We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Allegro Playacar
Nearby Hotels
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$227
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$331
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$753
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$438
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,889)
Filter reviews
5,889 results
Traveler rating
2,196
2,063
905
398
327
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,196
2,063
905
398
327
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst clubrooms are smallthatched rooftime sharepool baritalian restaurantentertainment staffsmall resortdifferent theme every nightlunch buffetactivity poolguest servicesgreat beachother resortsgated communityceiling fanmexican night
Filter
Updating list...
1,429 - 1,434 of 5,889 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

So first of all we got totally stuffed around with flights etc we ended up missing a nights stay here which we prepaid for and had to fly during the night.

When we got to the hotel they seemed friendly got our bags for us and were friendly at check in. We told them the issues we had but we still had to wait for them to get a room ready for us. As we were waiting we sat down with this man who ran through everything in the resort which we thought was nice. They tried to sell us tours etc but as we had been flying all night we only had three nights left we just wanted to relax and drink haha. Then he offered us a free invitation to a breakfast at their 5 star resort which you will get a tshirt and a bottle of tequila. He said that its all free but you have to show your credit card but cover the number just have the symbol showing. We thought thats a bit strange but for some reason we didnt pick up on what it was maybe it was all the flying. We got the invitation and proceeded to our room. I was reading the fine print of the invite and it said 90 minite presentation need credit card and to be a certain age which i wasnt. I went back to the 'sales' desk and explained that after missing a night we just wanted to relax and didnt want to sit through a 90 min timeshare presentation. He got really pushy and said its fine just go and i said we arent even old enough as i am 24 and i think the minimum age is 28 and he just said dont worry about it its fine. I continued to say that i am not interested and that is when his work mate jumped trying to push me to go so i just said jo and walked off. It made it awkward after that as he wouldnt aknowledge us after that.

The room was ok, what you would expect in a mexican resort. The bed was like a rock though. The food was terrible, we are both vegetarians which always makes it slightly harder but the quality was one of the worst i have had. Obviously the mexican we have here in Australia and America is probably westernised but we were disapointed with the selection all of the bean mixes had beef in it, they didnt even have proper nachos just stale corn chips with pump bottle cheese and some runny guacomole that had fish in it from people dropping it in accidently. The burger bar didnt have any veg options but had fries and i told the lady we were vegetarian but she continued to give me the smallest amount of fries even smaller than people with burgers. The veg pizza was probably the best food we had.

We went to the mexican restaurant, they were accomodating as we said we are vegetarian and they customised the meal for us. The drinks were ok not the best quality but they are free so i stocked up in margeritas.

They have another club that rents our part of the resort for europeans to come on holidays. They have activites and music a the pool which was good.

At check out they didnt seem to really care, wasnt friendly, didnt ask us how our stay was nor offer any help with bags etc. Seems as though they are really nice at the start when they could sell their timeshare to you then after they dont care.

All in all, i would definitely recommend spending more money and staying somewhere nicer and try to avoid the vacation club (timeshare). We wont be going back to this resort nor any others that Occidental own and urge you to do the same.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... G, Manager at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2015

Nathan S

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your feedback as it means an opportunity for us to improve our services and achieve our main goal, which is the customer satisfaction.

We apologize if the Vacation Club invitation wasn’t conducted in a proper manner. It’s important to mention that under no circumstances it is of obligatory character, so our guests can choose if they want to assist or not. We are sorry to know this distracted you from enjoying your vacation.

We appreciate your valuable opinion regarding our restaurants. We are highly commited to offer a great variety for our clients, therefore we have a different theme night for dinner and our breakfast/lunch is changed constantly to offer new options. We will gladly share your suggestions with our Chef so we can guarantee our improvement.

We really hope to have the pleasure to be the host of your vacation again; please don’t hesitate to contact us through this media for any assistance you may need, we’ll be glad to help you!

Christian Cuevas
Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We just got back yesterday and stayed for 8 days/7 nights. Check in was fast and easy and they were very welcoming. Our room was nice and had an exceptional view(best anywhere) as we were pretty much right on the beach. The room was a little hot at times as we were on the second floor and had a thatched roof. It could use some updating but we don't spend much time in the room anyways.
The beach was amazing and never had a problem finding shade. The buffet was very good with a good selection of food. The pool bar/snack bar was also very good with great hamburgers. The Mexican a la cart was very good but the Italian was better. We had the romantic lobster dinner on the beach with champagne which was excellent. We never had a problem being ignored like some reviewers had reported but we do tip.
We did go to the vacation club sales pitch but the marketing manager Jose Luis made it worth our while. He was very nice.
All in all it was a great trip and would have no problem going back in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank supertzar666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... G, Manager at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2015

supertzar666

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. For us, its extremely important to achieve customer satisfaction, and therefore, your opinion is an opportunity for us to discover new ways to improve.

We really hope to have the pleasure to be the host of your vacation again; please don’t hesitate to contact us through this media for any assistance you may need, we’ll be glad to help you!

Christian Cuevas
Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from 9 days here and the hotel was very average.
Good bits - nice hotel grounds, nice pools - quiet and entertainment pool. The most beautiful beach I have ever seen! Plenty of sunbeds, lively daytime entertainment, lunch by the pool, wide selection of branded drinks and cocktails, sports bar during the World Cup with snacks, pool table, air con and big screen. Mexican restaurant had lovely food, romantic beach dinner had amazing food but had to pay extra, food service staff were very friendly and helpful especially the waiter for the beach dinner. Onsite photographer gave us beautiful pictures for good prices. Clean rooms and grounds.

Bad - welcome staff (hosting and reception - reception I found quite rude) weren't really helpful. They didn't help us find our room which was very hard in the dark! Misinformed us (2 different staff members) that you could book the themed restaurants on the day when you had to book 2 days in advance. On arrival they offered us a free breakfast in a partner hotel as a treat and look around the hotel, Later found out it was a 2 hour sales pitch which they 'forgot' to mention. If we wanted late check out, we had to pay $40 for 2 hours.
The rooms were small and ours was very dark, the stairs to our room were broken. The beds were very hard.
The food in the main restaurant (dinner buffet) was always cold and the restaurant is quite dark and not the nicest. Different food every night, we always dreaded going there for dinner, often filled up on pizza before the pizza bar closed at 6 so we wouldn't be hungry later.
Night time entertainment wasn't the best, some nights were ok but most nights were dancing or not the best quality entertainment. Wifi is extra money and quite expensive.

We went to coco bongo which was amazing and great value for money, highly recommend and buy it by the pool - cheaper and transport included! We also went to Isla Mujeres on an all day boat trip - the boat was great and the sea was beautiful but the island was selling the normal local souvenirs, nothing special. Lunch and the beach were nice but the snorkelling wasn't too good either.

Overall playacar is beautiful and I would go back but definitely not to this hotel and I would not recommend it.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TinaB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Dear
We would like to thank you for choosing the Allegro Playacar as the host of your recent vacation
One of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction, and for that reason your opinion is very important for us!
We really hope you can give us the opportunity to host your stay once again; we will make sure you have a pleasant stay and a memorable experience. Should you require any assistance, please know that we are always available for you.

Thank You
Sincerely

Ivan Pierri
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great food, nice pool, good access to beach, helpful front desk, nice room. Main negative point was the constant hassle of the strategically placed on site tour touts just outside the entrance of the food/ reception area so you couldn't avoid them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Tony P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Dear
We would like to thank you for choosing the Allegro Playacar as the host of your recent vacation
One of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction, and for that reason your opinion is very important for us!
We really hope you can give us the opportunity to host your stay once again; we will make sure you have a pleasant stay and a memorable experience. Should you require any assistance, please know that we are always available for you.

Thank You
Sincerely

Ivan Pierri
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Got back a week ago from 2 weeks at the Allegro Playacar, before travelling was a bit concerned at some of the reviews.

We had the best holiday and I would return to this hotel in a flash, in fact we are looking at going back again in October.

From the minute you enter the hotel the staff cannot do enough for you they always have a smile for you and really are eager to make sure you are happy.

The rooms a basic and yes the beds are firm but i always slept well, the airconditioning isnt the best but to be honest it cooled our room enough whereby in other hotels ive founf i have to turn the aircon off as it gets too cold.

Housekeeping is great here and the rooms are spotless every day and to get the water,beers and some soft drinks in your room fridge is a great little touch that you wouldnt expect from this standard of hotel.

Where this hotel really is outstanding is staff, they are fantastic and only have praise for everyone that we came into contact with. The bar staff are exceptional special mention to Angel and Ivan ...these guys make you feel to welcome and chat away..putting up with my broken spanish...and always making sure our glasses were full and even the occasional 'surprise' but lethal shot.

It wouldnt be fair to write a review about Allegro Playacar and not give a extra special mention to the entertainment staff...these guys work 13 hours shifts and are alwasy the life and soul of every day round the poo,l in the restaurant and at the evening shows...so a BIG thank you to them....Phillipe,Jesus,Ruben,Ever and Aida...these guys have got to be the best entertainment team in the whole of Mexico.

I never had a problem with any of the food as there was so much to choose from at the buffet we didnt go to the italian or mexican at all. Loved the daytime burgers and pizzas too delicious.

The drinks are excellent too all top shelf brands available at no extra charge and the cocktails were amazing....

We didnt have VIP bands and we couldnt fault the all inclusive...wifi was a bit pricey at $50 per week (free wifif would be a bonus).
This hotel also has a lot of Italian visitors from Eden Viaggi and this is know as their Eden Village..and if im being honest this didnt really bother us as there were more non italians for the most part anyway.

One point i think the hotel management need to be made aware of is the Italian entertainments team...yes they are there primarily for the italian guesst...i get that...but when youre staff...you are staff..regardless of who employs you.....the italian entertainers wouldnt as much as give you a nod..nevermind a hello...this looks really bad. Having said that by the end of the 2 weeks they were saying hello to us as we made a point of making sure i said hello to them at every opportunity ....i think they got the message eventually.

All in all this hotel is a great place, with amazing staff, decent food and drinks on the most amazing beach with a great resort on your doorstep....why would anyone stay in Cancun when you can stay in Playa del Carmen.

thanks you for a great holiday Allegro Playacar hopefully see you in October.

Andrew & Kevin
( ps we're not a couple lol)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AncUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Dear
We would like to thank you for choosing the Allegro Playacar as the host of your recent vacation
One of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction, and for that reason your opinion is very important for us!
We really hope you can give us the opportunity to host your stay once again; we will make sure you have a pleasant stay and a memorable experience. Should you require any assistance, please know that we are always available for you.

Thank You
Sincerely

Ivan Pierri
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews