We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, horrible rooms”
Review of Hotel El Tukan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Tukan
Ranked #144 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, horrible rooms”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Its a perfect location... but.. We had a standard room, horrible bathroom, shower that needs to be renovated, tiles and fixtures are almost falling down, the shower curtain need to be longer as it is now you end up with a very wet floor. After 2 minutes the hot water turns cold. Cleening and towels is ready in the afternoon about 4.30, several times we had to look for the cleaning lady to get new towels ( they had already taken the old ones). Bed is hard like a rock, no blanket in the room only a thin bedcover. No phone. No fridge. Tv-remote is glued to the bedside table. Breakfast vas good for two days but then it changed?! Had toast for five days. Sunbeds at Kool beachclub is in a restricted area where you lay on top of eachother. We payed for our sunbeds instead... very good beachclub with a small pool. The people that work at el tukan are very friendly and do a good job and the location is perfect! So you need to think about whats important to you. Oh and bring earplugs the AC sounds like a tractor.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mashi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments, Tukan Hotel is our commitment to provide the best service for that reason we are verifying the details mentioned, in order to meet their needs and fulfill your expectations.

Hoping to receive it again in one of our hotels.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    375
    334
    145
    188
See reviews for
272
524
68
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We loved our room. It faced the courtyard, the view a lovely tropical abundance of exotic plants. Our room was very clean and fresh. The Ceiba restaurant was directly across the street where we often could sit outside to enjoy our meals. We found the staff very friendly,we were friendly and they were very hospitable.We selected inclusive for the Ceiba and the beach bar. We always walked to the beach which was only 10 minutes away from the hotel.The beach area for El Tukan is very small,cordoned off with rope but we always found chairs in the morning.
But people that came later on had to sit on the sand, without chairs and umbrellas. The location of the hotel is fabulous for being right on Fifth Avenue. Very busy and modern,great bars,restaurants, shopping or just taking in the sights. We found a great salsa bar for dancing and watching the locals dance,La Bodeguita del Media on Fifth ave. If you love Cuban music it's a great bar to visit. Watch out for very aggressive shop keepers and constantly being asked if you want a massage on the beach. The shopkeepers ask exorbitant prices for goods so it's good to know prices and not get lured in! And don't go for a time share seminar! We did and got a free ferry trip to and fro to Cozumel and the rental of an old moped with out of date helmets.If you can handle the duress of hard sell go by all means but we were pretty stressed out from their bombardment! We ended up just getting up and saying we were leaving because someone new would sit down with us and try the next "sell". So as not to leave this as a negative we had an enormous amount of fun visiting Playa del Carmen and Cozumel and highly recommend El Tukan.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments:

In Group Tukan we are dedicated to providing the highest quality and satisfaction to our customers by offering the best service possible.

Awaiting your early return to one of our hotels.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Stay at this hotel 2 weeks in mar. 2 days before we arrive, we ask for a room with a special location. When we arrive we got just what we want.
Breakfast is realy good and a lot of choises. The Only con, is lack of sunbeds around the pool, only 11 sunbeds at the pool. Jacussi is colder than the pool.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JetteBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments:

In Group Tukan we are dedicated to providing the highest quality and satisfaction to our customers by offering the best service possible.

Awaiting your early return to one of our hotels.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel is located at the best part of 5th ave! Right near a shopping mall. 2 blocks away from the best nightclubs and bars. It has a partnership with Kool beach club (5 blocks away), which is very convenient. It doesn't offer breakfast, but there's an all you can eat buffet right in front for only US$ 9,00 (breakfast) >> La Ceiba. Since there are meny trees, the pool is most of the day under shadow. The rooms are clean and spacious, but they can be a bit noisy at night (didin't affect my sleep though). There is no elevator to the upper rooms (1st floor). I had a nice stay >> would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carollauzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments:

In Group Tukan we are dedicated to providing the highest quality and satisfaction to our customers by offering the best service possible.
Awaiting your early return to one of our hotels.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I traveled with friends and my boyfriend, when we arrived we were told we had to pay extra for having 4 people in a 2 bedroom suite (although I already talked about it with their "reservations" desk by phone). I asked for no stairs room, because I'm recovering from a spinal procedure, why not give us a 3rd floor/no elevator room. The room didn't had even a phone to call the front desk and didn't had hot water during our entire stay (4 days), and a couple of days my friends had to went down because we didn't have even towels in the bathroom.
Staying here was the worst part of Playa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ErikaAzenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments,
We are very sorry your experience with us.
We can ensure that the foundation of our company is to give satisfaction and total quality to our customers.
Unfortunately we have no report of the details written on their part.
We hope your experience will be allowed to return back to the hotel to improve printing.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Stockholm
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed there with a friend during the BPM festival. The staff are friendly and helpful at all times, the wifi connection was great and available alms everywhere in the hotel. The rooms are clean but not luxurious at all, but they are ok. The all inclusive option go for Premium! Otherwise you will only have the option to eat in La Ceiba restaurant and you DO NOT want to end up eating there since it looks like a prison and the staff there is very rude, literally is like they were doing you the favour of feeding you and the food is not good at all. However Los Tulipanes which is a better option once you are on Premium is very very good in food options and quality of the food. The location of the place just couldn't be better, bars and restaurants and clubs and even the beach is less than 5 min walk. Everything you need is in walking distance. the beach area is a few blocks away tho and it is only a small area they call "Elite" elite= small and in the corner... So go early to the beach if you want a chair. The beach area is in KOOL beach bar. So they have music all day, if you are there with friends for a party Great! If you want to relax and read a book or with kids maybe not so good. Also at night it can be loud with all the people partying in the rooms and also there is a bar behind the hotel that has quite loud music until 2am.
Overall I would definitely stay there again. But only when going with friends, not with my boyfriend or would recommend it for a family.

Room Tip: Great location and wifi! But maybe not the best option for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kika82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments, Tukan Hotel is our commitment to provide the best service for that reason we are verifying the details mentioned, in order to meet their needs and fulfill your expectations.
Hoping to receive it again in one of our hotels.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Want something practical, comfortable and economic? Go there, it is more than just OK for the price.
The rooms are very humid and the AC noisy... but it's ok because when you're tired you sleep easily.
the cleaning ladies start early... it doesn't bother me but may be other persons won't like it

Room Tip: The premium package is worth it. A view on the pool and internet connexion. Great for relaxing excep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seif B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments, Tukan Hotel is our commitment to provide the best service for that reason we are verifying the details mentioned, in order to meet their needs and fulfill your expectations.

Hoping to receive it again in one of our hotels.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Nina Hotel
Nina Hotel
#135 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#122 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#37 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#65 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#96 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tukan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tukan

Property: Hotel El Tukan
Address: 5a Avenida Norte, Entre 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Tukan 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel El Tukan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tukan Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Tukan Condotel Hotel
El Tukan Condotel Suites Beach Club
Hotel El Tukan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing