We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable trip”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #61 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable trip”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed in Riu Ycatan for 10 days on 9-19 November. We were 2 couples: my husband and I and my father (in a wheelchair) and his wife. It was very important to us to have an accommodation comfortable for wheelchair. It was important as well to have possibility to walk for the person who is not walking very well. The hotel provides both those features. Everything is accessible for a wheelchair and the paths are comfortable for a short walk as well (not too many stares).
The service was very good and the buffet was incredible. We liked the restaurants but found them less interesting than buffet. We were in the building 7. It was perfect location. You just make sure your room is not oriented to the lobby. We were in rooms 11 and 14 on first and third floor and it was good. The rooms at first floor are a bit out of dated which is strange since the renovations were finished just 2 month before our visit. Sometime there is a strange smell in a room but open window with fun fixed the problem.
There were no bugs at all.
The biggest downside of that hotel is a beach. It is very nice but there is not enough of shadowed places, which cause a problem.
There was no music to dance before dinner. It is expected from the hotel of 5 stars to have a little dance music in the night.

In total, I think the hotel is strong 4.5 stars. If the beach umbrellas would be installed and the dance music will be played before dinner, I would say it will be 5 stars.

Room Tip: Takehigher floor. Building 7 is very good located, make sure your room is not oriented to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatashaD_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,695
    1,884
    721
    208
    126
See reviews for
1,522
2,626
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,064)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Hotel Riu Yucatan was the 9th Riu hotel we had visited and was chosen as it had recently had a refurbishment. Starting with the good points. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. The food was very good and the room cleanliness was excellent. However, the update of the hotel was in our opinion a let down. The reception is now chrome, pink leather and modern lighting so it could be any hotel anywhere in the world - no character whatsoever. The bar area now features new wicker chairs which are probably the most uncomfortable we have ever used. The outside tennis courts have been taken out and replaced with a swimming pool and an outside bar area. All very nice except that the tiled area around the pool has almost smooth tiles which are lethal when your feet are wet. They are an accident waiting to happen. The buildings have now been repainted white. Unsure of the quality of the paint used as after only 3 months the paint is washing off leaving the original yellow to show through. The corridors are white so every scuff mark from service trolleys or suitcases shows so the place is already looking well worn. The rooms have been likewise painted white with the original dark brown wood furniture just being painted white and put back in place. In our room the paint was still not dry as proved with paint being left on clothes in the drawer. The armchair has now been replaced with an upright hard backed dining room chair! The electrical sockets have been left and a number in our room were cracked and all were discoloured with age. The place looks very clinical. The bathroom update appears to be confined to fitting a new shower door in plain glass without any modesty panels. Anybody having a shower can be seen by whoever is in the room which is great if you are sharing. The old sink taps and shower taps have been left in place so after many years of having been cleaned daily the chrome has gone and they look tatty. The old sink which was well used and scratched was still in place. Sorry Riu but this place does not live up to the star rating you allocate to it. I have advised both Riu Hotels and Thomson holidays directly of my concern about this hotel and my intention to put my report on Trip Advisor to allow them to address some of my points. To date neither have responded

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TorreGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

What can I say about this wonderful hotel. I know it's not Christmas yet but I am sat in the entrance lobby with a drink in my hand reflecting on the first ten days of our holiday. And whilst doing this the staff are quietly putting the Christmas tree and decorations around the trees inside the complex. Others are busily going about their business tending to the needs of international tourists from Canada, Germany, Italy, Russia and of course England. For you who have not visited this fantastic hotel since it's refurbishment you have to return at some point in the future. This place caters for everyone of all ages and state of health. It even has sustainability and its commitment to the community. Where the old reception once was there's now the Sicilian / lunchtime buffet bar that caters for those that don't want to utilise the margarita buffet restaurant next to the main pools. Enter the main lobby and you are met with wonderful vibrant pinks, silvers purples and greys that blend together with ease. Step past the lobby and you are met with a new bar with seating areas to match the decor. To the left is now a swimming pool, once three tennis courts, for those that like a quiet place to rest and to sit and relax over cocktails and other drinks. The staff are excellently and nothing's too much trouble for them. The room is excellent, clean and extremely well tendered to by our maid. We also have air conditioning to boot. The food is also to die for and caters for all tastes including Celiacs. if you fancy a little a la cater the try the Steak house or the Asian or Mexican. All well worth a visit. The beach / pool bar is literally a dozen steps from the beach itself. In all fairness it is busy but there are places to find seclusion if you wish. The excellent staff cater for all ages with kiddies activities and crèche available every day. The entertainment staff are also marvellous. If you fancy a game of beach volley ball, as I do, this and other activities are throughout the day. The night time entertainment s also good. Last night we watched an amazing fire routine with poles and tumblers plus a lot more. My favourite so far is Michael Jackson tribute. There are also other internal things that the hotel undertakes such as every Sunday at 12.30 there's a tour around the kitchen with the head chef. And if you want to venture out of the hotel there's the gym not two minute away with a spa as well. There's Aldo a doctors clinic as well, but we don't talk about that. However the Mosquitos are biting so bring along some good strong Deet product. Whilst your here don't forget to use the free kayaks and surf boards off those that are water fanatics and swim in the clear Caribbean Ocean. You can also walk up the extremely clean and well kept beach to an area which you can see fish happily swimming away whilst you snorkel by. But don't stop there take a trip in a taxi to fifth avenue (7 dollars) and visit the wonderful shops and bars. Then if you like walk back up the beach to the hotel. No disrespect to the Tequila and playa Carr but the do look in need of a big of TLC and for the little big extra you pay for this hotel it's worth it. All in all we are continuing to have a fantastic time and it's not over yet but when we get back home we will definitely be booking again. Enjoy, photos to follow when we get back.

Room Tip: Our room no 5108 is directly behind the main pool and is great for the beach and bars. If you like i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kevan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handforth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

just got back from the riu yucatan hotel where do you start
I went with thomsons flights were excellent plenty of leg room plane food is really plane food
transfer was 1 hour from cancun airport on a long straight fast road
then we got to the hotel
friendliest people you will wish to meet nothing is too much trouble
its spotless always cleaning
All staff & I mean all staff were top
great swimming pools a great chill out area with pool , bar hammocks beds
entertainment staff the best
as for the beach right outside the complex like a picture post card white clean sand that does not get hot on the feet lovely clear water
the food is the best I have had at hotels with superb choice
suggest you try the shanghi Chinese really top
as you can gather we had a top time will go back again next year for certain
only downside is the international drinks did not taste the same as the uk barcardi or smirnoff

Room Tip: all rooms I saw were the same very roomy large I mean large beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just got back this morning from a two week stay at this hotel. we are a couple in our early 50's and I have to say we enjoyed this hotel, we have stopped at other Riu hotels and this was on a par with most of the ones we have visited.
ROOMS - we didn't have a problem with our room, clean, comfortable and bright, after all the room is just a place for a few zzzz's after a busy day. There has been a few comments about money going missing, but we didn't have a problem.
POOLS - we never used the main pool as we are not early risers or people who worry about putting towels down, so we never managed over two weeks to get a bed by the main pool, but i have to say around the main pool always seemed to be mega loud !! the beach was lovely and the sea equally as lovely with clean, clear waters and soft sand underfoot. if we spent any time around the pool it was at the chill out pool by reception, beds always available no matter what the time, plus apart from chill out music the pool was always quiet.
FOOD - we enjoyed the food, something for everyone, and enough variety, so that you don't have to have the same thing all the time.... make time to book the steakhouse, we managed to get there twice and the food was lovely. we always left a tip, one was never expected but the waiters and waitresses, cleaners all worked so hard, always friendly, always smiling.
TRIPS - we did two trips, one to the Mayan site which was expensive but we enjoyed it, and one to Coco Bongo's which is a totally amazing night, we chose to book all our trips with Thomson s, which are expensive tours and even though you can get cheaper tours from other companies we heard a few stories of people being left at places and having to pay taxi fares back or as one morning as we were waiting to be picked up, a company didn't turn up for some people waiting at our hotel....... we didn't have any problems with our Thomson s tours. a small tip - take a small umbrella with you because when it rains it pours down, so a small umbrella will save you getting wet ! we really enjoy our holidays and this one was no exception, love love love Mexico, we felt totally safe walking around at night, we even hired a car and drove around Cozumel which is just a ferry ride of about 40 mins away, equally as lovely to visit and again felt safe enough to drive around the whole island. enjoy your holiday !!

Room Tip: we had block 7 which is very close to reception plus the chill out pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandymate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have just arrived home after week stay at this hotel. Our room did have a distinctive smell and we did enquire about being moved but it was not possible for a couple of days and as we were only there for a week thought it not worth the bother. No real privacy in the room, the shower door is clear and the toilet is off the bedroom.

The food was average, in fact it did become boring and we were glad it was only a short stay. We tried the steak restaurant but not particularly good. My wife only drinks wine and the wine she said it was horrible and obviously watered down.

The hotel is in a area full of similar hotels, so not many places to walk to. We did go to 5th avenue and it was very touristy lots of shops selling the same thing, with the obligatory guy outside pleading for you to go in their shop to look around.

Everyone feeds the monkeys located on the walk through to the beach, but entertaining. The pools and beach are beautifully clean we enjoyed this aspect of the hotel very much. We didn't enjoy the Mosquitos one bit, they are a real pain, in more than one way, we were badly bitten. We got some OFF from a local pharmacy that helped a little.

The hotel entertainment was disappointing. In November it gets dark about 5 and it is a long time until 9.45 for entertainment to begin. One night it was karaoke.... So no entertainment that night!

The hotel staff were simply the best, smiley happy friendly we cannot express enough just how good they are,

My wife got a stomach bug after 4 days which spoiled things slightly, at home 3 days now and she still is getting headaches, stomach cramps and diarrhea. Probably docs tomorrow if no better. Would like to hear if anyone else had similar illness,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laineWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was our 13th visit to Mexico, and we have travelled to both 4 and 5 star resorts. Traveler beware - this is not a 5 star resort as Riu advertises. I am not knocking the Yucatan, but will knock Riu into not rating it properly. Yucatan is a 4 star hotel and there is nothing wrong with being a 4 star so call it like it is Riu!
We enjoyed ourselves thanks to the company of great friends & great friendly staff and a lovely beach. The hotel has a great lay-out and thanks to the renovations looks modern and fresh. If this is your first time to an all inclusive …….you will love it. However, if you’re a seasoned traveler and/or expecting a true 5 star because that’s what Riu advertises themselves as, you will be disappointed.

POSITIVES
*Great resort layout, walk to your room in minutes from beach/lobby.
*Beach is outstanding; walk for miles in either direction, all the way to Playa del Carmen if you wish.
*Decent sized hard plastic cups, no need for Bubba’s unless you like to travel with them.
*Drinks were okay, but you had to request name-brand alcohol (if your choice requires a fruit juice, it will likely be awful, their fruit juices are so watered down…..think watered down tang for orange juice)
*DosXX beer on tap and cans in room & Large bottles of water in your room
*Lots of daily activities; Zumba and stretching and exercise and volleyball, water polo, bocce ball and salsa lessons , water sports and so on and so on.
*Ability to use the Riu Tequila and Riu Playacar during the day for food, and anytime for drinks
*New, modern décor
*Very friendly hotel staff

“Our” Reasons it’s not worthy of a 5 star:
*No waiter service anywhere at the resort at pool or beach or lobby or shows, you have to get your own drinks always (5-star….seriously Riu?)
*Limited minutes of internet, not available everywhere
*Terrible watered-down fruit juices for drinks
*Shampoo/soap combination in showers, (btw - showers only, no bathtubs) not good for shampooing your hair. No conditioner.
*No small bottles of water available anywhere in the resort
*Line up daily at 7:00 a.m. to book you’re a la cartes for the night BUT the buffet is actually better (that was a first for us)
*Only 2 of the a la cartes are separate restaurants, the other 2 are just at the lunch buffet area AND all or some of the meals are just buffet self serve anyway.
*No music in A la carte restaurants – just the sounds of clanking cutlery in the background
*No tennis court or heated jacuzzi anywhere on the resort – even in the spa.
*Room cleaning didn’t happen every day
*Restocking of fridge only every second day as per hotel policy.
*No room service
*No food after hours, you have to walk to the Riu Tequila after the buffet closes for a mediocre snack

TIPS
*Ask for name-brand alcohol
*Bring your own Shampoo/conditioner
*Large bottles of water are available at the front desk in case your room is not re-stocked
*Stay out of the swim up bar area after lunch, it’s like Hotel California……no one ever leaves
*Don’t sleep late or you may forfeit getting loungers anywhere. It’s a busy hotel
*If your bed is too hard, ask for a mattress topper, we did, and it made a big difference!
*Bring OFF or buy it at the hotel store and bring Afterbite. I noticed lots of mosquitos at the outdoor breakfast buffet in the morning. Spray yourself with OFF in the morning also. (not just in evening)
*Lots of smoking at this resort which they still allow in the lobby and around the resort . The lobby does have a non-smoking area.
*DO go to Coco Bongo in Playa del Carmen for an excellent fun club night out. Luis Luna will take care of you and is around the resort all day selling tickets. VIP Gold is the way to go.

If you’ve booked, and you have the “after booking jitters” don’t fret, you will have a good time, but just gear yourself up that you are not getting a 5 star resort. If you are thinking of booking and don’t mind "self service" for all your amenities then book away; Overall, it was a good fun 4 star resort in a great location with an outstanding Beach which is a big part of a getaway.
Happy Travels

Room Tip: Buildings 4,5,6 are the closet to the pool/theatre/beach area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BarbieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#56 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#50 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,778 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#88 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Property: Hotel Riu Yucatan
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing