We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel / poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya
Ranked #17 of 173 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice hotel / poor service”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed in hotel Riviera Caribe Maya from Jan 3 - 8 with my girlfriend. We were very pleased with our room : it was pretty and very clean. We liked the location of the hotel as well (very central and close to 5th avenue, but not on it). The one thing about the location, though is that it was difficult to find a place to park our car (the hotel has only 2 places).

Our main concern is with their customer service :
1- lacking information and wrong information at reception
2- we paid for a breakfast that was not given to us on the last day : we have repeatedly called and emailed management of the hotel about reimbursement; however they still haven't replied.

1- when you are in a country you don't know and for which you'd like to discover, you kinda expect the people to guide you in what should be the most authentic or at least to avoid the "tourist catcher". We asked reception the first day to help us find a restaurant but they couldn't help. We asked about tours … they gave us their book (like 100 pages!), but no advice Plus the guy didn't know the tour they were offering. When we finally got to the point to decide on one tour, they offered to call the tour guide to get the answer to some of our questions. Which was nice, except they never did (we asked 3 times… we finally stayed at the counter while they called! and finally discover this is not the one we were "sold". We finally found one very nice walking in the streets and talking to people !

2- Our room included a breakfast that we enjoyed at the italian restaurant 2 blocks from the hotel. Since we had to leave early on Sunday to catch our flight, we checked with the reception at multiple times what could be done in advance (we started asking them on wednesday)
+ at first on Wednesday, the reception desk said that the italian restaurant would be open. However, after checking with the owner of the restaurant on Wednesday, he confirmed the place would be closed on Sunday.
+ We then came back to reception on Thursday  and were told that the solution would be the restaurant of the hotel. Two people told us this on two different days, including Saturday night.

So it was to our surprise and disappointment to discover on Sunday morning right before leaving that the hotel restaurant was closed... which obliged us to incur unexpected expenses for our breakfast.

I tried to reach the manager/owner by email and almost every day by phone; each time I was told by reception that they have relayed my message to the manager. After 6 calls and 3 emails, I still don't have any answer, not even negative.

Just wanted to share our experience so you can avoid the same issue!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NYC_frenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    154
    39
    19
    13
See reviews for
58
158
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My travel-partners and I arrived at Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya just to stay there for one night. Our choice of hotel was based on web-reviews from where we got the impression that the hotel would be a very good deal at the price. Hereby we arrived with high expectations and that was the mistake.
The hotel was quite simple and the service quite basic. Additionally, we found the rooms small and not as clean as expected and the beds were really hard as well. No sun at the pool area and the free Internet was unstable and slow.

We left with a feeling that we could have found better accommodation in Playa del Carmen, but on the other hand, we must have had too high expectations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CasperSeingTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Unforced entry and though I initially thought it was the staff that couldnhave robbed everything from, jewelry, shoes, bags, phones, went through absolutly everything. Be warned if like us in room 103 your on the bottom floor, this hotel operates with keys which can be copied. They were happily getting the room ready for other poor guests. This hotel ruined my stay and my birthday.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kerryleigh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Room 210, in the standard plus deluxe category has everything to satisfy my level of comfort and privacy. The décor is modern and spacious for a solo traveler. Ample closet space and shelving with a private balcony leading to your own sundeck with loungers was a bonus. There is a floor level window facing 10th avenue that added an interesting touch. The location is far from all the noise, yet close to all the action. The front office staff is phenomenal and they have employed new faces that embody the same level of warmth, attentiveness and efficiency as the previous. A new convenience store opened up across the street and the beach is a very short 3 blocks away. Free wifi in the lobby and some rooms within proximity. Checking in and out was a breeze. Thank you Mariano, Oscar, Karime’ and the wonderful staff that always make my stay worry free!! See you next year!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serrano930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Very cute clean little hotel, only 22 rooms total. The hotel is only one block from A5 where all the restaurants and shops are and only 2 blocks from beach. Very friendly accomodating staff, Oscar at the front desk was especially helpful. The hotel had a very nice open common area and pool area. The hotel was always very quiet. A bit quaint, not a new hotel but we really liked that quaint charm. We bought a package through Expedia including the hotel and airfare, the hotel cost was next to nothing. Wife thought the bed was a bit hard but perfect for me....The important test.....Yes, we would definitely stay there again!!!!!!!!! JU

Room Tip: It's only 3 stories, we were on first floor #101 and would stay in that room again
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwuleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

very helpful staff, 5 mins from the beach, stunning pool and lovely room. strongly recommend you stay here, we booked an extra couple of nights because it was so good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasage87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was our second time staying at Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya. The first time we only stayed one night before going on to our other hotel for a week. This is a very cool small boutique hotel in the heart of Playa on tenth avenue... only one block form famous fifth avenida and two blocks from the beach and mamitas beach club. My wife and I stayed in one of the "treehouse" rooms which had a steep outdoor staircase off of the pool. We could see tenth avenue and the pool from our room. The room was somewhat small but very modern but the bathroom and shower was huge in comparison! We loved the privateness of our room and would recommend this hotel to anyone. A great bargain for the money, they also have rooms right off the pool which are very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Tukan
Hotel El Tukan
#153 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#120 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#45 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#66 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#109 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya

Property: Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya
Address: Av. 10 Norte esq. Calle 30 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Caribe Maya Hotel
Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing