We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family vocation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Ranked #45 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just came back with my husband and our 7 yearl old son. We had an amazing time. The resort is located in a beautiful gated community, not like many other resorts that are right on the highway..The food was really good too, which suprised me because usually all inclusive resorts dont have the best food. The beach at this resort was incredible. This was my 4th time in Mexico and this is yet the most beautiful beach I have seen.. Very clean and big. The kids club was my sons favorite. It was everyday from 10-4:30pm. They had many fun activities and games for kids. The staff was great with the kids! Our room was in 2100 which is the second house from the beach and its right next to the pool. The room was big, clean ac and tv were working great.. We were on the third floor and had the side view of the beach (amazing view). The animals at the resorts were walking around everywere, by lobby, pools, houses.. Really amazing how the resort managed to have these animals living there. And not to forget, the best entertainment staff everrrr!! Loved all of the night shows!!! I am definitely coming back again next year!!! If you have children and want to take a family vacation this is the resort for you!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bkluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our Management and Staff at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for choosing our beautiful hotel during your recent vacation in Mexico.

The comments you kindly took the time to write in your review are highly appreciated as they represent to us a great motivation to continue with our endeavor of fulfilling our guests expectations.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the different services, great facilities, natural surroundings and great location our hotel.

It will be a pleasure to host you and your family back in the near future; your preference and recommendation is highly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,540 - 1,546 of 5,034 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our first time staying at Iberostar and it was better then I anticipated. We usually stay at "adults only" resorts. We stayed at the beach most of the time and the kids were mainly in the pool area so it worked out rather well. We met a lot of great people both guests and employees of the hotel. The food in the specialty restaurants were very good. I thought the main buffet was better then the poolside buffet. The beach service was not frequent so we did end up going up to the pool bar ourselves most of the time which is not a big deal. The grotto (adult pool) was clean and we did spend a little time there when we wanted to get out of the sun. Only downside was only one bartender so it was difficult to get a drink at times. The rooms were decent a little dated as far as the decor and the bed was hard as a rock... My main suggestion for the hotel would be softer mattresses !!! Kids will love the jungle and wild life this resort offers (big kids included) we had a peacock on our balcony one day, what a treat! They do a wonderful job maintaining the grounds

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
4  Thank hjc2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guests,

On behalf of our hotel Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal we would like to thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to the Mayan Riviera in Mexico.

Your insightful comments are highly appreciated. Our staff is committed to high standards and provides personal service in order to ensure continued customer satisfaction. We are glad to hear that in general our services and facilities fulfill your expectations.

We would like to mention that all the mattresses in our rooms comply with a standard; nevertheless, we do have toppers to soften the beds upon our guests’ request. We are sorry if this information was not submitted to you in order to assist you with this matter.

Regarding the service at the beach, please note that we have a bar near the area in order for our guest to request any drink they might like to have. We also would like take this opportunity to mention that our main buffet located by the lobbies carries a great variety of different international food. The one located by the pool area is our snack restaurant.

Our rooms’ decoration and style are meant to match with the rest of our facilities and hotel type. Our Management team is always looking for improvement to be done, and these are achieved thank to our guests recommendations.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We recently returned from a stay at the Iberostar Quetzal and cannot say enough good things about the resort. We have four children ages 11 - 17 who had a great time. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. There are a lot of animals, both enclosed and free-ranging, which added to the experience of being in a jungle setting. Free-ranging animals include howler monkeys (easiest to find around dusk), iguanas, peacocks and agoutis. Our rooms were immaculate, and include a stocked refrigerator including soda, water and beer. There are non-stop activities at the resort which would match any age range. The staff encourages participation but is not pushy. My kids enjoyed the sports such as water basketball and water polo. We only caught two evening shows (they start at 9:30, and we were generally exhausted), but they were enjoyable, particularly the very entertaining magician. The beach is beautiful - you can walk 45 minutes toward Playa del Carmen with unending sand. The food was fabulous. The buffets had something for everyone, and we enjoyed the poolside option including burgers and ice cream. We ate at 3 ala carte restaurants (Japanese, Italian and Mexican). The Mexican, ironically was the weakest of the three - the Japanese and Italian were great. The steak house is the most popular, but we chose not to go there (2 vegetarians in the family). All six of us age everything (fresh fruits and vegetables, ice, etc.) without any problems. We enjoyed 2 day trips - Chichen Itza and snorkeling - arranged through Olympus Tours (also very happy with them!). The staff were all friendly and helpful. We hope to return next year!

Room Tip: The rooms in the 2000's in the Quetzal side of the resort have great beach views and are near to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RVEJTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear guests,

We would like to express our most sincere gratitude for your lovely review.

We are happy you liked so much our flora and fauna, our culinary offer, and took part in so many activities.

But above all, we are thrilled about your comments on our staff, who work hard to make your stay perfect.

We really hope you do come back soon; it would be a pleasure to host you!!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

First, Iberostar Quetzel (Pro Ket-ALL) is just the same as their sister/mirror hotel, the Tucan (it’s like a parallel universe if you happen to wander into the lobby of the other 8D.
This was our first Iberostar experience and we would definitely recommend this property and stay again; there is an amazing number of all-inclusive resorts in the area. We have been to other all-inclusives in other countries, better and worse. For the price, this was a great place to stay. We were there for the diving and Dressel Divers, who are on-sight, were all we could hope for; attentive, and safety-first, but I will get into that on their review.
There are a few cute idiosyncrasies to be aware of at this property: (We were in building 24, room 2404 Quetzel)
1) DO NOT close the door on the balcony when you go out…it automatically locks!!! Nice safety feature BUT, we did this…luckily my husband could reach over the wall and knock on the next room’s sliding door. The gracious French woman who came out could understand the problem and called the front desk. About 20 minutes later, we were rescued. The man who came to let us out told us not to close the door all the way any more.  We immediately brought our rescuer over a bottle of wine.
2) Somewhere between 7:30 and 8:30 a.m. they turn off the electric breaker switches. This is to conserve energy in the event you have left the room and have no use for the lights/fans you have left on. There is also a motion sensor on the ceiling in the room and if you move toward it, the lights, fans, TV etc. will come back on! 
3) Under the desk/counter, near the television, there is a bracket that should have a cable box in it. If it does not, you cannot get channels over 100. We know this because our son was in 2403 and then 2452 ,and both HAD said cable box. Chanel 65ish (AXN) has NCIS, Criminal Minds, CSI, etc. English CNN is on one of the 400 channels we could not get. By the time we knew enough to request it, we had one day left and never got it.
4) As mentioned here before, the beds are HARD, YET surprisingly comfortable. Yes, you can request a mattress pad (one of those foam rubber egg box shaped things, they are thin but do help a bit). I think it actually helped my back but I would bring a soft pillow because the pillows are hard as well.
5) No cell inside your room. I have seen people sitting on pathways with their computers so you can get connectivity if you have your own hot spot, otherwise you can pay about $7 a day to get it in the lobbies of either Tucan or Quetzel or walk a few minutes to the Starbucks.
6) As mentioned previously by a very intelligent and observant reviewer who’s name I cannot find at the moment, the refrigerators work MUCH more effectively if you LEAVE THE CABINET DOOR OPEN so the thing can circulate venting. Also, the ice machines don’t work…at least not within the buildings 24,23,25 and we had to call for it.
7) Have a wonderful time! Bring hand fans, sunscreen, lots of $1.00 bills because it feels good to tip these people even though it is an all-inclusive.

Room Tip: We requested building 23 or 24 based on previous comments and had no issues. There are some noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lostalaskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for the time you have invested in writing your recent experience at our Hotel Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We are sure your feedback and recommendations will assist other travelers to get familiar with our hotel type and features in order to choose us for their holidays. We thank you for preference and your positive comments about our beautiful resort.

We would like to mention that all the mattresses in our rooms comply with a standard; nevertheless, as you mentioned we have toppers to soften the beds upon our guests’ request. It is important to mention as well that our Hotel does have WIFI in both lobbies, which has an extra charge and the access code can be requested at the Front Desk.

Regarding the power saving features, it is indeed to reduce environmental impact as you suggested. Iberostar has the Green Globe certification which is a program for sustainable tourism, and as members we are committed to saving energy and water resources, reduce operational costs and contribute positively to local communities and their environment.

We are sorry to hear that you were locked out of your room; the lock for our doors is a security feature in order to avoid any incident. Our TV has a cable system controlled through a cable box, we are sorry to hear that it was not working properly. Our Guest Service team is always willing to assist our guests with any report or request they might have.

It will be a pleasure to host you back in the near future. Please keep in touch with us through our web page in order to follow up with any request you might have.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Wonderful for our group of well-supervised high school seniors and their families. Staff was very helpful. The resort is just the right size to give kids a bit of freedom but not too much! The only suggestion I would make is for a bit softer beds( I like firm but...).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank tzbreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your positive review!

We are happy you were so satisfied with the resort and our staff.

We have soft bed toppers for guests who find beds to be too firm for their liking, you can ask our concierge and they will be happy to arrange it. We are sorry if that information was not provided!!

Thanks again for you kindness, it would be a real pleasure to have you back soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Estuve en el Iberostar Quetzal 10 noches en abril 2013, la verdad que excelente el hotel, la atención del personal, las instalaciones, la limpieza, la cantidad de actividades y variantes que presentan para que la gente se entretenga y la zona de pileta y playa. El único punto a mejorar a mi entender es la comida en los buffet, es muy buena, pero falta algo de variedad, los restaurant a la carta que viste (Italiano y Mexicano) muy buenos tambien.

Otro punto importante es la naturaleza que rodea al hotel, vas a ver mucha vegetación y animales.

I was in Iberostar Quetal during 10 nights in April 2013. The building of the hotel and rooms, the service of the people who works in the hotel, the cleaness, the variety of activities to entertain to the guests and the pool/beach zone are perfect. I will only propose an improvement in the buffet service, it is very good, but I think that there is a lack of variety in the menu. Despite this observation, I will stand out the restaurants with menu, I went to the Italian and the Mexican and both were really good.

Anothe very important thing is the nature that surround the hotel, is amazing the place and you will see a lot of vegetation and animals.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hernán G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado/a huésped,

Muchísimas gracias por habernos escogido para pasar sus vacaciones, y por tan amables comentarios acerca de su experiencia.

Gracias por destacar nuestra característica flora & fauna, la limpieza de las instalaciones y la animación, y por supuesto el personal, que trabaja duro día a día para que nuestros queridos huéspedes se sientan "como estrellas".

Agradecemos su crítica constructiva sobre el buffet y pasamos su comentario al Chef Ejecutivo para considerar. Son sus comentarios los que nos ayudan a ser mejores día tras día.

Esperamos que vuelvan a visitarnos ya que para nosotros sería un verdadero placer servirles de nuevo.

Atentamente,

Gerente de Calidad
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our first all inclusive vacation. We picked this resort from the reviews on Trip Advisor about the wildlife at the resort; we are huge animal lovers. Overall the resort is very nice, well maintained and great staff. We were put in a room in the 2700 block that over looked the lobby area, so we asked to be moved and the next day they had a room for us in the 2400 block that over looked the jungle. We also asked for a mattress pad since the beds indeed were pretty hard. Our tv would stop working if we turned it off, so every time we accidentally turned it off we'd have to call the front desk to come fix it. I'm not sure what was wrong but I don't think they brought us a new one, they'd just get it to work, but once it was turned off it wouldn't turn back on. The staff was great though and our room was always made up nice and fridge stocked. The beach and pools were great, always found a seat. The buffet food was ok, but always sort of the same stuff. We were only able to eat at the Tropical, Japanese, and Mexican restaurants though. This is probably our main complaint. I think if your going to a 4-5 star resort and paying top dollar, you should be able to eat at all the restaurants. We couldn't get a reservation to the Steakhouse or Italian. I guess they are the most popular and book up fast. We didn't care for the Mexican too much. I mean it was ok, but nothing special. We enjoyed the Japanese one very much though.

One other thing we noticed were cockroaches on the food garbage carts outside the beach area buffet restaurants. Didn't really bother us but who wants to see cockroaches while they eat? Also saw one run across the table at the Japanese restaurant. So overall a good resort, but we now know we don't really care for the all inclusive. We'd rather stay somewhere cheaper, and have extra money to spend on excursions, site seeing, and tours.

We went snorkling to Puerto Morelas one day and also went to The Jungle Place on another day. We paid a taxi driver to take us to the Jungle Place, then he took us to see some free cenotes which was nice, and also took us to the free public beach in Akumal were you can snorkel with turtles.

Great resort for families, if you like animals, and enjoy laying around a pool or beach for most of your holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Casey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal as your holiday's destination and for taking time to share you experience.

We appreciate your positive evaluation about the beautiful hotel premises and services from our staff. At Iberostar we are committed to providing high quality service in order to ensure customer satisfaction and loyalty.

We regret to hear all details remarked in your review. We would like to inform you that the possibility of booking our 5 specialty restaurants included in your All Inclusive Package go according to your stay (up to 4 nights 1 reservation, 5 to 6 nights 2 reservations and between 7 and 9 nights 3 reservations). You are entitled to a certain amount of guaranteed reservations, but this amount can be increased if the availability allows so. We are sorry if we were not able to offer you additional reservations. We would like to highlight that our Mexican Restaurant has authentic dishes from our country; we regret to hear the restaurant did not fulfill your expectations and have forwarded your feedback to our Chef to look for areas of improvement.

Regarding the insects you noticed in areas, we have forwarded the information to the heads of the department involved since the cleanliness in our resort is our priority. They will be verified and actions will be taken to prevent this from happening.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future as we believe that our hotel and it beautiful facilities has plenty of options and activities to offer to our guests who visit us from different parts of the world!

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#50 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
6,814 reviews
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,336 reviews
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#59 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
13,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $195 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing