We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 4th trip wiht many more planned”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #21 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Our 4th trip wiht many more planned”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Every trip to Playacar Palace is better than the last.

As a Palace VIP member, we've been to a number of the Palace Resorts all with exceptional facilities and service. Playacar is one of our favourites and we were there in September 2012 to celebrate my birthday.

Check in was quick and easy and were on the 5th floor in a Governor’s Suite with a great ocean and resort view. It was like coming home with many of our friends welcoming us with open arms. This resort is about the friendly staff that will go out of their way to ensure you are having a 5/6 star experience.

After the staff, the charm of Playacar is it's boutique size with 265 suites, the great food and proximity to Playa Del Carmen. Downtown 5th Avenue is less than a minute walk where you can experience shops, restaurants, disco, street artists and liquor shops. You have easy access to Cozumel Palace if you’re staying at Playacr. The ferry to Cozumel is also right there with 2 companies operating the transit. Don’t buy a round ticket as it will limit the time you return. No price advantage to round tickets.

As mentioned above, it is the great employees which bring life to Playacar Palace and it is reflected from everyone you meet. You’ll get used to hearing, Itza Pleasure with a smile every time you thank them. There are too many to list but ones that really stood out are Juanita, Claudia and Veronica pool side and beach.

In the Luna Lounge and Lobby bar are Blanca serving and Juan, Josue, Leonardo and Gaspar bartending. With a special hello to our friend Perla.

Managing all the wait staff is Fernando who runs a great crew.
Javier, Pedro, Jehu with Manager Jazz Perez made every visits to the Italian Restaurant a memorable moment. Javier with his two tier Mayan Coffee with Pedro and Jehu making sure all is good. Cannot forget Samantha at reception who also sets up the special tables.
Israel & Sergio at the Cafe del Mar made breakfast and lunch great.

Special thanks to management staff who ensured the smallest detail was looked after, Luis, Mateo, Jazz and Alfredo.

Oscar Gonzoles and Pepe in the sales office explained all that is new with Palace Resorts.

A special thanks to Pedro Mayo - Customer Services Manager, Santos and Ivan Cruz

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear KovacsPeter999,

I would like to thank you for share your experience with us. All the Playacar Palace truly appreciate your kind words and is very glad to know that you enjoyed the facilities, food and the service provided by Fernando, Perla, Gaspar, Javier, Veronica, Jazz. who makes always their best, and also send you’re their best wishes to Canada hoping to see you back soon.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Playacar Palace, feel free to contact me anytime

Happy Birthdate and Hasta Pronto!

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
drubio@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,388
    854
    224
    72
    44
See reviews for
1,673
1,927
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spent a wonderful vacation at the end of August at Playacar Palace to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We are VIP members of the Palace Resort chain, which includes the new Hard Rock's, and we absolutely loved our stay at this charming and intimate resort! It all starts at the top with the hotel manager, David Rubio Isidro, contacting us prior to our vacation to see what he could do to make our vacation special. Once there we were blown away by the room selection set aside by Mr. Isidro and his team. The service was exemplary with all our needs attended to by a wonderful staff. Thank you's to staff members like Claudia and Veronica, pool side, who went out of way to bring and drink or food request. Also Leonardo, Oscar, Carlos, Dionicio, thank you for great and memorable service! Special thanks to Frank who made our meals at the Asian restaurant above our expectations and was constantly surprising us with great service, meals, and self made crepe deserts, our sincerest thanks Frank! We just can't say enough about our time at Playacar and have been planning our return from the moment we left. Try this little piece of heaven and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funinthesunguy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Playacar Palace... everything was perfect, not a single bad thing to say about it. The place is beautiful, the rooms are huge, the bed very comfortable, the pool area and the beach always have available chairs, delicious food at every restaurant, the credits saved us a lot of money in all the activities we wanted to do. There is some construction going around and we stayed at the 2nd floor facing the pool bar, so this was probably as noisy as it could get... we are heavy sleepers so we truly didn't mind at all. It wasn't loud at all but there was a wedding on saturday night and we could hear the music from the bar. Again, NOT loud, but if you are looking for an extremely quiet room you might want to ask for a higher floor. It was fine for us though. The staff... just the friendlier staff you'll ever find. EVERYONE, so nice, always willing to help you, always with a smile and a happy face, always going the extra mile. Israel, our favorite waiter! :) I could go over and over on just how wonderful everything went but you'll have to see it for yourself. We strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Higher floors will prevent noise coming from the pool bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Daniela

Thank you so much for the time and share your feedback with us. Israel and the Playacar family send you their best wishes flying to Argentina, and we truly hope to see you back soon.

Please, feel free to contact me anytime for your next visit and create another “Amazing Experience”!!

Hasta Pronto!

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
drubio@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We got married at Playacar on Oct 10, 2012 and it was nothing short of fantastic! I can't say enough about the wedding planner Wilma! She is amazing and Palace resorts is VERY lucky to have her. The wedding department is useless through Palace head office- the onsite coordinator is FANTASTIC!
We were greeted with a private check in at Luna lounge- snacks and drinks in hand were very appreciated- of course we were about 40 people checking in at once...
We had 49 guests ranging from 10 months old to 74 yrs old and everyone had a great time! Service was impeccable and the food was pretty good. We picked Playacar based on the beach and a past visit to a sister property and we were not disappointed. Everything from location to size of resort was great.

We had a few private events- a welcome cocktail, the wedding dinner, and a farewell dinner on the beach- ALL were carried out perfectly with amazing service! Even our wedding cocktail that got rained out, was moved indoors quickly and efficiently and some never even realized we changed venues.
Yes- there is some construction and this is the only negative thing I have to say- the rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors around the 350 and 450 #'d rooms should not even be open for use. I had 13 couples change rooms because of the noise!! Once those 26 people were moved- everyone was fine. As the wedding couple, we were upgraded to the governor suite- and WOW! great touch- thank you Palace.
We even took some midnight swims in the pool and staff saw us outside- brought towels and wine!
We will go back for sure- Thank you Palace for giving us a kick- butt wedding!

A few honourable mentions-
Nora, Sandra, Juana, Alcides, Leonardo and for sure WILMA in the wedding dept. The servers in the Luna Lounge- are the best!!

Room Tip: make sure you can actually go out on your balcony- some have juliette style that you can't actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yunric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Yunric

Congratulations, and thank you very much for review. We know how important the wedding days are for a couple and we make our best to create unforgettable moments.I feel happy you enjoy them with your entire group.

Congratulations for you and for your husband, have a happy and long life together and please feel free to contact me to create and amazing experience for your first anniversary.

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
drubio@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just returned from this lovely resort, and were nothing but satisfied. We travel to the Mayan twice a year and have stayed at many resorts. We always stay at at least 4.5 - 5 star resorts but got a bit tired of the larger resorts and wanted something smaller. We came to this resort based on the amazing reviews. From the moment we arrived the service exceeded our expectations. You will go to the pool at any hour and not worry about getting a chair in the sun, shade, beach or pool. More chairs than guests, gets my vote. The food was fabulous, and you will not find better service anywhere. The rooms are super, a jacuzzi in every room and almost every room is an ocean view. The booze is top shelf not watered down crap. The staff will ask your name and what you drink the first day and will remember it for the duration of your stay, impressive. The area is really nice, you can walk to shops, other resorts or just wander the nice neighborhood safely as its a gated community. You can walk the beach in either direction forever. The resort offered us free credits that had nothing to do with time share presentations, we got free massages, gifts and day trips. We left the resort feeling like royalty, it's going to be hard to go anywhere else, so we will be back! Francisco (best bartender ever), Perla and Erika we miss you already.

If you don't get it on sale, it really is worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nani-Ke-Ola-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear 24 corona,

On behalf of Playacar Palace Resorts, I would like to thank you for all your kindest comments about your experience during your stay with us. We would like to let you know how much we appreciate you and your family your preference and for let us be part of such wonderful occasion.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Playacar Palace and please, contact me direct before your stay to make alll the arrangments

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
drubio@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stay at the Cozumel Palace but took the ferry to Playa del Carmen and were able to stay at this resort for the day and eat and drink all we wanted. This place is about 3x's as big as Cozumel Palace and is definitely a place for families and we plan to take ours back. It also seems like there's much more to do in the area. Food is great and they have many restaurants to choose from!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashlduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear AshlDuncan

Thank you for the time to write your review and thank you for your comments, all the members of the Playacar family appreciate.

Please contact me for any questions

Hasta pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
drubio@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were very curious if all the too-good-to-be-true images on the Palace Resorts website really accurately depicted their Playacar Palace property. After some users on TripAdvisor wrote about constructions going on and some other (minor) glitches in service and food we wondered what our experience would be like.

As you can see in the headline: We had an AWESOME time at Playacar Palace! It has THE best beach in the area, a very solid, often times highly delicious buffet, an Italian restaurant that's trying very hard (sometimes a little too hard) to be haute cuisine (try the beef!!) and some nice Asian dishes. Their Asian restaurant was under construction while we were there but they served its dishes in the main restaurant. Our room originally was on the 1st floor right next to the pool bar. It was nice, but a bit loud for our taste, so they generously upgraded us on the 5th floor. Stunning views of the Caribbean, let me tell you!

As mentioned uncountable times before in the reviews: Their staff is simply wonderful, one of the best and friendliest teams we've ever encountered in a hotel. Kudos!

The resort credits? A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! We went to Chichen Itza, went swimming with dolphins (do it at Dolphin Discoveries, they have the nicest location!), had 80 minute massages and fine wines for just the price of the taxes. Highly recommended!

As this was our first time on Mexico we'll definitely go back - and will probably choose Playacar Palace again. If they keep up the good work ;)

Room Tip: Go for the 5th floor, e.g. room 532, and enjoy waking up to the Caribbean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucky_MUC_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
25.0 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,283 reviews
6.3 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,422 reviews
23.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,659 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,265 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing