We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic vacation”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #60 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
“Fantastic vacation”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Just got back from my daughters senior spring break trip here. We had a great time at the hotel and the location was great. Easy to get to playa, $7 cab fare or a half hour walk into town. The staff was nice, drinks good (just had to ask for the top-shelf liquor) and the beach was beautiful. It was a big enough resort to have different bar options but not so big you couldn't easily walk everywhere. Had a family of monkeys that lived in the trees about the walkway and that was fun to see.
The only surprise for us was that the disco and sports bar were actually on the sister property across the street so you had to walk off the property at night to get there, which was a little concerning for us since we were traveling with teenage girls. The late night food was a little scarce and not much of a selection but probably a good thing since we ate so much during the day! The buffets were great and the specialty restaurants were just ok. The beds were very hard and sheets very thin but eventually got used to it and was able to sleep the 2nd night.
I would definately go back to this hotel, had a great vacation!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby2834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,728
    1,911
    732
    208
    127
See reviews for
1,557
2,653
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,073)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
des moines,IA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We were originally booked at the Riu Tequila but were moved to the Riu Yucatan. At first we were a little concerned because we read that the Tequila was recently remolded. /but got over that after the first night. Although the rooms were a little dated it turned out good.
The first night we got cold and the mattresses were hard. But a call to the front desk got us all blankets and they put padded mattress covers on making the beds very soft. We were at the back of the resort and glad. Lots of US spring break kids and loads of Canadians having fun. We were expecting this since Mexico is a party and it is spring break. Expect this time of year load kids and door slamming around 2 or 3 AM. Was it bad no in fact the monkeys at 3 AM were loader in the early morning.
Food is OK. Breakfast was the same day in and day out. Lunch was good too. Same each day though but I’ve had much worse. Dinner was good. They did have a variety at night. We ate at the steak house and it was not bad. Frankly if you can’t find something to eat at the resort then you’re too picky and maybe should not travel out of the country.
Pools were great. Had to get up at 7 AM to go put towels on the recliners or you would not get one. To say people are paying off the staff to get chairs is ignorant; those people just didn’t get to the pool in time. Not saying this is right but that is the way it works.
Staff works their butts off. Friendly and do react to requests. Beach is great. Large and never had a problem finding a seat there. For the money this resort is a great value and close to Playa Del Carmen. Sits in a nice area where you can walk without feeling at risk. Taxi to Playa is $7.00.
Con for us was we have a 7 year old and there was no kid’s pool although they had a kids program. That young girl overseeing the kids program was great with kids too. Shows were good and fun for families. The party spring breakers were rude one night but the staff quieted them down quickly. We will go back here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank km2839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This is the 3rd resort I've stayed in Playa del Carmen in the last year. It is by far the least desireable of the resorts I've stayed at. The resort is located in a beautiful location on Playacar beach. The resort is just too big.

Set back from the beach are the pools which, given the number of people this resort can accomodate, are too small. Get a chair by the pool by 8 am or don't expect to have one. By late afternoon, the pools fill up...particularly the bar pool and the water looks slightly off color with all the bodies pounding down the (free) alcohol and disposing of it who knows where.

The food is average at best. The dining is primarily done in a large buffet hall. The Shanghai restaurant is not a restaurant at all...just another buffet with Chinese like food (think Panda Express). The best and only sit down experience is the Steak House.

This is your hotel if you can get a good deal (more than $50 per person per night and your getting ripped off), enjoy getting hammered on the all inclusive drinks, and want to get a sunburn at a cheap price. It is also the place for you if you are the type of tourist who is afraid of "real" Mexico....once you are behind the walls of the gated community, you will hardly even know you are in Mexico (except for the shouts of Tequila!).

Stayed March 2011
Helpful?
Thank ben_there_done_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hockeymomma
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2011

The Yucatan is a perfect fit for the group we traveled with - 12 adults and 15 kids ranging in age from 15-20. It's close enough to the town of Playa to walk if you want to, or take a taxi (cost has gone up from last year - it's now $7.00 each way for 1-4 people, and $14 for 5-8). We like being far enough away that our kids wouldn't go into town on their own. The beach is beautiful, the pool area is nice. Building 4 is closest to the beach side restaurant/lunch area (quiet), then building 5 in the middle and building 6 is behind the stage area (noisy until the show is over and the pool area bars close). 1, 2 and 3 are the next layer back from the ocean - with 1 probably the quietest as it's away from the main walkway. Buildings 7, 8 and 9 are closer to the lobby and behind the tennis court area. We were in 7 on the lobby side and it was so noisy at night from the partiers in the lobby bar area. The kids enjoyed hanging out at the Riu Tequila in the Sports Bar (pool tables, etc.) and the nightclub. There were a lot of volleyball games going on and off all day long, there's a Scuba Caribe right on sight and lots of activities you can enjoy. Free are the boogie boards, the catamarans and the kayaks.
We checked in pretty late at night. I assumed there would be a cot for our 3rd adult in one of the rooms, but there wasn't. I called and they brought it right away, along with some hangars (or hooks, as they called them). I also asked for cushions for the beds the next day and they were put on. I was glad to have my travel pillow and blanket as there is only one thin blanket and a sheet (and we like the AC on).
Drinks are replenished every other day, but just go to the front desk to ask for water if you run out. Food was good - we ate at Steak House and Mexican. Options at steak house are porterhouse, sirloin, pork ribs or chicken. I had chicken and it was good with the bbq sauce they had. I had shrimp in the Mexican and didn't like it so much. But the salad bar and appetizers & soup there were good. Buffet was good - always enjoy the fish and trying new items. They had grouper almost every day for lunch and dinner - very good. Very popular with the kids was the pizza and the pasta they cooked to order. Two of the days they brought out food by the pool bar and served - one day was nachos (chili, salsa, etc.) and one day was hamburgers. Chips & cheese always available by the pop machines, and ice cream is available most of the day. Late night snacks can be found in the Sports bar at the Tequila (cold pizza, sandwiches, fruit, burgers, etc. with a microwave for heating).
It was busy by the pool and on the beach - most days all the chairs were taken. We had no problem as someone always got up early to get a few, and we were in the same spot almost every day so everyone knew where to find each other. A few of us got sand flea bites - and I found that having the Benadryl itch stick, hydrocortisone and Benadryl pills helped a ton (compared to last year when the itch lasted a good 2 weeks and was horrible, this time it was like 3 days and not bad). One of our group got a little sick, possibly from drinking tap water. (take probiotics before going to get some good gut bacteria to fight off any issues). We took the ferry to Cozumel for snorkeling in Chakanaab (sp?). We paid to get in, and paid again to rent the snorkel gear. Lots of first time snorkelers and they loved it - the water is pretty calm there. They also have swimming with dolpins and manatees there for extra $. No problem using US dollars anywhere. The ferry does not take credit cards. I took Meclazine before the ride as I read it could be a little wavey. Only heard one person throw up on the ride - a little kid. They pass out barf bags if you want one. We sat on upper level - lower is probably better if you get seasick easily. Our kids sat outside on the upper deck and enjoyed the ride. On the way back we listened to a live band on the lower level. The little town of Cozumel is nice. When we bought our ferry tickets I asked if the round trip were good for both ferry companies and they said yes. But they weren't, so we had to wait til 5pm to return - but had fun doing a little shopping while we waited.
Our group of 27 ate at Carlos & Charlies and everyone really enjoyed it - they do a great job there. Lots of fun and the food was good too (fish tacos for me...yum!).
We walked to the Riu Playacar one night and had a drink by the pool area - it was REALLY quiet at that hotel compared to the Yucatan. I would say it's a bit smaller of a place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Great Holiday The staff were friendly the rooms clean and good size ,Food was very good although the beach restaurant was not so good, we used the PLayacar Hotel for lunch which was excellent on saying that the main Yucatan restaurant was also good But you do not always want to leave the beach to eat. Drinks were OK although it was a long wait to get one waiting for the Americans to fill their litre cups(Very Greedy) one down side was you couldnt get served a alcholic drink until 10.30 which may sound ok but the sun comes up about 7am and you will need to be down on the beach by then to get a sun bed unless you are American then you flash a wad and get them saved every day and I am talking 20 - 30 sunbeds at a time.
Iam a little tired of reviews saying bad things about this Hotel YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!!!!!!!!! WE did not pay 5* prices it was cheap if you want total excellence pay another £1000 or 2 then if you dont get it complain
The only thing that will spoil youre Holiday here is loud, brash, and rude Americans I hate to say thay but true, it was Spring Hols for them and they drank day and night with no thought for anyone else the Hotel did not Police this very well.
I would go back to this Hotel although not at this time because of my above comment.Please Please people if you have already booked do not be put of by the bad reviews, we had a lovely Holiday in a lovely Hotel and and great value for what we paid.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We loved our holiday at this hotel.
The staff is it's greatest asset. If you like the beach and the ocean, you can't beat it.
Thanks Riu Yucatan.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KManning4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond North Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We were there for my 40th birthday,11 nights of pure partying. The staff made it so special, you couldn't ask for more hard working bar staff who were very very freindly. The hotel itself was fantastic, the food was great, with a wide selection, the steak house was top too. The beach was kept so clean, with lots of activities going on. The use of the other Riu hotels was a bonus. The Riu Tequila had the disco bar for a bit of a boogy. Top notch defo visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil40th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,893 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#51 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,499 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,501 reviews
13.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Property: Hotel Riu Yucatan
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing