We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When your on a bit of a budget steal this little gem for a week” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allegro Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Allegro Playacar
Ranked #90 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
pa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“When your on a bit of a budget steal this little gem for a week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Location, location, lol, location. Best beach front from this resort to the entrance to 5th ave. Ok now the rooms. Small but adequate. Beds,aggrrr need 2 foam pads. Food.......edible nothin special.....entertainment..... Did not attend any, sorry... Service......pretty good....this was our 7th all inc so I'll tell you to steal this place if your on a budget! If you want big room with a walk in shower then choose another..that to me is the only diff between this being a 4 star or so and what it truley is which is about a 3 star..........good luck!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrcleanpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    1,630
    743
    348
    296
See reviews for
1,121
1,705
129
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Small site, can walk to everywhere. 2 stories bongalowes. Very clean, old but very clean. Grounds very bbeautiful, pool by the sea. Activities and food was great. Everyone was very very nice and recognized you by your name the whole week. It is not a 5 star resort but It is much better to be then there, in my opinion, then to be in a 5 star resort where you walk forever to go everywhere and eveyrthing in impersonal. i enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: 2 floor because of the roof and the age of the hotel may leak when it rains....but the cealing is im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jewlll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel has everything you need to have a great time. It's made up of bungalows, rather than those massive hotels - so quaint and adorable. I much prefer this type of hotel over the larger properties. The resort is immaculately kept by the meticulous staff. Everyday we returned to a pristine room with beautiful towel made arrangements. Unfortunately, I didn't get to see the name tag of our maid, as he always had our room cleaned when we returned from the day's activities, but you are amazing!. We received better treatment here than some 5 star resorts. The food was delicious. The buffet had a good variety of items and we loved the freshly squeezed juices and juice bar. The A La Carte Restos, both Italian and Mexican were a nice option to have. We tried both and they were both tasty with great options for the main course. Be sure to book your reservations at the beginning of your stay, so you have your choice of dinner seatings. The wait and bar staff throughout the resort were so cheerful and attentive. The beach...oh the beach! You can't beat it! White powdery sand and clear turquoise water. Never had a problem getting beach chairs. The location is convenient to get to Playa Del Carmen. You can walk, it took us about 12 minutes each way and you can get there through the main road or along the beach. A cab ride is also an option (we took this after shopping) and is 7 USD or 70 pesos. Jose, thank you for getting us a great room! We were footsteps away from the beach and the pool. The pool looked great, but we were always at the beach. Everyone at the pool and pool bar looked like they had a terrific time, especially with the entertainment crew, always offering something for everyone; whether it's Spanish lessons, Zumba or Beach Volleyball, there is always something going on. Manuel, thank you so much for always finding us a table and keeping our drinks topped up! We would definitely come back here!

Room Tip: Ask for one closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank allaroundtheworld12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbey, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The resort is amazing! the gardeners are always keeping the greenery perfect. Everybody is friendly. The meals were fantastic. For breakfast everybody was offered cafe with leche (coffee with milk.) The waitors were histerical and speedy. I've seen waitors run accross the room to get ones drink to them. No time wated :) Each evening, supper was cooked accordingly with its theme. The beach has incredible white sand and all around the rooms are many types of palm trees. Waitors will walk along the beach expecting amny to be thristy from the heat. Definately 5 star i arrived home today and i already miss the place.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a thatched roof and i have witnessed the mess created from rain. Our neighbou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINNIPEG
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just returned from a great time at the Allegro! Thank you to Erika and Ivonne for making this trip a very enjoyable one. We emailed Erika prior to our trip and everything was just as we asked when we arrived. The resort is a perfect size - you can get from one end to the other in 5 minutes. Our room was in block 58. If you looked straight ahead you would be looking right at the pool, to your right is the snack bar and swim up bar and to the left was the amazing beach. We had the best room for all views! The beach is huge and lots of seats always available. We are early risers so we always had seats reserved around the pool. The food was unbelievable! There is something for everyone. Every night is a theme night. We only went to the Italian a la carte only because the buffet was so good. The entertainment was also really good. We tried to get to as many shows as we could (from Elvis to the fire show on the beach). What can we say about the staff - AMAZING!! Everyone was so friendly and always helpful. We were lucky enough to attend a special evening with the management and a few staff members - what a beautiful night. Many pictures were posted on their Facebook page. Things we found helpful: bring your own drinking cup (we brought the strong plastic ones with the built in plastic straw - was perfect), ask for a ground floor room, bring a sweater as the ocean breeze does get cool at night, 60 sunscreen as the sun is very hot there and bring more than one bathing suit as you will be in the ocean or pool every day. We walked to Playa del Carmen almost every day - either along the beach or by the road out front. It sure was a nice walk and helped wear off some of the food we ate (hee hee). This was our third year in a row using the Occidental chain and we highly recommend not only this resort but all Occidental resorts. Thanks Allegro for a wonderful vacation!!!

Room Tip: Any block in the higher numbers will be closer to the pool and beach. Also, ground floor rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WinnipegTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great place for the money.clean,friendly staff great food .if u like a hard bed great if not you might
Need something.Not a large resort compared to some so any room isn't far from anything. Ivonne at customer service is one great lady to help you out in anything you need

Room Tip: Not a huge resort so u are not far from anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked this holiday with Virgin and for the first time used the V room which we will definitely be using again. Its nice to start the holiday in a relaxed atmosphere with breakfast and drinks.

Immigration at Cancun wasn't a hastle and we were through relatively quickly. The transfer from the airport is about 45 minutes including another drop off. When we arrived at the hotel check-in the first room we were offered was not Superior Premium room. This may have been a genuine mistake but as this hotel seems to be regularly overbooked, I doubt it. Make sure you check before you commit to the room. We corrected this and and were then offered a room in block 57 which is a Vacation Club block frontline beach. We were not on the front of the block but at the rear but could still see the beach and pool. We liked the location because it was quiet and didn't have other guests walking passed all the time. We were shown to our room by Victor, a club rep, ie. timeshare and he didn't try to sell us anything. We always passed the time with him whenever we saw him. We weren't bothered by the timeshare reps, perhaps its worse for other nationalities who are closer to Mexico and more liable to be interested in the Vacation Club.

The room was a bit "rustic", other people might say tired. I felt it was in a style that I expected from the reviews and photos on this site and perfectly acceptable for sleeping in. As has been said before, the beds, we had two doubles, are mattresses on concrete bases. Our mattresses had two foam toppers each and sleep wasn't a problem. One benefit of the concrete bases is the lack of dust and debris that is usually found under normal beds! Hot water was always available for showers etc.. The housekeeping staff do a great job and always leave some towel art after they have cleaned the room. It would have been nice to have had a box of tissues in the room which is quite normal in most hotels. We didn't seem to suffer from paper thin walls as others have or perhaps we just had good neighbors! A room safe is supplied free of charge.

The beach as others have said is superb with very fine white sand. Sunbeds were always available although we used the beds just above the beach in front of the club rooms. Bar staff do come round regularly to ask if you want drinks and to pick up the empties. Some of the previous reviewers have said that there are no water sports, there are. Hobie cats and kyaks are available free of charge at the hotel next door. They do ask for a returnable deposit, $100 for a cat, in case of damage.

The main restaurant we thought was excellent. Both continental, cooked and Mexican breakfasts are available with a large selection of fresh fruit. The evening dinner changed every night to a different theme. The waiters also dress according to the theme. We always ate late in the morning and evening and never had a problem finding a table. We never used the Mexican or Italian restaurants as we didn't feel the need. In our first week the Mexican evening was outside which was excellent especially the effort made to set up everything. The lunchtime snack bar down near the beach again had a very good variety of food and the nearby pizza bar is handy if you get an attack of the late afternoon munchies! One complaint that I would make, is that some guests who have insulated mugs fill them from the milk jugs to take back to their rooms for their own coffee. Other guest then have to wait for the jugs to be refilled.

The gardens and grounds are very well maintained with plenty of gardeners working all day. In fact one of the lasting impressions of this hotel is the amount of work that all the staff do. There is all types of maintenance being carried out all day, every day.

The location of the hotel as others have said is within the the secure area of Playacar but only a short walk into Playa del Carmen where there are shops, bars and restaurants. Outside the hotel is a Starbucks but why you would want one?

We went on one trip to Chichen Itza we we booked through our excellent Virgin rep. There are cheaper versions available through the time share reps but we do try to support our own rep. If you want everyday excursions there are plenty of other attractions to see.

The entertainment team were very active with various activities during the day and a nightly show in the theatre. The shows didn't repeat during the two weeks we were there. They were mainly dance shows featuring very professional dancers and we enjoyed all of them.

One of the lasting impressions of this holiday will be the friendliness of all of the staff in this resort. Everyone smiles and everyone says "hola". Tipping is appreciated but nobody hangs about looking for it. We thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks and would not hesitate to go back.
Thank to all at the Allegro!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank BucksTraveller-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.6 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#45 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,476 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#66 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#36 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Playacar

Property: Allegro Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 7 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Barcelo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Allegro Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Allegro Playacar Occidental
Playacar Resort
Occidental Playacar
Playa Del Carmen Allegro
Allegro Playa Del Carmen
Allegro Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing