We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Ranked #41 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Runcorn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

February 1st for two weeks. First time to Mexico, what a lovely time and here are my views,
To get there was with Thomas cook head wind so an 11 hr flight. Quick through the airport and then the transfer. This took three hrs because of the drop offs, the Iberostar being the last one. I would recommend a taxi from the airport and not the transfer.
The hotel was fantastic the staff were so helpful and nice. There were staff cleaning the hotel throughout the day, looking after the grounds and making sure that all was well.
Rooms were absolutely fine comfy bed tea making facility and soft drinks and beer in the fridge replaced every two days.
The food was plentiful and varied for all tastes, salads, curry, pizza, pasta and much more.
The pool was vast and spotless, there is an adult swim pool and bar looked great but not for us. A small child's pool.
The beach was stunning, went here every day, sea warm and clear. In the mornings we walked to the headland to the right of the hotel, took about 30 mins beautiful walk with no hotels, just jungle and beach. Turn left and walk you go towards Cancun, this was busy with hotels but still a nice walk.
The star friends worked hard to keep everyone entertained lots of games if you wanted them and left you alone if you wanted peace.
Went on the X plore day with the zip lines, amphibious vehicle and caves, fantastic fun and a full day. We also swam with dolphins on the Delphinos trip a half day wonderful experience, but the photographs were extortionate and you cant use your own camera.
Ladies and gents if you want a beautiful hotel as busy or quiet as you want it, lovely relaxing grounds and beach with very good food and glorious weather, then look no further.

Room Tip: Blocks 20 to 23 nearer the pool and beach and a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuncornErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Appreciated Guest,

On behalf of the General Management of the IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal resort, we sincerely thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our property and team members, including our Star Friends!

We highly value your compliments regarding the cleanliness of our premises, the variety of our gastronomic choices and in general, the great stay we provided you that complemented your travel experience in the Riviera Maya.

Thank you again for your kind note and for your preference. We look forward to welcoming you again to our tropical resort in the heart of Playa del Carmen.

With our best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,687
    1,331
    329
    106
    56
See reviews for
1,840
1,600
58
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Enjoyed a five day vacation with 8 family members (all adults). The service at this hotel is outstanding. For an all inclusive, the food was fine. The Japanese and Italian specialty restaurants were especially good. The rooms we stayed in overlooked the jungle (25 and 26) and were quite dark and a bit claustrophobic…..and the noise of the peacocks beginning at 5:30 a.m. made sleep a bit of a problem. However, the rooms were quite spacious and very clean. It is very difficult to find a chair in the shade (or any chair near the pool) after 7:30 a.m. I think people must have "reserved" chairs before going to bed or perhaps were tipping staff to save them. The beach is lovely and a very easy (20-30 min.) walk to Playa del Carmen. The short snorkeling trip offered at the beach far exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank anniehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing our beautiful resort to enjoy a wonderful time during your holidays with your family.

We are very pleased for your kind remarks regarding our gastronomy, friendly team members and services.

Thank you for your nice review and recommendations to other readers of the Trip Advisor travel site. We would be honored if you gave us the opportunity to host you back in the near future so we can offer you more of the quality that defines our brand.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Iberostar. We travel down south every winter for the last 10 years and this was one of the nicest resorts that we have stayed at. The beach was beautiful, the staff friendly and the speciality restaurants were wonderful. Would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aly146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on the Trip Advisors traveler’s community site regarding your experience at our beautiful resort.

We appreciate your highlight of our team members and the services we have provided you and your family you with great pleasure.

It will be an honor to welcome you back to our property and to be considered part of your future holiday plans in the Riviera Maya!

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The resort is wonderful. My husband and I travelled with our children, their spouses, friends and our grandson. Check-in was a breeze, our rooms weren't ready and we didn't expect them to be as we arrived at the resort before noon. So we left our luggage (in secure area) and changed into beach wear and proceeded to the buffet (if you can't find something to eat here,you have to be a picky eater). Then onto the beach! The beach is awesome.
The resort is clean, the jungle walks are so very interesting, wild life everywhere, loved it.
We had an ocean front room and loved it. We ate at the japanese, mexican and steak house, my favourite was the Mexican...so good. Staff bend over backwards to help you or to serve you, we wanted for nothing. There was no issues supplying a crib for our room and one for my daughter and son-in-laws as we took turns when he napped and our room was closet to the beach. We did pay for wifi in our room but it was a bargain at $45.00 us as the Olympics were on and hey nothing says Canadian like sitting on the beach, soaking in the sun and listening to hockey games! I would recommend this resort to anyone. It's a $10.00 cab ride/w tip to Playa del Carmen and you if don't want to go into town, just walk out of the resort turn left, walk for 10 minutes and you will see a strip mall with Starbucks and local souvenier shops. It is very safe to walk here as it is a gated community. The Star friends and the nightly shows were entertaining and the Lobby bar was a big hit. My grandson loved the pool and the ocean as well as the peacocks. This is a great place for good food, to relax and have some fun. You will not be disappointed if you pick this resort.

Room Tip: Ocean front is the way to go! Not a bad room in the building and the sound of the waves very relaxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the General Manager and the team members of the IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to express you our most sincere gratitude for making time to write and share your impressions about our resort and this destination with other Trip Advisor community members.

We are thrilled to read your review as it pictures the great time that you spent with us. We particularly appreciate your mention of our team members who gladly did their best to provide you a pleasant stay.

It is also very motivational to learn that you liked your ocean front accommodations, our gastronomy and the tropical jungle that stands at our property. That is part of our beautiful ecosystem, which holds different endemic flora and fauna from the Riviera Maya.

Please let us have the honor to welcome you again and thank you one more time for your preference. We always have something beautiful to share with you!

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is our second time and I have to say it was as good as the last time , I now want to re book and I only got home yesterday . I simply couldn't fault it in any way from the food to the entertainment .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank 100spock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the General Management and the team members of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal, we truly appreciate the time that you have dedicated to write a nice review of your second stay at our beautiful property.

We feel much honored with your fine appreciations and with the comfort we gladly shared with you and your beloved ones.

We will be very pleased to welcome you again any time soon!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My family and I just returned from a week's stay at the Iberostar Quetzal in Playa Del Carmen. We had a great time! The resort grounds are beautiful and lush with lots of animals to see. The beach is absolutely gorgeous. The water was a beautiful blue with angel fish swimming around us. We had a junior suite on the beach....so worth the extra expense. The view from our balcony was to die for. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were cleaned everyday. We always looked forward to coming back to see what towel animal housekeeping had left us. The employees at this resort are truly the best asset. They were always so friendly and ready to help. We really appreciated them all! The only negative is that the resort food is a little bland...all kind of tasted the same. Other than that this place gets a definite thumbs up. We would recommend the Iberostar Quetzal to all.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the beach front rooms. Definitely worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tammy7sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Appreciated Guest,

Thank you for sharing your travel experience at our beautiful property with other members of the Trip Advisors traveler’s community.

We are much honored to know that you and your beloved family had a great and quality stay with us and we could fulfill your expectations. Thank you for your nice words in regards to the comfort and amenities delivered to make your stay pleasant and unforgettable at our family jungle resort.

Your lovely words about our team members are highly appreciated, as they all do their best to make all our guests feel at home with our Caribbean hospitality.

We look forward to seeing you again and welcome you back to your home away from home in the Riviera Maya.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

There was six of us on this vacation and no complaints from any of us. The resort was awesome. Walking distance to beach, rooms and food area was a major bonus. Some resorts we have been to, you have to take a trolley to get to and from different areas of the resort which gets old real fast. The team here is great. You can either play a lot (games, shows, mechanical bull on beach, etc) or just relax on the beautiful beach. There is something definitely for everyone. We had a blast in last year and are heading back in October 2014. Can't wait.

Room Tip: No bad rooms here. Everything within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the General Management of the IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal resort, we truly appreciate the time you have taken to write your experience with us. We are happy to read that you and your group of friends have enjoyed our premises, accommodations and the hospitality of our team members.

Thank you for sharing your nice note to other Trip Advisor travelers’ community. We are sure that many readers will review your positive feedback as an excellent recommendation for staying in our beautiful resort.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely yours,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#80 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#45 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#63 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,122 reviews
12.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,861 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#26 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Property: Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Visit Us Inc., Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing