We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel!”
Review of Blue Parrot Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Parrot Suites
Ranked #187 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This boutique hotel has a terrific location! 30 meters from the beautiful, clean beach and a block or so from the bustling 5th Avenue shops and restaurants in the heart ( the BEST part) of Playa del Carmen. We were impressed by the staff when we checked in. They were accommodating, charming and polite. They were able to suggest activites in the area. Language was not an issue ! The housekeeping staff came in every day and the grounds were well maintained. I personally like a small boutique hotel verses larger properties or all inclusives, and with so many wonderful restaurants and dining choices in town it would be a shame to stay and eat at the same place everyday ! We will definatley be returning year afetr year! We feel like we have found our home away from home in Paradise !

Room Tip: there are rooms withMexican Palapays on top that would be fun for an authentic Mexican feel. Ours ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deedash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 145 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Parrot Suites in March 2012 and our suite had a large beautiful rooftop palapa to look out at the water and town of Playa. The private palapa is a unique addition that most hotel rooms in Playa do not have. Our rooftop palapa had lounge chairs, hammock and table and chairs to enjoy food or drinks. We had the 2 bedroom suite and the room accommodations were lovely and beds were comfy. The courtyard for the suites had a peaceful swimming pool. The friendly man who worked security was excellent throughout our stay. We enjoyed being in walking distance to both the beach and to the entertainment on 5th Ave. We took advantage of the invitation to enter the Blue Parrot Nightclub free of charge and had fun watching the fire dancers. We enjoyed sunbathing on the beach in the loungers during the day, having drinks brought to us by the friendly waiters of the Blue Parrot bar. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funiswhereitisat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed at the blue parrot suites for about 5 nights. The rooms are great, very very cozy and romantic. The pool right outside the room is a delight for a dip once in a while. Security is excellent, one feels totally safe. Its nice and quiet in spite of being very close to the party central area.

Once in a while theres no one at the reception and you have to wait which is a little annoying. Overall the staff is nice though one of the waiters was a little sketchy and would very bluntly ask for tips all the time in spite of already having been tipped enough.

What came as a surprise was the breakfast which is supposed to be free but they only give a few fruits and some coffee in that, eggs and toast are charged separately; very clever money making technique.

The beach in front of the hotel is a little disappointing and I had to walk each time to the neighbouring beach to relax and go into the water.

But overall it was a very nice and warm experience and I'd like to stay here again; everything was great except i wish they had ocean view rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xsahil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We recently stayed here with a few other members of our wedding party and were very pleasantly surprised by our room, which was spacious, private, with a king bed, and an opening window in the bathroom, with a view! This is an intimate place and each suite is unique, some with decks accessible only from your room, as well as table and chairs outside each room entrance. The hotel is centrally located, so it's very close to all the shops and restaurants on 5th Avenue. We walked the beach every day to the Cozumel ferry dock and either walked back along 5th Avenue or just walked back along the beach. Some of the reviews have mentioned the nightclub noise and you could hear the nightclubs, however we found that with the air-conditioning on, it did not bother us at all and we did not use the earplugs we had brought with us. The continental breakfast was great and served right by the ocean. Their coffee was delicious, the fruit plate was yummy, and there was toast with jam and butter, as well as OJ. We would definitely go back and we would stay here. We were on the 3rd (top) floor, which we really liked.

Room Tip: Our room was fabulous - Room 329, but I think any room on the 2nd or 3rd floors would be good. I pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in - we usually love our stays with boutique hotels, but this was memorably terrible. The staff is sketchy, the rooms were dirty and outdated, and at one point we had water coming in the front door. Reception never picked up any of our phone calls and the entire organization just seems run down. We felt like we were staying in a dirty 1980's college dorm room. Stains on the sheets, broken safe, dust bunnies everywhere....not to mention the constant puddle of water on the bathroom floor from the shower water leaking out. If it weren't for the pricey cancellation policy, we would have stayed elsewhere. Incredibly disappointed....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravelinIsmerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoroAzul, Owner at Blue Parrot Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

While we respect everyone's opinion, I can't help but wonder if we're talking about the same hotel when I hear the Blue Parrot Suites characterized as a "1980's dorm room." The Blue Parrot Suites opened in 2005 and are fully furnished in Tommy Bahama Home. While not the Four Seasons, the units are very nicely appointed, cleaned daily and refurbished on a quarterly basis. Our highly experienced English speaking staff and Canadian Manager have been with us for the better part of a decade and continually get glowing reviews. This is the first time I've heard the term sketchy used to describe them. Hmmmm?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Very nice hotel, i went in october low season, but theres actually no low season in playa del carmen, the only bad thing i can say is that they had no cold water, but they offered us another room just to shower...

Room Tip: The third floor suite with connected room, its ideal if your a group of six people..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We had been travelling through Mexico by car. We travelled from Mexico city to Cancun. We stayed in Tulum first, and a t our last day there went down to inspect play del Carmen and it's properties. Because we had done some bidget travelling and beacause playa is a touristic place we reconned we would be spending more then normaly and spoil ourselfs.

We checked out diffrent hotels. We preferred to have a hotel at the beach so we did not have to rent chairs and an umbralle every time we went down (and you need onze because there is no natuaral shadow and it is blazing hot). In addition 5th avenue is close to the beach and it is around that area that you can find nice shops and restaurants.

After reading some good stuff about the Blue Parrot in our travell guides and walking through the part thats on the beach, we got some info at the front desk. The girl was really nice, the room was 57usd including breakfast. We asked to check it out and it looked wonderfull so we booked 2 days.

We actually stayed in the Blue parrot suites (room 131, I believe it was). This is a beautifull complex! We had an enormous bueatifull room! With a big kitchen (bigger then the one a have at home), equipped with everything you need if you want to do your own cooking; a big fridge (the only one we have ancouterd stay at different hotels and hostels througout Mexico and really handy to have you own cold drinks when it is that hot!); a king size cofartbla bed, table and chairs, plenty of storagge room, AC, a safe, a tv and free wifi. The bathroom was nice and fresh towels and soaps were provided dailly. The room was cleaned every day and you get a bottle of free water daily.

The breakfast which was included was really yummie and was served at the beachbar where you could begin your day with magnificent shoreviews. Towelservice and use of the umbrellas and sunningbeds was also included. In addition, the Blue Parrot throws partys at night on their part of the beach, and were others have to buy entrance tickets you can get in for free if you stay there. They also have amazing fireshows.

We had a nice sitting are outside of our room, which was near the pool and their was also a jucuzzi which could only be used by our room and the room next door. Out of curiosity we asked if we could trie it. The guard said he thought the jacuzzi was broke, but gave it a trie. The jacuzzi filled up, and although the bubbles were lacking (yes indeed the thing was broke) and we had to do it we the light show, we enjoyed in any way.

We parked our car on the road in front of the hotel as their was no parking, and although their is a guard 24 hours near the hotel entrance or walking around in the hotel, somebody tried to break in our car. So it's probably better to leave your valuebales in the room.

We loved it their so much that we we went down the front desk a couple of times to book some extra nights and ended up satying for almost a week. At one time when we asked to lengthen our stay we normally had to change to the room next door because the room we stayed in was booked. But the next day we found a note under the door to inform us we could just stay in our room.

We loved it and hope to return some day!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bambu Suites
Hotel Bambu Suites
#134 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maya del Mar
Maya del Mar
#178 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
#186 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#144 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#117 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Fifty Suites
Grand Fifty Suites
#131 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot Suites

Address: Calle 12 Norte | Calle 14 Norte /Playa y 1ra Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#58 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $55 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Parrot Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Palms is a condominium located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, has 15 units for 2-8 people. Fully furnished and equipped, basic amenities like cable, wifi, a / c cleaning included. Community Pool. Just one block from the famous 5th Avenue and a few steps from the marvelous beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Blue Parrot Hotel And Beach
Blue Parrot Resort And Beach
Blue Parrot Suites Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing