We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, and I live with a professional Chef!”
Review of El Bistro en la 5ta - CLOSED

El Bistro en la 5ta
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Milwaukee
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Amazing, and I live with a professional Chef!”
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Our last night staying at a boutique hotel in downtown playa, we decided to do apps all over town for dinner. I had seen El Bistro Bites (5th Ave.) when walking around and remembered how nice it looked. We were seated immediately at a table facing the street, the best people watching... For playa, El Bistro Bites has a great wine selection! Our waiter, Nikolai (sorry if I misspelled?) was a perfect host. He recommended a subtle and crisp white blend wine, which showed up at our table perfectly chilled. We ordered the pick 5 plate, which we got to pick the 5, Calamari, Chicken Satay, Mini Beef Burger, Grilled Pear and Tuna. AMAZING!! The food quality of each was perfect, spices and temperatures were right on. The Grilled Pear was honestly one of the best things I have ever eaten in my life... The Chef agreed that back in the states this would cost us a small fortune. Go! Eat! Drink! Worth every peso!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee99Milwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“outstanding all around”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We spent the week around Easter 2011 in Playa and were lucky to try this Bistro. Seating is on the caille as well as inside so people watching is spectacular. The quality of the Mojitos and Caipirinhas is top notch and the service provided by Nicola and Martina was nothing short of pleasurable. Charming, helpful and knowledgeable both. The food is mediterranean and app's are served in amuse bouche portions. Everything we had was impeccable (we spent several nights either cocktailing and/or eating there) and the happy hour flips it over the top. Highly recommendable.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Opin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Romantic little tapas bistro ...great prices”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

A huge tapas menu to choose from with some great selections. A good wine list and a cozy atmosphere with great service make for a great dinner out. If you like to try a bite of everything to get a taste of it, make sure you get to El Bistro and have some "Bites"

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babs35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill NY
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great place. every bite is perfect!”
Reviewed April 5, 2011

we stopped here because of the happy hour advertised - 2x1 from 6pm-8pm.
we had no intention of eating here but after sitting for awhile we decided to get
a few things to nibble on.
Every single bite was perfect! with all the choices on 5th ave in Playa this
was one of our favorites. Nice friendly servers and the music was not over powering.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shedoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bites”
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stopped at Bites on 5th for a happy hour drink. Our drinks were great, our server charming and the atmosphere pleasant so we order their "five bite" special. All the nibbles were delicious - perfectly prepared and presented. We'll definitely return and next time have a full meal.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RiverRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bistro en la 5ta also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing