We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Ranked #44 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Review of Iberostar Quetzal January 6-13
Upon arriving at the Quetzal we were impressed with the area the resort is situated in, a nice residential neighbourhood, very clean and well kept.
The resort itself is immaculately kept and the main walkway is a trail through a nature preserve, teaming with all sorts of wildlife, Peacocks, Flamingos, Howler and squirrel monkeys, Chinese carp, turtles and even a couple huge tortoises ...let’s not forget Iguanas all over. Again as most resorts, the grounds people work very hard with little recognition. This not a place for people with mobility issues as the walkways are dimly lit and uneven surfaces could be an issue.
We were a group of 95 for a wedding and a good time was had by all, rooms were nice, clean and relatively convenient in proximity to everything. The lobby was comfortable, good size, and serviced by good servers and bartenders. There are 6 or 7, 3 storey buildings that stretch from the lobby to the beautiful and warm Azul Caribbean Sea. The path takes you past waterfalls, natural pools, cenotes, and a grotto with all sorts of wildlife.
There are a number of pools, one for water polo, adult pool bar, kids and family pools leading to the beach where there is a buffet restaurant with a bar and a beach bar just off the sand.
Food here was very good at the buffets and the A La Carts were excellent, Japanese and Steakhouse anyway, Italian...not bad. The beach buffet had a good choice of fast food and drinks. Bartenders made a good drink, the spirits they used were not the best, but once you found out what other brands they had, a better drink was there for the asking.
Our room was definitely adequate and our maid kept it spotless, well stocked and her towel art was always putting a smile on our faces. The staff here does deserve gratuities for their efforts as the local daily pay is around 6 of our dollars, so a couple of bucks are greatly appreciated.
The sister property next door is a mirror image of the Quetzal, it is the Tucan, the Japanese Restaurant is in the Tucan. (you have privileges’ there also). The conference and banquet rooms were in the Tucan and that is where they had the beautiful reception for the wedding we attended. We didn’t spend much time at the Tucan because our resort had everything we needed.
The beach is wide with beautiful clean sand clear warm water and miles of walking in either direction you choose. The walk, north, to Play Del Carmen is about a good 45 minutes passing many resorts on this very busy beach. Playa has many shops, restaurants and bars and is a good place to see while you are there.
This resort is great value for the dollar and is a place we would recommend, about 50 minutes from the airport, lots of things to see and do in the area (DO XPLOR Park). The resort had great staff, Wedding went off without a hitch. While we never go to the same resort twice because we like to try different places we would recommend this resort. We would definitely do the Xplor Park again if we returned to this area, we went with our adult kids and they are still talking about it.
The internet here was a cash grab that could definitely be structured better, they charged $2 for 15 minutes of wifi, but for those who “needed” it would gladly pay $10 for 24 hours and probably more people would have used it if it were more convenient.
If you want to do a excursion, see Ricardo around the side of the reception desk...he can negotiate a better price.
Special thanks to Ulises at the front desk who went out of his way to help me with a credit card problem I was having. The condition of the facility and quality of your stay here is a testament to the management at this IBEROSTAR...Bravo!

Room Tip: Choose upper floor rooms as the wildlife is very friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your Wedding destination and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We want to express our joy in reading your motivational comments about the excellent care provided by our employees, our diverse cuisine and our clean and well kept resort. At Iberostar we are committed to make our guests feel like "a star" during their vacation.

We hope to see you again at our facilities and give you a warm welcome. Feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next vacation with us.

Yours Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,580 - 1,586 of 4,969 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

We're just back from our 2 week stay at this beautiful hotel and we know that it wasn't the 2nd and last time. We will be back for sure.
The location is wonderful, the hotel well looked after and the tropical surrounding is just amazing. Everyone we dealt with is very friendly and helpful and committed to make the stay really enjoyable.
The food is excellent and offers many choices. We never felt once the urge to go to a specialty restaurant. The buffet offered everything we could wish for. The service was at all times friendly, fast and professional.
Our room was very clean and the mini bar always very well looked after. Also, enough water was supplied at all times.
The pool is clean and refreshing, the location right at the ocean is a dream come true and the beach is clean and well looked after as well. We've been able to find a spot for us at all times.
Most evenings we've joined the entertainment shows and enjoyed them and their variety very much.
The Star Friends are all great, caring and energetic. It's fun to join the activities and get to know them a bit better.
My husband required medical attention. The doctor was at our room within a few minutes and we were looked after in the very best way possible. The follow up on his condition from Customer relations was very much appreciated.
Overall we can say it was a great time again and we left relaxed and energized.

Room Tip: I would prefer jungle view over ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Petra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review.

We are very delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences about your recent visit in our hotel. It has been a great pleasure to read your valuable and encouraging feedback as we certainly value your comments, and it is imperative for us to improve.

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

November 23-26,2012

This is an HONEST review of a resort in need of much serious improvement . PLEASE, take the time to read it.We were really looking forward to a great family reunion before my wifes upcoming surgery in January. We hesitated posting this until our compliants were addressed by Iberostar , but our detailed letters /emails have fallen on deaf ears .In light of everything that happened we find it shocking that Iberostars corporate office has written us off .
1. Accommodations; We requested 2 adjoining rooms .Due to documented medical issues , we needed rooms near the pool/beach. There were many empty rooms,but we were put in a building next to the farthest from the pool / beach ! The front desk lied saying " there were NO OTHER rooms available" .I was told my wife could call for a golf cart HOWEVER , it was frustrating that many times - NO ONE showed up .The same situation when leaving the beach .
Our king bed was AWFUL. Guest comfort is #1 proirity for ANY hotel and having travelled the Caribbean / Mexico for over 25 years , the bed and pillows at Iberostar were by far the lowest quality imaginable .Management should be ashamed to expect guests to sleep on old hard mattresses on a cement slab . I asked for a bed topper but we still spent every night tossing and turning and my wife woke up in pain .
The 3 pillows we had were terrible so I also requested softer pillows and was told they had no others ? The bedding - blanket/sheets were rough as were the bath towels .
The location of our room was in front of a waterfall/ bird sanctuary which , at FIRST , we thought was nice. We were NOT prepared for the incredibly loud noises coming from the birds at 4 -5 AM .We were exhausted from the sleepless nights and early morning noise .
Upon arriving we attempted to shower ,but found there was NO hot water .The refrigerator was never cold, and was barely stocked with only a few items and there was no where to get ice in our building .
2.FOOD POISIONING / “Specialty” restaurants – Both of our “dining experiences" were HORRENDOUS ! The Japanese sushi restaurant was TERRIBLE .We were seated at a hibachi table with about 20 other guests .We had the LAST FOUR seats at the end of the table. They were a hard wooden bar stool -NO CUSHION! The “chef” had no idea about portions .By the time he served everyone before us , we got whatever he could scrape off the hibachi ,and certain food items other guests were served had run out by the time he got around to us .We could not believe a restaurant would serve half portions of "leftovers" to thier guests ! The Italian restaurant was even worse ! Parts of our orders had to be sent BACK to the kitchen as they were NOT prepared as requested ,so some of us had to wait while others were already eating. None of our selections were authentic and all arrived luke warm- NOT HOT ie; undercooked stuck together fettuccine with a watery powered cheese sauce. The waiter was UNPROFESSIONAL and when we told him our fish entree was over salted he argued with us insisting "that is the way the chef prepares it! "
One of the TWO most upsetting experiences was the serious case of FOOD POISIONING I got .In a panic , my wife contacted the front desk due ask for some aanti naseau medication for the extreme stomach pain/diarrhea/vomiting I had. She was told there would be a charge of $120.00 for a doctor. I suffered miserably for two of our four days .The management told me I must have come to Mexico with " the flu" !
3. Hotel front desk experience - On several occasions we needed assistance /info. from the front desk .It was unbelievalbe that each time - NO ONE was able to answer our questions ! One evening we called to ask a simple question about the entertainment for that evening and was put on hold for awhile , only to be told they “did not know” . One morning we needed help with the location of a church which we contacted from home.We brought an entire suitcase full of items to donate and the girl at the desk had NO IDEA what church we were even talking about ,let alone anything about thier mass schedule. She eventually found the church (it is the ONLY one in Playa) ,yet insisted they had only Spanish services at 12:00 and 5:00 pm. When we arrived at the 12:00 service there was a sign IN FRONT OF THE CHURCH -" ENGLISH service 10:00am.
4. Property – Our sister BROKE her toe in front of the beach activity center which ruined her entire trip. There was rock concealed beneath an area of sand .My wife was infuriated after this senseless accident and met with the hotel manager. NO ONE offered any medical assitance for this fracture ,and we insisted it be documented .She wasted the entire morning dealing with this and walking from the reception area along the pathway to the beach pointing out to the manager the MANY places seriously lacking in GUEST SAFETY . The walkways are treacherous, uneven with many sizable holes due to missing rocks .There are NO handrails anywhere making walking especially dangerous at night due to NO lighting . The boardwalks around the hotel were NOT LIT AND AGAIN, no RAILING made getting around dangerous especially not seeing the edge . They went back to our room and we pointed out the appalling condition of the building. The exterior paint was old, worn out and the dripping from a really bad paint job made gave it a shabby look .The plant boxes outside our balcony were filled with UGLY DEAD weeds . Strange , as we were in a jungle environment? The managers expression conveyed that she was clearly in agreement with everything we had pointed out .

5. Tour desk services – We booked one trip to go horse backriding and the entire process was confusing and we were given incorrect information about the cost ,food and transportation . We were told the tour concluded with a snack / beverages. When we asked the waiter for a lemonade and iced tea , he said there would be AN EXTRA charge because ONLY sodas were included?We were outraged ! The “snack” was a small plate of cold black bean dip and some chips . We asked for some salsa ,which is served everywhere - and again were told we would have to pay for that .
We had to wait for about 2 hours for the return ride back to the Iberostar and there was NO WHERE to sit. Even though there were several empty vans parked there AND drivers hanging around , we were told there would be an additional charge of $15.00 per person to drive us back sooner? After already paying over $200.for the excursion we just decided to sit and wait .
6 . Beach /Pool /Water Sports -
The pool was COLD /DIRTY with much visible “debris” floating around in the water .My wife was excited the hotel stated they have a jacuzzi due to her health issues . The PROBLEM is , you have to swim out through the COLD water to get to it and it WAS NOT HEATED! For some reason ,the TOWEL SERVICE was located on the OPPOSITE side of the pool ,far back from the beach? On the beach , we were shocked to find there was NO beach attendant there to assist us with getting lounge chairs. There were NEVER availabe and each morning I had to drag our four chairs to where we wanted them. This WAS UNBELIEVABLE ,due to the fact this is one of the most BASIC services found at even at resorts of lower cost / quality. Also, there was spotty beverage service on the beach . Only ONCE did we see a girl coming around to offer beverages. .
We selected Iberostar as it offered hobie cat sailboats which was of high interest to us as we are avid sailors .We were shocked to find there are ONLY TWO working sailboats for the ENTIRE RESORT. A resort with 350 ROOMS which accommodates over 700 GUESTS ,might consider having a few more than TWO BOATS!Each day we had to rush to the beach by 9 in order to “reserve” a boat and had to choose a time . Two of the four days we were told BOTH boats were already entirely booked for the day. On ONE of the days we got a reservation , our sister (who was limping around due to the accident she had ) , had gone to the restroom . At 3:15 , the girl at the activity desk threatened to give the boat the the two guys that were hanging around like vultures - if “she did NOT SHOW up in 5 minutes” .I explained that not only was our sister limping due to her aqccident ,but also “we are on vacation” and NOT going to give up our reservation for being a few minutes late. This was OUTRAGEOUS!
I am sure there are other issues I am overlooking but we hope will NOT book this resort. We have stayed at several other resorts in the area and had NO complaints at all.
We are not wealthy people and now , with my wifes health issues , can only travel once each year . People look forward to and PAY good money for thier vacations and expect to be treated like "guests" , and feel SAFE, RELAX and pampered .
Our family was SO looking forward to our stay at Iberostar and had a terrible time .We are fortunate we only booked this resort for 4 nights .It was an extremely disappointing experience .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank azure340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our Hotels Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We are sorry to learn that your stay at our Hotel Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal was not a wonderful experience. We regret to hear that the information provided in regard to our hotel and premises was not properly given to your prior to arriving to our hotel. We trust that the information about with our facilities, services and hotel type is provided correctly by all travel agents to clients who choose to stay with us.

We would like to clarify that the bookings at our hotel can only be done for standard rooms, junior suites or presidential suites (ocean view). These are the only type of rooms we are able to confirm prior to our guests arrival. Our Front Desk Manager does his best to allocate every room request for our guests, however all these depend on the hotel room availability upon check-in. We are not able to guarantee any location or room type. When our guests contact us prior to their arrival, this information is given and there is no reason for us to lie about our occupancy as our guests satisfaction is our main goal. We are sorry to hear we were not able to accommodate all your petitions.

We value our hotels’ natural surroundings and wildlife as they represent one of our main attractions along with the breathtaking Caribbean atmosphere; there is staff in charge of preserving the natural style of every different area in our hotel. Overall, Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal is an upscale resort within its category which also offers the most memorable visit to Mexico’s finest beach.

All reports or issues addressed to us are documented accordingly and followed up with our departments involved in order to give a solution to our guests. For instance, if a guest reports anything wrong in the room, a employee who is specialized in that area will visit the room and submit the status to our Public Relations or Front Desk in order to follow up with our guests. When guests present their concerns, corrective actions are taken immediately. If any guest should request any service from the resort, all departments are available to provide them.

We would like to mention that Iberostar Hotels & Resorts works strictly according to the internal and external hygiene regulations. Our hotel has a specific Health & Safety department which works in association with consultancy of an independent external company who is in charge of verifying our hygiene procedures. Enteric viruses, which causes vomiting and diarrhea, have the characteristic of being transmitted from person to person (like the flu), so it cannot be associated exclusively or directly with food or drinks. We can guarantee you that our facilities, food and beverages have proven to follow the safe and hygienic restrictions and procedures according to our internal and external audit departments. Neglect in this department would cause a massive contamination, and having thousands of guests and employees, this is a risk we cannot take. Doctors say that a variety of causes could be associated with their ailment such as change of climate, consumption of alcohol or even the change of food and water type. Every human organism might react differently under the circumstances explained above.

Our Chef along with his team and the food & beverage department work on maintaining a standard in our restaurants according to our guests’ petitions and requests. We are sure the comments your have forwarded will assist us to achieve any improvement needed. However, we would like to apologize for any misunderstanding with our staff at the restaurants and any inconvenience you went through. The resort features top line gourmet cuisine with fresh menu items arriving from all over the world.

We appreciate the comments about our food and hotel areas. No other similar situation has brought over to our attention as we always try to maintain our areas in optimal conditions. We have also researched the records of our internal control of water quality in the pools during the days you and your family vacationed at our hotel. According to all our records, ideal chemical parameters have been effectively maintained in order to assure the safety and health of our swimming pool users. Besides our internal control, there is an independent company that comes to audit our entire water quality management program on a regular basis. However we apologize if you felt it was not optimal.

We regret to hear that your sister was injured at the beach area. We hope your sister and yourself have fully recovered, please express our most sincere apologies from us. It is true that there is a medical center on site, however it is an independent company and extra charges apply according to the service requested.

The Diving center and the non motorized services offered as part of your all inclusive pack are normally based on certain regulations. One of them is to control the use of certain amount of aquatic devices to minimize the damage this might cause to the environment. The Diving Center is abided by these regulations and not following them would violate the agreement with local authorities’ policies.

On behalf of our Hotels Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal we would like to apologize for all the inconveniences encountered during your stay with us. Please consider that our Hotel services and facilities have been properly organized based on our hotel category standards.

Should you have any other questions please do not hesitate to contact us.


Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We recently had over 20 people come to Iberostar Quetzal for a week long vacation. Everyone had a great time and really enjoyed the resort. The staff were so much fun and always took great care of us! Santos, the evening bartender at the lobby bar was amazing and made our time there so much fun! We loved Zumba on the beach (awesome teacher), salsa at the pool and all of the other activities and entertainment. Thank you for a wonderful week!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking your valuable time to send us your sincere comments that help us in our guest satisfaction and quality service.

We are very happy to know that you liked our hotel and staff; we will send your comments to our staff, especially Santos and our Zumba teacher, because it will give them great motivation!

We would be very pleased to welcome you in a next visit.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for the last two weeks in January and what can I say it was a slice of Paradise. After seeing some of the other recent reviews on here I find it hard to believe people were staying at the same resort. The resort is very authentic to the area and have done loads to preserve the animals natural environment which in return encouraged many of the animals to stay on site (speaking to many people from other hotels who had very little wildlife on site)

Upon arrival the hotel lobby was breath taking, the reception staff were warm and friendly and booked us in very quickly and our cases were brought to our room within 15 minutes. All the staff on the site are very approachable, always smiling and very willing to help, no request is too much and they don't seem to stop. I can honestly say I have never had such efficient service anywhere.

The entertainment staff are wonderful and are running events for young and old a like and the shows they put on are second to none. I would also recommend the magic show on a saturday night, it is brilliant. It suited my partner and I down to the ground as I wanted to relax more, where as my partner wanted to take part in activities. The entertainment staff were always promoting activities to take part in but did not push you in to doing anything you didn't want to do.

The beach is beautiful and kept beautifully clean and there are always waitresses passing offering to get drinks for you and if you can't get under one of the palm umbrellas you can get a parasol from where you pick up beach towels. There is also an ice cream stand on the beach where you can get ice creams throughout the day and they are lovely.

The swimming pool was huge and was never over crowded (we were there at the same time as people who were complaining that the pool was overcrowded which was a load of rubbish - i think the heat had made them delusional) you can always find sun beds around the pool with ease.

Although we never used the swim up bar whenever we walked past the area was kept brilliantly clean and everyone always seemed to be enjoying themselves.

During out stay we tried all 5 of the A la Carte restaurant and they were all brilliant, the staff very attentive selection brilliant, we honestly could not sing their praises high enough and the show put on by the chef in the Japanese was amazing.

The buffet was brilliant there was always so much choice and everything looked lovely - one night my partner had 5 courses as he liked the look of everything so much.

The site is kept immaculate and is constantly being painted and tided and is kept to a very high standard.

The site is also well located with a mall shopping centre just a 5 minute walk away and 5th avenue 30 mins walk away and taxis are available by the gates of the hotel.

We also did trips to Coba and Tulum and a dolphin trainer for the day at Delphinus which I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request a higher up floor if you wish to watch the wildlife. We were in block 24 and this was centr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank leabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed hotel review. We appreciate your positive comments about the hotel.

We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The best reward that we can have is your compliments.
We also value you comment regarding our animals. We do our utmost to preserve the animal’s natural environment.

We hope to welcome you back to Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal at some stage in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Loved the 2 different stays at Iberostar's cancun all-inclusive resorts-there are 3 different grades of resorts w/ 2 or 3 locations. Tip a buck or two to the staff often for faster more frequent services. Upgrade when you can, and stay close to the beach and pool for people watching...ran into Danny Bonaducci- from the 1970's "Partridge Family". Less than 30 minutes from the Airport to the resort...and from Chicago that's just under 4 hours from Midway/Ohare to the beach w/ unlimited food and drinks...wow!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homexchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just returned from a week at this all inclusive resort. There were seven of us:me, my husband, our three grown children and their significant others. We hadn't been all together for almost a year, and wanted to reconnect. This was the perfect venue. We requested rooms near each other, and they put us in the same building, on the same floor, and close to the pool. The rooms were clean and well appointed with beers and water, and the staff kept it that way all week. The room safes were good sized--big enough for an IPAD and a big digital camera. In one room the tv didn't work, but my son never complained, as he did not care. Otherwise, I bet they would have fixed it. The staff was very friendly and cooperative. We loved the wildlife roaming the resort--peacocks, iguanas, monkeys, flamingos, cranes, swans. If you can, get a second or third floor room to watch the trees. We had a peacock hang out on our deck all of one evening, and watched monkeys play in the trees, not to mention lots of different songbirds. All the restaurants were decent and some were very good. Great beach and pool, with lots of activities to choose from. We painted ceramicware that they then "clean up", embellish and fire. There's an extra charge for this, but it's a fun souvenir. My son purchased wifi for the week, and he felt the charge was fair, but it was too slow in the room and he went to the lobby when he used his computer. My husband had international calling and data, and checked/sent his emails that way. It worked fine, but very slow. But this place should be a no work vacation!! Have ice cream on the beach, try your favorite drink at different bars and find the bartender you like best. Go to an evening show at least once--there's dancing before and after and the show people participate. Everyone in my family loved it, and some of them don't really like to dance! Just a few things to be aware of: read all the literature they give you carefully. Room service is free, but not bottles of wine. There's a charge for that. Also, there are seven a la carte restaurants in addition to the buffet, but you have to get reservations, and you can't necessarily eat at all seven. If you stay seven nights, you are only guaranteed to get reservations for three nights and other nights are space available. Since we had 4 rooms, we never had a problem. Not all restaurants are open every night either. Our advice is to make as many reservations as you can the first or second day you get there. The steakhouse was our favorite, but as I said, they were all good to very good. The buffets were good too. We really liked that the beach restaurant served continental breakfast (which was really a true breakfast with eggs etc) later than the buffet breakfast (which was even more elaborate) for mornings we didn't feel like getting an early start. Finally, because of the jungle atmosphere, there are mosquitos, and the repellant they sell there didn't help a bit. Bring your own heavy duty stuff. We will go back there again, but maybe try to go a little later in the season, as half our days were cloudy/rainy, but not cold!

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor to see wildlife, and we liked closer to the beach and pool. We didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank travelduo623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your vacations.

We are glad to hear that you had such an amazing vacation with us. We thank you for all your comments regarding the service and facilities.

Just to point out that we have 5 a la carte restaurants and that it is also possible to make your dinner reservations prior to you arrival through e-mail.

We sincerely hope to welcome you and your family back in a near future.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#51 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
6,755 reviews
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,222 reviews
12.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,160 reviews
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,107 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#60 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $210 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, VISIT US, INC. , TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing