We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is the best!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maya Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maya Del Mar
Ranked #181 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is the best!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

What an amazing place! I´d stayed in a few other hotels in Playa before coming across this one and I´m so glad I did, it´s the cheapest hotel I stayed in but actually the nicest! It´s so beautiful once you step through the doors with plants and beautiful decorations and lights everywhere. Really clean place. The room didn´t disappoint either, very clean, lovely little touches like the towels made into swans each time it was cleaned, lovely organic complimentary toiletries (again the nicest of all the hotels I went to), totally unexpected for this price!!! The location is great, right in the centre of the 5th avenue and so close to the beach - our room had a balcony and we could see the sea!
Staff also very friendly..
I´m staying here next time I visit Playa!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor on the west side (as you walk into the hotel) have a balcony on one side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma_lou_jg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    33
    25
    14
    14
See reviews for
19
69
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Love this place from the first sight! It's totally different from all I've seen before. So nice jungle inside. They even have pool but who need that if the sea two steps away. Love the decoration of the room. It is fantastic! Love the view from the balcony to the 5ta avenida. They have no elevator. But the hotel guys always happy to help you. Love the girls housekeepers, my bed was always decorated with the towels and beautiful flowers! Great location. You are in the center of everything. And just 10 mins by walk from ADO station. So when you arrive from Cancun airport you don't need a taxi. 7eleven, farmacy, Banorte bank with ATMs - everything is few steps away. Always helpful guys on the reception. And of course I should mention the owners of this hotel - they are nice couple, very friendly, always trying to improve their small paradise called Jungla Caribe. Thank you very much! I really love your place and I'm going to back soon, sure I will book your hotel again! :)
Jungla Caribe es el mejor in Playa del Carmen!
Muchas gracias! Hasta luego!
Saludos de mi parte a todos!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koko_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I am back from a 7 nights stay at Hotel Jungla Caribe and I can't wait to go back there. The staff and the management of this hotel is really great. I had been welcome like a king and been treated that same way the whole week long. The decor is outstanding and when you are inside the garden you feel peace and tranquility. The hotel is located on Quinta Avenida which is a great location right in the center of everything, restaurants, boutiques, souvenir shops, grocery store, banks, etc.......... Although 5th Ave (Quinta Avenida) is very busy and sometimes noisy, I never felt any of that inside the hotel. I had a suite and felt like home there. Whenever I had to ask for anything in this hotel, people were listening and helping. Thanks to all the staff, I wont name any of them cause I would not like to forget anyone. One day, the room had not been cleaned for whatever reason ! I told the front desk and immediatly they took care of it. The suite is very big, lot's of space and the only negative thing was the air conditionning that was noisy. Honestly, just need to put earplugs. If I go back to Playa del Carmen, I am going back to Jungla Caribe Hotel, I was looking for great staff, great management, those things are really important and I found it and found Paradise !!!!!!! The gardens, the swimming pool, the patio, the terrace, everything is perfect for a great time and great vacations.

Room Tip: suites are in the back of the hotel with patio and a great view on the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfsb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a room high up to avoid the noise but the Mariachi band at the restaurant opposite played until 2am every night we were there. Needed ear plugs. The rooms are pretty basic. There are a lot of stairs to get to the higher rooms. The stuff is friendly and helpful though, and the price is right (don't book ahead, negotiate when you get there).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lloydoblt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

A small hotel with helpful, friendly staff a short block from the beach! For me, the exotic decor adds to the enjoyment of Playa del Carmen. My suite was large and clean, and very quiet. I had requested a quiet room because I am a light sleeper, and was put in a room with balcony over looking the garden, at a very reasonable price. I like that the swimming pool is covered; the sun can be brutal, especially in the summer, and it was a very refreshing place to cool off in the shade after spending time on the beach. July is a very crowded time in Playa del Carmen, and the Jungla-Caribe was a quiet refuge (in the location where I was staying). There is a container where you can refill your water bottles (be sure to have a bottle with you). My only criticism was the hard pillows. The bed is hard, which is typical in Mexico, but wasn't uncomfortable,

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room, be sure to request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorettam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have been traveling to Playa Del Carmen for the last 26 years and have stayed at several places in all price ranges. On my last trip I stayed at Jungla Caribe and it was the best experience I have ever had in Playa. The owners, Rolf and Barbara, are the nicest most gracious couple you will ever meet. The staff is the best I have encountered in all of my world travels and the hotel itself is in the most convenient area of Playa. The charm and ambience it exudes makes it all the more pleasurable. Thank you Jungla Caribe!
Will R. USA

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamBKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Very lovely Boutique-Hotel, the decoration of house and rooms is chosen with exquisite taste. Service and cleanliness are on highest standard. Warmly welcome, and always helpful for any kind of question.

A delicious restaurant belongs to the house, and after a few minutes walk is waiting a turquoise sea with white beach. You can have massages at the beach, which I enjoyed a lot.

Highly recommendable Hotel - for being fit for a queen !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamedebzvird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#129 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#147 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#106 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Patio Hotel & Suites
El Patio Hotel & Suites
#151 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#123 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#85 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Del Mar

Property: Maya Del Mar
Address: 5a Avenida y Calle 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Jungla Caribe)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Jungla Caribe Hotel
Hotel Jungla Caribe
Maya Del Mar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing