We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All inclusive done well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Ranked #40 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All inclusive done well”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the Quetzal for 2 weeks and had a great time. We had a shaky start as there was a maintenance issue with our room. The reception dealt with that very well and gave us another room away from the noise. Building works next door were very loud but work has now finished!!
The beach was fantastic, the entertainments team were very good and the food service was great.
We spent a lot of time by the pool which was very large and very fun for all of the family. Beach is amazing. The 5 theme restaurants were really good and the variety of options was great!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank trigger147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our Management we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your experience.

We are very pleased to read that you experienced an unforgettable holiday during your visit to our hotel premises due to our excellent staff, the food service and the beach. It is our goal at Iberostar to ensure a memorable holiday to our valuable costumers.

We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.

We are looking forward to seeing you again, please feel free to contact us before your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,731
    1,347
    336
    106
    56
See reviews for
1,869
1,627
58
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalgety Bay, Fife
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed at the Quetzal for two weeks commencing 1st July with my wife and 14-year-old son. We were concerned about the building works at the Riu next door so e-mailed the hotel in advance to request a room not facing the works. We asked for a top floor jungle view room with two double beds. Check-in was smooth and we were given a cool drink whilst the paperwork was completed. Our room request was met in full and I was glad since the works at the Riu were still in full swing for those facing the resort and it was very noisy in those rooms. Our jungle view room was 2551 (Block 25) and faced into the trees with the monkeys. The noise didn't carry though so our room was fine noise wise and it did not effect our enjoyment in the pools, beach or bar.

Our room was fine and they had thrown in a bowl of fruit. A bit dated, but it had a flat screen TV and a well stocked mini fridge. Outside we looked into the jungle and saw many monkeys, we held out a banana and one even came and ate it on the balcony – check it out on You Tube – (Bob Came For Tea!). The grounds were fantastic and just as we remembered from our last visit in 2011. We had a couple of issues with a blocked toilet and a light bulb flickering but they were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Room cleaning was excellent and indeed the room was normally done within an hour or so of leaving each morning. Fridge well stocked with beers, water and soft drinks. Beds were rock hard and quite small if two were sharing a so-called double. We got toppers but it made little difference. I was fine with it but my wife found the beds an issue and suffered continued neck and back pains – be warned!

Food was a mixed bag. The buffets were adequate but not great. Taco bar was good but as others have said the selection did not change much. Breakfast was better than dinner. We ate at all the ala cartes Japanese, Steak, Tropical, Italian and Mexican. Italian was the worst; they simply can't cook a simple pizza or pasta dish. Not sure why. Service was hit and miss too, they brought my son's pizza before we'd even decided what we wanted to order. We wanted to eat together not surprisingly so sent it back. They simply left to behind the counter and then brought it out cold when our order came! The steakhouse was better but the tenderloins weren’t really tender and we had to send the starters back since they were cold. The Tropical was in fact pretty good; we had ribeye on pineapple with mango sauce. Mexican was average, the flambéed kebab was pretty good and a good show too since they do it in front of you. Finally the Japanese – we went twice and got the guy both times that can’t do the tricks and to my sons disappointment ran out of chicken twice through misjudgment.

I get some of the comments around the drinks, they can be hit and miss. The lobby bars are good and drinks strong. Premium brands included but you have to ask and if you place your order with the waitress forget it; they’ll bring you house no matter what. We went to the lobby bar after breakfast and they did cracking coffees and cakes. Bar staff were very friendly and worked hard. Worth tipping.

We were disappointed that the entertainment and shows had not altered one bit since we lasted visited two years ago so we pretty much knew each step that was coming so it was all a bit old hat. It was also very hot in the entertainment area. On the whole though the shows were good if you’ve not been before. The staff worked really hard.

The pool and beach were fantastic and we enjoyed the pool games and aerobics. The sea was crystal clear, warm and great for swimming and the pool was warm. Take some bread into the sea and the fish will eat out of your hand.

My wife had a problem with her teeth whilst we were there and reception was really good. They found a dentist, booked her an appointment and a taxi to get there! To be fair we also raised some of the points around our experiences at the ala cartes and they gave us a couple of extra visits due to the issues we had. Overall the service at this hotel is excellent and when things do go wrong they are keen to sort it out and make sure you are happy. As I think someone said before, you notice the shortcomings on the second visit – I think you become a bit pickier. On the first visit you are so overwhelmed by the grounds and the resort look and feel so you forgive a bit.

Finally Wi-Fi. If this hotel doesn’t provide free Wi-Fi within the next 12 months it’s going to feel the pain. The feeling was so strong that one guest went around wearing a t-shirt with ‘I need Wi-Fi’ written on it. He even got on stage one night as a volunteer for Mr Iberostar, but the staff didn’t seem to get the hint! You can pick up the Sandos Wi-Fi at block 10, but whilst standing there with several others the topic turned to maybe we should all go there next year!

So would I recommend this hotel? Yes if you want good value for money, you want to feel you are in Mexico and like the jungle, rustic and animal environment. If you were looking for marble pillars and swanky rooms then I would go elsewhere. Like many say there are some shortcoming’s here, but the location, pool, beach, service and exotic grounds all balance out with that to make it worthwhile overall.

So would I go back? Well this is nothing to do with the hotel but no. Don’t be fooled, the weather is rubbish here in the summer months i.e. school holidays. I’ve been twice now during July and both times got drenched with rain for three or four full days none stop. At best bank on half a day of sun before the storms come in each afternoon. The weather forecast is absolutely accurate – don’t believe the optimists. What I’ve leant is those who come regularly here just seem to think it’s OK to spend thousands of pounds to get rained on everyday because it’s the rainy season, but don’t believe this nonsense of it only rains for 10 mins and then the sun comes out! Sure you could be lucky but who wants to play Russian Roulette with your hard earned money – next year I’m sticking to Greece or Turkey for guaranteed sun.

Room Tip: E-mail ahead and ask for what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SteveFussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First at all we would like to thank you for writing a review in Tripadvisor about your experience in Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We are happy to hear that your room request was met. Thank you for highlighting out the service provided by our staff members, the beauty of the hotel premises, our clean rooms.
Those are very important aspects for us in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts and the key to our success.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service concerning the variety of food. We already shared it with the persons involved in order to look into areas where we could enhance our different dining choices. When it comes to the service, we will for sure be looking into this situation as our staff must be committed to high standards and personal service in order to ensure continued customer satisfaction. Of course, your well being and your entire satisfaction is our primary goal. We certainly believe that our guests’ comments provide us with useful insights to assist our staff to identify areas of concern.

When it comes to our beds, we would like to inform you that we keep a standard in all our beds when it comes to their firmness; nevertheless we also have toppers to soften and make the bed more comfortable. We have also the option of leaving extra pillows and extra blankets in the rooms upon guest request.

Regarding the internet access, we would like to inform you that thanks to our guests’ suggestions we would like to inform you that we are working to improve that point; we are also planning to provide connection service for the rooms.

We certainly believe that our guests’ comments provide us with useful insights to assist our staff to identify areas of concern. We will review along with the department involved the issues presented.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again. Feel free to contact us for further assistances.

With kindest regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biggleswade bedfordshie
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

How can I put anymore in this review that will convince people to go to this hotel.
The food is 100% you will never go hungry
The pools and the sea are fantastic
The rooms are what you need
The cleaners need credit to
And Alberto on the reservations desk you are a credit to this hotel
But with out a shadow of doubt the reason that made us rerun for our fifth time in a row is the star friends they give everything to make your stay a happy one and if you triple their wages that would not be enough. Our thanks go out to Mauricio and Karlos who yet again went that extra mile and now we are proud to call our family also to all the new star friends who very soon found their way into our hearts and cannot wait till next year when we return.
Keep up the good work and see you next year
Excelente

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank tegula2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your recent vacations. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your positive comments regarding our gastronomy, the rooms and our staff are much appreciated. Your experience and the information you are providing may help others choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.

Every comment from our guests is highly appreciated as they represent a motivation to improve our services and continue in the right direction to fulfill our guests’ expectations. Thank you for highlighting the excellent service of Alberto, Mauricio and Carlos! We will be sending your comments to them.

Your preference for our hotel is important to us; we would like to thank you the time you have taken to write your review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future at our Hotel Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Please, feel free to contact us in order to follow up with any petition you might have for your future visit. It will be a pleasure to assist you.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

if not for d wait for our room I would say it was perfect. Food was great and our waiter Roman who we asked for at every meal was EXCELLENT ! w were also very well taken care by housekeeping made sure I always had plenty of water . If u travel these months take plenty of repellent or it will cost $16. a can.... don't be afraid to venture out into town w did and felt very safe had loads of FUN :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waba64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your recent vacations and for having taken the time to post your review regarding your experience with us.

We really do appreciate your positive and motivating comments regarding our attentive staff, our food and our housekeeping team. They are very important to us because they motivate us to keep up with the good service to our guests. We will make sure to forward your nice comments to Roman!!

Your experience and the information you are providing may help others choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Best time ever at the Quetzal/Tuncan. Staff, Service, Facilities, Amenities,Family-Friendly were best ever. I loved the upgraded beds with pillow-top mattress and the most comfortable pillows. Room service was excellent. As I book travel, made a comparison trip to DelMar/Parisio. In my opinion, Quetzel/Tuncan wins as the property is MUCH easier to get around and more intimate atmosphere. Also, within walking distance to downtown Playa. The guests (most Europeans) were so friendly and fun to get to know. I highly recommend Quetzal/Tuncan and plan on taking my children and grandchildren in 2014.

Room Tip: all categories are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Marian B,

Thank you very much for your very kind review and for highlighting our hotel lovely features.

We are very happy that you found your bed and pillows so comfortable! To know that you enjoyed your vacation so much and every area of the resort, is very rewarding.

Our hotel does have a great atmosphere and it is fantastic to know you made new friends during your stay.

We hope you come back soon, as it would be a real pleasure to serve you again.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just got back from a 6 day/5 night stay with my husband and two children. Property is outdated, some of the staff not very freindly. Had room on third floor, no elevator, far from restaurants, hotel, beach, with a view of jungle and dry trees. Holes in thatched roof so our balcony was wet because it rained so much, and couldn't even just sit there. Showering was plain awful because the water went from scolding hot to ice cold constantly! Food was not good very bland, terrible coffee, and overlooked allot at the buffets. Waiters definitely have their favorite guests and cater to them only. Towel service too strict, one towel per guest. Entertainment was fair. Plus for this resort are the beautiful pool and beach, and beautiful wildlife. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mari s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our hotel Management at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal we would like to thank you for choosing us during your recent vacation in Mexico.

We appreciate the time you have invested in writing your review about your holidays at our resort. Nevertheless, we regret to read that our hotels premises and style did not fulfill your expectations. The comments on food and service at restaurants have been presented to our Chef and our Food & Beverage Department as they represent an opportunity to look for improvements.

We are sorry to find out that our hotel style was not what you were expecting. Please note that our hotel style matches with our facilities and ambiance. Rooms, facilities and jungle area have been embellished to create an ambiance of relaxation where wild life and natural environment are our main features. Our maintenance department constantly works on improving and conserving our hotel. Our guests’ point of view is always appreciated and if any issues or request is presented while vacationing with us, we try to gather efforts to deliver the best solution in order for our guests to have a pleasant holiday. Your feedback has bent sent to our Maintenance Department in any case, so that they can review each area in detail following up your comments.

Please accept an apology for the incidents presented during your stay with us. We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future and be able to accommodate your requests in order to change your impression so you can experience the beauty and charming adventures you can discover at our hotel and facilities.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 10 night stay at the Quetzal. Although this isn't our first time, we are still amazed and the quality of this resort each time we visit. The rooms, the view, the food are all exceptional. My only comment would be that at the pool, the music needs to change a bit. Too laid back at times with the music, Play all kinds! Other than that, what a vacation! I recommend this resort to all of my family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
4 Thank SJWKaty_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear SJWKaty_Texas,

Thank you very much for choosing us to spend a wonderful holiday.

We are very grateful for your kind words about our resort, including rooms, views and food.

Your comments on the music will be forwarded to our Entertainment Manager, thanks for your suggestion!

We hope you come back again, it would be a pleasure to serve you.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#83 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#41 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#61 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,253 reviews
12.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,907 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#28 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Property: Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Visit Us Inc., Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing