We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My Idea of Heaven !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Parrot Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Parrot Suites
Ranked #182 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My Idea of Heaven !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We had a fabulous time at the Blue Parott Suites. There are about 100 restaurants and bars within walking distance of our room. The beach is wide and clean and steps from our room! Morning breakfast on the beach at The Blue Parott was wonderful. The staff is very freindly. They always remember your name! We plan on returning again ! maybe this will be our "go to" place ! There is a nice small spa right around the corner and the location is right in the heart of Playa del Carmen. You don't need a car!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deedash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    36
    19
    18
    29
See reviews for
12
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

What an excellent surprise we had after having read "not so good" reviews on this property. We were down there for the Bicentennial celebrations of Mexico's Independence from Spain and we were right in the middle of everything. This is a place with lush vegetation, a pool and with walls enough to let you enjoy a quiet and beautiful atmosphere but at the same time just 60 ft. west from the beach, 60 ft. north of the heart of Playa's nightlife and no more than 6 short blocks from large supermarkets, including Wal-Mart. Playa is a little maze of cobblestone streets packed full of restaurants (all kinds), shops, specialty department stores, water sports, adventure sports and entertainment. The cleanliness of the place is outstanding and one of the very few places that offer this kind of luxury in an unpretencious beach setting. The breakfast/lunch restaurant is right ON the beach and its specialty is to offer American breakfasts/lunches as American as they can be, as well as Mexican too, as Mexican as they can be; we were wondering how they manage this and were told, right by the owner, that they import their key ingredients. The suites are spacious and comfortable and have a full kitchenette in a very modern setting. Since Playa is a flat town and the setting is a lush tropical garden there are only a few rooms that may see through the palm trees into the ocean. Pricewise for us, this property is a top value since it doesn't have many ammenities other than TV, but at the same time why bother? In this case you are not charged for anything that you are not going to use and almost everything is available within the first 80 yards that you can walk in any direction in a really charming Mexican town atmosphere. It was absolutely worth every penny we paid for our stay, not to mention having your own restroom just steps away from the beach, the restaurant and the nightclubs and having a few world-class amusement parks for kids and adults just a 15 minute taxi ride away and a whole island to explore just a 40 minute ferry ride away. Forgot to tell you that the bus station and the ferry dock are just six blocks away with cheap and convenient departures almos every half-hour to Cozumel, Cancun and the international airport.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalamBalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

This has to be one of my all time favorite places in the world. Everything was great from the room to atmosphere, the beach club, everything. Would definetly go back and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malvarezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

My business partner and I take a few days each year to relax and strategically plan for the coming year. We chose the Blue Parrot for no other reason than the roof top terrace. The suite was quite nice with a functional kitchenette, great semi-firm beds, good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The continental breakfast is worth skipping but the al la carte breakfast is very good. There is an absolutely fabulous dive shop located at the hotel (Reef Quest DIvers) and the hotel is conveniently located to tourist and grocery shopping (Check out the Mega). The staff is fluent in English, helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casey98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed at the Blue Parrot Suites and I have to say that we truly loved it.

Perfect location - there is easy access to everything ... the beach is half a block away, the dance/bar clubs are 1-block away (don’t worry you cannot hear them in the rooms), the restaurants and the rest of Playa Del Carmen are around the corner.

We stayed in a penthouse unit with views of the pyramid, beach and turquoise waters, and the view from the hammocks in the palapa upstairs were excellent. Honestly we hanged out in the palapa most of the time … yoga in the morning, reading throughout the day and cocktails in the evening. Our unit had 2 bedrooms and 2 baths which was good for privacy when we had some friends stay a few nights, and it was a good value. We also had a kitchen and both rooms had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee makers. The rooms were also decked out with chic furniture, comfortable queen size beds and 27" televisions with DVD players.

There are plenty of security people and staff around to make request for what we needed … actually it is kind of quaint in that way that you get to talk to local folks and practice your Spanish (though they do speak English).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaCruzMonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

I love the blue parrot! My friends and I stayed there for spring break in March 2009. We were all in our freshman year of college, and couldn't have asked for a better spring break. We stayed at the Blue Parrot Suites, which I really recommend because they are down the street from the Blue Parrot Club so you can sleep at night. The beach was across the street, as were the most popular clubs and restaurants. Our room was clean, and from what we encountered with the employees they were helpful. The suites are beautiful, they surround a big pool and it feels like you have a private house or something. The only thing is that they just open up to the rest of the city, there's no gate or anything. There is a security guard on duty at all times though and since there are only a few suites he knew who everyone was. Playa is a very safe city and I never felt in any danger. If you're going for spring break, or any other kind of vacation, stay here!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwebb1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Stayed in a 2-bedroom suite with two baths, two mini-friges and a kitchen set up for $99, half-a-block from ocean. Suites are basic and clean, comfortable with two TV's, and have a smallish pool for guests, plenty of outdoor space for lolling in lounges or doing yoga in the morning. One block from Blue Parrot Beach Club, where a very basic continental breakfast, included in price, is served in a beachfront palapa: coffee or tea, fresh fruit and toast and juice. Beachfront restaurant serves only til 5pm. The club turns into a loud and trendy disco after 11pm but you won't hear it from your suite. The purpose of our visit was to get scuba certified and we had a fantastic experience with the on-site dive company, ReefQuest, and owner instructor Steve Flanagan...one-on-one PADI instruction, very thorough and well-organized. Great value too. Had some good meals too, at Mayan influenced Yaxche, and a local fish place called La Pesca.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fieldsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue
#191 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#107 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#131 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
#140 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magia Beachside Condo Hotel
Magia Beachside Condo Hotel
#143 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#128 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot Suites

Property: Blue Parrot Suites
Address: Calle 12 Norte | Calle 14 Norte /Playa y 1ra Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Parrot Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Palms is a condominium located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, has 15 units for 2-8 people. Fully furnished and equipped, basic amenities like cable, wifi, a / c cleaning included. Community Pool. Just one block from the famous 5th Avenue and a few steps from the marvelous beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Blue Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Blue Parrot Hotel And Beach
Blue Parrot Resort And Beach
Blue Parrot Suites Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing