We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“LOVED IT! The best of everything--Prices, room, location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Parrot Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Parrot Suites to your Saves list
Blue Parrot Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calle 12 Norte | Calle 14 Norte /Playa y 1ra Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LOVED IT! The best of everything--Prices, room, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Some friends and I stayed at the Blue Parrot Suites in February, 2008 and had a fabulous time. We thought the location was unbeatable - less than one block to the beach and close to all the restaurants/bars/shops on 5th Avenue. The room had a contemporary feel with a small sitting area and the bed was very comfortable (a must for me!). Our room was on the 2nd floor and our friends had a room on the 3rd floor with a palapa and the ocean views from their palapa were such a treat! We also really appreciated having a coffee maker, small refridgerator and DVD in the rooms since we were staying for a week (the super market was a short walk away). There are so many hotels in Playa to chose from it was challenging to make a decision, but based on the rooms, location and the value pricing we went with the Blue Parrot Suites and will definately return.

  • Liked — location, rooms, prices
  • Disliked — I wish breakfast was included!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyLayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    36
    19
    18
    29
See reviews for
11
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

Not just bad but the worst ever...

Got a walkup rate of 100 + 25 for myself, wife and 14 year old. We arrived a day early as we were traveling standby. Great location for what we needed (close to Sandos Playa beach and spa (great resort)).

First room had bugs in both beds and on wall.
Had to wait 30 minutes to get someone to come to the ofice to give us another room.

Second room had no working airconditioning... sweltering at around 95 in room. Waited another 30 minutes (1:00AM) to get someone to help.

Third room had more bugs but not in bed. They were only in the fruit basket on TV. We made do and went to bed with greater expectations for our real hotel the next day.

After getting to bed after 2:00AM and waking at 8:00AM, we thought the manager would do something to make it better, like perhaps a comp of the room or free anything, but only met with 10 percent off and no apology...

There were many other small hotels in the 5th ave area in playa del carmen even close to bus depot that were only charging 50-60 dollars... So keep that in mind when booking... But stay away from the Blue Parrot Hotel...

Will follow up with video of bugs on wall and bed.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bugs in bed
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aa173130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

The Blue Parrot Suites were great. They were very accommodating and helped us with our beach front wedding. The fire show and nightclub were great. Even though it is located in the middle of it all the suites are very quiet.

I recommend contacting the hotel to book. They beat any price I found online.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SilverTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

I agree strongly with the previous post under same title. The beautiful videos and pictures are of the property that USED to be owned by the Blue Parrot. That part, right on the beach with the beautiful pool, has been bought by Playa Palms as of 2/2007 with no plans to change. The Blue Parrot still has a dance/beach club and the reception still has pictures of their prior building. I inquired about this and they said "it's very difficult right now, we're not talking about it". The Blue Parrot Suites are older and require a short (50m) walk to the beach. Not nearly as luxurius as the other part was. BEWARE!!!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Old, run down features.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachGal5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Stayed at the Blue Parrot Suites 2/25 to 3/1/08 which is one block down from the beach club. The suites are 1 block in from the beach, and do not have beach views, except for the top floor (rooftop) rooms with private palapas. The private pool was very nice and clean. The suites have a great location between La Quinta (5th ave shopping) and the beach. The best part of staying there was eating breakfast (fresh fruit) on the beach at the Blue Parrot beach club. Yes, the Playa Palms Hotel (formerly known as the Blue Parrot Hotel) located next the beach club is nice also, but is quite loud at night due to the adjacent night club, and therefore is not recommended. The suites have a better location, only a block away, and you cannot hear the night club music at night. Our room was quite nice, with a limestone tiled floor and modern shower with glass door. The hotel provides yucatan bath products made from local honey that i loved. If you can afford it, book a rooftop room with private palapas.

Another good option is Kinbe Hotel (lonely planet recommended), but it is also not located directly on the beach, but you could eat and hang out at the Blue Parrot beach club. If we visited playa del carmen again, we would probably stay at the Hotel Las Palapas located directly on the beach (booked at the time of our visit). Recommended that you book a tour to the mayan ruins of Chichen Itza and Tulum, an experience of a lifetime.

  • Liked — Breakfast on the beach at the blue parrot beach club
  • Disliked — Located 1 block from beach
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rochesterny013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

We stayed 3 nights in the suites which is about a block from the main property. It was a quiet room, well appointed but no larger than a typical hotel room with two queen beds. This was among their least expensive rooms and only had one window in the form of a sliding glass door. The ceiling fan didn't work so we used the air conditioner as needed. It is close to the small beach and shops/restaurants. Given what we paid relative to other places that we saw, we did not feel that we received good value. Also, the staff was indifferent. The emphasis here seems to be on the evening party session at the bar rather than accommodations. Breakfast was just toast, juice, fruit and coffee and we couldn't even get that one morning when the staff hadn't shown up yet and our kids were hungry. The front desk just shrugged and told us to talk to the manager when he returned the next day after we checked out. Also, there is no on-site parking so if you have a car you need to find street parking which isn't the easiest during the busy holiday season with crowded 5th avenue nearby.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev-in-SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

We had our wedding there in November. Worked with the staff to book a total of 22 rooms between the BP Suites and 5th Avenue Property. Everyone loved the Suites, from broke just of college friends to multi-millionaire family members. Some were less than thrilled with the 5th Avenue property, but no major complaints, just noise and size of the room.

Our room was at the Suites and was much better than expected, we usually stay at La Tortuga and the room/experience here was comparable if not better. Breakfast and pool are better at La Tortuga, but you can either walk there or hit up 100% Natural and the beach is closer at the Suites. There was no noticeable noise from the night clubs at the Suites.

Despite the fact that the beach disappeared the week prior to our wedding, everything went perfectly. Everything we were worried about before we left the States was beyond our expectations. From the flowers to the photographer to the food to the DJ, all the unknowns in a destination wedding were better than we imagined.

I cannot say how much of a pleasure it was to work with Paula (Wedding) and Angela and Mercedes (Rooms/Transportation).

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — The spiral steps to the top, part of its' charm I suppose.
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JRFT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue
#182 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#121 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#134 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#108 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel All Riviera
Hotel All Riviera
#192 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
#140 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot Suites

Property: Blue Parrot Suites
Address: Calle 12 Norte | Calle 14 Norte /Playa y 1ra Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Parrot Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Palms is a condominium located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, has 15 units for 2-8 people. Fully furnished and equipped, basic amenities like cable, wifi, a / c cleaning included. Community Pool. Just one block from the famous 5th Avenue and a few steps from the marvelous beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Blue Parrot Hotel And Beach
Blue Parrot Resort And Beach
Blue Parrot Suites Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing