We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Allegro Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Allegro Playacar
Ranked #88 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Piece of Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent from May 26-June 1 at the Allegro. I do beleive that there are just some people you will never please:(, which is not the fault of the hotel.
We met up with our friends from Montreal and we met Haley and Zak from London and we had a great time.
For those who have said that they had a hard time finding anything for lunch....really??? There is the buffet which they do down at the pool, there is a hamburger hut which serves veggie, beef and chicken burgers with fries. They had every condiment for your burgers including saute onions. The there was pizza and pannini sandwiches at another kiosk area. How much more could anyone want?
When you see the pool and then the ocean it is amazing.....Humberto is at the top of his game..he was great. Luca, Erik and all the staff were fabulous. The drinks were made how ever you asked them to be, if you asked for dark rum that's what you got. They had brand name alcohol all the time.
We did the lobster dinner on the beach for $30.00 a person. The lobster was wonderful and for those who didn't eat lobster they has a rib steak. The Italian restaurant was good also.
The beds are hard, but the rooms were clean and that was important to us.
I'd like to mention Guiermo (spelled wrong) who has the small shop...check out his jewelry, especially his blue diamond collection. I love mine.
Also thank you to Cyntia the Manger....always there to help everyone.
THanks Sandy, Paul, Haley and Zak for a great trip

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brendie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,411
    1,655
    748
    349
    297
See reviews for
1,137
1,732
134
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Everything was good until we found a caterpillar in mojito today, rather disgusting!
Holey roof in the restaurant is the purpose wet floor during rains.

The food is rather good, friendly personnel, good pool, pool bar, great beach. Total I think - 3.5 from 5.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Booblik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

To those who had a terrible time, that is really too bad. Our experience was great and this was our second time back.

Rooms:
Yes, the rooms with the higher numbers are closer to the beach and pool. To the person who complained about having to walk forever to get to breakfast - I question... have you ever stayed in one of the mammoth resorts where it takes 20 mins to get to your room? This is not correct. It takes 2 mins to walk from the beach to the main lobby. This is one of the key factors to why we love the layout and the grounds of Allegro Playacar.

Yes, the AC does seem to be weak (for lack of better words) but what I figured out quickly was that you have to shut your door immediately upon entering (the rooms are small and you don't want to let the cool air out) AND keep your washroom door shut. The vents in the washroom also let the cool air out.

The rooms are really not all that outdated. They are what they are. What you pay for and the quaintness and smallness of them almost makes you feel like you are getting a Mayan experience. I would have taken one with a couple of hammocks tied to the walls and been just as happy.

Our safe blinked out a few times. No big deal. They reset and they are extremely professional when it comes to making sure all security measures are met.

The T.V plays two channels in English. What more do you want? You're on vacation!

Pool:
We did have a complaint about the pool. The parents sitting at the pool bar and the children! There is a whole other, much nicer pool on the other side. The pool bar is not for kids. We accepted it each day until about 4:00pm and then moved in with full force. The parents got the hint.

The pools are clean. Small but clean. There is shower to the one side where you can wash off sand and sunscreen. Maybe this should be itterated a little more. But the pools are just fine. We were told, when we asked why were being asked to exit one night, that they check the levels and bleach them each night.

The bar service at the bar is great. Yes, there are only 8 seats but they don't ignore you if you don't speak Spanish. No truth there. The bar staff are friendly and serve it when ever you wish. A tip helps. We didn't tip much last year being our first year there. This year we learnt a lot about wages in Mexico and how many are paid on percentages ect... We tipped a lot this year. 100 pesos each time we sat for more than an hour.

Food:
My partner and I have a difference of opinion on this one. The food is O.K. For breakfast there is plenty of fresh fruit and pastries along with a few other things that I never tried. My partner and I had custom made omelettes each morning with onion, zucchini, tomato and cheese each morning with a smoothie. Nothing wrong with that. The lunch buffet is great! BBQ with beef, chicken or veggie burgers. Good stuff. Or the buffet, which was simple but offered everything from ceviche to tacos. We didn't partake in many of the dinners. We took the opportunity to try out restaurants in town. All about stimulating the economy after all.

Beach:
Best beach in Playa del Carmen. It's been reclaimed and is AWESOME! We never had a problem getting the seat we wanted though were were there during the off season. My suggestion... Wear 50+ sunscreen all the time and you will have no problem being in or out of the sun. I bought the spray kind so the application ever hour was simple. Do buy your sunscreen at home though. It can run up to $25.00. If you don't buy it at home, you will end up buying it when you get there.

Time Share Peeps:
We were approached. Yes. More so last year than this year. However we sat down with one gentleman and explained how we have our daughter to put through university for the next four years and how such a commitment is not apart of our future. He totally respected that and left us to be. We could have gone and done the tour for the bucks but we didn't and still used the little desk up front to buy our tour to chichen itza and our excursion to Explore. You will get the best deal there BTW.

Front desk:
Always helpful. Have never had to wait. They are all professional and polite. Carmen comes to mind. She suggested we go to Dos Ojos when we asked about a smaller Cenote to go to. Took a cab, went snorkeling and had a blast.

Complaint:
My only complaint this year was the proximity of our room to the pool. We were as close to the pool as you could get and kind of felt like we were in a fishbowl at times. HOWEVER - I asked for a room close to the pool and that's what we got. So really, no complaints.

See you next year!!!

Whistler

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed in this resort in April 2012 for my vacation. I was given a room on the ground floor in one garden hacienda. The room was furnished by oldish equipment but everything was clean. No insects. Bathroom was also older-dated, nothing super extra stylish, but still clean. Food was ok but do not expect the sea-food everyday (if you love it). Great guacamole, deserves to taste! :)
The beach and sea was simply marvellous! Incredible azure and clean, I haven't seen anything like this before. Definitely worth to take a beach walk, see the small fish in the seashore, iguanas walking on the rocks which you can see further away from hotel's beach. Pools were also good :)
The only negative thing was that one of my neighbors was a smoker and smoke got to my room somehow thru the a/c or something. So I smelt it almost every night when he/she came back to the room. But the rest of things/conditions was ok and would recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have been to Mexico several times and this was the worst resort we have been to. Our room was not ready the first day (I think they over booked) they gave us a different room for the night the air conditioner in that room did not work. They told us to be in the lobby at 1 the next day for our actual room we got there and it still was ant ready they finally said we could go to our room and we get there and a guy is in there painting. My husband went and loudly complained and we did get a room that was fine. The food was not good and very little selection at lunch you have to eat the pool buffet which was not good. Pool was dirty and the only area where kids can touch is right in front of the pool bar. Only good things were the grounds were beautiful and the beach was great.

Room Tip: M tip would be to not go to this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sheilaOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Allegro Playacar, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear sheilaOklahoma,

Thank you for sending us your comments, the satisfaction of our guests is our goal, and we are very sorry to read about your disappointments and your most detailed observations, it appears we didn’t meet our own standards during your stay.

I am saddened to read about the experience you had with your room. We follow strict standards to ensure they are properly inspected and cleaned prior to the arrival of our guests. This is unacceptable and I’ve addressed it with our maintenance team who immediately performed a full inspection of the rooms.

Please accept our apologies for failing your dinning expectations; our executive chef and his team work diligently to offer a wide variety of food at the buffet restaurant and a la carte restaurants. Thus we understand the importance of an incredible dining experience; I’ve addressed your review with our executive chef as to enhance our quality standards.

We are always thankful for constructive feedback as it helps us to improve upon our high standards for quality. Please feel free to contact me at socialmedia@mx.occidentalhotels.com

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We usually avoind all inclusive resorts because the food and drinks are lacking quality. Allegro surprised us with very good food. Every meal we had was very good and a huge variety. the grounds very lovely and the beach was escellent. Staff was mostly very good, just one rude man in a group of kind and caring staff. The room was small and worn, but that was ok because you get what you pay for and it was not real expensive. But the problem was the heat and humidity in the room. The AC unit ran but barely made any difference in the heat. We found it cooler to open the windows and we had terouble sleeping because of the humidity and heat. The TV had one or two channels and was green. The room was in a group of cottages where we could see nothing but another cottage and the brick wall of the next resort. Also the drinks were definitely not very strong at ALL. I could drink several and feel almost nothing. People were drinking like crazy and no one showed any intoxication. While that was safer and quieter, we paid to go there thinking we were getting alcoholic drinks. I watched them make a Long Island Tea and they poured lots of alcohol in it but the bottles must have a low quality. All I was getting was calories. All in all the price was low and the water was great so we had a good time. I would not go back though because I do not sleep in humidity and we like to go to our room during the middle of the day extreme sun for an hour or two and lay down and relax, but it was too hot for that in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank goodlife1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was here with a family of six 4 adults and a 11 and 16 yr old. The place has so much to do and the beach is by far the best . No rocks soft white sand and we had excellent beach service had a drink at least hourly brought to us and they learned the kids names. A dollar tip will go real far with waiters . The entertainment staff is excellent goes above and beyond to make every one have a good time. The drinks are top shelf. We had no problem with our room , clean ,cold ac. Yes it may be a little outdated in some areas but not dirty at all. You can walk to town and get far better excursion. Deals for over half price cheaper and its safe. We where here two weeks just flew back today may 28 th. we will be back and want to say special thanks to Alex , Humberto , Jorge and Maria. They go above your expectations. You won't be disappointed .

Room Tip: Away from disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Punty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.6 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#45 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#38 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,276 reviews
11.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Playacar

Property: Allegro Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 7 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Allegro Playacar Occidental
Playacar Resort
Occidental Playacar
Playa Del Carmen Allegro
Allegro Playa Del Carmen
Allegro Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing