We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$48
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/21
Booking.com
$55
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/01/21
Traveluro
$30
View deal
Hotels.com$48
Agoda.com$55
travelup.com$56
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,773)
Filter reviews
1,773 results
Traveler rating
352
489
432
199
301
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
352
489
432
199
301
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,773 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Don’t check El Tukan Hotel!! In Playa del Carmen. Just thinking about it I get nauseated. Staff was friendly but... there is always a but. The entrance is covered on very slippery, uneven stones so don’t get surprised if you trip over as soon as you enter. The room we got at The Tukan hotel was beyond gross AAWWWHH! It smelled funky, like it hadn’t seen the light of day for ages. Stank really bad, someone at the front desk promised us to move us but it didn’t happen. NOISY!! Complete lack of privacy. Ok, let’s check out the pool In the morning. I was surprised there were no slippery frogs crawling out of it. Obviously there hasn’t been pool maintenance in a while. The best part of staying at El Tukan hotel was leaving this place.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank Funadventurestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tukan M, Gerente at Tukan Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2020

Hello, Funadventurestravel.

Sorry to hear that your experience was not pleasant.

I will raise a report to the corresponding area so that they can follow up and solve these problems.

Thank you very much for notifying us.

Atte: Marketing Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

DON'T BOOK THIS HOTEL!!! DON'T PAID FOR THIS HOTEL PRIOR!! Room 429 smelled like mold, the toilet did not flush, the shower water did not come out when opening facet, property is invested with fleas, Manager was a coward, because he knew English and pretend like he didn't understand, that I wanted my money back. Manager just walked off and acted like I was not talking to him. I booked 4 nights online and failed to read the reviews because I was tried of looking for a good price. If you want a clean charming, great price stay across the street at HM HOTEL PLAYA DEL CARMEN! Its only 80. per night.

Room tip: do not stay here!
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 210-849-9269
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tukan M, Gerente at Tukan Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2020

Good afternoon.

I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not as expected. I inform you that a report has already been made with your comment to the relevant department.

Thanks for letting us know.

Atte: Marketing Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2019

We drove there from Cancun airport, and we had the breakfast only package. That been said, the hotel is located meters from the Quinta Avenida boulevard, restaurants and shops, and 3 blocks from the beach.
They gave us 2 rooms on the first floor with nice AC, and direct balcony access to the swimming pool. Staff was great, always helpful, they alway provided a parking spot no matter what time we came back at night. The room service cleaned the room every day at your request, the breakfast, across the street on La Ceiba restaurant, was more than good! Great selection for a morning breakfast (7 to 10am), specially the mexican style breakfast with tasty meals like Chilaquiles, tamales, black beans, salad, veggie plates, etc., besides the traditional american sugar-based food.
Beach: If you go with the European or only breakfast package, the beach Kool club is not included, and you have to pay to use the club. But, you can walk to any close beach and put your towel wherever you want without any issue, like all mexicans do. All beaches are free.
Tips: You can ask for water bottles, or fill your own at the reception area. Great stay overall. Bring Off for the mosquitoes, do not leave your balcony door open. there is some noise coming from other parties on Friday and Saturday evening, since this is a busy area fo the downtown. There are 2 or 3 car rentals within one block distance; Scotiabank office and ATM one block away. Always pay in mexican pesos, is cheaper.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ErnieOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoTukan, Gerente at Tukan Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2019

Thank you for your opinion, Ernie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019

The hotel has an beautiful garden. Hotel room was clean but air conditioner didn't work so well so the room was quite hot. Room should be renovated because it was worn out. One night we heard chain saw, they were renovating two restaurants there nighttime. We selected this hotel at booking.com 26th of May and it would have been nice if they had mentioned there about these renovations. There were also pictures of those restaurants under the renovation at booking.com. Food was good at the restaurants La Ceiba and the Legends sport bar & grill were we visited. It would have been nice to have that small bar open at pool area. Now we had to get our drinks other side of the road from La Ceiba restaurant. Swimming pool was nice but most people don't use shower before going there so it gets dirty easily. Service at the hotel was good, especially we would like to thank Arturo very good and friendly service! When we arrived to the hotel we asked if they have an all inclusive baggage. They had it and they sold us one. We asked also if the beach services and beach bar are including to that price and it wasn't so we had to buy another baggage to the beach, so we had 3 days these to baggages on top of each other. Hotel is in the centre of the city, so the location is perfect.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tukan M, Gerente at Tukan Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Receive my warmest regards from Playa del Carmen.

Let me thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Tukan Hotels, it is an honor to know that we manage to meet your expectations at all times with the service provided by our entire team, as well as with our facilities.

I look forward to receiving you in the near future and once again making your vacation a unique memory at Tukan Hotels.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Nice and clean affordable price..incredible location..but you have to park your cat a little far...but not a big issue...great people ...friendly...lovely xats around the pool...very fresh and close of night action.....needs some pest control ...mosquitoes nightmare but is normal in the area....Thanks a lot to Arturo Robles...very charming...professional and outstanding class service...A very big asset for the hotel...

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kimmieduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tukan M, Gerente at Tukan Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Hi Gina, first of all I would like to thank you for sharing your good experience in our hotel. We like very much to know that you liked the atmosphere of our hotel, the vegetation and the natural environment, but above all, that you left the hotel happy with the service, attention and location of our hotel.

Once again we welcome your comment, we hope to have it back soon. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews