We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great vacation with a few exceptions”
Review of Allegro Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Allegro Playacar
Ranked #77 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel,resturants,workers,and grounds were absolutly beautiful, just need a little updating in the rooms or should I say need new roofs so when it rains in the middle of the night you don't wake-up in a puddle of water, other then that it was awsome, I will definatally go back!

Room Tip: if it's rainy season you def want lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,746 - 1,752 of 5,371 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for our first trip to Mexico and we had an amazing stay the staff were friendly and lively at breakfast every morning. Down point was that u had 2 pay for wifi at the hotel but u don't go in holiday to use your phone and Internet. Everything was perfect from entertainment food the grounds. Great value for money and the beach is amazing

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank samie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Holiday started on the wrong foot, when they tried to put us in a courtesy room which stunk of dampness, and did not even have a bathtub. Room 1204 by the way !!!
We stuck to our guns and eventually got what we paid for. Fantastic location on the beach, and only a short walk from the local shops.
The staff are very friendly and try their best, although the reception staff could do with a bit more training in tact.
Food is fantastic, with a wide choice every night. Did not make much of the Italian Restaurant.
Entertainment is a bit of a disaster, but then this did not surprise me. After all we were there for sun and sea, not a West end show. We made our own entertainment and met some really nice people.
Overall decent value for the money paid, but make sure they dont give you any old room.
A lot of people changed their rooms whilst we were there.
By the way, cleaners fantastic and Manager Miguel very professional.

Room Tip: Pay for Superior Premium and make sure you get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We thought the location was fantastic, so close to the beach and it was like being in heaven when we discovered the shops in playa del carmen ! Discovered it just from walking along the beach. We seemed to go on the best and cheapest trips by using the sellers alongside the beach. Our holiday rep was terrible, non existent with their failed appointments. The staff at the hotel were fantastic, so happy which made us happy and our holiday enjoyble. The food was terrible, we were too scared to eat as it was not kept to a hot enough temperature. The drinks were plentiful and we thought there was a fantastic choice. We went this september and we were able to drink until midnight. Dont think the other reviewer discoverd the bar by the entertainment area, took us a week to discover. Our room was fantastic, coffee in room was discusting and un drinkable. The cleaners were brilliant and the animal towels was a wonderful touch. People tring to send you to timeshare meetings was annoying as soon as you arrived. If the food was kept hotter we would definetely go back, we loved Mexico so much we are planning to go back in 2014 to the hotel next door !!!

Room Tip: If your a heavy drinker choose a ground floor room as the stairs look fatal if you have had a few!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nicola r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel was in a great location. Right on the beach & short walk to the town. 5 mins walk to local shops with a good selection of shops plus a fantastic Starbucks.
The Hotel gardens were fantastic. it was like being in a little tropical forest. Great wild life to see.
ROOMS: were cleaned daily, clean towels,( stunning animals made out of towels daily, Bottled water and a fresh coffee pouch delivered daily. The rooms are in need of an update. All the roofs here are thatched so when it rained (and it did a couple of times, very heavily) the roof leaked. We did have to change rooms as the bed got soaked. But then the upper villas are nicer than the lower ones.
ENTERTAINMENT is TERRIBLE. This is one thing the Hotel really does need to look at. The shows in the evening were very poor. The so called comedy show was just so NOT funny. If you are staying for more than a week you will get to see the same shows again in the second week & the 3rd.
ENTERTAINMENT STAFF: They need to interact more with the guest on a more 1 to 1 level like coming over & talking to us not shouting at us through a microphone saying Dont be lazy get up & have some fun. All you do is sit there, come on move yourself s. They would announce stretch class to start at 10am a member of the team would stand there for 10 mins & then just walk off if no one came! The Music is very very loud by the pool near the beach. we found ourself s shouting at each other to talk, there is a "quiet pool" but you can not see the sea from there.
BAR / HOUSE KEEPING STAFF: They were all fantastic but our special 2 were Nesther the pool barman & Victor our house keeper.
FOOD: You would never go hungry. Lunch time buffet was the best though. We were lucky enough to be there on the Mexican independence day when they took the dining room outside, had side shows, traditional food and all dressed up in local costumes ( special night)
RECEPTION STAFF: They need a bit more training as every question we asked them they had to go & talk to the manager to get the correct answer, but they were very friendly.
Like i said at the start the Hotel is great value for the money we paid, but i would NOT class it as a 5 star...More 3 star. We would go back there but only for a week.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JuneLangley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had some reservations as I had read others comments on Tripadvisor but should not have needed to worry. The staff went over and above to ensure that the stay at the hotel was perfect for both myself and my husband, special treats left in the room on his birthday. The cleanliness was exceptional all over the hotel, the staff continually cleaning. The beds are on concrete bases but the mattresses on top are very comfortable. The buffet food provides great choice and there is always something for everyone. The bar tenders are always eager to make your cocktails and do what every you ask. The specialist Mexican and Italian restaraunts make you feel as if you are having a quality meal out. The staff at this hotel are what make it, always friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. The ambiance is very relaxed not stuffy or pretentious. We had an appartment on the ground floor right in front of the sea. The beach is exceptionally clean and the sea is warm. You can walk along the sea front to 5th Avenue and the other direction takes you to a nature reserve where currently all the turtles eggs are due to hatch incredible! I do acknowledge that the rooms may be considered a little dated but very clean with TV, fridge topped up daily with soft drinks and beer, coffee maker and coffee provided daily. We did have some torrential rain on some nights ( it is the rainy season) and owing to the nature of the roof there were a few leaks in the buffet area but nothing concerning and dealt with by staff. The grounds are beautifully kept. All I can say about the negative reviews are I am unsure what these people expect for such a price point the hotel is not a 5 star and does not proport to be. I would definately love to return one day.

Room Tip: I would suggest a ground floor room in the rainy season owing to the material that make up the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newton904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I visited from Sept 14 to 21 to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The weather was great, +30 and even hit 42 one day. This was our first trip to Riviera Maya and the people were awesome. It was near the end of low season so the hotel was only about 50% full. The rooms are dated but everything was clean and the service was great. We stayed in room 5103 which was near the pools and facing the kid's club. Not sure what people complain about in their reviews. All of the workers spoke English and were very happy to be of assistance. They were also very happy to let me practice my Spanish with them. The grounds were nicely kept and seeing the coatimundi's, part of the raccoon family, and the agouti, oversized guinea pig, running around was an added bonus. The beach is similar to Punta Cana except with lots of small sea shells everywhere. The ocean was very warm and even the days when there was bigger waves it was easy to get in and out of the water. My wife really liked the towel art that was in our room everyday. Food was very good and plentiful. We were there during Mexican Independence Day and they went all out with dinner being set up on the patio outside of the lobby. There was lots of different Mexican food and desserts. They had face painting and entertainment for the children, games of "chance", a Mariachi band etc. Very well done. We did not do any excursions other then go to 5th Ave once. It was the typical tourist area with "come and look", "hey I remember you", "you promised to look at my store when you returned" etc. etc. Bought a couple of T-shirts for our grandchildren and that was it. The taxi ride was 70 pesos each way. We had bought some pesos at the front desk @ 12 pesos to the dollar. Used Canadian as they were taking it at par with the American dollar. At the hotel they did try to get us to listen to their "time share" talk but a polite "no thanks" was all it took. Talked to a couple from Drumheller who spent over 3 hours with them just to get a bottle of tequila, a blanket and some trinkets. as he said " that's 3 hours of his life he'll never get back". Music is very loud by the pool near the beach but there is a "quiet pool" where you can relax if you want to. We had mamosas every morning and if you ask the waiters they will even get you hard stuff from the bar (pool bar doesn't open until 10:00). As with most of our trips, 13 times to the Dominican Republic and 2 times to Mexico, we find the locals very nice and friendly. It is some of the tourists that are the disappointment. This trip was no exception. "You can dress them up but you can't take them out". I won't get into nationalities but remember to have some manners, don't expect to be waited on hand and foot, learn the language and relax. Remember that no matter where you are from you represent your country. We are getting ready for our trip to the DR in December but would definitely return to this resort. Relax have fun and enjoy the people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank AbueloElkford_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#93 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya
#86 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
6,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#72 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3,806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,482 reviews
2.6 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Playacar

Address: Lote Hotelero No. 7 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $165 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Allegro Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Allegro Playacar Occidental
Playacar Resort
Occidental Playacar
Playa Del Carmen Allegro
Allegro Playa Del Carmen
Allegro Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing