We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday review of Riu Yucatan in Playa Car Mexico 09/09/2012 -23/09/2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #61 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Holiday review of Riu Yucatan in Playa Car Mexico 09/09/2012 -23/09/2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just got back from Riu Yucatan in Playa Car Mexico WOW!!! had a fantastic time. There were 8 of us in our party and were all given rooms together in 1 block. The food choice was excellent and there was always something that you fancied to eat. The pools and gardens were kept in really good order. And the beach - WOW. Swan in the warm sea and the Angel fish were so close you could touch them!!! We had monkeys on our balcony and was a really fantastic experience seeing them so close ( approx 3 feet away)!! The rooms are a bit dated but were cleaned imaculately every day. The hotel is closing in April2013 for a complete re-furbishment. One of our party received a note one day saying that something of value had been left in the room and to go to reception. The manager handed over an envelope which had over £100 in it. It had been found on the bed under the cover and what we think happened was when they came in late and emptied their pockets (after a few drinks!!!) left it on the bed.The money had not even been missed!!! We had read before travelling that some people had their belongings stolen and it was thought by the staff but our experience was quite the opposit. All the staff worked really hard to make our stay a happy one and I cannot fault them. Would I go back? - definately and are looking to book again next year. Hate the long flight love the place. VIVA MEXICO!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dalenoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,559
    1,826
    700
    203
    124
See reviews for
1,452
2,515
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,025)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

this was our honeymoon.
when we arrived to the hotel our luggage was taken to our room, we got to the room and it was great! opened up the patio doors to be overcome by loud building works going on. we was not too happy about this as it was very loud and we wanted our honeymoon to be something to remember.
the reception called to check it was ok i told him was not too happy with location of room. they changed our room within 24hours.
our new room was much quiter, only one slight problem the patio door would not shut and to have the air con on it needs to shut! i reported this the next day after nearly passing out in the night due to the hot weather! they got someone to fix it air con on!! brilliant!!
we requested extra pillows and the team there was excellant and on the ball!
great location loved the pool bars also!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeyc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I along with 3 women traveled to Playa del Carmen in April 2012 and we stayed at the Riu Yucatan.

Before departing Toronto to Mexico, I had emailed the hotel requesting 2 rooms side by side and they sent me a very nice email back and fulfilled our request with no issues.

This was the first tropical vacation that I have been on that it had rained almost every single day....with that being said we spent a lot of time in the hotel lobby. This lobby needs some work, it was not lively at all...no entertainment, no music. We did however discover that Riu Tequila has a much nicer, bigger lobby with music and more seating...all of us being in our late 20's felt more comfortable there, there was just more going on.

The Beach

Absolutely beautiful!!!! It was just steps away from any of the rooms on the resort, which was great for us. Some days it was difficult to find loungers, but just ask someone that works there and they will help you find one. There are tons of things to do on the beach, volleyball, boogie boards, daily soccer games, you could rent jet ski's....never a dull moment. There is no bar directly on the beach, but it was just steps away to the pool where you could find one, two or three...

The Rooms

I had read reviews about the beds being very hard...we didn't find it to be a problem at all, but you could call the front desk for a matress pad. The rooms were average looking, maid service was great. Liquor dispensers in all the rooms.

A la Cartes and Buffet

To book for the a la cartes you had to go to the main buffet in the lobby between 7am and 10am and make a reservation for that night. We only ate at the Japanese Restaurant and were quite impressed, it's buffet style and they had tons to choose from, however, the sushi rolls were not so great. We ate at the Buffet almost everyday, they always had more then enough food to choose from. I was a bit disappointed in regards to the service, we had zero service everytime we went, I wouldn't let that ruin my trip, but it would have been nice.

Bars

More than enough for the size of the hotel...all the bartenders were friendly and fast!

Off the Resort

It is an absolute must to go off the hotel and go to downtown Playa del Carmen, even if you just walk around...So many people, restaurants, clubs, bars, shops, etc.
After we booked the trip, I found Playa Crawl on Tripadvisor....if you want to experience the nightlife in PDC, this is a must, check it out. Miguel and Chris were absolutely fantastic, so full of energy and made sure EVERYONE had a great time.

Riu Sister hotels -- we only went to Tequila, but please keep in mind that even though they state you are able to have use of the Riu's sister hotels, you are not able to eat at the buffet for dinner...we were pretty embarrassed about that one.

All in all we had a fab time, even though the weather was horrible :(

Any questions, feel free to ask.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aj_blueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay here and really enjoyed it. On arrival we were greeted with a drink and given keys and directed to our rooms. The room was clean and as described. The pool was lovely with plenty of sunbeds and easy access to the beach with plenty more sunbeds. The food was also lovely and always plenty to choice from. The entertainment was ok nothing special but reasonable. The staff are all very friendly and hardworking, our room was cleaned daily.
The hotel is due to be refurbished soon and it is needed, the hotel next door is being refurbished and unfortunately our room looked directly onto the building site and we were woken every morning by the noise of diggers which you can hear around the pool so does spoil it if you want peace and quiet. Overall we had a great holiday and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traceys431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Mexican's were fantastic people, food choice excellent, beaches second to none, dolphin swim was emotional but wonderful. Hotel is having a face lift in the early year i just hope they do not spoil the character and friendly relaxing atmosphere.........i will have to go back and see!

Room Tip: Our room was brill, clean towels every day and bed was covered in petals and swans shaped into a hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank val l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have just returned from two weeks at this hotel. The rooms are a bit tired and outdated furniture but they are kept spotlessley clean by all the hardworking staff. The hotel grounds,pools,and beach were fabulous.The food was incredible with so much choice!! The location of the hotel is excellent as its only a five minute taxi ride away from playa carmen with great bars,clubs and shops. The hotel staff go out of their way to make sure everything is ok and that you are having a good holiday. The only downside to the holiday was that they are rebuilding the hotel next door and unfotunately our room looked directly onto the building site and we were woken every morning by the noise of diggers or drills!! Having said that it didnt spoil my holiday as i hardly spent any time in my room as i was on the beach or in the bars!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the main gardens or pools away from the building noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helennurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVYBRIDGE DEVON UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We are a pub holiday group that travels somewhere exotic every 18 months and this time 33 of us visited this wonderful resort. Its the second time we have visited a riu complex and we were not disapointed. We had plenty of choice of food copious amounts of drink a stunning beach and wonderful staff what more could anyone ask Thank you yet hotel to all that work at this awesome hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DUKEDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#53 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,597 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#47 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,455 reviews
12.5 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,173 reviews
17.1 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Property: Hotel Riu Yucatan
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing