We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing vacation!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #18 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing vacation!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

My husband and I and 3 kids stayed at this hotel Jan 3- 10/09. It was incredible. The location is fantastic , steps away from 5th Avenue.

The standard Jacuzzi room we stayed in was more than comfortable (2 double beds) . We hardly every stayed in the room (see activities below). The maids must scour these rooms, they are spotless. No Bugs ...superclean and you get full maid service in the morning and turndown service at night... Excellent. (wet towels removed, garbages emptied, comforters folded and my kids loved the different towel art every night and who could resist the late night chocolate on your bed)!!! The room is fully equipped ...toothbrushes, toothpaste, robes, slippers and amazing salon products..shampoo/conditioners/body creams etc..You even get a shaving kit..awesome for my husband.

The food is INCREDIBLE ...The daily buffet restaurant is great all day - breakfast / lunch and dinner....freshly made pancakes, belgian waffles.... fruit and cheese selections..Amazing juices ...

Lunch offers many great grill choices...steak , filet mignon, lamb., fish , home made burgers, pizza and the list goes on and on...They make their own ice cream and my kids couldn't get enough. They never complained once about anything they ate!!!

We loved the 24 room service...quick service and great selection ... Dinner (3 -4 courses available) was usually at Terrazza the italian restaurant which is beautifully decorated and the food and wine selection is superb. The Asian was good but we preferred the Italian....The pool side snack bar is also good if you don't want to give up the sun to head into the buffet..Most importantly ANYTHING you order will be fresh and taste incredible...The pastries are all made on site and look like they are out of a magazine. Needless to say we all over ate because it all looked so good. The best drink --MOJITOS ...Fresh Mint and Lime ...with or without alcohol.

Kids Club and Activity Staff are phenomenal. The kids are entertained all day 10am-4pm and 7-8pm both indoors and outdoors. There are krafts in the kids club daily. It is also equipped with WII or XBOX systems and many games. The kids especially loved the water balloon fights and whip cream fights on the beach. They sometimes skipped dinner to head over to the kids club to join their evening shows and activities which were all great (puppet show, magic show, pinata night etc...) The staff are all great with kids. They even offer private babysitting service after hours. Say Hello to Damarise and Marianna!! PS -They have plent of sand toys and pool toys so no need to pack these for kids..The pool side staff are fun and active and not pushy. They have great activities - water aerobics, water volleyball or water polo and beach soccer .

The nightly shows and activities were INCREDIBLE and PROFESSIONAL put on by talented outside peformers. Don't miss the Circus Show (similar to Circue Du Soleil), Fire Show, and Mexican Show...all were good and we enjoyed every one of them . Activities like Casino Night, Poker Night , Bingo and Karoake followed each show. We took in all of these activities with our kids and they were wiped out by the end of the night. This Hotel goes out of its way to keep their guests entertained.

THERE IS A SMALL SANDY BEACH that fronts this hotel but the hotel does not provide loung chairs or bar service . A few times I had a lounge chair brought down to the beach to keep an eye on my kids while they built sandcastles. There is room for a few lounge chairs but you'll have to carry them down yourself and return them when you are done..The staff seemed ok with it.
The pool is great 3 feet all across (kid safe)...heated and large . One side of it is a children's (toddler) pool which tends to be cooler.

This resort is affiliated with many other palace properties that I was told are much larger . This one was small and intimate . It is perfect for families with young children and there are many. I would not recommend this hotel for singles as some said it was too quiet.

This vacation exceeded all of our expectations. The staff are all incredible and go out of their way in providing the best possible service. Although Tips are included the maid and waiters I was told are paid the least and rely on them.

We can't wait to go back!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and fully equipped
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank travelinglmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,088
    773
    210
    62
    39
See reviews for
1,446
1,794
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,069)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples Fl
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

We have vacation weeks and have stayed here five times since it opened under Palace. The staff goes out of their way to be friendly and the rooms are excellent. Food in November was much better than it was in February. As for the beach, some days it was there, other days gone. There is alway a beach at Xamen-Ha next door. The big pool was much warmer and forgot to ask if they put in a heater. It's all about location and palace has that.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank HuesoNaplesFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2008

I absolutely LOVED this place! The location was like the famous Corona commercials and the things to do were numerous.

The hotel was all-inclusive and boy did we really take advantage of that. We ate at the international buffet, the Italian restaurant and, my personal favorite - the asian place. Our waitor Josue was amazing...truely my new friend. In addition, room service is 24 hrs...as in turkey club sandwich and fries at 3 am. He he!

I loved going on all of the included tours (Chichen Itza, Tulum, swimming with the dolphins!). And I loved that we could go to any other Palace Resort and wine, dine, and be entertained there as well...totally included! Some of the other Palace Resorts were so beautiful and fun. I highly recommend going to Xpu-Ha Palace, where you can snorkel, kayak, and see a zoo of animals.

I must say, however, that Playacar Palace was especially unique. There is so much do: Karaoke nights, the fire show, the circus show, the Mexical Folkloric show, poolside games and activities, and the amazing aqua beach! There are like 6 colors in that water! There is also the famous "Senor Frogs" next door and 5th Ave., a long street with shops, bars, and extravagant-looking restaurants. And above all, I absolutely ADORED the staff. They are some of the most genuine people I have ever met (and I have done my share of traveling around the world). These people truely make me feel better about human beings as a whole. It's nice to know that there are still a lot of quality people out there. I will treasure that forever.

In conclusion, I thank my bro and his wife for their 10 years of marriage and allowing us to go to paradise to share their renewal of vows. I will never forget this place. I will never forget the good times with my family. I will never forget the good times with my new "amigos." As they say... "fue un placer."

Hasta pronto!!!!

  • Liked — All-inclusive, the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank SLuque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

We traveled to Playacar Palace in the middle of November with some family members to celebrate our wedding anniversary and renew our vows and can't say enough about the great service we received from ALL the staff. We have also stayed at other Palace resorts before.

The Restaurants are fantastic. The buffet for breakfast and lunch is great, good variety, we loved the different “tropical” juices every morning. They knew exactly what type of juice we drink in the morning and they would serve it even before we ask for it; that’s how personalized the service is.

I totally recommend both the Italian and Japanese restaurants for dinner. They both offer excellent menus and the staff can’t make enough to accommodate any request you may have. If you go to the Asian restaurant, make sure to ask for Josue, the best waiter EVER, he is officially our “amigo” now, everyone is just ready to help you in whatever you may need. On top of all that, you also get room service 24 hours!

Our wedding coordinator Dulce was excellent, I didn’t have to do anything just had to show up, and be ready to have a great time. She took care of everything else always with a smile on her face. We have the best memories ever.

The entertainment staff was awesome, very friendly and always trying to keep the crowd going, but nothing out of control, you decide if you want to participate or not. Our group love to do different things, so we did enjoy everything from karaoke night to salsa classes.

The rooms are super clean and every room has a jacuzzi tub.
The spa is fabulous too; it's 5 mins away from the Hotel. All the tours are also included, I highly recommend Chichen Itza and Tulum, amazing beach! The beach at the hotel is not big, but it’s enough to enjoy. Beautiful turquoise water.

Finally, you can't beat the location, it's close to town in 5 minutes you're in 5th ave...small street with lots of stores and restaurants.

  • Liked — The service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilovetraveling21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2008

My wife and I are avid Carribean travellers so take this with a grain os margarita salt.
This hotel is not the massive multi-building, 2,000+ room type place. It has less than 300 rooms and since we were visiting prior to high season, it was probably half caacity. We never had to wait for a table, or cocktail, or lounge chair.
The rooms are big enough for 2, or maybe 4 if two are younger and if modesty is not an issue. In-room beverages, beer and cocktails always replenished, and they'll change items out if you like.
The pool arae has a decent swim-up bar, as well as servers who'll bring drinks. About 4 or so, most of the pool is shaded. It is still comfortable. The only regret is there is no hot tub in the pool area.
There were some children there, but they were well mannered.
The breakfast is enjoyable and varied, with odd-named juices to try each day. Vampire juice made with beets and other veggies/fruits was the carziest!
Lunch is buffet (same restaurant as breakfast), or poolside (burgers, fries etc). What we missed was the a la carte lunch at the restaurant at the spa/golf clubhouse, which is a 5 minute shuttle (free) from the lobby.
The Spa (we think) has a gender-separate whirlpool and sauna/steam, as well as a full service spa. The Couples Romantic Massage was enjoyable, but for $260 USD, we could have had 4 or 5 massages on the north side of the Marina (to Cozumel), where a man has 2 tables and canopies to shield you from the mid-day sun. I was told a one-hour massage was $25.
Speaking of that area, you can go there to soak up sun after the pool area gets shady. 5 minute walk. The guys will try to sell you everything. One guy said he would take "less advantage of us" than the others. He used more common parlance.
The hotel has great vacation planners who assist you with tours and spa/golf services. A daily shuttle to Moon Palace is provided. Adventura Spa is about 15 minutes and you'd need a taxi.
Nearby areas to consider: Tulum, Xpa-Ha, Cozumel (and Cozumel Palace) and the broad array of shops within walking distance of the resort. The Ferry leaves at different times each day and costs about $24 USD per person round trip.
We are sure to return, and we usually prefer to explore "new" places before a return visit, so that says a great deal.
There are some nightly activities and the fire show is one that you should get seated for early, you'll have seats and you'll have a good view. Consider the edge of the pool between the steps and grab a chair.

  • Liked — 45 minutes from Airport and Access to all Palace Resorts in the greater area
  • Disliked — Wish it had a whirlpool/hot tub in the pool area to keep friends poolside after sundown
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Jane-Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2008

Our friends daughter, although living in Bermuda, decided to get married in Mexico. This hotel was highly recommended, so 30 of us set out from the UK and America to stay at the Playacar Palace.

This is one of the smaller hotels in the chain but it turned out to be one of the best. Not too crowded, so plenty of sun beds and the service and food was second to none. From the cleaners to the waiters, the staff just couldn't do enough for you.

You can also visit other hotels in the chain taking advantage of the all inclusive package.

This is without doubt one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at and I would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyriderUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

We just came back from Playacar Palace. We had a wonderful time in this property. We ( 4 adults, 2 kids) were impressed with the location, SERVICE, food, etc. This was one of the BEST vacations we ever had (we travel quite often).

We also visited XCARET and Tulum. Both were amazing. Don't miss them.

Complaints...None.

  • Liked — Service, location, and food.
  • Disliked — Nothing that I can think about.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,470 reviews
1.6 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,471 reviews
12.0 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,671 reviews
18.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing