We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Ranked #44 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was my 3rd & last visit to this resort.
Planned my trip 6 months in advance . Paid for a junior suite with ocean view. Upon arrival, was told they made a mistake & I would not have an ocean view. Already had a massage voucher ready. All this next to a sign advertising " Ask for an Upgrade for an ocean view "

The quality of the food has really gone down as well. Breakfast is still good but the remainder is just at best average

It's sad because the location is great...

Save yourself some grief & go to another resort

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OlWacoAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we thank you for choosing our Hotel Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We regret to hear that we were not able to grant your room request. Our Front Desk normally assigns accordingly to the type of room booked. We are sorry to hear this was not the case. As our main goal is to achieve customer satisfaction, we kindly request you to please contact us directly in order to follow up through this issue.
The promotional signs about upgrades and additional services are always displayed at our Front Desk and Guest Service Desks; however these will depend on the availability upon our guests’ arrival.

We also would like to mention that our food quality has been the same as previous years with some improvements and enhancements made to its variety considering our guests recommendations. We are sorry to hear this did not satisfy your expectations as it previously did. Your comments will be passed on to the Chef in order to verify this and your recommendations will be taken into account to improve our Buffets. We would like to mention that our Chef is always eager to follow any recommendation or petition with the intention of making the best experience for our guests.

Please, feel free to contact us in order to have one of our Guest Service Representatives to assist you with the situation about the room assigned. We apologize for this inconvenience and we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, as your status as a guest is of great importance to us.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,823)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,512 - 1,518 of 4,823 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

We so enjoyed our first trip to Mexico and our stay at the Iberostar Quetzel. Very nice hotel! Our king size room was spacious and modern, very clean and nice! Buildings and grounds were well maintained and kept in very nice condition! Buffets were good....lots of variety, but the same variety each day. Speciality restaurants are very good. The beach was great....lots of loungers available and the beach was kept nice and clean. Great beach for miles of walking!
The Swimup AquaBar was fun and in all of the bars, we enjoyed trying different speciality drinks and beer. Only diet soda was Diet Coke and another offering of diet soda would have been great as a mixer....diet Sprite or the like. The Star Friends shows at nite were good and we especially enjoyed the zumba on the beach and the Tuesday beach party with Sangria, palleta and the mechanical Bull to ride. We took side tours riding the ferry from Playa Del Carmen to Cozumel and going on the Atlantis submarine and also going to see the ruins in Chichen-Itza. Each of these about $125 per person. We are already looking forward to returning to the Iberostar again! This was a fun resort with nice things to do, but not a party resort....perfect place for families or the over 50 crowd!

Room Tip: Third floor Building 22 is closer to the beach but further away from the lobby
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure to receive your motivating comments about your recent stay at our Hotel Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the different activities and facilities our hotel has to offer to our guests. It is great to see that our main goal was accomplished with you and your family.

Every comment from our guests is highly appreciated as they represent an opportunity to improve our services and work in the right direction to fulfill our guests’ expectations.

We are glad to hear that you also got to enjoy some activities in the area as there are plenty of them to choose from according to the tourist interest. We have already shared with our Food & Beverage Department your recommendations about more diet sodas. Our Chef will also look into our Buffet options in order to look for more variety to offer to our valuable guests. Note that our Chef is always willing to grant any request from guests as we understand that our guests might have special petitions or diets.

Your preference for our hotel is important to us; we would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write your review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future at our Hotel Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Please, feel free to contact us in order to follow up with any petition you might have for your future visit. It will be a pleasure to assist you.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is the 4th year my parents have taken my family to Mexico and the 4th resort we have stayed at. Definitely the best. The food is very, very good. The buffet food was tasty and plenty to choose from. The specialty restaurants were even better. We went to the steakhouse (avoid the ribs and get the filet), the Italian restaurant (must get lamb chops), Japanese restaurant, and Tropical. We stayed in the 25 building on the ground floor and had peacocks come visit us on our balcony. We saw monkeys right outside our room. It was quiet at night. My only complaint was that the bed was as hard as a rock, but I called down for a pillow topper which made it livable. The entertainment staff was top notch. They get the guests involved in the shows which is fun. The beach is absolutely amazing, with the softest sand and clear water. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank IntenseAuburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal as the destination for your vacations, also for taking the time to post your comments about your stay.

We would like to express how honored we are to read that you enjoyed a memorable stay with us. We appreciate your motivating comments referring our varied gastronomy and the beauty of our grounds.

We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

With regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Entertainment was top notch, they hired a professional group each night. Beaches were pretty much always clean, people were friendly and not pushy, rooms were great, concierge moved us to a more agreeable area, food was so so in buffet, and so so in the restaraunts for which we had to find little tickets from staff walking around. Alcohol actually gave us indigestion, what ever was in the drinks had to be really bad quality, went to a different place off resort and had drinks, no problems. But generally this was a fun place to go. I would say this is not really a "party" resort, but fun anyway. Lot's of pool activities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eclypsecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all our staff and Management, we want to thank you and your family for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your vacations!

We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy all our services. We especially want to thank you for your positive comments regarding our clean ground and rooms, our entertainment and our friendly staff.

We will look into your suggestions regarding the alcohol, as it is very important for us to know those aspects; we have to follow them up closely in order to improve.

We hope you can visit us again soon; we look forward to welcome all of you back.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The grounds were beautiful, our room was spacious and very clean with a very comfortable king size bed. We ate at all five specialty restaurants and found them all to be very good, particularly liked the Steakhouse. The beach was fantastic, very wide and you could walk for miles. The entertainment crew were all fantastic as were all the bartenders. The buffet restaurant lacked variety from night to night, probably the only complaint we would have about our stay here. We would definitely return to this property in the future. We particularly loved all the wildlife on site.

Room Tip: We stayed in the third building from the lobby, had a wonderful waterfall and pond outside our balco...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdpeggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for writing your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

After carefully reading your review, we would like to express our appreciations for the positives comments in regard to our beautiful grounds, our comfortable beds and our restaurants.

We have always considered our buffet to be complete and have the addition of a cooking live spot where our Chefs are always willing to fulfill our guests’ requests when it comes to food preparations from scratch. However, your reviews give us a chance to get better and better every day, so your comments have been passed on to our Chef in order to look into new options of improving our services and food.

It will be a pleasure to host you back in the near future. Our team is always willing to follow up with any request within our reach in order to ensure an enjoyable vacation for our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I are big fans of Iberostar resorts. We have stayed at several, and they are always our first choice when booking a holiday. While we did have a great time at this property, we felt that it was not completely up to the high standards that Iberostar sets. I am basing this opinion on other Iberostar properties at the same level such as the Iberostar Parasio Beach and Iberostar Domincana (and not the higher end properties)

The Good: The grounds are amazing - very lovely with lots of cool wildlife on it. The beach is top notch, probably my favorite stretch of beach in the Playa area. The bartenders and wait staff in the restaurants are absolutely top notch - definitely amongst the best (these people are defiantly up to the Iberostar standards). Rooms were clean, and while the food did need more variety, none of us got sick from it. I though the quality of the mixed drinks was very high here - better than most AI's. The rooms were a bit small, but we did not find them dated at all as others have suggested. I think it depends on your perspective with this. If you are expecting an ultra-modern room like some other AI's have, you will probably be disappointed. Our daughter was too young for the kids club, but she loved the Mini-Disco in the evenings, and the Star Friends that ran it were fantastic (Maurcio was great).

The Bad: There were a number of things about this resort that prevented me from giving it a shining review. Nothing major, but enough small things that we will probably not come back.

We had requested a cot for our daughter to sleep in before going. I asked about it on check-in again and they said it would be there. When we got to the room, there was no cot. Not a big deal, these things usually get sorted. Hours later, there was still no bed, I called the front desk and they said someone would bring one. Shortly before bedtime - there was still no cot, so I ended up going over to the front desk and they finally sent someone over with the bed.

Turns out our daughter would not actually sleep in the cot, so I called a couple of times to ask for someone to remove it (as the rooms are small and it took up a lot of space). No one came. Eventually we just left it in the hallway.

Our mini-fridge didn't work. We wanted to use it to keep milk in our room for our daughters bottles. We called to get it fixed, no one came. Called a couple more times over the next couple of days, no one came. It didn't work all trip.

The cleaning staff left our door open one day after cleaning the room. They also didn't always replenish our toilet paper when it was empty or leave us a full set of towels.

They painted the outside of our block while we where there. While I do realize that the resort are very busy and there is likely never a good time to do maintenance like this - our room smelled like paint fumes for a couple of days and that wasn't very pleasant.

Others have mentioned the food. The food was below average for an AI (and an Iberostar). It's not that food is bad, it just need a bit more variety. It's mostly the same thing every night, with a few small changes (IE roast beef one night, lamb the next night). Other Iberostar properties do theme nights at the buffet each night which adds a lot more variety.

Overall - we did have a great time, but next time we go to the Mayan, we will book in the Iberostar Playa Parasio complex as we found it to be a better all around resort - with much better food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iambradn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Mexican is the opertive word here. This is not a shiny-assed resort. It is older and the architecture is somewhere between Flintstone and Tune town. When I first saw the room I put my sunglasses back on! - but that is the last criticism I have of this fabulous place. We got used to the odd interior stucco and color decoration within a day or two and then thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The very best part of this resort is what they do not do. There is no loudmouth on the mike disturbing the guests all day like there is at many other resorts. They do a pool exercise and volley ball game of sorts with the blaring mike, but only for about an hour in the morning and then they are done. They also do a Zumba class on the beach in the afternoon with the mike going but it is well done, interesting and not disturbing at all.

The pool is very large and not crowded. The beach is fabulous - one of the best and the ocean is very enjoyable to swim in. The buffets are not crowded and we found the selection very satisfying for our two week stay. The food is largely Mexican cuisine which we are used to and very happy to have so we are easy to please in this department. We had 3 reservations at the steak house but only ate there once. The steak was good and the one piece of brocoli and 1/2 potato we good, but I far prefer to pick and choose off the buffet.

We questioned the chefs numerous times about gluten free foods and they were most helpfull. Management, if you are reading this, a small GF label on the food signs for the gluten free options would be most appreciated.

The Quetzal and Tucan - both mirror image resorts are seperated by about 150' of jungle with a traditional Sacbe (Mayan pathway) winding through it. There are peacocks, flamingos, Tortuga, fish, monkeys, racoons and many other hard to pronounce animals. Most are not kept confined and are free to roam. It was most amazing to be able to walk through this jungle garden every day.

The entertainment gets old real fast. There are a few interesting shows, in particular the magician. But for the most part we found ourselves drifting away from the noise and back to our room and having an early night. The days are so awesome that I was happy to hit the hay early anyhow. But don't come here for the entertainment.

Beach walks into town or south were devine. One small tip is we had great massages in downtown Playa del Carmen from a place right on 5th Ave, I believe it was called Magic Hands, for the remarkable price of $60 for 2 of us for an hour.

I have dived at the reef here a number of times over the years, but not on this trip due to some health concerns. The diving is easy, not to deep, and beautiful. I highly recommend getting PADI certified before you come here.

I have also spent a day in the past going to Cozumel and found it a wast of a day.

Renting a car is fun if you take the time to find out a few peculiar rules of the road. Regardless, a trip to Tulum ruins is the best.

The Yucatan has a most interesting geology as it is all limestone, and all of the abundant water flows underground in aquifers. Where the water flows close to the surface the ground breaks through creating thousands of "cenotes". These were very important to the ancient Mayans and in modern Riviera times all of the theme parks in the area are centered around a cenote where you can snorkel or float etc. One of these theme parks we had fun with a few years ago was Xplore. They have a 1 kilometer underground stream that is about 4' deep which you can float down. Also a series of zip lines and 4 wheel jungle bugies. My wife and I are well into our 50's and we giggled like kids through this park.

One tip I can make is to....well, tip. Quite possibly our trip was made more enjoyable because we tip. We always left between 20 and 50 pesos on the bed for the maid, and made sure to have an ample stock of 20 peso notes for the servers, check in staff, bell captain etc. These people make about $30 per day, so your tips are very appreciate by all of them.

I hope this helps. Happy trails.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank adventurmanCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review about Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal and for posting it on TripAdvisor. We are sure your feedback will prove very valuable for other users.

Thank you so much for appreciating our well-conserved grounds and our flora and fauna. At Iberostar we are part of the Green Globe program so we are committed to preserving the environment, creating spaces for the local wildlife and respecting Mexican culture (as well as other actions of course, such as recycling and saving energy).

It is great you liked the quality and variety of our food and that your were happy with our hard working staff.

Thank you for your detailed description of the resort and the wonders of Yucatan. It is truly a wonderful region that is a must see at least once in a lifetime.

Our thanks again for choosing us and we hope you give us the honor to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#79 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#46 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
6,600 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#62 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
12,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#95 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,776 reviews
12.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $189 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing