We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely LOVED this hotel !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya
Ranked #22 of 166 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely LOVED this hotel !!”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We spent 4 nights here at the end of feb. with our 3yr old daughter. We had a king suite, 2 bedrooms, with a balcony. From check in (speedy, friendly) to our spacious, spotless, beautiful room, amazing bathroom with jacuzzi tub and wonderful soaps/shampoos, to the free wifi and computer to use, to the lovely small pool, to the super helpful and wonderful staff, everything was lovely. The location is also perfect being one block from 5th yet still quiet. Could not have asked for more, except maybe 8 nights??!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CelestialNymph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    153
    39
    19
    13
See reviews for
55
157
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

It was like pulling teeth to find a nice, quiet, clean, non mildew/moldy/musty scented room. I’m very pleased and had no problems during my stay in room #207 with private balcony, overlooking the courtyard pool. The room is located above the lobby and not once did I hear the sounds and commotion of reception activity. The front desk (JJ, you are awesome!!) and staff are very warm, helpful and accommodating. The property is far from all the noise, but yet very close to 5th avenue (1 block) and the beach (3 blocks) to mamitas and kool beach clubs. The bed was firm and had no problems sleeping. I fell in love with the balcony which overlooked the quiet pool. This hotel has taught me to be less high maintenance, realizing that it’s all about the location, comfort and great rates!! Thank you Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya for making my first visit to playa a most memorable, relaxing, safe, secure and enjoyable! Count on me coming back!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serrano930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

For the price we paid (around 55 USD), it was a pretty good deal. Comfortable , air conditioned room, location about 5 mins from the beach, very helpful staff, who suggested us some local taco- bars and stands , where mostly local people eat.
Breakfast is very basic (a few toasts, jam and coffee) and is not served at the hotel, but in a italian restaurant about 150 meters away.
During our stay there were some problems with wireless internet in the hotel, but that was the only problem during our stay

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AncientMarinerPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2011

For the price and location you can't go wrong with this hotel. At the very least you can be gaurenteed a decent, quiet, clean stay, and you get a pool. We had a great stay at this hotel. One of the staff, a young guy whose name I wish I could remember, was really sweet and helpful. Gave us great suggestions for food and all around friendly.

Hotel was quiet, and had a nice pool. We stayed in a standard room, so it wasn't as plush as some of the balcony rooms, but clean and suited our needs. The beds were hard and pillows lumpy, but we were so exhausted at the end of the day it wasn't a problem. TV small in the standard room, larger in the others.

There is a computer with internet for guests in the lobby. You get coupons for mamita's beach club for 1/2 off chairs and an umbrella.

Have stayed at this hotel two years in a row.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xhellzbellsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We found this hotel to be in a very convenient location, just a block from the shopping- friendly 5th Ave. Staff was polite and helpful. The place was clean and attractive. The pool area was very shaded and the pool is small but we were headed to the beach anyways and the beach in Playa is gorgeous.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise181718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Just a brief note. Service here is way above average and everyone is more than willing to accomodate. The hotel and it's rooms are very clean and you get much more for your money here than you would get elsewhere. We stayed at a different hotel last year for twice as much and got at least 30% more space here at Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya. You will not be dissapointed for what you pay for here. There is also a good restaurant adjoining the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motts1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A suburb of Detroit
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I've reviewed this hotel before, but things were different this time so I wanted to write a new one. In previous stays at this hotel, I had stayed in standard rooms (which, btw are incredible) but this time I had my kids with me, so we stayed in the King Suite. This was a 2 bedroom suite with a balcony. The bathroom is bigger than the standard rooms, with the inclusion of a bathtub (the standards have only a shower). The balcony runs along both bedrooms, each with their own patio doors. It was really a great set up for a family.

More important than the room itself, though, is the service. The staff at this hotel are really fantastic. Always friendly and welcoming, every time I've stayed there (a total of 3 times now). They are very helpful- I don't speak Spanish, and I had to ask some questions at the bus station. So one of the men at the front desk wrote out all my questions for me in Spanish, then translated the answers for me. :) They were great with my kids, and made the stay really enjoyable for all of us.

The prices are reasonable, even in the minibar. And the room rates are well below what they could charge for a hotel of this value.

I absolutely recommend this hotel, and I will be staying there many more times I'm sure.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennies_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#69 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#47 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#107 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Tukan
Hotel El Tukan
#150 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya

Property: Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya
Address: Av. 10 Norte esq. Calle 30 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Caribe Maya Hotel
Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing