We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #60 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Having just returned from the Riu Yucatan i feel compelled to write especially after reading many negative reviews. In my opinion this hotel is first class in all aspects, ranging from cleaners to management and overall service that the hotel provided.

We flew on the dreamliner from Gatwick. We were so impressed with this aircraft and certainly did not feel the need to upgrade or have extra leg room seats. The experience once off the plane was truely horrific going through immigrations. We were in the queue for about 1 1/2hrs and it was bedlam as well as being extremely hot. There were so many other planes that must have landed at the same time as there were many nationalities in line. Make sure you read your immigration form properly when filling it out as many of us had to leave the queue to complete it correctly.

On eventually arriving at the hotel all i can say is wow. The lobby was fantastic. I imagined that all the pink would look cheap, however i was wrong. To me it just looked grand.

Our room was very spacious. Yes, initially it smelt damp, but it so humid there it was not suprising. After a while you didnt notice this. The idea of the optics in the room was very good. The mini bar was stocked up every other day. The shower was very powerful and shower gel was topped up during the stay. The room was kept spotless by the maids with lovely towel art every day.

We chose to stay by the relaxing pool as it was much quieter for us, however if you like activities and a lively atmosphere then this is the pool for you. Beware when walking by any of the pools, the ground is extremely slippery when wet.

The beach is gorgeous with beautiful clear sea and lovely white sand. We never spent our day on the beach so cannot comment on the availability of sun beds.

The food was first class. I never grew tired of the buffet. There was a huge selection to cater for all needs. The speciality restaurants were of good quality. My particular favourite was the asian and the steak. My only gripe is that the dress code should be enforced. It states long trousers in these restaurants however people came in shorts, baseball caps and looked like they had just come of the beach. They should either enforce this or say that there is no dress code.

All bars were excellent. I particulary enjoyed all their cocktails. The bar staff were so hard working. We never had to wait for a drink (that was without giving a tip). We did tip the staff for good service however it was never expected.

We just went on one excursion to Chichen Itza. We booked through Thomsons and i have to say that the price was very reasonable. They guaranteed that they would be one of the first coaches to arrive to avoid the crowds and i have to say they were true to their word. When we left at midday all the other coaches were arriving and it was a nightmare.

Playa Del Carmen was a 40 minute walk along the beach or road. It was nice for a change of scenery.

The thomson reps were excellent and avaiable for most parts of the day. I have never been anywhere that the reps were around so much.

There was an ATM in the hotel which we did use, and there were no issues for us. The reps said it was much safer using the one in the hotel or attached to banks than the stand alone ones in PDC.

We would definately return to Mexico without a doubt. My opinion was that it was a fantastic hotel. I know everyone has their opinion when they give a negative review, however book this hotel and see for yourself and make your own mind up. I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We picked a high room away from the main block so it was quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank gunner60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,728
    1,911
    732
    208
    127
See reviews for
1,557
2,653
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,073)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

what a lovely place this is we travelled in sep 13 with Thompson hhhhhmmmmm well just lets say we have been with better tour operator's .. anyway back to the hotel ... just been refurbished when we got there rooms very clean . staff were really good to we had a few faults but that was down to other guests !! reception staff were really helpful . food really good something to eat all the time we tried most of the restaurant's and found them all to be good the only one we didn't do was the Mexican . drinks really good and bar staff excellent. entertainment staff work just as hard as well and some good shows some not so good lol but hay they try ,beach and sea are spotless . lovely location . trips some start really early in the morning ie 4am or there about but worth the early start to chitzanitsa or something like that the Mayan temple .
stayed in a few riu hotels an think this has been the best upto now

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scouse94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you want luxury go to sandles and pay the price, if you haven't got that kind of money and want a good Caribbean holiday go to the yucatan. I am only going to talk about the hotel because that is what I am rating. Not going to bring the hotel down with how bad the filght of coach was. Its a big hotel great location on the beach with loads of rooms spread all about the complex so be prepared to do some walking. The beach, pool area and grounds are well kept and you have the bonus of the monkeys in the trees that come and say hello, it says don't feed the monkeys but get a banana from breakfast and take it out, how offten do you get the chance to feed monkey s by hand. Food was excellent with plenty of choice for all meals. Rooms were spacious and clean. Be warned its hard to get anything that is wet or damp dry because of the humidity. Plenty to do day and night. Pool side bar at night is a must, great atmosphere and good drinks. Would recommend doing the scuba there as it was great diving water and lots to see with good instructors.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Jo-Anne and I stayed at the hotel from the 7th until the 21st January 2014. We flew out on the new Dreamliner from Manchester. The flight was exellent and both Jo-Anne an I were impressed with the Aircraft and the facilities. The only let down for us was the food on the flight, it was the only thing that did not come up to expectations.

The Hotel was decorated to a high standard. The facilities first class and the Animation
Team worked hard to ensure we had a broad choice of activities throughout our stay. The shows in the evening were varied and entertaining. We were also able to enjoy the theatre at the other RIU hotel in the area.

The Accomodation was first class. There had been a great deal of rain during the two weeks prior to our arrival, this meant that the humidity in the area was very high. Unfortunatley this made the rooms feel dam and they smelt a little on our arrival. leaving the balcony door open allowed the air to circulate and the foisty smell soon disapeared. The room and bathroom were decorated to a very high standard. Cleaning was done every day and could not be faulted

Food was first class, we toured the Kitchens and they were pristine, I am a fussy eater but the food was the best I have had in an all inclusive hotel

I must pay our compliments to the Holiday Reps at the Hotel. Nothing was to much trouble for them. We have taken a number of Holidays through Thomsons and I can honestly say these were the best reps I have had contact with and were a credit to their organisation.

We booked our Holiday through Thomsons Kendal Cumbria Shop, again this made booking easy and they were extreemly helpful.

An exellent experience and a most enjoyable time in a very interesting location.

Thanks
Gerry Wilkinson Cumbria

Room Tip: Our room 2018 was great near to facilities and restraunts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Spent the past 2 weeks at RIU Yucatan. Rated 5 stars in the Signature Vacations brochure? NOT SO!
The hotel is clean enough, staff are friendly, the beach is great (too few beach loungers), pools are ok,buffet is just OK. The grounds are well kept but not immaculate. Rooms (we had a standard with a large king sized bed) are good size, modestly appointed. Balconies are ample.
We requested a room change to get away from the entertainment area which was far too loud and went longer than we had seen at other resorts. This change was handled well.
Dining fell short. The buffet for breakfast and supper was a bit repetitive each day but did have wide variety. The supper menu particularly offered little that you might call fancy - re the 5 start designation.The main buffet was not open at lunch so we had to use the large beach buffet which had less variety and was very busy. Alternatively we could and did (with a change of clothing) use the Italian restaurant off the main lobby - this was actually good and strangely little used by guests for either lunch or suppers. We ended up eating there a number of times.
The a la carte restaurants (Steak House, Mexican and Asian) were very disappointing and fell well short of being 5 star. These as well as the Italian were only about 50% occupied when we ate there - not sure why. Service seemed too quick - rushed, there was no sort of pizzazz that you might expect from a 5 star service. Entrees were served at the table except at the Asian where a buffet was provided (buffet also provided all appetizers and deserts at the other a la cartes. Particularly disappointing was the almost complete lack of adhering to the posted and advertised dress code for the restaurants.
Overall, not a bad time but not 5 star and should be priced differently. Would not return.

Room Tip: Resort is not so large that it matters where you are in order to get to the beach etc. If you like q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is the 13th occasion we have stayed at this hotel as we come to this area of Mexico every January. We stayed at the Palace Mexico last year and the decorative theme of the refurbishment of the Yucatan is very similar to the Palace,although the bedrooms are of a higher standard at the Palace. On the whole we thought the changes are fairly good but as others have said a lot is just a covering of white paint. The biggest plus for this hotel continues to be it's staff. From the bars with Israel Benitto Jubilly Armando Ect to the lovely restaurant staff. Cleaners and gardeners who are all so friendly,funny and happy to help with anything. We really liked the new quiet pool which we used every day and was much better than being by the main pool where it can be very noisy due to our loud cousin's across the pond who find the need to shout to each other when they are within touching distance. The new lobby bar is a great improvement.it is large area with greatly improved seating, giving a more relaxed atmosphere. The one big negative has to be the lunch time Restaurant which is crowded,noisy and a thoroughly unpleasant experience. Why have they closed the main Buffet restaurant at lunch? This was a much nicer place to eat. Another thing that irritates me is the sight of the very poorly attired mainly North Americans who go to dinner in the evening where the tables are beautifully set dressed in shorts and T Shirts that you have seen them in all day long. They either don't get washed or shower and put the same sweat ridden clothes back on. It used to be compulsory to wear long trousers and a collared shirt. Unfortunately the management don't enforce this rule. Those who wish to dress down should have a restaurant similar to the lunch time buffet or open a McDonald's on site.other than this we had a great time once again. Thank you all you wonderful staff at the Yucatan.

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same. As the entertainment finishes early the noise is not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Riu Yucatan and we had a fantastic two weeks. Prior to our holiday I was constantly checking the reviews and I must admit I was slightly concerned by some of the comments. My advice to anyone who has already booked or is considering the Riu Yucatan, is don’t listen to any of the negative reviews, just go and you will have an amazing time. Our holiday started off in style when we travelled on the Dreamliner we have now been spoilt for any other form of air travel, it is excellent there is lots of space and the seats are really comfortable.

The hotel has recently had a refurb, and our first impression upon arrival was a modern clean reception (I personally liked the pink décor). The rooms are spacious and clean, but, I have to admit I would not say they have been refurbished; they have basically painted everything white, which overall gives it a clean and minimalistic look. There is a slight musty smell in the rooms, and at times they did feel damp, but we went prepared after reading other reviews and put fresheners in the wardrobes and kept the air conditioning and fan switched on. This is not the fault of the hotel it is just the climate. At the end of the day we were on holiday to see Mexico not sit in our room!!

The food at the hotel was amazing. You would have to be extremely fussy to not find something you liked, there is something for everyone. My personal favourite was breakfast you were spoilt for choice from the juice bar to freshly cooked omelette and pastries. The buffet restaurants throughout the day were excellent, it is amazing how they manage to cater for everyone and staff can constantly be seen cooking and replenishing the buffet. The food was always hot and fresh. We tried all of the a la carte restaurants and our favourite was the Mexican.

The pool areas are kept spotlessly clean, we used the main pool the majority of the time and as we were travelling as a party of four we never had any problems getting a sun bed. The entertainment staff are always around asking for people to join in the day time activites, but if you just want to sunbathe there is no pressure from them. We particularly enjoyed the zumba classes and pilates on the beach, but there is something for everyone of all ages. For those who want a quieter pool area the Ibiza pool is very popular. The beach adjoining the hotel is beautiful, in fact it is one of the best beaches we have been to, it is an endless stretch of white sand and turquoise sea. It is possible to walk in either direction for about 40 minutes, you can also get to Playa Del Carmen by doing this.

If you want a change of scenery I would definitely recommend going down to Playa Del Carmen of an evening, to visit all of the shops and restaurants, we did this several times and it is very safe. If you fancy a big night out make sure you don’t miss Coco Bongos it is brilliant and worth every penny it is a definite must for everyone. We booked all of our trips through Thomson and they were all excellent Chichen Itza is definitely worth the early start and Xcaret Plus was fantastic.

Overall we had an amazing holiday, the hotel and staff are excellent, the location and beach are amazing, and the resort is perfect. I would recommend this hotel and resort to anyone who is considering Mexico!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,894 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#51 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,499 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,501 reviews
13.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Property: Hotel Riu Yucatan
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing