We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere, impeccably clean but beware of connecting rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya
Ranked #17 of 173 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere, impeccably clean but beware of connecting rooms”
Reviewed April 11, 2011

My husband and I were staying there for our honeymoon, and I did quite a look of research on the hotels in the area beforehand to make those 10 days special.
We were very pleased with the hotel _ rooms and the lobby are impeccably clean, stuff super-friendly even to such grumpy Russians as myself and my husband. There is also a nice cafe next to the reception if you don't want to walk 2 minutes to 5 Avenida.
The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the sea, which was fine for us.
The only negative experience we've had there was the Standard Deluxe room we've booked - we discovered that it was a connecting room when we checked in. It was separate from the master suite by a door which we thought would allow us to hear every word that people on the other end say. The DS room was also pretty small. So in the end we've decided to move to that master suite for 5 night, and it was as quiet as one could expect in town. Since it was booked for the following 4 nights, we moved to a standard room to the third floor, which didn't look as sleek as the master suite or the Standard Deluxe but was much spacier than the latter. We actually had a chance to look around rooms before we moved and I'd definitely advise against booking a room on the ground floor - most of them smell of damp, while the same rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor are totally fine.
So just avoid being put up into that Standard Deluxe with a connecting door, and you'll have the time of your life like we did!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NataliyaSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    154
    39
    19
    13
See reviews for
58
158
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We have stayed at the Riviera Caribe Maya on three separate occasions, always in the standard plus room. This year, February 5 - 20, 2011, was our fourth time at the hotel and the first time we stayed in the king suite. A previous poster described this suite as spacious and that is exactly what it is. The two bedrooms, the bathroom and the balcony are all a generous size. The large bathroom was a bonus as it became the ideal place for my husband and son to store their wet scuba diving gear. The photos on the hotel website are an accurate depiction of the rooms in this suite.

We are repeat customers to this hotel for many reasons:
Great staff; great location; clean; the best A/C - the kind that allows you to sleep through the night; good mini-fridge in the room; computer with internet access in the large lobby; choice of three restaurants for breakfast.
Mamita’s beach club - the hotel provided beach towels and discount coupons for half off the price for an umbrella and loungers - located on a beautiful stretch of beach about a 6 minute walk from the hotel. This is also where we would go to watch the most amazing sunrises; even the sunsets are beautiful with the last rays of the day colouring the clouds.

Across the street from the hotel is a public sport facility with tennis courts, basketball courts, a playing field and track; many people of all ages use the track for their morning walk or run. During our stay it was seldom noisy at night - even 10th Ave would slow down with minimal traffic noise.

The ever popular 5th Ave, with all it’s shops and restaurants is only one block away.
Next door to the hotel is a laundry service. The Oxxo (like a 7-11) is only two short blocks away on 10th Ave, serving coffee at 6AM for early risers. Ah Cacao (great coffee) and Starbucks are also close by. As is Vera Lucia’s on 1st Ave - try their famous brownies - delicious! For a quick meal there is Renzo’s Pizza a couple blocks south on 5th Ave.
This was primarily a scuba diving vacation and once again Mexico Blue Dream was the dive shop we went with; they provided excellent service - we highly recommend them.

If you are looking for a modestly priced hotel with a solid reputation for good service, clean, basic rooms, along with an ideal location, this is one to consider.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikitoro
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Great staff, impeccable service. Leila was very accomodating with our dates of stay. She allowed us to check in/out and also leave our luggage while we visited the city of Valladolid and return for a further stay here. Hotel is very clean and centraly located. Rooms include continental breakfast at 3 restaurants of their choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tikitoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

After several days searching and reading reviews we were convinced that we had finally found a quiet hotel in Playa: Wrong! This hotel is located on a small but busy boulevard (10th avenue). There are no loud bars or discotheques around but you could hear the traffic and see through the bushes the cars pass by. There is also a stadium right across the street, don’t expect to have a late afternoon nap when there is a soccer game going on. So let’s say that we definitely needed earplugs to sleep.

Another noise issue is that the restaurant connected to the hotel played music from 8 am until late at night and this even if the restaurant was closed! One night, around 1 o’clock, the music was still playing and no one was there and no lights where on. The music is not that loud but the problem is that even with earplugs we could hear the bass.

We’ve got to say that it is not an easy thing to find a quiet hotel in Playa del Carmen. Some hotels were surely a lot worst. So overall, for us, we were disappointed at first but with our earplugs it was fine.

Another thing you need to know is that some rooms are damp and have very smelly toilets. After our first night, the sewer smell in our room was so strong that we had planned to leave the hotel. The front desk convinced us to stay by proposing us to move in a different room. For the week we were there, this room didn’t have a smelling problem. Maybe this smelling issue is over: one night, they had the water closed to fix some pipes.

This said, the staff is very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are basic but clean. The hotel is a short walk from the beach (max 5 min.) and it is located one block from a great part of 5th avenue were you can find nice and trendy restaurants.

So overall, this hotel is a good value if you don’t mind the noise from the traffic and if you get a room with no smelling problems. Knowing what to expect, we wouldn’t mind returning but next time we go to Playa del Carmen we will try to find a quieter hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2011

So...so terrible. The rooms are disgusting. The furniture is has rips all over it. It's also insanely smell. It wasn't just my room. My buddy had one with the same issues.
They claim to have free internet but the wi-fi works just in the lobby..
I will never stay at the Riviera Caribe Maya again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott26655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Overall we had a really great experience there. The hotel is in a great spot!! Really quick walk to the beach, about 5 min. It's on the quieter end of town, which is nice if you want to be away from the chaos, but still close to some great restaurants. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The room itself was basic, but cute. Our air conditioning didn't work for several of the 7 nights we were there. They fixed it one day, then we had to move rooms for our last night because it broke again. The pillows are kind of lumpy, but tolerable. The pool is freezing! Nice when you want to cool off, but not good for a relaxing swim. The only other bad thing was the restaurant that was kind of connected to the hotel played music almost 24 hours a day. You couldn't hear the music, only the bass, and it was on from 8 am until 4 am!!! Bring earplugs!! We tried complaining about the noise, and it didn't really matter, the restaurant would just turn it up again after a few minutes. The Chichen Itza tour we booked thru the hotel was an amazing experience. We also did some diving with Diversity Diving which was excellent (this isn't the dive company used by the hotel). Also loved having the computer to use for free in the lobby, and free use of beach towels was excellent!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WIStravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We spent 4 nights here at the end of feb. with our 3yr old daughter. We had a king suite, 2 bedrooms, with a balcony. From check in (speedy, friendly) to our spacious, spotless, beautiful room, amazing bathroom with jacuzzi tub and wonderful soaps/shampoos, to the free wifi and computer to use, to the lovely small pool, to the super helpful and wonderful staff, everything was lovely. The location is also perfect being one block from 5th yet still quiet. Could not have asked for more, except maybe 8 nights??!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CelestialNymph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Tukan
Hotel El Tukan
#153 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#120 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#45 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#66 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#109 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya

Property: Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya
Address: Av. 10 Norte esq. Calle 30 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Caribe Maya Hotel
Hotel Riviera Caribe Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing