We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but had better holidays in Mexico”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #63 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Despite Thomsons assurance that the work going on at the next door hotel Riu Palace was internal only, this is not the case. They have been installing new swimming pools and are in the process of replacing all patio doors, and yes the place is a building site. Be aware that they are refurbishing the Riu Yucatan next spring. Although the noise is minimal most of the time, it is there specially if you are put into block one. One night they pumped concete all night, very noisy.
Hotel: good but tired. Food: excellent. Staff: couldn't be more helpful. The only thing that for me spoilt the holiday was the fact there is no escaping the noise of the animation team. There is no quite bar to sit and have a relaxing drink in peace, but that may be my age!!!!

Room Tip: You need to be in block 3 for a quite night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SurreyLovetotravel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,396 - 2,402 of 5,878 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just returned from a very relaxing three weeks stay at the yucatan. Having read a few of the negative reviews I must comment..... The hotel next door is a building site with work starting at 7am and finishing at 6pm, but, after a day or so you forget the noise which just blends with the birdsong.The beach is the most peaceful area. Away from the pool ( which was very lively) and to the left of the hotel is where you must go, powder white sand, blue blue sea,, and sunshine.
The food is varied, we enjoyed it, and the Asian restaurant is very good, although, the Mexican restaurant was a huge disappointment.
The rooms are in need of modernisation but immaculate, the housekeeping staff are very friendly and keep the hotel very clean.
The 20/30 min walk into nearby town is worth it and the nearby golf club (although expensive) is a pleasure to play on.
We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gascoigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

RIU Yucatan is a very good Hotel with 5 star staff , 4 star food but 3 star rooms. The accommodation could do with some refurbishment but is quite adequate. I wasn’t going to write a review but having read some of the reviews about the food I had to correct this rubbish. The food is excellent, the buffet was on par with many cruise ships, you will have the WOW factor when you first go in the restaurant and I know its difficult to keep that wow factor for 14 days and it does become a bit samey but you cant help that. I would challenge anyone who said they couldnt find something nice to eat.
Ignore the rubbish about the animals, there are a few small animals around and the occasional monkeys which are nice to see, and they won’t bother you, there is one particular racoon type who wanders around the pool area but only because the stupid guests keep giving him bread, he is ideal for a photo opportunity but won’t bother you if you don’t bother him !
I do have some criticisms, the Hotel is right on the beach and is over run during the day by inmates from all the other RIU hotels particularly the RIU Tequila,(because its a long walk from the beach) they take many of the sunbeds and the beach restaurant is very very busy as the Yukatan is feeding twice as many hotel guests. My tip is pay less and stay at the Tequila and then use the Yucatan like everyone else !!
Tips. You get 90 mins free internet in the reception bar area every 24 hours per laptop/iphone not per person so take both = 3 hours.
Taxi into Playa del Carmen is about £3.50 or a 20 min walk.
Don’t buy the expensive trips from thomsons/tour guides, exactly the same trips for much less in town.
Go to Cancun for the day, Bus station in playa del Carmen, posh coach with movie, return was 90 peso( £4.50 ) each for the 1hr journey. Once in Cancun jump on a bus R1 to the Hotel Areas 35pence each anywhere, stay on as long as you want, excellent experience. Visit Shopping Mall Las Americas all air conditioned.
Finally the hotel next door is having major works done and IS NOISY (and likely to take many months) but only if you are roomed next to it as we were, but we were moved after complaining. The hotel were very good even though they were full.

Room Tip: Go to Cancun for the day, a cheap day out and something to do if the weather turns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sk9a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our vacation began Oct 6th-15th. We booked thru Apple Vacations which is a another story. We went for relaxation, beach, pool, drinks, and sun. We got all those and more.,There was so much food to chose from, from all different countries., we are from the United States and had no problems finding something different to eat everyday. To say that the food was average then your seeking upscale restraunts. We thought it was delish, as Rachel Ray would say. The steak dinner was wonderful, we both got ribeye done perfectfully. The mexican dinner was just so so, the dining hall was much better on Mexican night. The drinks were as I remember from the last times we came to Mexico, all yummy! We just love miami vices and the tequila .boom booms. I think the drinks in the lobby were so much better then those by the pool or shows. The pools and beach were wonderful., we spent most of our time at the beach so clear the water and warm. We made some new good friends from the UK and New York., exchanged emails and addresses and we hope to keep in touch., we sure enjoyed your company! Our room was on the ground floor #1121 the center of all, our beds comfortable and the air nice and cool. Our room next to the construction which we could not hear unless we opened our patio door. As for hearing the construction on the beach or poolside., (no), the entertainment music and crowd from the pool was so much louder. We were all excited seeing the monkeys and small little rabbit like animals can"t think of their names right now all over the place. and,mexican racoons. To say they shouldn't be there or the small lizards means you should of just stayed home., this is part of a jungle and your going to see animals. The staff was friendly our maid was wonderful, our rooms were clean and little towel designs eveyday on our bed , so cool. Our excursion to xel-ha was just wonderful, the snorkeling, food, dolphins and more. We snorkeled most of the day and watched the dolphins then relaxed on the hemmocks until it was time to go,.Mario at the front desk was a big help in getting these tickets for us. Pepe was just wonderful in helping with any need or questions. 5th Ave is still a fun time for us to shop., we can still bargin, not like we could years before since it has become more modernized.Over all would we go back to Riu Yucatan, YES....thanks for a wonderful vacation! Avel & Monica

Room Tip: Rooms to the outside grill are close to all, but far enough away from the entertainment noises at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank famliyblended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week stay--Sept 30th-Oct 14th and we LOVED it !!!!!!
ROOMS---were dated but very clean,they're being renovated in April we were told....
as someone else had mentioned the bathroom should have a curtain or door between it and the room

FOOD---Buffets were great,plenty of choices....as for the alacartes our favorites were the Mexican and Steakhouse (steaks were huge and excellent....Asian was a buffet and just ok

ENTERTAINMENT TEAM---they worked really hard and put in long hours....we loved Diego,Efren,Ode,Wilkins,Danny boy and Cindy.........loved watching the crazy games by the pool
our favorite shows were the Michael Jackson,Fire Dancers and the Circus show

BEACH---was huge and beautiful with plenty of chairs (although we're pool people :)

there is free WIFI for 90 min. every 24 hours in the lobby
The resort was not huge like others we've been to (we like to walk off our food and drinks)but it was nice size and had lots of sereque's and coaties roaming around..plus in the morning you can hear the howler monkeys..
We enjoyed the resort and how close it was to PDC...we went in to town 3 times for our massages at
VERONICA's GOLD...special THANKS to Victor,Norma and Angela they were fantastic........
Blue Lobster was great for the huge lobster I had
Bldg 6 was right by the pool and theatre but it gets noisy.. which we didnt mind since we went to the shows every nite anyway
Great trip and great resort !!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvmx215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Yucatan to celebrate my 50th birthday and had a great time. The hotel and the staff are lovely. The food is varied and we enjoyed every meal. It would be difficult to say its repetative, (perhaps if you are staying for months on end) there are also 3 bookable restaurants. The entertainment crew work tirelessly and there was loads to do. The hotel is apparently closing shortly for a refurb but we thought it was fine, spotlessly clean.

The hotel next door in undergoing building work which took place between 7am - 7pm. Our room couldn't have been closer but it wasn't a great problem unless you like to spend time relaxing on the balcony. It couldn't be heard from the pools or the beach. There are always plenty of sunbeds available, either on the beach or the pools. The beach is fantastic and you can wade out in the sea for yards and yards.

We enjoyed the wildlife around the grounds; racoons, iguanas, cerakes and howler monkeys. (you are in jungle terrain).

We did a few trips including swimming with dolphins and Coco Bongo nightclub in Playa Del Carmen (Don't leave without seeing it, the best fun you can have with your clothes on!). Snorkelling is the best; turtles and rays.

Playa Del carmen is a 5 minute taxi ride away or a lovely 40 minute walk along the beach. We took the ferry to Cozumel and hired a car (opt for the old-style soft top VW beetle).

I have no complaints, Im sure you won't. I would rather be there than in rainy Manchester

Room Tip: ask to be placed away from the building work. Blocks 4 and 1 are probably the closest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbieB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

gutted we had to leave, we went on the 22nd september and came back 7th october, where do i start, the rooms were a little dated, but spotlessly clean. In the buffet restaurants the food was a little repetitive but you still had a choice to try the a la carte restaurantes, which you could use it every night if you wanted. The pool area was great right on a white sandy beach, with the warm carribean sea, the staff were fantastic, especially the bar staff at night they were all quite funny. Don't know why some people do moan about this hotel they are very picky people. I thought the hotel was amazing for the value of money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
13.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
0.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#55 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $201 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing