We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #59 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Eastham, Wirral
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with the wife Nov/Dec 2012. Had a fantastic time. All, and I mean all, the staff were very helpful. The entertainment team around the pools and beach were excellent it was non stop entertainment all day everyday. We never joined in but it was so much fun to watch. The bar staff were brilliant as well and are on the go all day. The hotel is a little bit rustic (getting refurbed this year) but the rustic look was fine, and very clean. Food and drinks were good and plenty of, beers and spirits in the room and once again plenty of. The themed nights in the restaurant the steak night was well worth it, the Mexican night was also good. We didn't do the Asian night but a lot of people said it wasn't worth it. Each themed night has to be booked at the main restaurant as early as possible (before 8am preferably).
Visits - the dolphins in Playa del Carmen was a great visit but the photos are very expensive so be careful. If you visit the Tullum ruins get one of the local combi buses it cost £14 the whole visit instead of £40 on a tour, spent the savings on a meal in Playa Del Carmen which is worth a visit because its a good night out and safe for tourists if you stayed in the main areas. The locals are very friendly as well. Best night of the holiday was spent at The Coco Bongo club in Playa Del Carmen (£60 for 2) Me and the wife are in our 50's and had a great time with a good mix of ages watching the show, it's incredible and honestly never seen or experienced anything like it - a MUST. Tipped the waiter (2 Dollars) and he kept coming back didn't even get a tip most times. The above price includes entry and all drinks and you get plenty of drinks as well. Book outside the hotel (by Riu Tequila) it must cheaper. Definitely would go back to the Riu Yucatan had a great time loads of wildlife in hotel grounds was a massive plus.

Room Tip: All rooms were fine so shouldn't be a problem but reception staff are very friendly and helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank JaxandGinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,663
    1,866
    709
    206
    125
See reviews for
1,504
2,592
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,054)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Sharon and I recently booked a vacation in Mexico at the Riu Yucatan. We had a great time and met some very nice people. The hotel was absolutely wonderful. Very clean with great staff and the food was really good. We had our own little feeding spot for all the critter that frequented our deck area. The beach was beautiful and there was plenty of loungers for everyone. The nightly shows were entertaining and the performers worked very hard to get it just right and to put on an excellent show. We were within a 15 to 20 minute walk to Playa Del Carmen which we went to a few times to do some sight seeing, shopping and of course Tequila taste testing. The food was well prepared and the dinner reservations were hassle free and very enjoyable. We had a blast watching the moneys play in the trees right outside our room and throughout the complex. We did a day trip to Xel Ha which was very nice and relaxing. A must do!

If I had to ad a negative point it would be that every once in a while we would get a smell of sewer. It was a weak smell but it was there. All in all I would recommend staying here if you are heading to Mexico.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 3 which was handy the lobby but far enough away from any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank comish55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have often been sceptical about AI holidays but this resort is an exception as we took a chance for some Winter sun. Reception had a real Mexican feel about it and was especially buzzing during theme nights which included Mexican (of course) and casino with excellent entertainment supplied by musicians and vocalist. The bar was especially well run with staff being friendly and efficient. The all inclusive beer was not quite to my taste but made up with the wine and spirits.The main buffet restaurant was immaculately kept, the food at all meals of good quality, plenty of choice for all tastes and freshly prepared at each serving station. The Mexican, Steak and Asian A la Carte restaurants are all definitely worth a visit or two, our favourite being the Asian but you do need to pre-book. Outdoor bars were well manned by helpful and amusing waiters. The gardens were well maintained with plenty of local wildlife. The request not to feed the monkeys was as usual ignored by a lot of people. Downside to the monkey troupe was the very noisy calling routine which tended to begin around 5:00 am ! The pool area was kept extremely tidy and had a lot of the normal aerobics and well organised games by the activities teams. If that is not your scene then the beach is an ideal escape, white sand free form litter and very comfortable sun loungers, important to note that there is a row of posts in line with the Lifeguard, don't put your lounger in front otherwise you will be asked to move it back. Our room was spacious and kept extremely clean and tidy not forgetting the four liquor dispensing optics and a regularly replenished fridge, although a slight lack of wardrobe space in the room. The outdoor shows were both entertaining and professional. All the staff throughout the whole complex were efficient, helpful and courteous and appeared to being enjoying their jobs (unlike U.K.). The Thomson reps were all great, helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel is a short stroll to the other Riu hotels which we checked out but still preferred the Yucatan, also to Playacar with a couple of bars and shops. Slightly further (about 30 minutes) is Playa del Carmen which is worth a visit. One important tip whilst walking around. If a guy comes up to you and says "I am the waiter in your hotel, my day off, come and see my mother's shop" don't always believe him, he knows which hotel you are from your !All inclusive" wrist band !!!!
We made the Chchen Itza trip which was well worthwhile, however there are in Playacar some travel stall holders offering the same trip at much lower price than Thomson but they do not guarantee and English only speaking guide and tend to start later in the day, so when you arrive it is mid-day (pretty hot) and you can be at the back of a long queue for entry.

Room Tip: Away from the monkeys !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Gian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

stayed here for 2 weeks in april. staff were fantastic,food and drinks brilliant.
we ate at all the restaurants, but found the buffet to be as good if not better.
beach amazing. we had a great time and will be back.
thanks yucatan

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank davesgolfshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

The riu yucutan was my first ever holiday out of Europe and it was well worth it. The staff were very friendly the weather was amazing the food was fab couldnt really rate it any higher! Would definitely go again. We went on a brilliant trip to see the chichen itza pyramid the guide was so funny and it was great to see! Its a fair walk into town but you can easily get a taxi to a fro mexico is a very beautiful place and the beaches and sea are gorgeous. Well worth going!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DeeDeeDou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here with two friends, as young girls in out 20s we thought it may be to quiet although we didn't want to be as full on as cancun. Great service, friendly staff, good entertainment, amazing trips ( swimming with dolphins is a must as well as the pirate ship) beautiful beach altogether the best holiday we had ever had. All inclusive was outstanding, lots to choose from and tasted grate! Drinks where branded and cocktails included. Have recommended to everyone, good for family's, couples or friends. Thank you yucatan!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Olivia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We visited this resort right before they closed for renovations, and as far as we could tell, there was nothing off with the service. You had no idea they were going to close the next week! Service was phenemonal, every person that worked there greeted you with a smile and an "hola!" The employees were friendlier than the other guests!
The resort is beautiful, situated on one of the nicest stretches of beach directly south of Playa del Carmen. The neighborhood is called Playacar and is a pretty gated community with lots of resorts and condos. It felt very safe walking to the other Riu properties, the little shopping center down the street, and even all the way into Playa (about 35 mins for us, and it was HOT! We took a cab back ;) )The beach is wide with palm trees, white sand, and turquoise water. There were always plenty of lounge chairs on the beach, in the sun or shade, no matter what time of day.
I was in the pool most of the time, and I loved both swim up bars. The one closest to the beach, Tulum, was also the pool/beach bar and had two levels. The bottom level (swim up) had it's own enclosed pool with little stools and tables all around the edges. This was the "rowdy" pool bar in the late afternoons. There was nothing too bad going on, just people drinking shots and being loud and excited with their friends. Cozumel was the other pool bar, and this was in the quieter pool, which did have more children as it is shallower and there are no activities going on. It was still fun though, you can sip your pina colada and then push off from the bar and float across the pool. The animacion team does a great job of getting people involved in activities if you want, they were great. They also served food out by the pool several times, once it was a ceviche snack (YUM!) and another time they had a whole grill/food station set up by the pool for lunch.
I thought the food was really good, but my husband and I LOVE Mexican food and we pretty much ate only that for every single meal. No chicken fingers and hamburgers for us in foreign countries! They do serve stuff like that if you want it but I can't comment on it. The Mexican food was great - chilaquiles for breakfast, tostadas for lunch with fresh pico de gallo and guacamole, and more yumminess like enchiladas for dinner. We only stayed 5 days and didn't get sick of the food. We ate at the Steakhouse a la carte and the Mexican and they were both pretty good. I liked the entree I had at the steakhouse, it was the surf and turf. The meat was very tender and delicious. The Mexican one was a little different as salad and appetizers were set up buffet style and then you ordered your main course off the menu. My husband and I enjoyed this experience too. The wait staff in the buffets are great, they barely let you get out of your seat to get a drink refill, even though I was perfectly capable of refilling my own coffee! They work hard and are friendly and are very deserving of tips, but they never ask for one and they are very gracious when receiving them.
The rooms were just okay - my least favorite part of this resort. However it is going through a remodel so it will be totally different the next time anyone stays here. They were dated with peeling paint, mold in the corners of the bathroom and other shabby fixtures. The beds were hard but not horrible. I don't care about the TV I have in my room. The best part about the rooms was the mini bar and liquor dispensers! It was nice to have a little pre-dinner cocktail in the room while getting ready. The rest of the grounds were beautiful, it is gorgeous and jungle-y with little trails meandering through everywhere. They take very good care of everything, the staff is always working hard to keep it clean and pretty.
The entertainment here was really fun! I didn't partake in any of the daytime activities because we were either out on a tour, in Playa del Carmen, or lounging at the swim up bar, but they looked fun. The nighttime entertainment was great, I thought. No, it's not Vegas quality, but neither is your price tag. The Michael Jackson tribute was soooo well done, the main guy is a great dancer. There were some other very good dancers too, and the aerial acrobatic/cirque de soleil type stuff was awesome. The animacion team was also out in the lobby in the evenings greeting people and handing out drinks, which was pleasant and made for a lively atmosphere.
We also visited the Tequila one night and the Playacar during the day, and both were nice. The Tequila is much like the Yucatan, just not on the beach. The Playacar is smaller with pastel-colored buildings and grounds that are less like a jungle and more like a garden. Otherwise, it feels the same.
We would definitely return to Playa del Carmen again, and also the Riu. I hope the remodel doesn't make it all ultra modern but I've seen design plans and am not holding my breath. I loved the hacienda-style charm this resort had. We will definitely stay at the Riu properties again.

Room Tip: Building 4 was ideal, away from the theater noise but right by the pools and beachside restaurant. J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank SabineOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,755 reviews
0.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#47 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,706 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#41 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#39 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,338 reviews
10.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Property: Hotel Riu Yucatan
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing