We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #29 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is the most amazing resort. Everything was perfect. The choice of food and restaurants was amazing. Staff are all fantastic. Would love to come again sometime. The price is such great value for money. We thought at first expensive when we booked but not after being there for just one day. Amazing value. Perfect for the wedding we went to. Very special.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,158 - 2,164 of 4,748 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our first all inclusive vacation with our children. Two boys ages 13 and 15. We were looking for a smaller less busy resort and we found it. The boys had a great time. Everyone is looking for something different but for us this was perfect. We went to sit in the sun and relax. My kids were happy to play ping pong, pool and chess without hardly ever having to wait. There were activities to join in if you wanted to. We did a couple of tours.

Service was exceptional. Hotel and rooms were always clean. Housekeeping and room service were prompt.

Beach was beautiful. Water so clear and blue and free of rocks and seaweed.

I have to give a special thank you to Perla at the pool. She was the most pleasant, helpful waitress poolside. Always making sure everything was perfect.

The only complaint I would have, if you even want to call it a complaint, is we wish there were more sit down restaurants. We do not care for the buffet for dinner and with only two restaurants it got a little boring and we were only there 5 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuriousTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I traveled to Playacar Palace for a girls trip. Loved Playacar! I have visited four other all inclusives prior to Playacar Palace and found this to be the best experience yet! The beach was beautiful...large walkable, swimmable. Plenty of chairs. I was never approached by a vendor during my five day stay. We visited the spa and were very impressed, don't pass up that opportunity! So fun and relaxing! We did have to pay a fee after using the resort credits, but it was well worth it! The service was wonderful. Everyone was very friendly and accomadating. The pool area was great with a swim up bar which was never too crowded, but definitely not boring:-) One of the best aspects of this resort is the access to fifth avenue. We were able to literally walk out the front door and have a whole new area to explore. We visted fith avenue each day and found something new every time! We also visited senor frogs next door to Playacar Palace which was fun and a treat! I have always said I would never visit the same place twice and this place changed my mind:-) Drinks were great...the best of any of the places I have been. The food was great particulary the sushi:-) I loved that the outdoor grill was going all day serving cheeseburgers, pizza etc.

Bottom line..this place has beautiful scenery, an awesome beach, wonderful food and drinks, socializing, night life (if you want it) all in one package!
I am planning a return trip as we speak to Playacar Palace ...definitely 5 stars:-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was one of my first all inclusive vacations and I have to say that the service and facilities were great at this property. It is a bit of a ride from the airport but the service made up for it. Also right next door to the shuttle to Cozumel

Room Tip: The ocean views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Playacar Palace is a beautiful resort with very attentive staff members. We have yet to find another all inclusive hotel we enjoy as much. The food is amazing and the rooms are very clean. The resort is family friendly and offers a variety of activities to keep guests entertained throughout the day. Also, the Playacar Palace is within walking distance of 5th Avenue with great shopping and the ferry to Cozumel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmc41214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

As a Palace member, this is our favorite Palace resort and we come back every year in March or April. You can be as active or as lazy as you'd like and the beach, pool and location are outstanding!!

We have to give big props to a number of staff members whose service was outstanding. Perla and Leonardo are poolside/ beach wait staff and they are friendly, professional, fast, and always have smiles on their faces. Perla is the best waitress ever and we look forward to seeing her every year! Gerardo at the pool bar is also outstanding as is Aline on the entertainment staff. In the buffet, Guadalupe and Sotero are top notch. We also can't say enough about Alejandro, Victor and Pedro at Momonohana...they provided service that is better than anything we've ever received in the US. Alejandro went above & beyond to make our last dinner of the week very special for our group of seven.

Our only disappointment this year was our room as it did not have a balcony. As a longtime member, we expected much better. When we make our reservation each year we request several areas of the resort that we really like and our requests are either not relayed to the hotel staff or are ignored. I understand the resort is busy, but I guess being a member did not really have any perks this time around.

Regardless, we will be going back again as soon as we can because the service, sunshine, beach and location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great resort. Family oriented! Awesome spa! Friendly wait staff at buffet!!! Pool and beach beautiful! Great kids club! Definitely a great time by the whole family. Would recommend to friend and family as a must visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPM1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,976 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,708 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
9,588 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
7,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $469 - $762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing