We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Ranked #44 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Absolutely awesome place! Food, staff, activities, rooms, evening entertainment, surroundings and cleanliness are all 10 out of 10.
Brilliant place, we were both truly gutted when we were going home.
Booking up next week to go back next year.
Love the place!! Total paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scorpio71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of our Management we thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your holidays and for writing a review about your experience with us.

At Iberostar we seek to ensure a memorable stay to our beloved guests through our guiding principles: to offer an exquisite gastronomy, to be settled near the best beaches around the world, to upkeep our grounds and to provide an excellent service. We are very pleased to read your positive evaluation about these aspects.

Also, we would to emphasize that your status as a costumer is highly valued; we would be privileged to see you in the near future in order for you to experience the improvements in our facilities and services that will be accomplished thanks to our guests’ feedbacks.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,825)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,405 - 1,411 of 4,825 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Don’t get me wrong. This is nice resort with excellent staff and good facilities. But as on June 2013 there is construction is going on in nearby hotel just in front of Quetzal buildings. I think the construction has good potential to continue entire summer may be even fall 2013. Heavy equipment is working no stop from 7am till 6pm within 50 meters of the rooms. The dust from construction covers trees, passages, room floor. The resort administration helped us to move to Tucan part of the resort for last four days of the stay but first three days were nightmare. Take my advice seriously. Don’t stay in Quetzal portions of the resort unless you are super-tolerant to the noise and dust. Order your vacation in Tucan part (both Quetzal and Tucan are two parts of the same resort that share all facilities) which further from construction site.

Room Tip: For 2013 – stay away from Quetzal at all cost. Book room in Tucan portion of the hotel. When orderi...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ilia_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal recently.

We have always invited our guests to address any issue or comments to our service representatives in time, in order to have the opportunity to offer options and solutions. We are glad you have come forward and let us assist you. Although this external construction is still being performed, we can inform you that the building work is almost completed and no heavy machinery is used anymore.

Also, we have a screen of trees between the two properties that help minimize the visual and noise impact.

If any guests might express any inconvenience we have the option of offering to change to our sister hotel Iberostar Tucan. The hotel staff is constantly working on avoiding this external factor to affect our facilities. We regret to hear that you had to go through this during the first days of your stay with us.

We are grateful to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We will be honored to host you in the near future under more favorable circumstances and we invite you to visit our web site in order to see options to become part of our loyal guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

What an amazing hotel. The staff can not do enough for you, and they are so friendly and polite. The rooms are adequate and have 2 queen size beds in them, large for one, but too small for two.They are kept spotlessly clean by the maid, cleaned daily, and a nice towel decoration left daily. The food is spot on, and can`t be faulted. There will always be something to your taste. Breakfast is very good, and can be taken at the main buffet restaurant, or down by the beach. Luchtime meal can be taken in the same places. Booking the a la carte restaurants was a breeze, and all our requests were honoured. The beach and pool areas are fantastic, and are kept very clean. Drinks were well served, and to a good strength, and by the beach you can help yourself to soft drinks. This was my first trip to Mexico, and I will definatelly return, even to this hotel again. Playa del Carmen is a 40 minute walk along the beach, or 700 pesos in a taxi. and is worth a visit, as there are some good stores to check out. If you require any additional information, feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: Block 22 was very good, close to the pool and beach and a 5 minute walk for the entertainment and bu...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank taffmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear taffmorris,

We are very grateful for your having chosen us for your recent holiday and for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We are thrilled that you loved the hotel and the staff. Our staff really is key for our success.

Thank you for highlighting our food & drinks at the buffets and a la carte restaurants, and the reservation system.

We hope you do come back to see us, it would be a great pleasure to serve you again!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

RESORT
We went to Iberostar Quetzal (IQ) in late April; our party was myself, my husband, and our newly-3-year-old daughter. This resort was *perfect* for our purposes. About 30-40 mins away from Cancun airport, IQ is almost a mirror of Iberostar Tucan (and we share the pool, theatre and the beach with Tucan). The only difference is that guests on the Quetzal side get a better view of the ravine, and some of the wildlife (flamingos and other birds) - but that is just a short walk from the Tucan side. The grounds, overall, are beautiful. Well cared-for, but keep in mind that this resort is different than many in the Mayan, because it is built over the ravine and basically has a small, wild rainforest in the middle of it. (I really enjoyed that, but it’s worth mentioning if people prefer less trees and more cultivated expanses of green grass.)
The animals were amazing, so much fun for our daughter and for us! Flamingos, Tucans, parrots, iguanas, Mexican animals like coati and agouti, tortoises in a special enclosure, koi fish, turtles, heron, other exotic birds, the howler monkeys (especially before dinner), the peacocks.... The animals are a major bonus at this particular resort - for people with kids, and even just for adults! I should also note that I was concerned, before we came, that the animals would be approaching us, etc. However, no need to worry. The animals are very used to people and just leave you alone – ALTHOUGH there were a few silly guests who fed some of the animals (even though we are warned not to), and then those animals started to approach us, because we were walking behind the people feeding them. DON’T FEED THE ANIMALS!!!! I thought this was basic knowledge. I guess not.
I will say that there are two walkways from the lobby to the pool/beach, and one is in the middle (between the Tucan and Quetzal resorts) and it is more uneven, going through the rainforest. There is a second walkway that goes around the outside perimeter of the resort, and it is much smoother. We usually used the rainforest walkway, but it was really nice to have the option to take a smoother route if we needed to. (The walks were not long - with our 3-yr-old walking too, we could get from the lobby to the pool in less than 5 mins.)

ROOMS
Our room was simple, but did the job. No complaints! We were in building 23, facing north (looking out into the jungle, away from the pool side). It was perfect, very centrally located between the beach and our lobby (maybe a bit closer to the beach, which was perfect for us). The rooms aren't totally soundproof, but we slept well, and even though I've read other reviewers that complained about the peacock noise, we never had a problem with that. The fridge was always stocked with beer and pop, and we had a very, very good supply of water (important to us). Our room was also, of course, cleaned well every day.
SERVICE
The service was fantastic. All three of us were treated like gold by servers and all staff throughout the resort. We also really appreciated the little bowls of popcorn that the servers brought around in the evening - so simple, but a nice touch. We would drink cocktails and eat popcorn at the shows in the theatre every night, and it was a blast! (More about the shows below.)

BEACH
We are huge beach people, and we have been to some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. We absolutely loved the beach in this area (the playacar area of the Mayan Riviera). It was like a Corona ad with gorgeous, soft sand and sparkling clear water - and during our stay, a nice mix of waves and calm water (which was just luck), but Iberostar provides a nice roped off area in the ocean for guests. And it's pretty easy to find a beach chair; Iberostar also provides umbrellas if you don't get a palapa (the permanent palm structures). If you want a palapa, you can get one if you get out to the beach by 8:30am. We found ourselves usually going to the north end of the beach, where there was a quieter area. Worth noting: going forward, I plan to just keep coming back to the playacar area of Mexico. It was like heaven, and we basically go on vacation down south to be at an amazing beach.
POOL
The pool was really good; huge and with a nice shallow entrance for young kids. (Our daughter LOVED the pool.)
FOOD
Overall the food was okay; no complaints, but the buffets were pretty standard. Great breakfasts with omelettes made just for you. The a la cartes were great - we did the steak house, the mexican restaurant, and the restaurant "tropical"- and the quality at the a la cartes was amazing. When we go back, we'll probably try and book more of them.
We did find lots of bugs in the buffet dining room one night, but we just bug-sprayed ourselves and it didn't ruin our night.
Also, I should mention drink -- the selection was fantastic, we aren't overly picky, but we felt we had more than enough to choose from. The exotic mixed drinks were great (mojitos, mudslides, margaritas, etc), and I drank lots of sparkling wine ("champagne"), and it was yummy. I actually didn't try the wine, so I can't give a good review on that. My husband was very happy with the beer (usually Dos Equis).

ENTERTAINMENT
When I go on vacations, I really like to keep to myself. I don't want to mingle with other guests, I don't want entertainers getting up in my space, etc. Iberostar did an absolutely amazing job of walking that fine line - inviting people to participate, but backing off immediately with an understanding smile. The activities they did with the guests were hilarious and we found ourselves watching and laughing hysterically. Of COURSE I have to mention Mauricio by name, as he was one of the hardest-working guys on the entertainment staff. From first thing in the morning until after I went to bed at night, he was leading exercise and dance classes, chatting with guests, AND he was the host of the evening's children's show (8pm). He was so warm and kind, and remembered people's names. He was able to get a t-shirt for our daughter, and we were so grateful (we gave him a generous tip). The guy NEVER STOPPED working, always with a big smile - everyone loved him, guests old and young alike. We loved him! (Our daughter LOVED the children's show - she was too shy to participate this year, but she still sings songs from the show, even today. And we recently saw a stranger in a parking lot, and she pointed him out and said "he looks like Mauricio." Haha!)
Note: at this time of year - late April/early May - there were more European and South American guests than other backgrounds. I was really happy with my fellow guests; for the most part, we all were respectful of each other, and just wanted to have a good time on vacation.

Overall, I couldn't recommend this resort highly enough (especially if you are coming with kids). It wasn't super high-end luxury, but we didn't pay for that, and while we are fairly well-travelled and have standards, we are also pretty laidback and don't let little things bother us.

We were VERY HAPPY with our entire experience. I can almost guarantee we'll be going back in the next year or two!!

Room Tip: We were in building 23 which was perfect. 5 minutes from the beach or Lobby and quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KrisSteve06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear MSS33,

We were blown away by your kind review, how motivating to read such lovely comments on our resort!

We are thrilled to see that you had such a fantastic time with your family and that we were able to offer you a great atmosphere and space for you to have a perfect holiday.

We are certainly built over the jungle and it is great to know that you enjoyed that so much. We work hard to conserve the environment and to maintain the personality of this area. Our fauna is also amazing, they are used to seeing people so they will not approach people unless, as you rightly said, they are fed, which we advise against!

We are happy your little one is still singing the songs from our shows, we hope next year she can participate and enjoy herself even more!

Mauricio will be happy to read your review. There is no bigger compliment than a customer's recognition and he truly deserves it!

We are delighted that you are thinking of coming back; please let us know if you have any special requests before your next visit. We will be looking forward to that.

Warm regards from Riviera Maya

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Returned on 27th June following a two week stay, this is the 2nd time at the Quetzal/Tucan and once again we were not disappointed. Hotel room had everything we needed including coffee pot, hair dryer, iron and board. The management were asked by e,mail to ensure we were placed away from any noise from the hotel next door which is under refurbishment, they did not disappoint us, not only did the place as on the Tucan side of the hotel which was well away from the building works but also placed a fruit basket and gifts of Tee shirts and placed a mattress topper on our bed for extra comfort. Our room maid Olivia was a gem ensuring that we had clean towels daily, fridge drinks top up daily and our room kept spotless she was excellent. Tucan buffet restaurant food very good with excellent choices, waiter service very good and made extra special from our breakfast waiter Bartelo. Pool, Beach and entertainment were all of the highest standard, always plenty of sun beds available. Only one complaint which is that the sun beds need new cushions with more padding,after two weeks it becomes a little painful in certain areas. Praise to the hard working ground staff for the excellent up keep of the grounds around the site. Wonderful wild life, monkeys all very entertaining. Would recommend to anyone looking for a fantastic holiday.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank up14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear up14,

Thank you for choosing Tucan & Quetzal and for taking the time to write this great review.

We are happy we met your expectations and could accommodate your requests. Our Front Desk staff always do their best to do so :-)

Thank you for highlighting our culinary offer, our great service and our pool & beach.

We take note of your comment on the sun beds and will pass it on to management. Thank you for that; there is no better tool to improve than our guests' feedback.

Finally, we will also be forwarding your comments to the staff, who, as you rightly said, work really hard to maintain our grounds impeccable.

We hope you come back again to your Mexican home, Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal! As it would be a pleasure to serve you again.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a wonderful trip to the Iberostar Quetzal. It was a wonderful resort and the reviews were spot on. The star staff provided excellent activities to participate in during the day and the shows were wonderful at night. We spent a lot of time at the beach playing volleyball, enjoyed the Tuesday party at the beach, and met a lot of wonderful people at the swim up bar. The hotel's location is very close to Playa Del Carmen, ($7 cab ride 1/2 an hour walk through the gated community) and we really enjoyed walking through and seeing the night life. This was our second trip to an Iberostar Resort and we will definetly be using them again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Stephen H

Many thanks for your lovely review, talking about your lovely experience at our hotel.

We are really happy that you enjoyed so much the activities and the shows our Animation Department prepare so thoroughly, and the great atmosphere our resort offers.

We are really happy that you intend to come back; we are looking forward to that!!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have stayed in a few Iberostar hotels and this on is very special - the wildlife is incredible and the woodland in between the room blocks and the main building is just fantastic, completely unspoiled and full of all forms of birds, animals and reptiles, none of which are the slightest bit scared of humans! Rooms very well equipped and beds very comfortable. Food was excellent in the buffets although selection not always brilliant but the Al la Carte restaurants were easy to book and very good food. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Minus points : the massage service would be a lot busier if they dropped the prices, beach towels and beds could be updated, and the building work on the one side could be intrusive - we were on the other side so no problem.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are well situated amongst the Jungle scenery, either close to the beach or the main...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oloren1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of our Hotel Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal, we would like to take this opportunity to express our gratitude for choosing us during your recent vacation in Playa del Carmen.

We highly appreciate your positive comments regarding our well equipped rooms, our gastronomy, our flora and fauna and our services that make our hotel stand out.

Your comments have been sent to the departments involved in order to look into areas of improvement.

Also, we would to emphasize that your status as a costumer is highly valued; we would be privileged to see you in the near future, in order for you to experience the improvements in our facilities and services that will be accomplished thanks to our guests’ feedbacks.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#79 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#46 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
6,606 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#61 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
12,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#92 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,782 reviews
12.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $189 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, VISIT US, INC. , TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing