: We had a private room with jacuzzi outside the room. It was even hard to find (room) for staff - it is hideт very well from public eyes) Jacuzzi after beach was the best solution) Enjoy!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vitlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Johanna Reside
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is in an incredible location being short distances away from the beach, restaurants, and other great vacation activates like shopping and clubs! The staff was excellent and very friendly, something that I believe is essential to make a hotel great for vacationing. It was a wonderful atmosphere to come home to after enjoying all of our tiring vacation activities. The hotel was exceptionally well maintained as the room and hotel itself were both immaculately clean; another aspect that made staying here such a wonderful experience.

The best part about vacationing is making great memories and being with the people you care about. So many vacation hotels forget that getting a customer to stay once is easy, but to have repeat business is a challenge. Obtaining repeat business, is all about having an atmosphere that is enjoyable, relaxing and over all conducive for fun! So often vacations have been ruin or at the very least dampened to do a poor choice in hotel. This is not one of those hotels. The stay here was fantastic from the location to the overall atmosphere of the hotel; everything about it was amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationer1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Johanna Reside
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews