We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Hotel El Tukan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Tukan
Ranked #153 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

we stayed at el tukan for 2 weeks and I think it's a good budget hotel, the rooms are ok, clean and big.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Manager at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
dear guest,

thank you very much for your coments,

we hope to see you back soon at one of our tukan hotels,

sincerely,

manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    379
    342
    150
    201
See reviews for
288
534
68
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, SK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Arrived on Saturday and was shown our room - two double beds on the noisy side of the property. After reading these reviews we had requested a quiet room and a queen sized bed. We were told 'no problem' come to the front desk in the morning to get a different room. Went to the front desk in the morning and they said 'there are no more rooms, come back tomorrow and see if there is a better room"..Needless to say, this went on until Tuesday morning..each time the same answer..there are no rooms (even after we saw many many people check out). Service is absolutley lousy here. They will of course, upgrade to a 'premium room' if you pay $56 per night more - they suggested this each time..but would not accommodate moving us to a different 'standard' room. We eventually gave up asking and just had to live with sleeping in different beds (no snugs for us) We covered our heads with pillows each night as the band below our room was super loud and the walls super thin. It literally sounded like they were playing in our room!

The standard 'all inclusive' only includes the buffet restaurant and none of the a la carte restaurants which was disappointing. The meals were repetitive and mundane..reminded me of a cuban all inclusive I went to last year at Lil Tuxpan. There was always something to fill you up, but nothing special ever. They never served tacos which is what I was looking forward to. We went out to eat about half the time. (you definitely NEED to check out Los Amigos at the corner of 30th ave and 26th street - it's SOOOOO cheap and tastey with a great little local atmosphere - 10 tacos, 2 pops and starter chips and dips for 74 pesos!)

The rooms in this hotel were clean and bigger than I expected.....the beds were hard but sleepable. We always had hot water and satellite tv. We rented the security box in our room for $1 a day or so which was recommended.

On the bus back to the airport we ran into people who 'used to' stay at this hotel but said it has gone down hill since the managment changed. They now stay at a sister hotel 2 blocks away called Playa Riel and said it's the same price but the food is much better and they have outstanding service. That's where I will stay next time too.

The location is great - I would recommend staying in downtown playa del carmen rather than in the resort zone if you like to snoop around the area and people watch. As soon as you leave the hotel you are in the middle of fun shopping and lots of great little restaurants. We rented bikes and toured all over the city (rented bikes for $13 day at Carmen Sol on 30th avenue). It was a 10 minute walk to the beach but with the awesome weather..we didn't mind this jaunt at all. There were never enough lounge chairs on the beach and we often had to lie on the sand, but this didn't bother us too much.

The pool and jacuzzi tub were very cold and completely uninviting..we rarely saw anyone there..don't go there for the pool!

We had a great vacation in spite of some disappointments with this hotel. If you get a really good deal (say 1000 per week tax and flight in)..it would be okay to go here. We made the best of it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shay_003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, August 27, 2016
dear shay

We appreciate your time to write your experience in the hotel tukan, your comments and opinions that you share help us to improve and give good service to each of our guests.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we hope you'll come back once more and enjoy our services.

Tukan hotels + beach club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed at the Tucan in June/July of 2010. The location is fabulous - right on 5th Ave. We stayed in the main building close to the central courtyard. The hotel grounds were pretty - tree filled and shady. We never had a problem with noise. Our room was spotless everyday. The only issue we had with the room was that the water line into the toilet had a minor leak. This made the tile floors a bit slippery from time to time. I kept meaning to let the front desk know and I just forgot - my own fault, not the hotels! The bar was great - comfortable and not too expensive. Don't do the all inclusive option! We had breakfast at the two hotel restaurants and were not terribly impressed. With all of the wonderful dining options in Playa it is totally worth it to eat outside the hotel. The beach club was all right. It was really close to the bathrooms (huge plus in my book). The chairs were comfortable and we had no problem with overcrowding. They didn't serve food but the staff from Kool (next door) were attentive and prompt. The beach club was more of a walk than I would have liked. The staff were always helpful and friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tristemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Manager at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
dear guest,

thank you very much for your coment.

we hope to se you back soon at tukan hotels.

sincerely,

manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Central location of this hotel was the same time good thing but also it caused sleeping problems because the walls were very thinny and the very noisy music from the street came inside almost 24hrs/day. We need to use earplugs every night.

Also at first night we need to change our room because it was so smelly, I think it was smell of mold. The Stuff was very nice anf helpful and the concierge gave us new room from opposite from our old room ( not for free anyway) That new room was much more better and it wasn*t smelly. I*m pretty sure that the other hotel building have got a serious mold problem..

The yard-area is well cared for and the cleaness of the rooms were good.
It is two stars hotel but if you are interested at having good night sleeps and don*t want to listen every night music from the streets and the turning machines nice bellow in the mornings ( that awful noice came from site near by) i highly recommend you put some more money in the game and go to better and much quiet hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lende1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Manager at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
dear guest,

thank you very much for your coment.

we are very sorry about your sleeping experience.

we do not know where your room was located, but normaly we do not have any problem with noise at the hotel.

we hope that you come back soon at tukan hotels and we will make your stay an perfect one.

sincerely,

manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed for the New Year; and was an incredible experience. The location is perfect, just in the middle of everything, evrything is just close by.
The Beach club is in the best beach of Playa, and the staff very helplful.
The rooms are very clean and spacious, we stayed in a suite with two bedrooms; the matresses very comfortable.
Definitely we come back!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IRENE0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Manager at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, January 9, 2011
Daer Guest,

Thank you very much for your coments.

We hope to see you soon back at Tukan Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Just returned from 7 days stay in El Tukan. And unfortunately I cant recommend it.
The hotel looks nice and the staff is friendly and helpsome, but for the price paid, Its just not good enough.
Our majot problem was that there was no hot water in our room. Our trip to the reception to complain became a daily routine, sometimes it was ignored but at some point it was fixed, only to vanish again the next day. One day with hot water out of 7 is just not good enough.
On a more general note, they make you wear a plastic bracelet(?!!) while youre staying, which can be pretty annoying and cause scratches as it is sharp, and really, whats the point?!
They have a jacuzzi by the swimming pool which is with cold water(?!!) Dont know if its just for shows or if they completely misunderstood the concept.
There is no blowdryer with the room but you can borrow one for 2 hours (kind of annoying when the reception is on the other side of a large traffic heavy street), and finnally we had our laundry done, which I had to return to the reception 3 times to retrieve although it apparently was done after the first?
Probably not the worst place in playa but they need to get a grip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fengelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enano57, Manager at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your coments.
As you can remember we was offering you a free change to an superior room to repair the Hot Water problem.

Also we explain you during your stay, that the Brazalette is an ID for all our Hotel Guests.
Used for Guest Safety and for using all the Hotel Facilitys as Pool area, Beach club and Restaurants.

We are very sorry about you experience with use but we hope that you come back soon, to make the next stay an perfect one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2010

My stay at the hotel was incredible, I highly recommend it, is a cheerful and relaxed at the same time. people who work there are friendly and committed to their work. I lost a personal object in the lobby of the hotel and staff sent it to my house..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enano57, Manager at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for sending us this coments,

we hope to see you soon back at tukan hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Nina Hotel
Nina Hotel
#131 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#53 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
2,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#36 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#109 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#124 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tukan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tukan

Property: Hotel El Tukan
Address: 5a Avenida Norte, Entre 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Tukan 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel El Tukan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tukan Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Tukan Condotel Hotel
El Tukan Condotel Suites Beach Club
Hotel El Tukan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing