We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous resort”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #20 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous resort”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I spent a week at the Playacar Palace Resort in March. We had a wonderful stay.
The standard of cleanliness is exceptional the rooms are cleaned perfectly everyday. The food is very good. The only negative thing is, I feel it needs at least one more dining choice. The drinks are the BEST!! The beach is the best beach in Mexico. Beautiful white sand, paradise. Thank you to Perla in the Luna Lounge she is wonderful. As soon as we walked in she remembered us by our first names. Thank you to Victor in the Hibachi restaurant, what a sweet man. He went the extra mile to make us comfortable. And finally thank you to Martha on the beach for bringing us drinks and food all day long with a great big smile. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Katina

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for your comments.

We also want to thank you for your remarks, and we are heppy to inform you that shortly we already have some new dinning options. The Senses Dinner by Playacar Palace, the only dinner of its kind, is already offer, and a Grill Terrace coming soon in just a few weeks.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me for any question or comment.

Hasta pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,351
    830
    219
    71
    42
See reviews for
1,618
1,917
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just spent a week at the this beautiful resort. The staff & service level is absolutely amazing! From Ana, Martha, Nora & Leonardo at the pool and beach service to the amazing entertainment team, Alexander, Aline & Ceasar, we had a very memorable holiday! Forgot lots of name, but ALL service staff in restaurants & bars were a delight and service was really 5* +... They are real shining stars!

Check-in was very fast, got a room overlooking the beach & pool area with small balcony on the 2nd floor. Loved the location and easy access to lobby & pool area. Room was spacious and was always kept clean!

The spa is a must. Really nice hydrotherapy and the treatment was really good.

Tried all restaurants and all were really good. Victor at the Hibachi table at Mo Mo No Hana put on a fantastic show and the food was excellent!

Would definitely recommend if you want a quaint resort with amazing staff that remembers your name. Loved the location, near 5th Avenue, easy walk to different beach bars, restaurants and lots of shopping. The beach is exceptionally beautiful, clean and you can walk for miles. Hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was supposed to have my wedding at this resort, but had changed my mind due to the price. It's very expensive, but it's also very beautiful. It's a small resort which gives it a more intimate feel to the place. Although I had changed my mind, the hotel manager still contacted me to say that I would be able to get a refund. I'm very happy to say that the customer service they provided was very good. I would love to go back again. They made the best guacamole.

Room Tip: Make sure to venture out of the resort. There's so many other cute little bars and restaurants w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM_travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have been going to Mexico for thirty years for our winter get aways. We first visited this hotel when it was the Continental . The beach here at the Playacar Palace is a great white expanse of sand that does not get hot on the feet. The hotel is one of the finest one can find. We highly recommend it to all of our friends and all of you. It just isn't the hotel but the wonderful staff as well. .When we return we are remembered by the staff and welcomed back as if we are family..My dear amiga Ericka at the lobby bar greets us with a beautiful smile and warm hug. How sweet is that? Be sure to look for her and don't forget to try her tea service that she provides by the Zen Garden area daily. At the pool you find equally as nice people like Juana, Nora and Martha as well. They couldn't be nicer. When they give you service and you thank them, you'll always hear the refrain "It is my pleasure.", accompanied by those beautiful smiles. Don't forget to try the Italian restaurant, and thank you Rafael for the great service there as well. Listen I could go on and on about this place and the great staff. Do your self and your family a service and book this hotel. You also will be a regular visitor....

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here from March 3-10, 2014 with our two teenagers. The resort was lovely and the rooms were nice - not over the top luxury but certainly very clean and lovely. I was concerned when booking that there would not be enough for the kids to do but I was pleasantly surprised the very first day. The Entertainment Staff were awesome and the kids spent the week enjoying beach volleyball with people of all ages. The food in the main buffet was excellent - varied, fresh and very tasty. I never felt that I was eating last night's dinner made into something new the next day at lunch. We ate at the Japanese restaurant and the Italian. They were both very good. The Spa is absolutely wonderful. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was a joy to be there and they made you feel very welcome. The beach is beautiful, the water lovely but the only downfall was there the snorkeling wasn't great off the beach. There are a number of good areas close by that are so that was a plus. The ferry to Cozumel is a short walk away as is Playa del Carmen. We walked into town one evening to look around - there is a large mixture of high end shops and touristy places as well as cafes and restaurants.

I have stayed in a number of resorts in Mexico, Cuba and DR. I couldn't tell you which resort was in which country because they were lovely but not memorable. I won't forget the Playacar Palace.I would definitely return to this resort and I would recommend anyone who is looking to visit the Mayan Riviera check it out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent a week at the Playacar Palace Resort in February. It is hands down the best all inclusive I have ever been to. The food is OUTSTANDING. Not your typical all inclusive menu. The service was beyond superb. Rooms were large and very clean. This is our new favourite place and we will be going back. It is pricier than others but once you stay, you will understand that it is well worth it. You get what you pay for. The location can't be beat either. Highly recommended. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 204kristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was a welcome return to Playacar Palace. The standard of cleanliness is wonderful and the rooms are kept beautifully every day. We had a view of the pool and beach though a little lower level than last time we had no problem with noise.
The staff are all willing to help you in any way possible particularly the waiting and dining staff.
We love the location as it's just a short walk out to Fifth Avenue for shops and a change of scenery.
This time we also went over to Cozumel on the ferry and had a day at Cozumel Palace hotel for snorkelling.
We would definitely return but we did have one or two comments to feed back
1) they are really pushing membership (no use to us from the UK) and now reserve sun loungers for members but on a number of occasions these were reserved ALL day and were not used. As it is quite a small pool this is unacceptable. If they are going to do this they need to make a totally separate area with extra beds.
2) we found it difficult to use the resort credits this time as a number of things have been removed - and only just saw the small print on the form before we were about to send laundry in to use some credits (only members can use them). We could have used more in the spa but a fairly small limit on how many you can use.
3) the romantic meal is now alongside Señor Frogs and the ferry so we got the fumes from the boat and also from someone smoking at the meal - not socially acceptable now in the UK we think it should say smoking not acceptable in eating areas outside here.
4) the evening buffet menu is very repetitive and it would be nice to see more of a change - and more Mexican food. Last time we were here there were some different barbecues outside at night but none this time.
A big thank you to the excellent pool, bar and dining staff & entertainment time which is nice nd fairly low key so suited us.

Room Tip: Sea view worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshireangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.6 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
25.0 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,256 reviews
23.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,406 reviews
12.5 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,594 reviews
14.0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing