We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to spend a few days”
Review of Paamul Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paamul Hotel
Ranked #131 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great to spend a few days”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from yet another trip to Playa del Carmen we love it there, this was the first time we stayed in Paamul and were not sure what to expect! The friend of ours who told us about the hotel said try it you will love it, she was 100% right... We stayed from the 13-15 of Feb. and had a great time, their were just a few things that I am going to post this is not because I was upset with them but because I understand the owners are not onsite and they need to see the comments.

We had dinner the first night there, their were 4-5 employees that I could see from where I was and maybe 10 people in the restaurant. We spend allot of time in Playa but we were charged 80 pesos for a Piña Colada that was served in a Very small Glass. They could have serviced it is a GLOBO or large round glass it uses a but more liquid but you dont feel as if you are being taken.
Also when we were done we asked for La Quenta or the Check and after 4 times the water said ooo do you want the Check.

The second this is that we went to Cozumel the 14th and when we came back our beds were made and the room very clean towels folded ect. The problem was the towels we had used the day before were wet and the cleaning lady folded them as if they were new and they stunk of wet.

The last problem was in the restaurant and that was friday morning, we went to the restaurant and they dont open until 8am so we asked if they had coffee and the kid took his phone out of his pocket and said nope not until 8am. SO we sat there waiting, since I am a gringo the staff must of thought I dont speak spanish which is do 100% and they had mouths like truck drivers. We waited until 810 am and said is their coffee now the other kid said ooo you want coffee it has been ready since 730 am. This is not great for business!

All in all we are planning a family trip in May and are considering returning to the hotel but will keep to eating in Puerto Adventuras and take snacks as the restaurant has allot to be desired.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mexoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paamul, Owner at Paamul Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are a small, family run company and love to hear from our clients. We always strive to be the best we can be. Within the next ten days we will have coffee makers in all of our suites, so you can enjoy coffee from the comfort of your own terrace! Regarding your comments about the restaurant, you are right. We open at 8 a.m. every day. The people you saw before 8 are our cleaning staff and can't serve our guests. And regarding the language of our staff - we are very proud to employ Mayan people who have worked for us for many years. We believe in and support our community and these hard working people who have learned English and excellent service skills. I apologize that they were difficult to understand. I guarantee that the bad language that you thought you heard was our staff speaking in their native tongue, Maya, which is what they use to communicate among themselves. We hope to serve you again during your upcoming trip in May and also hope that you enjoy our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    42
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
57
74
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place is beautiful and affordable.The views are amazing and the staff are friendly. You are close to playa del carmen and there is so much to do in the area, snorkle from the beach or just chill by the tiki bar!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerseydonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a cabana on the beach facing the ocean and just couldn't have been more happier. The views were just phenomenal.
The cabanas are basic, rustic, clean, comfortable and complete with a fridge.
The beach is a part of an RV trailer park which has the most quirky houses I've ever seen.
Away from all the tourists, the beach was pretty much deserted.

Playa del Carmen is a short shuttle bus away which cost us 20 pesos, they go frequently and stop at the top of the road, we were pleasantly surprised at how traveller friendly they were and an absolute bargain too!

There is a restaurant and dive shop on the beach, plus a little mini market at the top of the road.
I'd highly recommend this place to anyone seeking an interesting alternative to branded hotels, close enough to centre of Playa Del Carmen, but far enough away to have an entire beach practically to yourselves.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SianYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The warm sun, great food, lovely beach a great way to vacation. The staff were there to serve and were friendly to all. When your most difficult decision of the day is, ocean or pool you know you're on vacation. Paamul is quiet, peaceful during the day and quite fun in the evening with friends at the restaurant. It is located near lots of places to see. Can't wait to go again soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I found this little jewel through friends. You take an unassuming exit and drive down a little road and then find a quaint wonderful place to relax. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is gorgeous yet simple. The private 2 mile beach is spectacular. Their location makes it easy to access all the wonderful things in this part of the world but then be able to retreat to a non touristy place where life slows down. From the great outdoor restaurant, the dive shop, the massages and even a little church to attend on Sundays if that is your thing, it is a gret place to stay. My wife and i will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room. However for the more adventurous they have fun little palapa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paamul, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel in Paamul Mexico is a pleasant surprise for anyone hoping to get away from the hustle and bustle of the cities along the Riviera Maya. The beautiful hotel in ON the beach and offers spacious, comfortable rooms at a very reasonable price. The atmosphere in Paamul is like we used to experience in this area 30 years ago. There no high traffic noises and everything is within walking distance. No noisy crowds and a private beach. There is a very fine restaurant that is so well known people come from all over to enjoy the open air, beach-front dining room. The restaurant has a pool where you can enjoy drinks and if you have children with your group you can enjoy your meal while they swim and play in either the pool or the swimming area of the sea. There is an excellent dive center here which offers diving, classes, and resort dives for non-certified people who wish to see what all they have been missing. A true A+++ vacation experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogmanmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We love Paamul and some day want to make it our home. We spend most of our time on the beach. The restaraunt is to die for, a little pricey but very good quality. This hotel is in the centre of everything, Playa Del Carmen, Tulum, Cancun is about 90 km away but everything you need is right here. It tuly is paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaKat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.0 mi away
Al Cielo Hotel
Al Cielo Hotel
#3 of 4 in Xpu-Ha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
3.2 mi away
LM Hotel Boutique
LM Hotel Boutique
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coral Maya
Coral Maya
#14 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#21 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aventuras Club
Aventuras Club
#1 of 13 in Puerto Aventuras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
5.5 mi away
Serenity Eco Luxury Tented Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paamul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paamul Hotel

Property: Paamul Hotel
Address: Federal Road Cancun-Tulum 305 | 12 miles south of Playa del Carmen, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Cabanas Paamul)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a dreamy place in the heart of The Riviera Maya next to the Caribbean Sea on one of the most spectacular bays of the Mexican Caribbean. All suites are located 60 ft from the ocean and include two queen size beds, air conditioning, hair dryers, safes, mini refrigerator, coffee makers, microwave, Wi-Fi, Cable TV and private beachfront terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas Paamul Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paamul Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing