We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Playa del Carmen
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19,623)
Filter reviews
19,623 results
Traveler rating
11,625
5,194
1,697
643
464
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
11,625
5,194
1,697
643
464
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meeting point cupcake cafe riviera section adult section avenue bar le gourmet hacienda suites grand buffet festival buffet premium bar family section select club swim up bar french restaurant elite pool royal elite members kids club
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 19,623 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately this place suffered dramatic degradation at some point between 2017 and 2019 -- it was silently reformatted towards adults-only visitors. If you come with kids you will be housed beyond the lobby area, farthest from the beach. The beach closest to main grounds will also be off-limits to you, so you will have to use another, new one even further to the right.

Separately, you will not be able to reserve a table at any restaurant for a particular time -- everything is on a "first come, first served" basis, resulting in huge lines every evening at 6pm and few hours wait.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Q7415TLsandrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web_Sandos, Web Relations Manager at Sandos Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Sandra for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. While your comments are not typical of the large majority of our Guests experiences, we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review.

FYI: At the end of 2018, we analyzed the number of complaints to see what areas we can improve on. At that time, the number one complaint was from Mothers of little children complaining that their kids could not get to sleep at 8pm and 9pm as per their usual schedule back home.

The mothers complained that if their kids did not sleep well they would be cranky the next day and that would ruin their vacations.

They asked us to start our nightly entertainment at 6pm and end at 8:30pm ( Obviously we could not ask the adults to go to bed at 8:30pm and shut down the resort. )

They also asked us make the resort Family Only ( This was not realistic either as half our clients are Adult Only ).

We had no more land to build another section. So we did the only logical thing we could. We switched the Adult Only area in the back ( Riviera Suites ) and moved all the Adults to the Front of the Resort where all the music and partying was. Thus we moved all Families to the quiet area in the back, where their kids could sleep at the early hours they were used to.

The solution worked. No more complaints from Mothers about the noise or that their children could not sleep.

However, then came the new complaint. What happened to my Beach? Now I have to walk 10 to 15 mins to get to the beach! Why did you give the beach in front of the new Adult Only area to the Select Club? What about the big pool ? Why can't we use that anymore? Why is it only for the Adults?

So we purchased some Golf carts to run on a 15 mins circuit taking from the family Section to the Beach and back again. Then we built a special Children's Water Park and Family Beach area.

..and then they complained, why do I have to wait 15 mins. for a Golf cart? Why does the new Family Beach not have more Palm trees?

In the end, we could not seem to satisfy these Mothers. So while we continue to work towards balancing out the benefits on the resort for all. We expect to always have some people who see the Glass half full and others seeing it half empty.

The 3 categories we have on the Resort are:

1. Family Section - Travelers with minors ( <18yrs. )
BLUE BANDS

2. Adults Only - Select Club ( >18yrs. )
GOLD BANDS

3. Vacation Club - Royal Elite Members
BLACK BANDS

Apart from the Shared Common areas, Restaurants, Cafes, pathways, Activities Areas...

Each category has exclusive housing, exclusive pools and exclusive beach areas.

Basically the design breaks down this way:

Black bands have 100% access to the resort.
Gold bands have 90% access to the resort.
Blue bands have 80% access to the resort.

At Sandos Playacar Beach Resort we try very hard to offer everyone of our Guests the very best possible experience for them and their loved ones. It;s for that reason that we won the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence are presently no. 37 out or more than 250 Hotels in the area.

Unfortunately, sometimes repeat guests who were not informed of the changes by a travel agency and who did not review our website come back only to find that things gave changed.
While most of the feedback has been very positive, we do sometimes get reviews like yours.

Rest assured that we will take your observations and feelings to heart!

Always at your service!

Warren B
Web Relations Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic cupcakes mixed with perfectly made drinks makes for a perfect early afternoon snack or a relaxing coffee in the morning. Mariam and Laura work well with you and will make sure your drinks are made to order. Beautiful presentation as well. Well worth the trip.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Chasetravels14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web_Sandos, Web Relations Manager at Sandos Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hola Cweb,

Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review.

Rest assured that we will share your praises of Mariam & Laura with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience.

Warren B
Web Relations Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Taylor from entertainment is the bomb! Such a fun place with so many things to do! If you like to drink Carlos from the lobby bar will be your best friend. Beach = perfect. The only downfall is lack of drink servers by the beach

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 1717adamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web_Sandos, Web Relations Manager at Sandos Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Adam,

Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your 6th stay with us at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review.

Rest assured that we will share your praises of Carlos with him.

We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience.

Warren B
Web Relations Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This has been our 6th visit to Sandos and we did enjoy it. However there are a few things worth noting that we experienced on this trip.
Our air conditioning in the room did not work properly as well as the hot water would just quit flowing in the sink and shower.

Both of these issues were reported to the front desk and they did send someone to look at the problems yet neither were fixed.

Another thing we found off was there was no pool or beach bar service on this trip, on all of our other trips they did provide this.

We also found the new adult breakfast buffet had a smaller selection than before, although the new venue by the beach is nice!

While the above issues wont prevent us from returning we do hope our next visit is more in line to what the property used to be.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jazzpurr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, Web Relations Manager at Sandos Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi jazzpurr1,

Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your 6th stay with us at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review.

We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience.

Warren B
Web Relations Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We just arrived home from our second vacation at Sandos Playacar. We already miss everything about Sandos. Celebrating our 25th anniversary couldn't have been better. Beautiful weather and amazing people! Also, a special shout out to Ruben who is always smiling and always ready to offer his help with information and suggestions whenever we asked!!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Guide698538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, Web Relations Manager at Sandos Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Guide698538,

Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your second stay with us at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences, especially when celebrating your 25th Anniversary and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review.

Rest assured that we will share your praises of Ruben with him.

We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience.

Warren B
Web Relations Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews