We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved La Tortuga Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #54 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved La Tortuga Hotel”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just got back from La Tortuga in Playa del Carmen. It was a great boutique hotel in the middle of Playa del Carmen. Off a street from busy La 5ta avenue, making it all the more authentic and charming. Wonderful breakfast was included, service was so helpful and friendly, especially Omar & Valeria. A beautiful garden oasis feeling. I highly recommend getting a swim up room, which has a outdoor patio. Lots of rooftop areas to sit, lots of cool room options. Would def go back. It's a chill, relaxing place, where they are constantly trying to make sure that you are happy.

Room Tip: The junior suite we had for the kids was a bi-level huge room. Queen on lower level, another queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,504
    620
    145
    57
    28
See reviews for
142
1,523
93
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

After a not so smooth airport-hotel transfer I received a warm welcome from the staff, the service was second to non and was superb throughout my weeks holiday.
It's hot a huge hotel and the fact it was adult only made it a peaceful, mature place to relax with my partner, no screaming kids!
It's extremely close to the beach and the WIFI is free too, though it's a little slow, which is probably one of my only qualms with the hotel.
The spa has great, very professional staff! I recommend the massages which I was a regular customer to, and so was my partner.
On my previous visits to Mexico i've stayed in similar places on a larger scale, and can safely say I wish I hadn't, this place offers all you need in a romantic, mature setting.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room! It's a small price to pay for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeousF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The good:

-Location is great. One block from 5th avenue and a short walk to the beach
-Very budget friendly for the location
-Staff is very helpful and friendly
-Rooms and pool are very clean. Every time we looked outside we saw people cleaning the pool
-Breakfast is free and the food was great. Even though the menu is very small we ordered the same thing every day and never got tired of it
-AC was very cold (although the unit got very noise towards the end of our stay) and water was consistently hot. Also, the room was not muggy which I see other people complained of, which is common for beach hotels
-Free passes to nearby beach clubs
-Beds were comfortable and pillows didn't bother me in our room. However, the other room we had booked only had a sheet and no comforter likes ours did. Not really sure how this could have been overlooked.

The bad:

-Booked the trip six months ago and there was STILL a room mix up. I had an email confirmation (correspondence with the sales manager) that we would have two rooms close together, one with 2 queens and one with a king bed. While checking in we were told that the two rooms both only had one bed and to get what we had requested we would have to be in separate buildings. Yes, the hotel isn't big and the buildings aren't far away but this was still somewhat of an annoyance considering it had been made very clear that we would have rooms close by.

-Phone wasn't working in the room (no dial tone). Finally got it fixed yet there were no instructions how to dial out to other rooms, (which we needed to do since we were in different buildings and had no cell phone access). We had to call the front desk several times to figure out. You have to dial a different number first for single digit rooms than double digit rooms. Very odd. Could have been easily avoided if there was a little instruction sheet next to the phone like hotels always have.

-Rooms could use attention to detail. We had two clocks in the room and both were set at completely different times from the current time. Very odd. Took us a while to figure out how to set one and the other one we could never figure out

-Internet is very spotty. We lost connection quite a bit throughout the trip and connection is very slow

-No chair or desk in the room. Not a huge deal but its nice to sit somewhere besides the bed when you are online

-Seemed to be skimpy on the towels. Every day we only got two towels left in our room. Clearly two people are sharing a room, how hard would it be to include 4? We had to call downstairs every day and request more

-Lighting in the both the room and bathroom is poor. Like another reviewer mentioned, it was hard to put our makeup on at night. One of the rooms didn't even have a lamp, which made it impossible to have enough light to read a book at night.

Overall these details seem minor individually but when combined was a bit of an annoyance. I am not high maintenance by any means and usually stay in budget friendly hotels similar to this. (See my hotel reviews of Jamaica and Grand Cayman). I know you get what you pay for, but I feel most of the issues could be easily avoided.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review La Tortuga Hotel & Spa . We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations, and once again I apologise for that, we are working to achieve a better service and your comments are a great help to identify our areas of improvement.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had a brilliant stay at La Tortuga. The staff is top class when it comes to service. They often open the door for you and as a guest at the hotel you have discounts in the restaurant and got to take advantage of this without being aware of it. As I am engaged in IT instability networks infuriating, but it should be mentioned that this is a general problem in Mexico. The room is welcoming with balconies against a charming tropical back yard, and it's always nice to be in the bar with a beer and billiards. All in all a hotel that is worth visiting :)

Room Tip: Pool access from room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnfinnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Johanna Reside
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

If I come back to Playa, La Tortuga would be my first choice. Perfect location, in the centre, but still a haven of peace once you get in. Service is great, the staff really does everything they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Included breakfast was very tasty too, and I really can't think of anything bad to say.
Book and go!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbyKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We loved our stay there. The rooms were spotless clean, and very pleasantly decorated. The staff was very helpful, including to book tables at outside restaurants.
There was free wireless everywhere.
Be careful about parking on the small street next to the hotel - you can get easily fined for 100$. Also, mind the hotel is not on the beach, still need to walk for 200-300m :)

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor had direct access to the pool, while first floor rooms had a very plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Solola, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I just spent our second time at La Tortuga. We love this sweet, small hotel and will definitely return again. Neither of us care for the large, all-inclusives nor the high-end luxury places with minimal personality or personal treatment. The grounds are gorgeous, the beds are very comfortable, the rooms are clean, the hot water always works, and the staff is outstanding. One is always greeted by a warm, genuine smile!

Room Tip: We've enjoyed both the a swim-up room on the lower level and the junior suite with the rooftop j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selaine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,745 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Property: La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing