We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not recommend to anyone”
Review of Allegro Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Allegro Playacar
Ranked #87 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would not recommend to anyone”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Oh, where do I start.........get to resort 8 pm after an 8 hr delay at the airport – told there were not enough rooms (we had a group of 12 people) – they gave them away as we were not there when we were supposed to (because we can control the airplane)
- no rooms together (as were requested months earlier)
- after being told no rooms left – complained enough – changed some of us to other rooms (obviously there were other rooms availalbe)
- most people had a room for one night then had to change rooms the next day – some of us more than once through the week
- staff not accommodating at all – not nice
- food was not good
- toilet did not flush - rm 1604
- shower head does not stay up – had to tie a plastic bag under it so it would stay up - rm 1604
- no air conditioning in at least half of our rooms
- called several times to have it fixed – sometimes someone came – other times no one ever came – when they did come – said they would be back – never came back
- rm 2103 finally got the air fixed the day before we left – had our whole ceiling ripped open in bathroom area – had to move all our stuff out so they could fix it – could not go to bed because they were still fixing it at 11 pm
- asked to change to another resort (Occidental) – told not unless we want to pay $400-$4000 pp – but read a review – a couple had complaints and they were changed to another Occidental at no cost
- tv was fuzzy – barely see picture/almost all channels were in Spanish
- not even close to enough chairs at the pools
- even when you go down early to put towels down 7 am – they were all gone
- music at the pool was horrible
- necklace was stolen from our room – spent whole week investigating - told the cleaning staff probably stole it
- had to pay for the safe in our room
- two couples had to share someones timeshare because there were not enough rooms (even though we booked this months in advance) the doors between the rooms did not lock and there were strangers on the other side
- they slept on cots that were pushed together
- mold and smell of mildew – all rooms
- mirrors in bathrooms were all rusted – could barely see in them
- 2 couples stayed in rooms that had absolutely disgusting bathrooms – moldy
- most beds hard as a rock – not sleepable
- half of the entertainment was in Italian – they definitely cater to the Italians
- room number 1612 had a leaky toilet and when someone came to fix it they said it was the drain so he cleaned that instead of fixing the toilet and when we got back to the room it smelt like sewage, the toilet kept leaking and the room stunk.

Lost a whole day at the airport – finally get to resort at 8 pm – just want to relax – eat and get a drink – then told most of us didn’t even have rooms – spent a lot of time complaining – finally got to eat (food that was not even good) and have a drink at 9:30 ish – then spent most of our next day moving rooms and getting organized and complaining about those rooms - so we lost another almost full day there – spent most of the rest of the day and part of the next day trying to get through to travel agent – speak to our Nolitours rep, staff etc to fix problems – nothing done at all – then had to be in the lobby at 6:15 am on Friday morning to catch shuttle to airport for plane that left at 10 so also lost a day there.
So, for a 4 day vacation, we tried to make the best of it.
This is far from a 4 star resort!!
We will never go back and do not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MelanieA424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,453
    1,678
    763
    353
    300
See reviews for
1,164
1,765
142
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
longueuil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The site, including thebeach was good.
The service and rooms
Were below average.
The roof leaked,no lounge bar,soom of the staff were hustling
Us about time shearing.
The safe in the room
Didnt work etc.....
All in all i woyld not recommend this place
William.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickeycajou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Allegro Playacar is certainly a special place. Different from the other resorts in the Playacar strip that I think put on pretentious airs try to look fancy. The Allegro is a smaller resort that doesn't pretend a luxury atmosphere but delivers a nice, personal "down home" atmosphere. All of its buildings are unique with grass topped roofs, and the grounds and landscaping are always well maintained. The two pools are crystal clear and the lounge chairs for both the pool and the beach are well maintained. The beach itself is perfect, and plenty of fun activities all day long and in the evening that have good participation. The breakfast and dinner food at the main buffet restaurant is all excellent tasting, with ample selection and never a shortage. The specialty restaurants, El Mexicano and the Italian are not to be missed. Miguel and his staff of two at the Mexicano serve a delicious 5 course meal with great food selections. I highly recommend the beef tenderloin and pay the extra charge to add a large lobster tail with excellent taste. The best feature of the entire resort, however, is the staff, The are incredibly well trained and organized. Every staff member, from management to the grounds keepers, is exceptionally friendly, energetic, courteous, helpful, and accommodating. The Allegro has a quality control program that really works and is very evident. My only negatives are that the rooms need some renovating/upgrading, and stay completely away from the Occidental Hotel promoters just past the lobby. The promised benefits don't turn out as good as initially promised and you're put in a pretty high pressure environment difficult to escape from. My wife and I vacationed there in 2013 and went back again this year from February 4-11. We will go back again for a very relaxing and enjoyable time.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade for a "Superior Premium" room and ask for the second floor. You're cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coltrainguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Allegro for one week January 25 - Feb 1. We were thrilled with the service, the beach, the location and the food. From the moment we checked in, to the moment we left, we felt like royalty. This place is really something special. I’ll quickly outline the fabulous things about this resort.

The beach:
What can I say but WOW! Gorgeous soft sand, crystal clear water and it goes for miles. We spent day after day just wading out on the sandbar playing in the waves. There’s plenty of activity to keep you entertained with boats, parasailers, jetskis and fish going by. It is heavenly!

The food:
The food at the buffet was always hot, fresh and delicious. I love the theme nights because it was something different every time. We didn’t go to any a la cartes because we didn’t want to miss any of the theme nights. My only complaint is the food at the late night buffet was limited. Just beef or chicken tacos. They were delicious but no variety. That being said, we never saw many people eating late at night. So it may not have been worth it for them to bring out additional food selections. As far as drinks, they have fantastic Mojitos and Pina Coladas!

The location:
Perfect! 5 minutes to the Playacar shopping plaza (just turn left at the road). 25 minutes to Playa del Carmen (just turn right at the road). Or walk the beach into Playa del Carmen, it’s a beautiful walk!

The service:
Quick, courteous and always with a smile! By far the most exceptional employee at this resort is Sylvia. She is the Social Media Ambassador and all around customer service goddess! Contact her before you go via Facebook, through the Allegro page. She will ensure you are treated like gold! Sylvia, as well as all the other staff, are wonderfully kind and happy people whos positive energy will rub off on you.

The rooms:
I love how this resort is made up of little 8 unit buildings. It makes it feel cozy and homey. We had a gorgeous room on the top floor with a vaulted thatched ceiling. The rooms aren’t fancy but they are clean and have everything a person would need. I love that we had a mini fridge so we could always have nice cold water to drink. The hammocks on the patios are AWESOME!

The grounds:
Pretty typical grounds with pathways, lawns and tropical plants. Everything is well taken care of. BUT the best part is there are cool little animals running around that made us laugh and giggle. The Coaties are pretty cool, they are kind of like a raccoon with a longer tail. Our favorite was the Agouties. They look like little coconuts with legs and whiskers. What fun! They will take a grape out of your hands if you are patient enough.

Lastly, I’ll talk about the negatives, although they were very minor. One is the bugs. I got many bug bites but I am used to that from camping in Canada. Most other people will get one or two bites, and I’ll get 100. So I wasn’t surprised to be bitten more than my partner. If you are susceptible, buy or bring bug spray and keep dousing yourself. Next negative was the time share folks. Although they were nice people, their location made it uncomfortable to constantly be confronted when going to the buffet or out to the lobby. Don’t let them sucker you in unless you want to spend thousands of dollars and pre-pay for all your vacations for the next 25 years. VERY minor annoyances to an otherwise fantastic vacation!

That concludes my humble opinion of this resort. We cannot wait to come back and we have already recommended this resort to many other people. Happy Travels everyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank desbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Allegro from Jan. 30 to Feb 13,2014 . We were 3 couples who vacationed together . The hotel was a smaller & older hotel but offered great amenities & had fantastic service & great food . The water in the pools was crystal clear & the beach was amazing . The sand was white & never got hot & the sea was a beautiful torquoise in colour. The staff was friendly & worked hard to provide us with any request we had . We did have an issue with the rooms we were assigned when we got there . But thanks to Sylvia, the hotel Service Manager , she listened to our complaint and corrected the situation the next day with upgraded rooms we had originally requested . Our stay at the hotel was made more pleasureable thanks to Sylvia . Sylvia is a great asset to the hotel . Our rooms were comfortable & very clean. Because of the smaller size of the hotel it was easier to get around & not crowded . Jacobah &Humberto were great waiters who looked after us efficiently & made us laugh . The 6 of us highly recommend this hotel .

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you want an amazing holiday, stay at the Allegro Playacar. The place is our home away from home. The staff are friendly and fun. The beach is gorgeous! The food is wonderful! We couldn't have been happier. This was our 2nd time there, and we are already looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debralea21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent the week of February 1-8th at Allegro Playacar. The staff were great and of course the beach is the best. The pools were crystal clear and refreshingly cool on the hot days. We were in 4614 , the air conditioner was leaking when we arrived but it was quickly repaired. the staff in the First Club were great and make the best Margaritas!
There was always lots of selection on the buffets and even our 5 year old grandson could always find some thing that he liked, especially the smoothies and ice cream.
The girls that run the kids club made the days fun for the little ones and made them want to go back on a daily basis.
We'll done!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.6 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,653 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#39 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,335 reviews
11.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Playacar

Property: Allegro Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 7 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Allegro Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Allegro Playacar Occidental
Playacar Resort
Occidental Playacar
Playa Del Carmen Allegro
Allegro Playa Del Carmen
Allegro Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing