We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Ranked #45 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Beautiful resort, great beach, and a variety of foods. We were very pleased with the service and the resort. The top features are the large beach with multiple huts and/or umbrellas; the large variety of food at the buffet; the ease of getting reservations at specialty restaurants; and the jungle animals. In 2 rooms there were 4 people in double beds but one of the kids slept on the couch. The minor substandard features are the low lighting in the bathroom; the very hard mattress; the loud and late show from 9:30 to 11:00pm; food selection poolside (although the burgers were great!). We would recommend this Iberostar resort for those on a middle of the road budget.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank irisboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your visit to Playa del Carmen and for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your stay at our resort. We really enjoy reading your comments.

We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction. We will pass on your comments to the departments concerned in each area

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and have the pleasure to host you!

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,638 - 1,644 of 5,035 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was my family's first all-inclusive vacation and we had a great time. My wife and my two college aged children each found things to enjoy. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious including the bathrooms. I especially appreciated some of the hidden power saving features. When you had the sliders open to the balcony for more than a couple of minutes the A/C shut off and when you were absent from your room for an extended period the lights went out but came right back on when you re-entered your room. I'm sure these are money saving features for the hotel but I also appreciate the environmental impact they are making.

I have read reviews that suggested that the buffet was 'boring' but I found that to be untrue. Unfortunately, I find a lot of people feel the need to fill their plates at every meal with every item they like. So, yes, after a few days the meal can be boring. However, the variety offered at each meal was great and there was always something for even the most picky eater in the family. The trick is to try something different each day.

The Star Friends did a good job entertaining the kids and the adults. I am a bit of a slacker when it comes to physical activity but by the end of the week I was doing Aqua Gymnastics with Maurisius and having a good time.

I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank MichaelM12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed hotel review. We appreciate your positive comments and feedback about the hotel.

We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding the power saving features, it is indeed to reduce environmental impact as you suggested. Iberostar has the Green Globe certification which is a program for sustainable tourism, and as members we are committed to saving energy and water resources, reduce operational costs and contribute positively to local communities and their environment. We are happy you appreciated this.

We hope to welcome you back to Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal at some stage in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our review is a year old so some things may have changed since our visit in Feb 2012. We chose this resort based on it's proximity to Playa Del Carmen as we wanted to easily walk or taxi offsite. The hotel is large and you have two properties sharing most of the same facilities (most notably the pool) so at any given time you could have well over 1000 people sharing one free form pool and for us, that's really not our thing. Just too many people crammed into one area. There is a small adult pool with a swim up bar seperate and just behind the large free form, but we never went in it as it looked a little murky and unkept. Then there is a small rectangular pool to the side of the free form (in the shade) that is used for the watersport activities/events. The buffet and a la cartes are ok, you can definately find something to eat, we liked the steakhouse best. In the buffet I found it to be laid out well, but I found the selection of food quite limited in comparison to other AI we've gone to that are even smaller than this resort. Reservations for upcoming nights in the restaurants was done in the lobby and if you stayed 7 nights you could book a max of 3 or 4 a la cartes. The line ups were always long, there was one person taking reservations, on one occassion we booked a la carte after waiting in a really long line and when we got to the restaurant that night they said they didn't have our reservation? what? friends who went with us, one was a real estate agent with two small kids at home and required wifi as a deal breaker for going to which the hotel confirmed in advance to us booking that they had. When we got there the internet was broken on multiple days so we had to go down the road to Starbucks to use internet. The rooms were average and we found the bathroom to be really small having to actually step into the bathroom all the way in order to close the door or get into the shower (which didn't always have hot water, the pressure changed frequently, and it had a shower curtain that would blow around - really?) The two best things this resort has going for it is the beach, really nice sand, long, beautiful water and the fact that it sits within a jungle so you see lots of really cool animals/reptiles. Walking around the resort you would see monkeys in the trees, iguanas, beautiful peacocks, coti, fish in the ponds, and by the buffet there are waterfalls with swans swimming around. Entertainment was stardard AI in the theatre and we can't really say too much about the staff as it's just such a large place with so many people that it's hard to make one on one connections with specific staff members, but the ones we had in restaurants were all pleasant. Pros: wildlife on property, beach and proximity to Playa, Cons: too large & too many people crammed into one small space around the pool, need a better system to book restaurants, rooms could be updated for the price you pay, especially the bathrooms.

Room Tip: The higher the floor you are on the more chance you will definately see the monkeys and if you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunshineSoaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your detailed review regarding your stay at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal in February 2012.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the beach and the natural environment at our hotel; we pride ourselves on the wild areas in our complex. Thank you for the positive comments about our Steak House restaurant.

We would also like to inform you that our maintenance department and our Management are constantly looking for areas within our facilities to be enhanced. Our pool bar has recently been renovated and the results have accomplished our expectations. We are sure our guests will enjoy this area and we wish you will visit us again in the near future to experience this improvement among others. The different areas in our resort are designed to fit the capacity of our complex. Note that besides the different pool launch areas, we also have the beach area for our guests to relax and enjoy the sunny days in Playa del Carmen.

Concerning the a la carte reservations we would like to inform you that our guests have the possibility to reserve their a la carte dinners prior to their arrival through email. This process has been implemented in order to avoid long lines and makes things easier for our guests. We understand that our guests’ priority once they arrive in our hotel is to enjoy their vacation as much as possible.

We take into consideration all the issues you brought up to our attention. Your well being and your entire satisfaction is our primary goal. We certainly believe that our guests’ comments provide us with useful insights to assist our management and staff in identifying areas of concern.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal so that you can experience all the improvements made with the goal of gaining our guests loyalty and preference for our hotel chain.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

WE enjoyed our week at the Iberostar Quetzal. The weather was gorgeous, and the beach and sea were perfect.
The hotel was great, not quite 5* by European standards, but great overall.
The staff were all very friendly and happy to help.

A few little points:
5* All Inclusive - WIFI is not free. You can get free WIFI from Starbucks down the street, or a cheap Sports Bar on 5th Avenue, however Ibreostar cannot give its guests access to WIFI without charge?

The food was very repetitive, and alot of the evening food was carried forward to breakfast. While 24hr catering is demanding, surely the quality should not be compromised, especially in high season.

Rooms and decor need updating. They are very tired and multi-coloured.

Again, these are small points, but they would have made all the difference.

All in all, a great holiday in a great hotel and resort.

Room Tip: Block 20 is on the beach, the higher from 20, the further away from the beach (but the closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank richierich1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation in Mexico.

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to bring these points to our attention. Your insightful comments are highly appreciated. Guest satisfaction is the goal of our management so for this reason we will take your feedback to work in certain areas that might need to be improved.

We would like to inform you that our Chef is always working on improving our different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte Restaurants. The food variation in our buffets are part of our standard of quality and under no circumstances would our Chef and Health and Security department allow the use of the same food from previous services at any of our restaurants.

Regarding our rooms, please note that their style is being done accordingly to the hotel structure and decoration is to be matched with our tropical/ jungle style. However we do believe that renovations and improvements can be done and even though they are carried out throughout the year, they are done by blocks/areas since the hotel never closes and we need to ensure that there are no inconveniences to our guests during their stay at our resort. We of course take into consideration your comments.

Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at the quetzal for a week at the end if october. Thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Really welcoming and easy check in, very comfortable room, brilliant shower. Yes beds are firm but we all slept extremely well. Found every staff member to be really friendly. Booked 2 trips through a guy down at playacar plaza 5 mins walk away. They were both really excellent. Tulum/coba and a fishing trip. That was fab as we hired a boat with a skipper. My husband and son both caught fish then we took the fish to a bar-restaurant just by where we got off the boat and the chefs prepared them for us, tuna was grilled and spanish mackerel served ceviche style cooked by lime juice. We had so much we had to share it with another family. I was probably expecting the food at the resort to be more tex-mex style but some if it was a little bland for my taste, having said that we enjoyed all our meals especially in the buffet in the evenings when the mariachi band came round playing your requests. We also ate at the steakhouse and the japanese, both very enjoyable. Tenderloin steak recommended. Found the whole place to be exceptionally clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juju016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review!

We are very delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences about your recent visit in our hotel. It was a great pleasure to read your valuable and encouraging feedback as we certainly value your comments, and they are imperative for us to improve.

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We enjoyed our week at the Iberostar Quetzal! Good food, comfortable beds, beautiful resort! We would definitely go back. Really enjoyed walking the 30 minutes to Playa Del Carmen either on the steet or 5 minutes longer on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TLindey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here and for sharing such a wonderful review with the online community.

We are happy you enjoyed so much your stay with us and it certainly would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were totally satisfied on how well run and spectactular this resort was. We had asked and paid for an upgrade to beach side room and had asked that a single person joining us be close by. Both requests were met without any hesitation -and knowing how busy the season is that was impressive. We were there two weeks and found that the food was not repetitive, the restaurant booking was easy and the variety of venues convenient. The activities were well prepared - you have to experience Zumba on the beach!! Kid's Club was well run and professional. We will return with a larger family group this time!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank PattiCakes2009_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed hotel review. We really appreciate your positive comments and feedback about the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal!

We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is the complete satisfaction of our clients so when we read reviews like yours, it is highly motivating.

We hope to welcome you back to Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal at some stage in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#50 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
6,819 reviews
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,338 reviews
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#59 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
13,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $195 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing