We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,943)
Filter reviews
6,943 results
Traveler rating
3,334
2,295
883
265
166
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,334
2,295
883
265
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ibiza pool howler monkeys main restaurant quiet pool great holiday asian restaurant every other day swim up bar plenty of sunbeds shower door entertainment team room in block evening entertainment palm trees main pool thomson rep hotel grounds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 6,943 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

Extremely horrible hotel(motel) it is not ever one star hotel doesn’t have elevators
Rooms are stinky and can’t stay inside
The AC wasn’t working poor service The location is far away from cancun and it’s in the middle of no where

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank ayoughi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our Hotel Riu Yucatan.

We strive to make all of our guests feel comfortable so we sincerely apologize that your experience was not at all reflective of the quality standards we set for ourselves.

It is remarkable that the dissatisfaction you are describing did not come to our attention up to now and we always encourage guests who are still at the hotel to contact our Front Desk staff in order to resolve any issues during the stay.

We appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel and service we give our guests.

Again, my apologies for an unsatisfactory stay with us.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Yucatan
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

Lovely hotel, good location, good beach, bit seaweedy at times but staff are always cleaning it up.

Main buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner was very good, I found the lunch one felt like a school canteen, a bit too chaotic, but food was just as good. The speciality restaurants were very good, especially enjoyed the Chinese!!

All the bars very good, never had to wait more than a few minutes during busy times. Didn’t utilise the pool bar pool side as always full of tipsy patrons.. some even got their lunch and took it back to eat in the pool which is quite rank.... (staff did ask the guests to get out) however pool bar overlooking the beach was ok.

Found we did have to get up early and get sun beds on both the beach and pool as usually by 9 ish most were reserved, staff again did do their best to find beds on the beach for people that came down later. I am always up early so for us it wasn’t an issue but I imagine those that go on holiday to sleep late could end up pretty frustrated!!

Always a lot going on at the beach and pool, personally it was a bit too much for me.

The monkeys on site are amazing, we enjoyed watching them in the trees, but it infuriated me that other guests would go and get fruit from the restaurants and stand and feed them when there are bigs signs asking you not to .... this is not the hotels fault though obviously!

Overall, a good holiday but probably wouldn’t return to this hotel.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank sazzlel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

I have just returned from the Riu Yucatan and it’s a lovely hotel and a beautiful setting, the beach is stunning but there is an ongoing problem with seaweed, the staff try to clear this up daily. The food and drinks are great, any cocktail you want they will make. There is plenty of choice in all the restaurants and all the staff are amazing and can’t do enough for you. I would only class it as 4 star, the bedrooms are a little tired and could do with an update. Overall I think its very good value for money. The grounds are lovely with all sorts of animals and monkeys.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank donhey18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

Our room was clean but smelled damp and musty, we thought that this would improve with fresh air but it didn’t. We were part of a party of 10 people, family and friends. We have been to Mexico twice before but to a different hotel. This hotel restaurant regularly ran out of eggs at breakfast and beans, there were birds flying about in the restaurant eating food and water dripped from the ceiling alcove onto us and our food. We spent a lot of time at the quiet pool where we saw stains under sun beds on our first day and they were still there when we left, this area was not washed at all in our 2 week stay. On 2 occasions a guy got in the pool with us and scrubbed the sides with a cloth and spray. Seven of us have been ill with stomach upsets resulting in us having to buy antibiotics and other tablets. On the up side all staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is within a 30 minute walk to 5th Avenue. The beach is one of the best I have been to but this year it had a lot of thick seaweed that you had to wade through to get into the clear water.

Room tip: The hotel rooms are in blocks with 3 floors and no lift so if you don’t want to climb stairs ask for a ground floor room.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pixie1872016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel.

Although we are glad that you have remembered our friendly staff positively, we are absolutely disappointed to read about the issues you encountered and that you become sick during your holidays. We truly hope that you have fully recovered in the meantime.

Regarding your comment about the humidity, please note that our hotels are well prepared to face the humidity caused by the Caribbean climate. Our internal system is created to mitigate this, but it is of course a challenge to eliminate it entirely. We regret to hear that it affected your stay. We would have liked to have been informed about all your inconveniences during your stay so we could have helped you to enjoy a pleasant holiday.

We strive to provide every guest a thoughtful, memorable hotel experience and for this reason please accept our most sincere apologies, as it certainly does not reflect our commitment and the quality we stand for. Your feedback is absolutely essential for us and we have passed your comments to the involved departments in case our standards have not been fulfilled at some point.

It is our sincerest hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our worldwide available hotels in the future and have a chance to provide a better experience.


With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Yucatan
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

location great (shame about the entire length beach had a 6 foot wide stretch of seaweed for 10 days) Foods were being scavenged by flying birds in the restaurant.
rooms were kept clean staff very friendly. shows and entertainment were good. trip offers were a little steep, can find similar further down road at registered kiosks.
this was our 3rd time back to the Playacar area, previous stays were in the Tequila (to which we ventured over to find it had been massively revamped) Sad really because it is set in beautiful surroundings overlooking the sea.

Room tip: quiet rooms overlook top pool area and away from beach, areas where the show entertainments are overlook the sea
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mwlemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to RIU Hotels & Resorts and for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Riu Yucatan.

While we of course appreciate the kind words on our location, our friendly staff, the entertainment and the cleanliness of your guest room, we are absolutely disappointed to hear about the pool area and the staff at our italian theme restaurant.

Mexico has more than 10 per cent of the world´s bird population. We do our best to avoid their presence in our outdoor restaurant and we truly hope you can understand that it is very difficult to achieve this in open areas.

Please be assured that all our hotels fulfill the international health and safety regulations, including the maintenance of the swimming pools which are cleaned during the night on a daily basis. We pay constant attention to the water chemistry and filtration and check the pH throughout the day.

We strive to provide every guest a thoughtful, memorable hotel experience and for this reason please accept our most sincere apologies, as it certainly does not reflect our commitment and the quality we stand for. We have passed your comments to the involved departments in case our standards have not been fulfilled at some point.
Your feedback is absolutely essential to helping us improve products and services, thank you!

We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our worldwide available hotels in the near future and to provide a more superior experience!

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Yucatan
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews