We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place...”
Review of Maya Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maya Del Mar
Ranked #177 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place...”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

... to be. Great host (German designer couple Rolf & Barbara Albrecht), very friendly and full of interesting stories.

Outside party inside chilled-out atmosphere. The colourful backyard is packed with flowers and has a small pool. A good retreat if you want something quiet.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Herffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    35
    27
    14
    14
See reviews for
19
70
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
134 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Location, location, location... Beautiful little hotel right smack dab in the middle of Playa del Carmen and 5th ave... The rooms are ok, they are not 5 star but the location makes up for it and the prices are that bad for where the location is...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JskinnyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Beautiful hotel, a lot of colors and plants, funny decoration thanks to an artist. The rooms are large and clean : the furnitures are old and can be broken, very good bed, we had troubles with hot water. There is a charming pool. The staff is nice and polite. But the most important is the location : PERFECT !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

About 3 years ago I walked into the jungla caribe hotel and was immediatly taken with the serene beauty of the garden and the surroundings and decided then and there on my next trip this would be my home away from home.There are apartments oncalle 8 which are managed by the hotel and I have been staying there for the last 2 years.I feel at home and secure and the staff is very friendly and helpfull.As I have made friends at the apartm.bldg.I prefer to stay there rather then the hotel.The hotel is a great place to stay right in the middle of the action and the owners Barbara and Rolfe are most gracious.I am a solo traveller and feel totaly secure both at the hotel and apartm.and have no hesitation to recommend both of them.It is simple,charming and has ample cutlery and utensils for cooking and for all your grocery needs Walmart is only a short walk away and so are many restaurants.I cant wait to go back in the winter and enjoy this lovely place in Playa,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gisel456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed twice, I loved the garden, enjoy the peace...
I found good friends, and felt safe....
Very near to the ocean, close to restaurants and places to dance
Marichis singing in evening....very Mexican

Room Tip: Room 403 nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Once again I have returned to Playa Del Carmen....Other than the country and culture...it is the staff and owners of Jungla Caribe who make it impossible not to return... I go every year for six weeks and keep adding on weeks each time I go. The Hotel is a perfect location right on 5th...with the music waffling the streets and the beach right there with restaurants at your finger tips. I know that there are many hotels to choose from and you can not make everyone happy (but their complaints are so silly)......but this hotel has everything that you could want.... Wonderful staff (who speak English),staff on site at all times, in the center of things, clean and comfortable and large rooms, great prices (and I have checked everywhere), the owners go out of their way to make you happy...(this does not happen in other hotels very often) .. I have traveled many times to different places and hotels but Jungla Caribe has been the BEST of them all...what do you have to loose to try this artistic place with great atmosphere and a family feeling.. It is like being home....I very seldom write a review but this Hotel has impressed me so much over the years that it is a must to share it with others...the experience you get at this hotel is a life time memory...it is the only hotel that I have been to in the last 30 years that I don't want to leave...and that says a lot.... Your search is over...you have found the best of the lot at Jungla Caribe... the only thing that you have to loose is the STRESS that you leave behind...Don't forget to bring your camera as you will take many pictures of their artwork and the tranquil tropical setting in the open courtyard. Such beauty....

Room Tip: If you wish for a quieter room tell the staff as the rooms surround the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadianquarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying in this quaint hotel. My husband and I enjoyed it immensely.The room are simple, but comfortable and safe. Staff is really kind and helpful. The 2 people we mostly dealt with ( Arturo and William ) went out of their way to suggest nice places to go and see around town. It is located right downtown in Playa del Carmen, so it's really convenient for shopping, nightlife and the beach. If you are looking for an inexpensive, low-key hotel where you can do your own thing and be right in the middle of it all.....this is the place for you!

Room Tip: since it's right on the main strip, if you want a quieter room, ask for one in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#125 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#99 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#121 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#84 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#139 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#143 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Del Mar

Property: Maya Del Mar
Address: 5a Avenida y Calle 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Jungla Caribe)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#90 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maya Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungla Caribe Hotel
Hotel Jungla Caribe
Maya Del Mar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing