We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here especially if you are vegetarian”
Review of Allegro Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Allegro Playacar
Ranked #89 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do not stay here especially if you are vegetarian”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

So first of all we got totally stuffed around with flights etc we ended up missing a nights stay here which we prepaid for and had to fly during the night.

When we got to the hotel they seemed friendly got our bags for us and were friendly at check in. We told them the issues we had but we still had to wait for them to get a room ready for us. As we were waiting we sat down with this man who ran through everything in the resort which we thought was nice. They tried to sell us tours etc but as we had been flying all night we only had three nights left we just wanted to relax and drink haha. Then he offered us a free invitation to a breakfast at their 5 star resort which you will get a tshirt and a bottle of tequila. He said that its all free but you have to show your credit card but cover the number just have the symbol showing. We thought thats a bit strange but for some reason we didnt pick up on what it was maybe it was all the flying. We got the invitation and proceeded to our room. I was reading the fine print of the invite and it said 90 minite presentation need credit card and to be a certain age which i wasnt. I went back to the 'sales' desk and explained that after missing a night we just wanted to relax and didnt want to sit through a 90 min timeshare presentation. He got really pushy and said its fine just go and i said we arent even old enough as i am 24 and i think the minimum age is 28 and he just said dont worry about it its fine. I continued to say that i am not interested and that is when his work mate jumped trying to push me to go so i just said jo and walked off. It made it awkward after that as he wouldnt aknowledge us after that.

The room was ok, what you would expect in a mexican resort. The bed was like a rock though. The food was terrible, we are both vegetarians which always makes it slightly harder but the quality was one of the worst i have had. Obviously the mexican we have here in Australia and America is probably westernised but we were disapointed with the selection all of the bean mixes had beef in it, they didnt even have proper nachos just stale corn chips with pump bottle cheese and some runny guacomole that had fish in it from people dropping it in accidently. The burger bar didnt have any veg options but had fries and i told the lady we were vegetarian but she continued to give me the smallest amount of fries even smaller than people with burgers. The veg pizza was probably the best food we had.

We went to the mexican restaurant, they were accomodating as we said we are vegetarian and they customised the meal for us. The drinks were ok not the best quality but they are free so i stocked up in margeritas.

They have another club that rents our part of the resort for europeans to come on holidays. They have activites and music a the pool which was good.

At check out they didnt seem to really care, wasnt friendly, didnt ask us how our stay was nor offer any help with bags etc. Seems as though they are really nice at the start when they could sell their timeshare to you then after they dont care.

All in all, i would definitely recommend spending more money and staying somewhere nicer and try to avoid the vacation club (timeshare). We wont be going back to this resort nor any others that Occidental own and urge you to do the same.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... G, Manager at Allegro Playacar, responded to this review, September 27, 2015
Nathan S

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your feedback as it means an opportunity for us to improve our services and achieve our main goal, which is the customer satisfaction.

We apologize if the Vacation Club invitation wasn’t conducted in a proper manner. It’s important to mention that under no circumstances it is of obligatory character, so our guests can choose if they want to assist or not. We are sorry to know this distracted you from enjoying your vacation.

We appreciate your valuable opinion regarding our restaurants. We are highly commited to offer a great variety for our clients, therefore we have a different theme night for dinner and our breakfast/lunch is changed constantly to offer new options. We will gladly share your suggestions with our Chef so we can guarantee our improvement.

We really hope to have the pleasure to be the host of your vacation again; please don’t hesitate to contact us through this media for any assistance you may need, we’ll be glad to help you!

Christian Cuevas
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    1,760
    793
    366
    307
See reviews for
1,245
1,866
158
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunnville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We just got back yesterday and stayed for 8 days/7 nights. Check in was fast and easy and they were very welcoming. Our room was nice and had an exceptional view(best anywhere) as we were pretty much right on the beach. The room was a little hot at times as we were on the second floor and had a thatched roof. It could use some updating but we don't spend much time in the room anyways.
The beach was amazing and never had a problem finding shade. The buffet was very good with a good selection of food. The pool bar/snack bar was also very good with great hamburgers. The Mexican a la cart was very good but the Italian was better. We had the romantic lobster dinner on the beach with champagne which was excellent. We never had a problem being ignored like some reviewers had reported but we do tip.
We did go to the vacation club sales pitch but the marketing manager Jose Luis made it worth our while. He was very nice.
All in all it was a great trip and would have no problem going back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank supertzar666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... G, Manager at Allegro Playacar, responded to this review, September 27, 2015
supertzar666

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. For us, its extremely important to achieve customer satisfaction, and therefore, your opinion is an opportunity for us to discover new ways to improve.

We really hope to have the pleasure to be the host of your vacation again; please don’t hesitate to contact us through this media for any assistance you may need, we’ll be glad to help you!

Christian Cuevas
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from 9 days here and the hotel was very average.
Good bits - nice hotel grounds, nice pools - quiet and entertainment pool. The most beautiful beach I have ever seen! Plenty of sunbeds, lively daytime entertainment, lunch by the pool, wide selection of branded drinks and cocktails, sports bar during the World Cup with snacks, pool table, air con and big screen. Mexican restaurant had lovely food, romantic beach dinner had amazing food but had to pay extra, food service staff were very friendly and helpful especially the waiter for the beach dinner. Onsite photographer gave us beautiful pictures for good prices. Clean rooms and grounds.

Bad - welcome staff (hosting and reception - reception I found quite rude) weren't really helpful. They didn't help us find our room which was very hard in the dark! Misinformed us (2 different staff members) that you could book the themed restaurants on the day when you had to book 2 days in advance. On arrival they offered us a free breakfast in a partner hotel as a treat and look around the hotel, Later found out it was a 2 hour sales pitch which they 'forgot' to mention. If we wanted late check out, we had to pay $40 for 2 hours.
The rooms were small and ours was very dark, the stairs to our room were broken. The beds were very hard.
The food in the main restaurant (dinner buffet) was always cold and the restaurant is quite dark and not the nicest. Different food every night, we always dreaded going there for dinner, often filled up on pizza before the pizza bar closed at 6 so we wouldn't be hungry later.
Night time entertainment wasn't the best, some nights were ok but most nights were dancing or not the best quality entertainment. Wifi is extra money and quite expensive.

We went to coco bongo which was amazing and great value for money, highly recommend and buy it by the pool - cheaper and transport included! We also went to Isla Mujeres on an all day boat trip - the boat was great and the sea was beautiful but the island was selling the normal local souvenirs, nothing special. Lunch and the beach were nice but the snorkelling wasn't too good either.

Overall playacar is beautiful and I would go back but definitely not to this hotel and I would not recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Allegro Playacar, responded to this review, February 22, 2016
Dear
We would like to thank you for choosing the Allegro Playacar as the host of your recent vacation
One of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction, and for that reason your opinion is very important for us!
We really hope you can give us the opportunity to host your stay once again; we will make sure you have a pleasant stay and a memorable experience. Should you require any assistance, please know that we are always available for you.

Thank You
Sincerely

Ivan Pierri
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great food, nice pool, good access to beach, helpful front desk, nice room. Main negative point was the constant hassle of the strategically placed on site tour touts just outside the entrance of the food/ reception area so you couldn't avoid them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Allegro Playacar, responded to this review, February 22, 2016
Dear
We would like to thank you for choosing the Allegro Playacar as the host of your recent vacation
One of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction, and for that reason your opinion is very important for us!
We really hope you can give us the opportunity to host your stay once again; we will make sure you have a pleasant stay and a memorable experience. Should you require any assistance, please know that we are always available for you.

Thank You
Sincerely

Ivan Pierri
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Got back a week ago from 2 weeks at the Allegro Playacar, before travelling was a bit concerned at some of the reviews.

We had the best holiday and I would return to this hotel in a flash, in fact we are looking at going back again in October.

From the minute you enter the hotel the staff cannot do enough for you they always have a smile for you and really are eager to make sure you are happy.

The rooms a basic and yes the beds are firm but i always slept well, the airconditioning isnt the best but to be honest it cooled our room enough whereby in other hotels ive founf i have to turn the aircon off as it gets too cold.

Housekeeping is great here and the rooms are spotless every day and to get the water,beers and some soft drinks in your room fridge is a great little touch that you wouldnt expect from this standard of hotel.

Where this hotel really is outstanding is staff, they are fantastic and only have praise for everyone that we came into contact with. The bar staff are exceptional special mention to Angel and Ivan ...these guys make you feel to welcome and chat away..putting up with my broken spanish...and always making sure our glasses were full and even the occasional 'surprise' but lethal shot.

It wouldnt be fair to write a review about Allegro Playacar and not give a extra special mention to the entertainment staff...these guys work 13 hours shifts and are alwasy the life and soul of every day round the poo,l in the restaurant and at the evening shows...so a BIG thank you to them....Phillipe,Jesus,Ruben,Ever and Aida...these guys have got to be the best entertainment team in the whole of Mexico.

I never had a problem with any of the food as there was so much to choose from at the buffet we didnt go to the italian or mexican at all. Loved the daytime burgers and pizzas too delicious.

The drinks are excellent too all top shelf brands available at no extra charge and the cocktails were amazing....

We didnt have VIP bands and we couldnt fault the all inclusive...wifi was a bit pricey at $50 per week (free wifif would be a bonus).
This hotel also has a lot of Italian visitors from Eden Viaggi and this is know as their Eden Village..and if im being honest this didnt really bother us as there were more non italians for the most part anyway.

One point i think the hotel management need to be made aware of is the Italian entertainments team...yes they are there primarily for the italian guesst...i get that...but when youre staff...you are staff..regardless of who employs you.....the italian entertainers wouldnt as much as give you a nod..nevermind a hello...this looks really bad. Having said that by the end of the 2 weeks they were saying hello to us as we made a point of making sure i said hello to them at every opportunity ....i think they got the message eventually.

All in all this hotel is a great place, with amazing staff, decent food and drinks on the most amazing beach with a great resort on your doorstep....why would anyone stay in Cancun when you can stay in Playa del Carmen.

thanks you for a great holiday Allegro Playacar hopefully see you in October.

Andrew & Kevin
( ps we're not a couple lol)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AncUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Allegro Playacar, responded to this review, February 22, 2016
Dear
We would like to thank you for choosing the Allegro Playacar as the host of your recent vacation
One of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction, and for that reason your opinion is very important for us!
We really hope you can give us the opportunity to host your stay once again; we will make sure you have a pleasant stay and a memorable experience. Should you require any assistance, please know that we are always available for you.

Thank You
Sincerely

Ivan Pierri
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Well, me and my boyfriend have just come back from 2 week stay at allegro playacar.

Check in: after a very stressfull flight as been delayed for 2hours making our travelling time VeRY long traveling from london gatwick we were checked in privatley in the first club occidental members lounge ( we have part shares in occidental resorts) so that made us vip members and was welcomed with champagne and nibbles which was much needed.

Room:
we had a fabulous beach view suite 4512 also close to the members lounge our balcony and hammock looked over the beach which was stunning. we had a kingsize bed, enough storage for my tuns of clothes and my partners ,clean bathroom&the aircon worked perfect. our room was always kept clean and tidy and our fridge was replemished every other day. the only downside was u could hear the loud pumping music from the pool at times and also from the neighbouring resort til late hours but it didnt really bother us to much.

Food:
the buffet breakfast is the same every day; except for some of the pastries, the yoghurt an fruit, so sometimes we didnt go for breakfast as it got a bit boring. but the omlettes are lovley and so is the smoothie making lady! delicious!
the evening buffet resturant had a different theme every night; oriental, carribien, international, texmex ect it was nice food if ur fussy like me it can be difficult tho!! alot of fish! i can say the mash potatoe is amazing! but for 2 week stay again the same choices became boring and we knew what was going to be there so twice a week we went into the town. the lunch buffet was alright,mainly the same
most days pasta station, breads,
pork and fish rice mash and tacos hotdogs. there is a burger bar i dont no what the ham burgers are like but the chicken burgers i wouldnt recommend it was cold in the middle and did not taste like chicken. this worried me slightly so i didnt eat it.
the panini bar says it offeres chicken,turke, beef ..... and every day for the 2 weeeks it didnt, it had cold ham and gerkins and salads. so didnt eat from there. the pizza there my boyfriend ate and was good he said.
The resturants:
The mexican :was OK we only went once we didnt really get a "resturant" feel its right next to the bar by the pool so when drunk people are there its not xactly wot u want, the menu isnt amazing either and some parts of our meal was cold.

The italian: well this resturant is lovley, the feel of it and the layout was defo a'la carte. the menu was delicious and u also have appetisers to help urself too. the waiters in this resturant were lovley and make the evening for sure, not rushing u through ur courses, the redwine was lovley too, waiters bringing us baileys after dessert, lovley atmosphere to dine in and also some what romantic, really nice and defo recommend booking it.
The bars;
the amber bar we only went to once it seemed to of closed bfor 10pm wen we went. but alot of the smokers drink there and we dont smoke. the pool bar was ok i guess some of the drinks were ok sometimes they wernt. the disco/sports bar was fine the barman there makes very good pinacoladas. they have 2 screens which were screening world cup games and a pool table. it was okay for a couple of drinks but the atmosphere is a little odd and i think the decor could do with updating.
entertainment we didnt really watch. we tend to dine late so a few drinks and back to our room but from what we seen for our taste is quite cheesey karoke, impercinations. and children entertainment.

The members lounge bar: fabulous. the barmen very chatty to you greet u with a smile! willing to make you anything youd like. always fresh and fizzy drinks. where as other bars i think thats the downfall of flat drinks.

The resort grounds; are stunning always kept clean and tidy and well kept, some cute little animals wondering around and lizards and birds singing in the morning was always nice! a tennis court, basketball and chess game!

beach/pool/sunloungers

we didnt sit by the pool it was always manic and very loud music and just not very relaxing, also we was next to the beachfront so we always were on the beach, we always sat in the members area and had sunbeds sometimes we were the only ones there! but the other part of the beach always had sunbeds!
the beach is stunning. the ocean clear blue and warm! was beautiful.
wasnt hassled hardly by any of the people trying to sell things or the excursion people. once u said no theyd leave u alone.
only downfall was the waiter wud come over once al day.

The town:
is beautiful, 5th avenue. an also the little
plaza down the street from our resort. the town is like 30mins if u walk it on the beach.... but if u walk the road way its 20mins. we found its better to go in evenings alot cooler& we always walked
never got a taxi theres some lovley villas and ruins to admire on the walk!
we went to several resturants in town, al varied in price! but the food was always lovley and the drinks!
the only thing that made me anxious was the men trying to sell you drugs or pull u into their shop whilst walking the street but once u said no and kept walking it was pleasant.
we enjoyed crepes from a little crepe and waffle bar!!!

Excursions: we arranged through the hotel but on passing through town we seen they was cheaper; alot cheaper so maybe wise
to look around first.
we went to xcaret and xel-ha both these excursions were all inclusive and funfilled well worth doing.

Overall we had an amazing holiday. its a small resort but most of the staff are lovley and helpful and truley want to make ur holiday what u want it. the grounds r stunning and the actual place playacar is amazing. we wanted a relaxing holiday and its what we got. the weather was beautiful everyday. it rained once in the evening in the whole 2 weeks which lasted like 5mins.
sometimes we found the americans very loud during our dining that we knew alot about all of them by the end of the night haha!
but overall we would go back.our check out was hassle free we could stay and use the resort facilities til the time we was
picked up. the wifi was free for members also in the members lounge.

we had a lovley stay at allegro no majors to moan
about just my niggles!




Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Allegro Playacar, responded to this review, February 22, 2016
Dear
We would like to thank you for choosing the Allegro Playacar as the host of your recent vacation
One of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction, and for that reason your opinion is very important for us!
We really hope you can give us the opportunity to host your stay once again; we will make sure you have a pleasant stay and a memorable experience. Should you require any assistance, please know that we are always available for you.

Thank You
Sincerely

Ivan Pierri
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is not a five star hotel because it is not all that fancy . But let me tell you the people here are wonderful rooms are fine we had no problem this is a very family ortinated resort . i will stay here again thank you Allegro for everything

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank isabel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Allegro Playacar, responded to this review, February 22, 2016
Dear
We would like to thank you for choosing the Allegro Playacar as the host of your recent vacation
One of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction, and for that reason your opinion is very important for us!
We really hope you can give us the opportunity to host your stay once again; we will make sure you have a pleasant stay and a memorable experience. Should you require any assistance, please know that we are always available for you.

Thank You
Sincerely

Ivan Pierri
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.6 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
22.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,455 reviews
13.0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Playacar

Property: Allegro Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 7 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Allegro Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Allegro Playacar Occidental
Playacar Resort
Occidental Playacar
Playa Del Carmen Allegro
Allegro Playa Del Carmen
Allegro Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing