We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$276
$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental at Xcaret Destination(Playa del Carmen)
$233
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$238
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$356
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$421
$400
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$392
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$499
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$391
$383
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$410
$344
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,509
$797
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14,784)
Filter reviews
14,784 results
Traveler rating
7,798
4,582
1,479
543
382
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,798
4,582
1,479
543
382
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeeting pointriviera sectioncupcake cafeadult sectionhacienda suitesle gourmetavenue barcorderofestival buffetgrand buffetpremium barselect clubswim up barfrench restaurantkids clubelite poolfamily section
Filter
Updating list...
683 - 688 of 14,784 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2017

I traveled here from July 26th thru August 4th. Overall the hotel was very nice and I enjoyed my stay. There are some things they could definitely improve on. When we checked in, we were not given any map or information to where anything was located. We were upgraded to the Adult section. We found out later they want you to check back in at the lobby later to meet with a salesman, at this point they will give you a map of the hotel, answer any questions and give you a tour to try to get you to join in their time share program. We were not interested in this, so we learned our own way around. The resort is huge and the adult section is far far away from the beach and the restaurants. Be prepared for a lot of walking. They do have shuttle service that runs around but I did not see many of them and when we did they were full of people. The hotel is beautiful and the beach was too minus the few days that seaweed gathered on the beach. They had a tractor that came one day and cleaned it up but the last two days we were there, no one cleaned it. They had activities everyday on the beach and have an adult section on the beach with a bar close. They also had a buffet everyday at the bar but the food was the same everyday. It would have been nice to change it up some. All of the restaurants were good but some were only open on certain days. My favorite was the Asian and the Steak place. The steak place is open for adult only buffet breakfast, if you don't want to walk all the way to the main buffet. We did not find this out until the third day, after that we went there every morning. It was not as crowded and no kids. They have a cupcake place that serves cupcakes, cookies, coffee and drinks. BEWARE, workers are not very friendly at all, some times down right rude. The workers everywhere else were average. We did encounter some workers that were very friendly. The nightly entertainment was very enjoyable, the Michael Jackson show was excellent. The room was very nice but we had no curtains in the room that blocked out the sun, so in the morning as soon as the sun rose the room was completely lit. I am not sure about you but I like to sleep in past 6:00 am on my vacation. We looked in other rooms, this seemed to be the norm except for the bottom floors. Overall the hotel was great and I would recommend it, just know it is a huge resort and unless you want to listen to the salesman trying to sell you something you will have to learn the locations of everything on your own or ask someone. BEWARE they will give you a coupon for a free charm from the jewelry shop. We were told we could pick it up the morning we were leaving. The sales lady said we had to come back at 5:00, I am assuming to try and sell me a necklace to go with, I told her we were leaving and the lady the day before had told us we could pick it up in the morning. She was so rude, she basically pulled out the charm and threw it at us and walked away. It was a cheap charm, wish I had not wasted my time. Overall great place and met some very nice people.

Room Tip: I would not stay on the bottom floor, very noisy. Adult section is at the back of the resort, be prepared to walk a lot.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web_Sandos, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Dear guest,

While extending you a warm regard, I would like to thank you for your preference and for the time you have invested in sharing your detailed review regarding your recent stay at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort.

It is good to know that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the attention of some of our staff members, the nightly entertainment and you room.

Regarding the seaweed on the beach, indeed we have a tractor in order to keep it clean, the reason why the beach was not cleaned the last days of your stay is because our tractor was broken, however it was fixed as soon as possible and now it is back in operation.

I offer a sincere apology for the incident with the sales lady of the jewelry shop, you can be sure that the appropriate measures will be taken in order to avoid these situations from happening again.

You can rest assured that we will give the utmost consideration to the inconsistencies mentioned in your review, in order to keep improving.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Luis Ramirez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

What can I say about Sandos playa car beach resort, service, service,service.
Before we left for Sandos I needed some questions answered. I made contact with Mireia Andres who went far and beyond to help me. As we got closer to our travel date I again made contact with Mireia to tell her I was looking forward to meeting her. At this time Mireia informed us that she was transfered to the sister location but was leaving us in good hands with Edgar Contreras. We met Edgar the day after our arrival as well as Mireia who came over to Sandos playa car to meet with us. My wife and i were celebrating our 33 wedding anni. Mireia and Edgar went far and beyond to make this anni. the most memorable.
We celebrated at the Mexican restraunt were we were treated like royals. The staff did everything in there power to make sure that we left there happy.
The resort has under gone some great improvements the Festivale buffet is in a new air conditioned building, the food like before is vast in variety and great in taste. I looked each day for my favorite server Luis Hunte, i have never seen Luis without a smile. Always greated us and took care of anything we needed. Loved the mimosas he got for us.
The mexican restraunt has also seen a new face lift and new menu. You must try the lime soup and lamb stew.
Our friends and ourselves love burritos, so of course the new stop for us was the burrito bar. This is also were you can get crepes, and if that does not fill you, head right next door to cup cake cafe, i would suggest the lemon merang tarts.
We were lucky enough to have access to the premium cocktail lounges were we had most of our drinks. Once again we only had fantastic service.
The resort was very clean even the beach is raked clean from cig butts and any trash left over every day.
Our room was clean and very spacious, our lady who took care of our room (name forgotten) was super friendly and always left a great animal towel for us.
Sandis playa car beach resort is at the end of what i will call beach resort row. This gives it a much more open feel as you do not have any hotels to your right only open white powder sand .
The ocean , wow wow wow, warm blue water I need say no more.
The afternoon that we left both Mireia and Edgar made time to come say good bye, I was blown away at the level of personal attention we recieved.
Thank you Sandos playa car beach resort and all who work ( Mireia, Edgar,Luis,Marco at guest services )these are just a few special people, for making our vacation outstanding.

We cannot wait to return.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web_Sandos, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire team of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, I would like to thank you for choosing us once again to spend your vacations and especially to celebrate your anniversary.

It is truly a pleasure to know that your anniversary was memorable and that the attention of our staff was key to achieve that. Mireia, Edgar, Luis and Marco will be glad to know that their work is recognized and that you left with such good memories of your stay; your feedback will be share with them and with the rest of our staff members.

Also, we are glad to know you appreciated the renovations we made in our buffet Festival as well as in our Gourmex restaurant.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

Kindest wishes,

Luis Ramirez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

Our vacation was spectacular thanks to the amazing Mireia Andres who made sure our stay was just perfect, she is such a lively wonderful young lady who went out of her way to make sure each one of us had a great time! Special thanks to Edgar Contreras who also made our vacation such a memorable one! He went above and beyond to make sure our Anniversary was truly amazing and we so appreciate everything you did for us! Also at the Festivale buffett a huge thank you to Luis Huante who no matter how busy he was always greeted you with a smile! This was our 7th trip to Playa del Carmen and staying at Sandos is so special we feel like its our 2nd home. Thank - You to the lady who did our room #7505 the hearts the fish and swans made out of towels were so impressive and we appreciated them everyday! Anyone who is planning a vacation to Playa del Carmen Sandos Playacar is the best resort along that stretch of beach, we have tried a few others and we always return to Sandos, there is just something about this resort that makes you feel at home! Thanks again for making our vacation so special we cant wait to come back

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank cecexray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web_Sandos, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference and for sharing a nice review about your recent experience at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort.

It is always gratifying to read that our guests left with such a positive impression of our facilities and the attention of our staff. We truly appreciate the special recognition towards Mireia, Edgar and Luis; certainly they are true ambassadors of our service and you can be sure that your review will be share with them.

Furthermore, it s great to read that you consider us your second home and we would like to thank you for recommending us.

We will be delighted to welcome you back for your next vacations in Playa del Carmen.

Kindest regards,

Luis Ramirez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

Ok I love writing reviews of places I been. So here goes the pro's and con's .
First went on a 10 day vacation with my Sister and niece , we got upgraded to adults section be prepared to walk from your room to the beach and to eat. Not close . Pool bar at Adult section is way better and the food is good to. The beach was good the first 7 days then the seaweed started pilling up and started stinking . Had to tell the workers. Overall a nice hotel .
The workers were nice but not in the coffee shop the girls their are very rude and so was the girl on the morning we left at the jewelry shop. They don't know how to make a good cup of coffee.
We did a deep sea fishing trip highly recommend it. And the Catamaran was awesome. Need a better variety at the beach bar with food. 10 days you need a variety outside.

Room Tip: Make sure you bring ones to tip with at bar ,
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank shannonM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web_Sandos, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Playacar Beach Resort as holiday destination and for investing time to share your review with the readers of this social media outlet.

We appreciate you taking the time to mention the thing you enjoyed the most as the pool bar and food at the adults section of the hotel.

On the other hand, we are sorry to read that you left with a poor impression of the attention of our staff due to the mentioned situations at the coffee shop and the jewelry shop. You can be sure that their attitude in no way reflects our standards and your review will be forwarded to the corresponding Managers.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and change your impression.

Kind regards,

Luis Ramirez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

Attended Sandos Playacar between 15th May 2017 and 30th May 2017 for mine and my wife to be special day. What a trip it was. 22 of us made the trip from South Wales. Myself and wife to be stayed in the adults only section of the hotel. Rooms were to a great standard. Whirlpool bath and Mini fridge which was stocked up daily. Room was always clean with staff cleaning daily and changing bedding. Weather was unbelievable.

The staff throughout the hotel could not do anything more for you. Even though there was a big number they still made it easy for us all to eat in the evenings.

Maria and Marisol at the wedding department are two lovely ladies. They couldn't of made our day any more special than it was. One meeting with them whilst at the hotel which lasted around an hour and everything was sorted. Blood tests are compulsory if your not a fan then just look away.

Photographers are situated inside of the hotel and our photos were ready the next day for us to view and place in an album. Crazy how quick they work and to the standard that they work to.

If anyone is thinking of getting married out there I highly recommend it, or even just for a holiday. Amazing hotel amazing staff and amazing weather.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web_Sandos, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for your preference and trust for choosing Sandos Playacar Beach Resort to host one of your most special moments, your wedding.

We really appreciate the time you have taken to write this positive feedback about your recent stay in our hotel. We are so gratified to know that we left an excellent impression on you and your wife and the wedding turned out to be according to your high expectations.

Also we want to thank you for your kind comments about the great service provided by some of our members, as Maria and Marisol, they will be glad to receive personally your comments.

We will be all looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest wishes.

Luis Ramirez.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews