We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice suites, cozy pool, overall fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Parrot Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Parrot Suites
Ranked #180 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice suites, cozy pool, overall fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed at the blue parrot suites for about 5 nights. The rooms are great, very very cozy and romantic. The pool right outside the room is a delight for a dip once in a while. Security is excellent, one feels totally safe. Its nice and quiet in spite of being very close to the party central area.

Once in a while theres no one at the reception and you have to wait which is a little annoying. Overall the staff is nice though one of the waiters was a little sketchy and would very bluntly ask for tips all the time in spite of already having been tipped enough.

What came as a surprise was the breakfast which is supposed to be free but they only give a few fruits and some coffee in that, eggs and toast are charged separately; very clever money making technique.

The beach in front of the hotel is a little disappointing and I had to walk each time to the neighbouring beach to relax and go into the water.

But overall it was a very nice and warm experience and I'd like to stay here again; everything was great except i wish they had ocean view rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xsahil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    36
    19
    18
    29
See reviews for
11
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We recently stayed here with a few other members of our wedding party and were very pleasantly surprised by our room, which was spacious, private, with a king bed, and an opening window in the bathroom, with a view! This is an intimate place and each suite is unique, some with decks accessible only from your room, as well as table and chairs outside each room entrance. The hotel is centrally located, so it's very close to all the shops and restaurants on 5th Avenue. We walked the beach every day to the Cozumel ferry dock and either walked back along 5th Avenue or just walked back along the beach. Some of the reviews have mentioned the nightclub noise and you could hear the nightclubs, however we found that with the air-conditioning on, it did not bother us at all and we did not use the earplugs we had brought with us. The continental breakfast was great and served right by the ocean. Their coffee was delicious, the fruit plate was yummy, and there was toast with jam and butter, as well as OJ. We would definitely go back and we would stay here. We were on the 3rd (top) floor, which we really liked.

Room Tip: Our room was fabulous - Room 329, but I think any room on the 2nd or 3rd floors would be good. I pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in - we usually love our stays with boutique hotels, but this was memorably terrible. The staff is sketchy, the rooms were dirty and outdated, and at one point we had water coming in the front door. Reception never picked up any of our phone calls and the entire organization just seems run down. We felt like we were staying in a dirty 1980's college dorm room. Stains on the sheets, broken safe, dust bunnies everywhere....not to mention the constant puddle of water on the bathroom floor from the shower water leaking out. If it weren't for the pricey cancellation policy, we would have stayed elsewhere. Incredibly disappointed....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelinIsmerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoroAzul, Owner at Blue Parrot Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
While we respect everyone's opinion, I can't help but wonder if we're talking about the same hotel when I hear the Blue Parrot Suites characterized as a "1980's dorm room." The Blue Parrot Suites opened in 2005 and are fully furnished in Tommy Bahama Home. While not the Four Seasons, the units are very nicely appointed, cleaned daily and refurbished on a quarterly basis. Our highly experienced English speaking staff and Canadian Manager have been with us for the better part of a decade and continually get glowing reviews. This is the first time I've heard the term sketchy used to describe them. Hmmmm?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Glendale, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Very nice hotel, i went in october low season, but theres actually no low season in playa del carmen, the only bad thing i can say is that they had no cold water, but they offered us another room just to shower...

Room Tip: The third floor suite with connected room, its ideal if your a group of six people..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We had been travelling through Mexico by car. We travelled from Mexico city to Cancun. We stayed in Tulum first, and a t our last day there went down to inspect play del Carmen and it's properties. Because we had done some bidget travelling and beacause playa is a touristic place we reconned we would be spending more then normaly and spoil ourselfs.

We checked out diffrent hotels. We preferred to have a hotel at the beach so we did not have to rent chairs and an umbralle every time we went down (and you need onze because there is no natuaral shadow and it is blazing hot). In addition 5th avenue is close to the beach and it is around that area that you can find nice shops and restaurants.

After reading some good stuff about the Blue Parrot in our travell guides and walking through the part thats on the beach, we got some info at the front desk. The girl was really nice, the room was 57usd including breakfast. We asked to check it out and it looked wonderfull so we booked 2 days.

We actually stayed in the Blue parrot suites (room 131, I believe it was). This is a beautifull complex! We had an enormous bueatifull room! With a big kitchen (bigger then the one a have at home), equipped with everything you need if you want to do your own cooking; a big fridge (the only one we have ancouterd stay at different hotels and hostels througout Mexico and really handy to have you own cold drinks when it is that hot!); a king size cofartbla bed, table and chairs, plenty of storagge room, AC, a safe, a tv and free wifi. The bathroom was nice and fresh towels and soaps were provided dailly. The room was cleaned every day and you get a bottle of free water daily.

The breakfast which was included was really yummie and was served at the beachbar where you could begin your day with magnificent shoreviews. Towelservice and use of the umbrellas and sunningbeds was also included. In addition, the Blue Parrot throws partys at night on their part of the beach, and were others have to buy entrance tickets you can get in for free if you stay there. They also have amazing fireshows.

We had a nice sitting are outside of our room, which was near the pool and their was also a jucuzzi which could only be used by our room and the room next door. Out of curiosity we asked if we could trie it. The guard said he thought the jacuzzi was broke, but gave it a trie. The jacuzzi filled up, and although the bubbles were lacking (yes indeed the thing was broke) and we had to do it we the light show, we enjoyed in any way.

We parked our car on the road in front of the hotel as their was no parking, and although their is a guard 24 hours near the hotel entrance or walking around in the hotel, somebody tried to break in our car. So it's probably better to leave your valuebales in the room.

We loved it their so much that we we went down the front desk a couple of times to book some extra nights and ended up satying for almost a week. At one time when we asked to lengthen our stay we normally had to change to the room next door because the room we stayed in was booked. But the next day we found a note under the door to inform us we could just stay in our room.

We loved it and hope to return some day!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We had stayed at this resort in 2006 and wanted to return. Unfortunately the website pictures haven't changed, but it is not even the same place! It IS the same owners, and it is accurate as the name implies, but a new owner occupies the picture on the website. We stayed just the same and it was just OK. would not suggest it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junglewench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Had a great time. Awesome staff, everyone so friendly and helpful. Not only is this hotel in the perfect location, but the staff were so nice and accomodating. Within a close walk is the beach and only a block from 5th ave restaurants and shopping. The hotel is clean and well kept with staff consisently working around the clock to keep it that way. We will be back to the Blue Parrot and we will recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara44_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue
#187 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#129 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#131 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#107 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel All Riviera
Hotel All Riviera
#192 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
#137 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot Suites

Property: Blue Parrot Suites
Address: Calle 12 Norte | Calle 14 Norte /Playa y 1ra Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Parrot Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Palms is a condominium located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, has 15 units for 2-8 people. Fully furnished and equipped, basic amenities like cable, wifi, a / c cleaning included. Community Pool. Just one block from the famous 5th Avenue and a few steps from the marvelous beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Blue Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Blue Parrot Hotel And Beach
Blue Parrot Resort And Beach
Blue Parrot Suites Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing