We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time with Family at this Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Ranked #41 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Time with Family at this Resort”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The resort is wonderful. My husband and I travelled with our children, their spouses, friends and our grandson. Check-in was a breeze, our rooms weren't ready and we didn't expect them to be as we arrived at the resort before noon. So we left our luggage (in secure area) and changed into beach wear and proceeded to the buffet (if you can't find something to eat here,you have to be a picky eater). Then onto the beach! The beach is awesome.
The resort is clean, the jungle walks are so very interesting, wild life everywhere, loved it.
We had an ocean front room and loved it. We ate at the japanese, mexican and steak house, my favourite was the Mexican...so good. Staff bend over backwards to help you or to serve you, we wanted for nothing. There was no issues supplying a crib for our room and one for my daughter and son-in-laws as we took turns when he napped and our room was closet to the beach. We did pay for wifi in our room but it was a bargain at $45.00 us as the Olympics were on and hey nothing says Canadian like sitting on the beach, soaking in the sun and listening to hockey games! I would recommend this resort to anyone. It's a $10.00 cab ride/w tip to Playa del Carmen and you if don't want to go into town, just walk out of the resort turn left, walk for 10 minutes and you will see a strip mall with Starbucks and local souvenier shops. It is very safe to walk here as it is a gated community. The Star friends and the nightly shows were entertaining and the Lobby bar was a big hit. My grandson loved the pool and the ocean as well as the peacocks. This is a great place for good food, to relax and have some fun. You will not be disappointed if you pick this resort.

Room Tip: Ocean front is the way to go! Not a bad room in the building and the sound of the waves very relaxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the General Manager and the team members of the IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to express you our most sincere gratitude for making time to write and share your impressions about our resort and this destination with other Trip Advisor community members.

We are thrilled to read your review as it pictures the great time that you spent with us. We particularly appreciate your mention of our team members who gladly did their best to provide you a pleasant stay.

It is also very motivational to learn that you liked your ocean front accommodations, our gastronomy and the tropical jungle that stands at our property. That is part of our beautiful ecosystem, which holds different endemic flora and fauna from the Riviera Maya.

Please let us have the honor to welcome you again and thank you one more time for your preference. We always have something beautiful to share with you!

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,777
    1,366
    339
    106
    57
See reviews for
1,903
1,650
61
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is our second time and I have to say it was as good as the last time , I now want to re book and I only got home yesterday . I simply couldn't fault it in any way from the food to the entertainment .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank 100spock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the General Management and the team members of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal, we truly appreciate the time that you have dedicated to write a nice review of your second stay at our beautiful property.

We feel much honored with your fine appreciations and with the comfort we gladly shared with you and your beloved ones.

We will be very pleased to welcome you again any time soon!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My family and I just returned from a week's stay at the Iberostar Quetzal in Playa Del Carmen. We had a great time! The resort grounds are beautiful and lush with lots of animals to see. The beach is absolutely gorgeous. The water was a beautiful blue with angel fish swimming around us. We had a junior suite on the beach....so worth the extra expense. The view from our balcony was to die for. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were cleaned everyday. We always looked forward to coming back to see what towel animal housekeeping had left us. The employees at this resort are truly the best asset. They were always so friendly and ready to help. We really appreciated them all! The only negative is that the resort food is a little bland...all kind of tasted the same. Other than that this place gets a definite thumbs up. We would recommend the Iberostar Quetzal to all.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the beach front rooms. Definitely worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tammy7sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Appreciated Guest,

Thank you for sharing your travel experience at our beautiful property with other members of the Trip Advisors traveler’s community.

We are much honored to know that you and your beloved family had a great and quality stay with us and we could fulfill your expectations. Thank you for your nice words in regards to the comfort and amenities delivered to make your stay pleasant and unforgettable at our family jungle resort.

Your lovely words about our team members are highly appreciated, as they all do their best to make all our guests feel at home with our Caribbean hospitality.

We look forward to seeing you again and welcome you back to your home away from home in the Riviera Maya.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

There was six of us on this vacation and no complaints from any of us. The resort was awesome. Walking distance to beach, rooms and food area was a major bonus. Some resorts we have been to, you have to take a trolley to get to and from different areas of the resort which gets old real fast. The team here is great. You can either play a lot (games, shows, mechanical bull on beach, etc) or just relax on the beautiful beach. There is something definitely for everyone. We had a blast in last year and are heading back in October 2014. Can't wait.

Room Tip: No bad rooms here. Everything within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the General Management of the IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal resort, we truly appreciate the time you have taken to write your experience with us. We are happy to read that you and your group of friends have enjoyed our premises, accommodations and the hospitality of our team members.

Thank you for sharing your nice note to other Trip Advisor travelers’ community. We are sure that many readers will review your positive feedback as an excellent recommendation for staying in our beautiful resort.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely yours,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was my wife and my first time back to Playa del Carmen and first time at this resort since 2007. The resort was wonderful, the people great, the weather and beach even better.
Our first night we experienced some issues with the water temperature in the shower. I called the reception desk the next morning and the shower was fixed while we were on the beach.
My only complaints about this resort are: 1. the food was just average except for the specialty restaurants, in which there are 5 to select from. Lunches need work but then again, breakfast and dinner are abundant. 2. the nightly entertainment is also average at best. Two nights, local dancers and entertainers were brought in. Those two shows were outstanding. The shows were about Mayan and Mexican culture. 3. the fitness club needs more equipment. 4. It is very easy to hear people going into their rooms at night. The doors close fairly loud, at least our neighbors door did.
Outside of these 4 areas, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this resort.
We have been to seven different all-inclusive resorts and this one is near top of the list of places we would return. The natural looking environment with all the animals living free and able to walk around was fun to see. The grounds were kept in immaculate condition.
Also, the Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal share the same amenities. The jungle is what separates the two resorts.

Room Tip: Rooms with the deck facing the jungle are quieter. If you don't mind steps, take the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonaldMV H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This holiday was the Honeymoon we never had, well 21 years later anyway. We stayed for 14 days All Inclusive.

The room was a little basic and dated, however extremely clean and tidy. The free mini bar was stocked daily, except for weekends. The towel / flower arrangement on the bed, was a nice touch. The room was more than adequate for our needs.

There was many " a la carte" restaurants to choose from, giving you variety of international cuisines (Try all of them especially " The Bonsai restaurant"). But book on a 2 day advance, you are only allocation a certain amount of a la carte sections per week", but don't worry if you miss a booking or have no a la carte selections left, as the main restaurant is equally as good and will fill your needs.

The Bars give you table service, offering a selection of cocktails and local drinks, often with a guitar or keyboard creating a backdrop of ambiance and mood.
The main evening entertainment, was on a week schedule, this was funny and entertaining. However we stayed for 2 weeks, when it came to the second week, the entertainment was the same shows as the first week, so this was disappointing.
There is waiter service around the pools, but the service is slow due to the percentage of attendants to people. Its best to get it yourself.

The Staff and hospitality is second to non. Every member of staff is polite, courteous and can't do enough to enhance your stay.

We did two excursions, "Chichen itza", "Pirates of the Caribbean" and "Coco Bongo's". We booked through the "Thomas Cook rep".
The rep seemed to be very proactive on the first day of the holiday, however later on, he was always unavailable, un-interested or un-helpful. (I wouldn't waist my time with him, he charges too much for the excursions, you can get the same for less elsewhere).
Chichen itza was a good experience, but dam hot, so much so, one off the ladies on our trip was crying. TOP TIP- take your umbrella from the room, we didn't realise till we got back.
Pirates of the Caribbean was well worth the money and very entertaining. Top Tip - Sit at the side of the ship, that way you don't have to move for the entertainment.
Coco bongo's is an awesome show, it is many mini shows during the evening, but a late finish (0400). TOP TIP - Be the first in from your coach, so you are at the front. If you go to the back you can't see anything unless you are tall.

Overall this holiday was a very memorable holiday for the right reasons. Well worth the money and impressed with the hospitality.
Was extremely un-impressed with "Thomas Cook Rep".

We will definitely holiday here again and if this is what "Iberostar" provide we will holiday with them for a long time to come.

Room Tip: 100% yes to resort. Thomas Cook never again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to express our most sincere gratitude for choosing us for your Honeymoon celebration and for staying with us for 14 consecutive days in the Mexican Caribbean.

We highly value your appreciation regarding our amenities, gastronomy, the friendliness of our staff, and our entertainment. We sincerely value your feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously achieve an outstanding level in customer satisfaction.

Thank you for letting us know your points of view about our night entertainment. We will review them with our Entertainment Manager.

We will be very happy to welcome you back again at our beautiful tropical resort and to be considered your second home in the Riviera Maya.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel is an older hotel and while it is a nice place it show a little of its age. All the workers are great respectful and friendly.The food is average most of it could be cooked a little more.The specialty restaurants are good. Lots of animals running around. The closer you get to the pool the better the peacocks get pretty loud. There are also iguanas. little rodents flamingos swans and monkeys fish and other birds. Vincent at the cozumel buffet was always there to fill our glasses and remove our dishes very good service. Rooms were average but clean the grounds were very nice lots of nice beach and blue water. Most of the entertainment was pretty good,the magic show was great.The star friends were very good especially with the children. Cannot fault the staff or workers at all by all means if you get a good price and are not to fussy about the food go.The weather was great. Ferry to cozumel was $26 round trip.Playa is getting very commercialized Changed a lot in the last couple of years.The mom and pop shops seemed to be in cozumel.Lots of stuff to do if you want. If you do not get transfers included try USA Transfers

Room Tip: Closer to the pool the better Rooms may be a little more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear garkg,

On behalf the General Management and all the team members of the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal resort, we would like to express you our highest appreciation for choosing us. We are deeply grateful for your stay review that will help other guests in choosing us for their future vacations.

The best reward that we can have are your compliments to our services and our team members included: Vicente. We will let him know about your fine worlds.

We also appreciate your nice notes about our varieties of meals, gastronomy, the beauty of our premises and our amazing beach location.

It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future in the Riviera Maya.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#84 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#63 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
12,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,967 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,457 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#96 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Property: Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Visit Us Inc., Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing