We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good trip to Mexico”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #60 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Another good trip to Mexico”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very smooth check in after a long flight from UK. Our room was on groung floor very clean & cleaned every day although at different times each day. The room was getting tired & is ready for the refurb next year, but how long do you spend in the room anyway?
Can't say that we had any complaint about the noise from the sister hotel next door which you would expect from the major renovation going on. We never had any problem finding sunbeds on the beach & easily found shade if we needed it. Beach kept very clean. Can't comment on the pool as we would rather be on the beach.
Would not even bother to queue for reservations for the specialist restaurants as the 3 restaurants are not really anything special. We did try all three but there is plenty of variety in the main restaurant, but after 2 weeks a little repetative.
All bars gave good service & the staff soon get to know what you drink!! Glasses & ash trays always cleared away very quickly. Entertainment was ok at night some better than others - tip check at the other 2 hotels you can use (Tequila & Playacar) for what their show is that night. Michael Jackson worth seeing.
Didn't have much problems with mosquitos only a few bites but sprayed ourselves with Jungle formula spray before going out at night - mostly bitten in morning on patio.
As we have been to Mexico before we had done some trips anyway we tried Coco Bongos which was really good, 3.30 am came very quickly. There is always something to watch either on stage or in the air. Recommend this one. The speedboat explorer is really good even for me as I am unable to snorkel due to ear problems. Avoid going on the Sian Ka'an Truck Safari, it was 2 hours on an extremely pot holed road with very little to see except trees & bushes on either side almost up to the road so apart from seeing sea turtles and a few dolphins (not very close) then you could snorkell & swim if you wanted, it was another 2 hours back up the same road.!!!
A total waste of $324.
We took the ferry over to Cozumel & took a taxi round the island $80 for 3 hours with a very good driver. Make sure you are back at the ferry in plenty of time, the 5pm one was full about 4.30 so there were people left behind.
You can walk into Player del Carmen in about 30 mins, fine if it's not hot but only 70 pesos for a taxi. It is quite safe walking out at night round the hotels and you can use their bars at night for variety.
If you have any pesos left you can use them at the aiport in part payment then pay the remainder in dollars, ponds or use your credit card.
This is an ideal location for a chilling beach holiday.

Room Tip: I emailed and requested a first or second floor room but it didn't work. But our room was ok an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andjanRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,728
    1,911
    732
    208
    127
See reviews for
1,557
2,653
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,074)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Well where to start 27th sept till 11th oct not the best rui we have stayed at,the lobby areas very uncomfortable mostly ladder back rattan type chairs a few sofas that were sagging badly and chairs but not nearly enough, at the end of a meal not good.,the seating in the theatre was the best .Plenty of sun beds around pools with mattress's, and plenty on beach but no mattress,the food somewhat dissappointing not to the standard we have had in the past and certainly not 5 star rating, we were appalled that they only had margarine not BUTTER in the restaurants fresh bread great ruined by this.they had great desserts and Fab cheese cakes, but the rest what with cold plates big let down don't get me wrong you won't starve. If you want rum and coke that's what you get basic but if you ask for bacardi and coke that's what you get,big lesson again .The rooms yes dated but clean and sheets changed every 3 days, they don't supply sachets of shampoo and shower gel now instead a container on the shower wall combined mix not so good for us ladies hair !!.It was super to feed the coati a type of raccoon and the acuti a type of what looks like a big squirrel with no tail all quite tame, our coati came down to the pool every day for his chocolate muffin and went in our bag to help himself !! Well even though ok we will not be returning there, sorry but the rui toureg in boa vista cape verde knocks spots off you, oh just a reminder there are huge mosquito's take antihisimene tablets they did help better than any sprays we took 100% deet jungle formula did not stop the little sods nor the repellant bands the rep will sell you !!!!

Room Tip: We asked for low floor in quiet area and was supplied with it, we were not near the noise comming fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We are not ai resorts type of couple. We spend 3 nights at Riu Yucatan after 3 weeks of serious travelling across Mexico.
However I’m used to stay a lot at 4*+ hotels in Europe for business – so we can assess quite reasonably.

Basically we loved the stuff, food (we had 3 dinners: Asian, sea food and regional restos at RY – all perfect and included in AI rate).
We have not used pool much. Who would like to waste time at pool if such beautifull beach is several meters from you?
Beach volleyball games were quite good actually.

Room spotless, room supplies every day, no time actually to drink all tequila and cerveza…
Had great view from balcony.

AI food available during the day exceeded my expectations: small snacks, barbie etc., drinks by the pool were just okay served in plastic glass, of course do not expect extraordinary quality, it was just a pool bar.

Overall impression was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altomezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Not happy at all ...

We stayed here for 2 weeks.
Nobody mentioned that the nearby palace hotel is being renovated with LOTS and LOTS of noise from 7.00 AM till late in the evening.

All the peaple that stay in the Riu Tequila and Playacar can lay at the beach of the Yucatan hotel : This means a very crowded beach + POOL !!!!
They take in all the seats at the pool, so people who stay in the yucatan, don't have a seat to lay at their own pool!

I filled in a complain sheet at the reception (they made it very clear to me that they were not happy that I asked for such a form)

I've been trying to find some email-adres of the offices of Riu ... but apparently there doesn't exist such an email-adres.

The emails that I send at the yucatan hotel just get ignored.

I'm really not happy with Riu at the moment !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I just want to comment on all the bad reviews not to sure what they were looking for in a hotel but for the money the hotel was fantastic we only stay at RIU and this was the best yet, we stayed at the place last time it was so blah blah. The pool was great had two side with bars at each and one side had music the other none. The beach was the best my husband not so much a beach person till this trip he loved it!!!! The staff i dont even know where to start they were the best ever ISREIAl was the best bar tender ever the entertainment WOW!!!! Please dont listen to all the downers it is a great hotel for a great price, we want to book again after the do their remodel in April LOVE THIS HOTEL AND STAFF Thanks for making a great trip.
Kelly from Buffalo!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly101120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

i am a frequent holiday go'er where i have been places like la, hawaii, australia and florida but mexico was the best by far!
hotel is friendly, clean and theres always something to do!
food quality is great! theres such a massive variety thats theres something for everyone.
well worth the money your paying!!!
will be going back every year!

loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jodie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny dunny
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

In the Thomson brochure it says that this hotel is a Platinum standard hotel. Sorry Thomson's it's not. We have stayed at a few Platinum hotels with Thomson's but this was no where near the standard. Sitting at the pool side was VERY NOISY you could't hear anything but loud music every morning starting at 10am. It was more like 18 to 30 poolside activities. Also the hotel next door was being renovated all you heard was drilling all day. One couple that arrived the same day moved THREE times to get a quieter room,Thomson's never mentioned this before departure. The food was average nothing special. Rooms were okay, Teo who was our maid was great, had different towel animals everyday. At night the hotel was also very noisy not a quiet area to have a drink.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyDunnyCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,455 reviews
0.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#51 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,501 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,504 reviews
13.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Property: Hotel Riu Yucatan
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing