We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room Credits”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #19 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Room Credits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hi everyone.
My family is departing in 10 days for my son's wedding. Does anyone have any tips for the $1500 ROOM CREDITS? Does anyone know how many credits a round of golf is at Moon Palace? Any information will be very much appreciated.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Bette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,175
    794
    213
    66
    39
See reviews for
1,502
1,834
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,088)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The food is amazing (Emer is the best chef in the world!), the hotel is very luxurious, the location is perfect, the beach is gorgeous and the service is outstanding. We have never been to the same hotel twice as we look to go to different places but we will definitely be back! In fact that I that is the only problem with the hotel - is that once you stay there nowhere else will compare. The quality of the experience is down to the staff - it is the cleanest hotel that I have stayed in, the staff are exceptionally attentive in all of the restaurants and by the beach and pool (Bernice and Leonardo are amazing), they remember you requests and are always on hand to help. Thank-you to each person who works there for making our best holiday ever!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayielaira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I have vacationed in Mexico for over 25 years. In 2008 we were introduced to the Palace Resorts concept and subsequently became members. We have just completed our tenth (10) vacation at Playacar Palace. In addition to Playacar, we have vacationed at Adventura, Cancun and Sun Palace (however,none of them can compare to our favorite Playacar Palace). Why is this our favorite? Let's start with the staff (the most important element) Elvira, Fabiola, Frances, Miriam, Claudia, Francisco (2), Juana, Perla, Leonardo, Porforio, Dionico, Antonio, Berniece, Erica, Marco, in other words the entire staff! Next, the food, building improvements, spa, beach and pool, the addition of more umbrellas and lounges, the overall cleanliness of the resort. I are delighted with the new manager, David Rubio, it is amazing how much he has accomplished since his arrival. David always takes time out to greet guests and make them feel part of HIS family. The entire staff, a special thanks to the managers of the day-to-day operations, the best wait staff, bartenders, chefs, guest services, et al. We look forward to returning in March 2014.

Room Tip: Book early! They do all they can to make your vacation extra-special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brockton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

After searching really hard I did find that missing tile from the pool side that one person complained about and one time I asked for 4 ice cubes and the waiter brought 5, how dare he!!! You complainers are something else. If there is a heaven someone would whine that there was too much gold on the streets! The only complaint I have pertains to the crass people who insist on smoking by the pool, near kids. Not sure the hotel has any control over that, I just moved away each time. Why is it that people were not tipping? These are probably the same non-tippers who when they go out to eat back home, where the service is no where near as friendly and courteous, but at the end of each meal break out their calculators to leave a 16% tip. Why not leave a couple bucks per meal for the staff at these resorts? They work hard, are always smiling no matter what! Not much of the room fee goes to their salary!
There was more than enough good food to chose from, the rooms were clean, pool, beach and grounds were constantly being cleaned. All the staff was friendly, special shout out to Dionicio, Elvira, Sotero, and all the rest of the staff!! Each meal they remembered what we liked to drink and even remembered our daughter's name and sang her happy birthday! The pools are divided into shallow and deep ends so small kids can play, (1.5 feet deep). A few flotation devices are provided and can be found in a kids play area. The kids play area has video games, board games and many other things. The kids play are is about 30 feet by 27 feet. Lastly the gym was adequate and never crowded. Loved it at the resort and would return in a heart beat! First vacation that I was sad to go home. Thank you to all the staff!

Room Tip: Room 112 is not the biggest, but provides direct access to beach, pool and is steps from dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vacationingallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived here on 28th Sept 2013. Check in was quick, and we were shown straight to our room. The room was clean and very spacious. I was a little disappointed as we never had a balcony, although the view was still outstanding! We used some of our credits to upgrade to concierge. Which meant I now had a balcony and was a happy bunny. The food at this resort was excellent, and its been the first time, in my experience you could actually make a decent meal out of a buffet, at an all inclusive resort. We tried both the a la carte restaurants, and the food and the service was the kind you would expect from a 5 star restaurant and pay at least £100.00 per couple. If you want the tepanyaki then you must book as the spaces are limited, but other than that, no reservation is needed. Rudolph was our waiter for most of the 2 week stay and he was always so helpful, and made us Mayan coffees, yummy, and a banana flambe.
The resort credits are a fantastic idea, we had $2,500, and didnt spend them all. If you take into consideration that if you use the credits you have to pay the tax (11%) you still need to spend over £250.00 to use them all. They do come in handy for the trips, and the spa, although I never used the spa I know people who did and they were impressed.
We went on the Captain Hooks Galleon Pirate Ship, couldnt use the credits for this, and I think it was about $90.00 each. But well worth every penny, I would recommend this to everyone. They put on a show, quite funny as well, children are catered for, although it can be a late night, we never got back until midnight, and started at 7pm. The food on this trip was lovely, I had the surf n turf, and warned my husband "the food wont be as it looks on the leaflet"....I was right, it was better! steak, lobster, chicken, salads, jacket potatoes rice, pasta etc, and the crew (pirates) were not shy with keeping your glasses full either.The photo for this is $20.00 so take some cash.
We also did the dolphin swim, I actually cried as it was so emotional. You can use your credits for this, but if you want the upgrade to a royal swim, then its $60.00 each.
The pool was clean, and never seemed overly busy. Plenty of sun loungers around the pool. The beach is amazing, with the dock for the ferry to cozumel on the beach.
The staff around the pool will always be on hand to bring you drinks, and your hardly without. The barstaff at the pool are excellent, friendly, funny, and with a brilliant sense of humour, Gerardo, Israel and Ivan made sure we were always watered! The food at the pool is adequate for lunch time as well, if you didnt fancy the buffet.
The waitresses in the Cielo bar and luna bar are just as friendly, and very efficient! keeping our glasses refilled, greeting us by our names, and our "usual" drinks especially Nora. Then theres the entertainment team!!!!!.....well what can I say? The poolside was always the hive of activity, with funny games, inc Bingo, without being too in your face or hi de hi! They work extremely hard, and again, always remember your names. Cesar, Alex, Aline, Ivan, and the other 2 ladies whos names escape me...were without doubt what kept us all going. We had just 1 day of rain, and they still entertained us.
I would go back to this resort in a flash, no hesitation.
The staff are definitely the Jewel in this resorts crown.

Room Tip: All with a sea view, but if you want a balcony make sure you ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greigs-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

2013-09 Playacar Palace Resorts

This is our fifth trip to Playacar Palace and each trip is better than the last, despite the mostly rainy days. This being the first time we had bad weather at this time of the year. This resort in the Palace chain is very special to us as we made so many friends there with other guests and the staff who are always there with a smile and “my pleasure”. We love the size with 200 rooms and proximity to Playa Del Carmen 5th avenue filled with shops, restaurants and bars. It is a vibrant area with lots of activity. The beach is one of the best in the Mayan Riviera mainly due to Cozumel blocking the big waves. Cozumel ferry is a 1 minute walk.

The resort is special because it starts with the leadership of the GM David Rubio who leads from the front picking up empty plates and anything that is out of order while on his daily tour. It travels down to his managers who all follow suit and ensure all their guests have a fabulous experience.

All renovations are complete for the near future with only decorating, new furniture and painting to be done throughout the resort.

The new spa and gym are amazing with fantastic layout and ambience so relaxing. We pre booked all our treatments which proved so convenient. Virginia gave us a great deep tissue massage and Nidia was fantastic with the deluxe manicure and pedicure.

Mo-Mo-No-Ha-Na Restaurant is completely renovated and includes Teppanayaki tables. The atmosphere, food and service are outstanding. Jamie is the newly appointed Head Chef, Sergio Armando is the Captain who greats you with a smile a welcome to make you feel like you’re home. Mario (Super Mario) cooked our dinner and entertained us as well and Antonio provided his excellent service.

The newly renovated Luna Lounge is spectacular and includes pool tables. It reopened the day we left and will have to wait until we return to enjoy it. It was certainly amazing how quickly the contractors completed this Reno with no disruption to the guests.

Playacar offers one of the finest Italian restaurant, Terrazza, in Playa Del Carment. The menu changes every Wednesday and offers a wonderful variety. Jazz, the Captain, is well informed about the wine selection and recommended perfect choices for our entrees. Claudia at Reception greets everyone so warmly and remembered our last visit. We observed one afternoon the staff using a string to align the tables and chairs perfectly. Now that is attention to detail. All of the Wait Staff in this restaurant as the others are highly trained to provide exceptional service especially Cristal, Alonzo and Cesar.

Café Del Mar offers a buffet breakfast and lunch as well as a rotating International/Mexican buffet dinner. The variety and food here as well is exceptional. There was not one dish we tried that we did not like. I watched Guadeloupe one day who I believe is a head waiter and was so impressed I told him what exceptional service and attention he was providing to the guests. Thank you, Mario Alberto, Luis and Porfinio for your attention and service. Efran is the Captain in the evening and Efran, thank you so much for your personal attention. Miguel Angel and Cristina looked after us during Independence Day Fiesta.

The Chef’s dinner was a seafood feast for the senses with wine pairing. Captain Efran and Chef Fernandez provided a wonderful experience. The service by the Wait Staff was top notch.

A very important aspect to having a wonderful vacation is the resort staff. We annually visit Playacar because all of the staff there makes us feel special. They are so gracious with their warm welcome, their friendship and their attentive service. We would like to pay special mentions to the following members who made our stay memorable. Angle, Leonardo and Martha in the Lobby Bar. The servers, Perla, Juana, Berenice, Ana at the Pool/Beach area and , Javier and Gerardo at the pool bar.

I have to make a mention of Mateo Sulub, Beverage manager, for the personal attention and friendship. Mateo treated us to a tequila tasting one night and was always there with a smile and drink.

Special thanks to Jose Miguel in security keeping a watchful eye on thing and is very personable, found my iPad that I forgot in the lobby bar after a few too many tequilas and dancing. Just another example of the staff taking care of us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a truly great time (10/4-10/9/13) the staff was polite and attentive. The staff at the Luna and Lobby lounges remembered what we liked to drink and as soon as we sat down they would bring them to us. The entertainment staff was also pretty good providing guest with pool entertainment and karaoke. Most of the food was good with the exception of hamburgers which were pretty awful. The beach and pool area was kept clean. All in all the Palace was wonderful and we have already recommended them to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,614 reviews
18.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
12.0 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,734 reviews
12.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing