We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soooo relaxing......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paamul Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paamul Hotel
Ranked #125 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Soooo relaxing......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Spent a wonderful week in Paamul with my mother in 2012 and will be returning next month (Feb. 2014) with more family members. Very excited to share this beautiful spot with more people. We stayed in the hotel with an incredible view of the bay. The accomodations were clean and incredibly comfortable. The staff took very good care of us. We took a couple of day trips to shop and visit 2 Mayan ruins. It was easy and not too far to get to. The staff was helpful in figuring out transportation. Other than our day trips away, we ate exclusively at the on-site restaurant. Oh my! Delicious menu offerings. And wonderful service. We felt very pampered all week long. This time I hope to scuba dive in addition to snorkeling. Should be awesome! The water is gorgeous and you need only go a few yards from shore to see incredible underwater sealife.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eliza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    42
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
55
73
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herning, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed at Paamul Hotel in December 2013. I rented a Cabana right in front of the beach... beautiful! The place in general didn't amaze me. The Cabana inside covers just about the basic needs. Bed, enough shelter for a night and a bathroom area that I could rate from average to below average. Anyway, the attractiveness of the place is of course the beach, really nice and calm, clean, beautiful and well worth it if you want the romantic idea of waking up in a cabin to a sunrise above the Caribbean.
I would only advise to do so in the warmest season, as the place -being a Cabana- might get chilly in a fresh night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davemx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We haven't been on a vacation for over 2 years and were trying to figure out where to go. I found Paamul online and booked it right away. Our stay was amazing! The staff was great, the rooms were big and comfortable and the food at the restaurant was out of this world. We had such a great time that we are already booking a trip for next year.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are good for those with small kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed for 10 days in the beach front hotel and it felt more like home than a hotel room. The bathrooms are large and the rooms spacious with comfy beds that offer a view of the Caribbean while your in them. Very soothing to be lulled by the sound of the sea at night. The staff are like family and are so wonderful I can promise you will not want to leave......ever. Big shout out to the manager Andrea, Justine and Jose they will help you with any concerns that may arise. The rooms are kept very clean and Barto will make sure you always are happy. The security on site is amazing, as a single woman I had no hesitation in sleeping with my beach side doors open to the sea all night. The restaurant has the best ceviche, guacamole and margueritas and the fresh fish is amazing, Thank you to Kalu for all the incredible meals, and the live entertainment on Fri nights!! Enrique and the other restaurant staff are all so kind and charming, the dining experience simply fabulous.
Paalmul is very quiet with a large ex-pat community if you are looking for crazy Springbreak party times this is not the place for you. Playa del Carmen is only 15 min down the road by cab or collectivo so you are close to the action and surrounding adventures.

Room Tip: # 7-11 For rooms with balconies directly on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travlingirl150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife, child and I had a wonderful stay the the Paamul Hotel. There is not much to do here and for us that was a good thing. If you are looking to relax for a few days without the hassle and noise of large resorts then this place is great. A beautiful view with a nice beach without the boom, boom music.

The hotel is 10 minutes South of Playa Del Carmen and 5 minutes North of Puerto Adventures. We stayed in the master suite which has a 2 Queen beds, 2 burner stove, microwave and a full size fridge. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and there was plenty of hot water in the shower.

The beach is nice. While there are staff who clean the beach I ended up picking up half a dozen pieces of glass, an empty beer bottle left on the rocks by the shore, bottle caps, cigarette butts, and other garbage. This is no fault of the hotel but it just gets under my skin when people can't be bothered to clean up after themselves. On weekends the locals come to enjoy the beach but it is still far from being as busy as a resort beach. Follow a trial north for a mile or so and you come to a large, empty beach area accessible only to the locals.

Security does not allow you to take a cooler on to the beach. When I questioned the staff about this and pointed out that beaches in Mexico are public the best answer they could give me is that they want you to buy beer from the restaurant. If you use your imagination you can easily work around this as we did and their rule just made us stay away from the restaurant.

We cooked most of our meals in the suite. There is a large supermarket 5 minutes down the road and groceries in Mexico are cheap.The kitchen isn't them most well appointed but we made do. The maid washed up once a day and that helped.

The sliding door to the balcony did not lock. The management said that they would fix it but they never did. That said, we didn't have an issue as there is 24 hour security at the hotel and the adjoining RV park.

All in all you cannot beat the view at this hotel. Beautiful sunrises beam into your room and you are steps to the beach.

Room Tip: All rooms on the ground floor all have walk outs to the beach. All the rooms are quiet but the furth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Micman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed a the Paamul Hotel in 2013. It was very clean and relaxing. And the view. You can't beat the view from your room. It is just a few steps to the ocean, which is something you won't get at the mega resorts. There is also a pool and a fantastic restaurant. The food is a little pricey, but it is outstanding and it certainly isn't more than you would pay at any outstanding restaurant. It is a short taxi or collectivo ride into Playa, though renting a car would allow you to travel all over the Riviera Maya from this central location. Why not make it the best of two worlds and spend a week at one of those big all-inclusives, then relax for a week in Paamul.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Paamul is located on a beautiful beach. It is a laid back place, no spring breakers or cruise ship folks. Great place for couples and families. Excellent food. Diving facilities. I've stayed at four different accommodations in the area and this is my favorite. Close to Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, ruins, Cinotes and Tulum.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicFrames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.1 mi away
Al Cielo Hotel
Al Cielo Hotel
#3 of 4 in Xpu-Ha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coral Maya
Coral Maya
#14 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.1 mi away
LM Hotel Boutique
LM Hotel Boutique
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#20 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aventuras Club
Aventuras Club
#1 of 13 in Puerto Aventuras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.1 mi away
Condo Bellmare
Condo Bellmare
#8 of 13 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paamul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paamul Hotel

Property: Paamul Hotel
Address: Federal Road Cancun-Tulum 305 | 12 miles south of Playa del Carmen, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Cabanas Paamul)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a dreamy place in the heart of The Riviera Maya next to the Caribbean Sea on one of the most spectacular bays of the Mexican Caribbean. All suites are located 60 ft from the ocean and include two queen size beds, air conditioning, hair dryers, safes, mini refrigerator, coffee makers, microwave, Wi-Fi, Cable TV and private beachfront terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas Paamul Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paamul Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing